Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show 12/11/2011

• 12-11-2011 1:49am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭

Brendan O'Connor will welcome guests from the worlds of politics, music and sport on The Saturday Night Show at 9:50pm on RTÉ One.

Minister for Social Protection, Joan Burton, will be discussing her portfolio and the upcoming budget.

Boxer Kenny Egan will return to the show to discuss his bid to go to the 2012 Olympics and his new autobiography.

Music on the night will come from The Fountains of Wayne and The Overtones

He will make fun of Joan and she will lose the plot. It should be good.
    He will mention Vb and the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Boxer Kenny Egan will return to the show to discuss his bid to go to the 2012 Olympics and his new autobiography.

ffs Sam, it's "Kenneth" .. You dont want to piss him off before the interview has started ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

I love The Fountains of Wayne, nice work getting them on the SNS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Let the haranguing commence :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

ffs Sam, it's "Kenneth" .. You dont want to piss him off before the interview has started ..

Sorry apologies to Kenneth. I think this will be boring, unless Brendan gets him worked up of course, which is possible.

This is classic, I have never laughed so much.:D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

The presenter is a weird looking fecker. :eek:

Orange pilled.

Anybody watching?

Kenneth 'Kenny' Egan on at the moment. He has a book out about his issues.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

It doesn't say much for the management of our sports personalities when, out of three medalists in the last Olympics, one ended up on the piss for weeks at a time and another took his own life. :(

Lapin wrote: »
    It doesn't say much for the management of our sports personalities when, out of three medalists in the last Olympics, one ended up on the piss for weeks at a time and another took his own life. :(

Kenny Egan lives his own life and to be fair, he has taken responsibility for his mistakes. No one else is to blame.

Skid wrote: »
    Kenny Egan lives his own life and to be fair, he has taken responsibility for his mistakes. No one else is to blame.

Fair enough, but that doesn't exonerate the sporting bodies when their successful sports players/participants go off the rails.

They are more than happy to share the limelight when the medals are handed out and rightly so. But their duty of care should continue long after the limelights have dimmed, no matter how independent their protegés claim to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Would you have a crack at something, or a crack off something? And what would it say about where you came from?

I wonder is Ultimo Boss - Michelle Mone on the show.

Lapin wrote: »
    Fair enough, but that doesn't exonerate the sporting bodies when their successful sports players/participants go off the rails.

They are more than happy to share the limelight when the medals are handed out and rightly so. But their duty of care should continue long after the limelights have dimmed, no matter how independent their protegés claim to be.

Just because Kenny Egan became an alcoholic doesn't mean people in the IABA didn't try to help him. Short of locking him in a cell, there is only so much you can so for an Independent, wealthy adult who is heading down the road to alcoholism.

Curtain fail !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Ha ha ha ahahahahahahahahaaa!!!!!!

Ha ha ha !

Ahahahahahahahahhahahhahaaaaaaaaa!!

:D. :D. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

I'd prefer the curtain tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

*cringe*

Brendan's face: :eek:

Hilarious!

iTune Showaddywaddy now to hear that this stuff can be good

Poor Brendan - I'd say his arms are aching, those curtains are heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Curtain fail !!!!!!!!

Is this D'Unbelievables I'm watching? :D

Nice performance by The Overtones, very slick

and nice curtain work by BOC, very quick off the mark there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭moesyzlak

i warned you about those curtains, i seriously did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭teepee

Well done brendan , poping along as a curtian man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

some of those boys are yummy
    wow his voice is almost a sexy as johnny depps!

That Curtain Fail nearly happened a few weeks ago too. BOC is clearly unhappy.

It could be curtains for the Floor Manager after that mistake

Ba-Dum, Tish! :pac:

I hope Joan Burton stays behind the curtain for her interview.

They really don't appeal to me :(

and nice curtain work by BOC, very quick off the mark there :)

Yeah it was lucky he did something about it because nobody else was :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

i take it back actually it is just the one good looker and sounder! but mmmmm

Ah sit down and be quiet lads.

Arrah, I thought that was a very good interview

'Feck You' instead of 'F*** You' sounded well.

Thank you Margaret Heffernan :D

I agree with Brendan, Joan always dresses very well.

No meltdown for Joan tonight. Decent enough interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭moesyzlak

jaysus,no haranguing thus far.

moesyzlak wrote: »
    jaysus,no haranguing thus far.

Except from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

I like Joan. She's not the worst.

The SNS is more entertaining than the LLS at this stage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

she is a very smart woman. sounds like she had a tough enough childhood with being adopted and things. She was hard done should have got something to do with finance

I like Joan. She's not the worst.
    I thought she came across very well tonight.

she is a very smart woman. sounds like she had a tough enough childhood with being adopted and things. She was hard done should have got something to do with finance

Eh to me her childhood sounded happy :confused: she sounded very happy with her adoptive family :confused:

More just in later life the adoption came to fore

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

amdublin wrote: »
    Eh to me her childhood sounded happy :confused: she sounded very happy with her adoptive family :confused:

More just in later life the adoption came to fore

Oh id say it was happy but just meant tough as in its hard finding out that your adopted and that these people raising you are not your real parents

Kenny is very handsome, honest interview and very good actually.It's good to see he has beaten his demons.
    Ah he is embarrassed about the women, bless him.

I liked the overtones.
    Michelle, fair play to her she did well for herself.

Joan, intelligent woman did not know she was adopted. good enough interview.

This was way better than the LLS.

Three pages of posts... Great show then, yeah?? I mean three pages is poor even for The Sat Nite Show..

There wasn't much to complain about, unlike the LLS.

MrsD007 wrote: »

If only I'd been here.. I'm sure I could have found something.. :)

some of us were out enjoying ourselves, I just watched it now.
    It was enjoyable.

MrsD007 wrote: »

Kenny is hot, better looking than Mr Big

Brendan is streets ahead of Tubs, I wish we could get them to swop shows. Tubs was at his best when he presented Tubridy Tonight.