Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Guards: A Year Behind the Scene with the Men and Women of an Garda Siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

eroo wrote: »
    Just saw this on the Late Late Show. Needless to say I'm very excited about this. Looks great, well done to Mark Condon and all proceeds go to Temple Street Childrens Hospital!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Guards-Behind-Scene-Women-Siochana/dp/0955029872/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1321051781&sr=1-1

pre-ordered for only 31euros! Should be interesting to view but as for how good 'reality' wise - shall wait and see. Suppose I've no choice there really though since it's not yet dispatched :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Hill St Blue

I did my best to smile for ye! :D

sur aren't you always a happy reserve ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

Perfect Christmas present for the auld fella... Well, I hope so. Because I just pre-ordered it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Your man on the cover looks like he has been pepper sprayed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭d3exile

gerire wrote: »
    Your man on the cover looks like he has been pepper sprayed

"blue on blue"... Happens all too often ;)

Sounds like it should be a good series alright... Keep waiting for that one series that will come out that shows it as it is...

The likes of traffic blues is pure cringe tv
    Some lads should be screened before a camera is put near them!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

^^^ It's a book... ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭d3exile

^^^ It's a book... ;)

Haha oooh right, redfaced!!

Jumped the gun there! Got it confused with a new series...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

d3exile wrote: »

Sounds like it should be a good series alright... Keep waiting for that one series that will come out that shows it as it is...

Some lads should be screened before a computer is put near themicon10.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

d3exile wrote: »

It's definitely not a selective weapon, look what way the wind blows before you even consider using it :)

kerry4sam wrote: »
    pre-ordered for only 31euros! Should be interesting to view but as for how good 'reality' wise - shall wait and see. Suppose I've no choice there really though since it's not yet dispatched :)

It's now listed as €18 on amazon!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

17.87 on bookdepositry.

Still won't buy it.

If i want to look at ugly coppers i can do it for free on the street:D

I pre-ordered mine for 31euros. I thought that was a very good price considering where the monies raised will be going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭have_a_go_hero

the Garda on the cover looks armed to me? am I seeing things?

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I pre-ordered mine for 31euros. I thought that was a very good price considering where the monies raised will be going :)

Somebody in amazon has probably siphoned off the €13!:p

I think this is being released in stores 25th November. I popped into Easons and they are still waiting on release date, as are amazon. Enda Kenny will be launching it on 25th according to the Indo yesterday.

Folks, the book is in Easons now (and other book stores I'm sure) so pop in and get a copy, or spread the word. It is a brilliant book, really well presented and gives a fantastic insight into the various and very diverse aspects of what the Gardai do. Mark spent quite a bit of time with our unit getting shots, and as well as being a genuinely nice guy, he is a true professional. It's for a great cause too, so dig deep if ye can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 conkubar

Mark is a sound fella and spent a full year doing this. it wasn't easy so support as best you can:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,051 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

There are armed Gardai out there, you know! Must be an old(ish) pic, though - don't think there's many .38s left at this stage.

ETA - looks great, hope someone buys it for me for Christmas!!!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    There are armed Gardai out there, you know! Must be an old(ish) pic, though - don't think there's many .38s left at this stage.

of course i know there are armed Gardai out there....however being a largely unarmed police force it strikes me as odd to show an armed Garda.....just my opinion....cannot wait to get the book though.

HeidiHeidi wrote: »

of course i know there are armed Gardai out there....however being a largely unarmed police force it strikes me as odd to show an armed Garda.....just my opinion....cannot wait to get the book though.

No, as far as I know it's a recent picture allright. Not too many revolvers on the go any more, but there are still a few out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

I got it today its brilliant the photography is excellent he spent a long time with the unit and did the same shifts we did alot of hard work went into it on all sides very well done mark

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Definitely.

I see 2 arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

No, as far as I know it's a recent picture allright. Not too many revolvers on the go any more, but there are still a few out there.

Lets not go down this road people........

Hooch wrote: »

Lets not go down this road people........

Have I said something in error?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Have I said something in error?!

Lets not get into the discussion of AGS firearms etc.......not exactly state secrets but not very apporiate for an internet forum

Hooch wrote: »
    Lets not get into the discussion of AGS firearms etc.......not exactly state secrets but not very apporiate for an internet forum

No problemo Hooch. I just commented because the firearm was clearly visible in said photo, but you can delete any posts you see fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭thekopend

he is a detective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭DFB BOY

Lads,anybody know the release date of this in Eason's???I checked their website and got nothing,be a nice stocking filler for the auldfella :D

DFB BOY wrote: »
    Lads,anybody know the release date of this in Eason's???I checked their website and got nothing,be a nice stocking filler for the auldfella :D

It was in Easons on O'Connel St. yesterday, so Id say it's in all their branches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭DFB BOY

It was in Easons on O'Connel St. yesterday, so Id say it's in all their branches.

Cheers man,will try and get to one later.

Got it today... absolutely brilliant work! Well worth picking up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭Rawhead

Now if I was a scrote all I'd do is hang out in Easons for the next few weeks with a good view of the stand that stocks this book and you'd know every detective, plainclothes and undercover guard in Ireland. The only people who will buy this will be guards, guards wives/husbands/sons/daughters/mothers/fathers.
    The only thing is it'll be easy spot the dirtbird in the bookshop, he'll be the one with the book upside down pretending to read.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

Initial run of 5000 copies almost sold out the photographer has ordered more get em quick

does anyone know if its available in cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

does anyone know if its available in cork?

saw it in waterstones yesterday ..

sound @opti76 ill try and get it tomorro!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Corruptable

Rawhead wrote: »
    Now if I was a scrote all I'd do is hang out in Easons for the next few weeks with a good view of the stand that stocks this book and you'd know every detective, plainclothes and undercover guard in Ireland. The only people who will buy this will be guards, guards wives/husbands/sons/daughters/mothers/fathers.
    The only thing is it'll be easy spot the dirtbird in the bookshop, he'll be the one with the book upside down pretending to read.

I can see what you're saying, but I would say not necessarily correct. People who have an interest in the history of the Gardaí, policing, criminal justice, forensics, etc.

At least I will be purchasing it any way, and I'm not a Garda nor am I directly related to one. As has been said, it is for a good cause and I'm sure provides a rare insight into the work done on the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Rawhead wrote: »
    According to the training manual, he'll be dressed as a hells angel or will have a baseball cap on backwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭triseke

Saw this yesterday, think it looks great!

Where did you see it? Must get my hands on it in case they don't print any more!

Just saw this on the Late Late Show. Needless to say I'm very excited about this. Looks great, well done to Mark Condon and all proceeds go to Temple Street Childrens Hospital!

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Guards-Behind-Scene-Women-Siochana/dp/0955029872/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1321051781&sr=1-1

According to amazon.ie, my book is expected to be delivered after the 25th December :D.

They do give option of cancelling to be fair, but it will be a nice pressie for myself for after Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

Postman delivered it yesterday :D, Christmas present to myself so shall be sitting under the tree till then for another 26 days :eek:. By the way its a massive book, didnt think it was as big as it was.

There was a great book publised in the nineties along the same lines, if you want to PM me i'll give you the details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 414 ✭✭Bosh

That would be Leo Regans book?

Great read, I was surprised at the blurbs saying the latest book was the first of its kind :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭shanehillview

yep thats the one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Michael O Toole

Had a look at the book yesterday, some great pics. But I think the 5,000 print run is now all gone. Hope they do a second run as it is for a great cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Had a look at the book yesterday, some great pics. But I think the 5,000 print run is now all gone. Hope they do a second run as it is for a great cause.

Was in O'Mahoney's in Limerick yesterday, they still have a stack of about 10-15 if anyone around these parts is looking for it.

There's a few left in Hodges Figgis in Dublin apparently. A pal just got one for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Picked this up today at Applegreen services off the M1, excellent book. Would recommend to anybody.

It really shows the diverse challenges faced by the AGS. Some excellent photography in it, everything from "action" shots to the haunting ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Spartan09

Anywhere in Dublin theres still a few copies floating around, have been in to multiple easons and they say its out of print and no idea when will get more in...?

Not sure how I managed to miss this.

Anyone know if there'd be any hope of getting it in Drogheda? Also, is it an actual text book, with photos, or just a book of pictures, with little to no text? (lots of comments being made about the photography, so unsure if it's only photography that's featured?).

Also, if anyone purchased in Easons, can you give the price they sell it for?

Cheers :) Will have to take a nosey on Monday.