Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drunk on a bike

• 11-11-2011 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭

Firstly, I'm not encouraging this, it was just debated in the pub last night.

If somebody is on a bicycle after having a few drinks, can you be done for drink driving, seeing how technically you're not driving. Would you be done for Being a Danger to Yourself and Others instead?

Has anyone had experience in this field?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

You can be charged for drunk driving -

The law is drunk and incharge of a mechically propelled veichle

driving” includes managing and controlling and, in relation to a bicycle or tricycle, riding, and “driver” and other cognate words shall be construed accordingly;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You can be charged for drunk in charge of a bicycle, not drink-driving.

You cannot be breathalysed for this, it's up to the Garda to decide if you're sufficiently intoxicated so as to be incapable of safely riding the bike. So this means it's perfectly legal to drink and cycle.

If the Garda wishes, he can confiscate the bicycle until you've sobered up.

In court, it carries a maximum fine of €2,000. You cannot be jailed or banned for it.

In most cases if you're that drunk the Gardai will typically tell you to get off an walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

You can be done for it.

Don't think it is drunk driving but it is illegal afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Not sure of the law in Ireland, but here in Germany you lose your license as you are in command of road vehicle and a danger to others. In order to get it back you have to have a Medical Psychological Assessment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

If somebody is on a bicycle after having a few drinks, can you be done for drink driving, seeing how technically you're not driving. Would you be done for Being a Danger to Yourself and Others instead?

My Father has a story about getting nabbed for it one night back in college. They just took the bike off him and he had to shamefully call down to the Garda station to collect it the next morning. They were laughing at him more than anything else and probably took it off him for his own safety really.
    This was in the 70s however so not sure how it works today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I was drunk on a bike once.
    Thought I'd show off to my ex boyfriend who had just dumped me.
    I sped down the hill to where him and his friend were.
    When I pulled the brakes, I did a double flip and landed on the ground with the bike on top of me.
    My ex just shook his head in disgust and walked off, and his friend tried to help me up.
    Moral of the story - drinking and cycling does not win you your boyfriend back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I have an Aunt in Kent and someone in the village near her does the same thing but with a horse. Fair play for beating the system :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

I was ran into by a drunk cyclist... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

I have an Aunt in Kent and someone in the village near her does the same thing but with a horse. Fair play for beating the system :cool:
    He gets the horse drunk!? :eek:

I was ran into by a drunk cyclist... :mad:
    So he wasn't cycling? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I nearly broke both my hands cycling home from Leopardstown racetrack pissed. The real problem was I bought 3 toblerones from a vendor, and I had no pockets, and I couldn't control the vehicle as a result.*

*The real problem was that I was pissed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,279 ✭✭✭Lady Chuckles

So he wasn't cycling? :D

Of course he was! Don't try to be smart :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Oranage2 wrote: »
    What about if your in a wheelchair? Can they arrest you at any time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Happened to my mate in Germany, was drunk cycling home and he got his bike took off him and banned from the road for a year... A bit harsh I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

You can be charged for drunk driving -

A bicycle isn't a mechanically propelled vehicle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

At the checkpoint on my bike I said 'Howws a goin Gard are ye well?', we had a discussion, he checked my lights, he had a close look at my eyeballs 'n stuff, established I wasn't too far from home, then let me on my way with a caution & my promise to be careful.

That's proper policing! Reckon he worked out I wasn't much of a danger to anyone, myself even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Maybe I'm wrong

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/man-on-bike-has-drink-driving-case-thrown-out-149965.html

Though it's not legal to cycle under whilst drunk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Up to 5 pints or so, I think that a person would be OK. If you can walk in a straight line, you should be able to handle a bike.

I have cycled while quite drunk before and the cycling wasn't the tricky part. It was waiting for lights to turn green that that had me nearly fall over. It only ever happened at night when the roads were quiet, thankfully.

Maybe I'm wrong

http://www.examiner.ie/ireland/man-on-bike-has-drink-driving-case-thrown-out-149965.html

Though it's not legal to cycle under whilst drunk
    It's dated April 1st. Belated April Fools?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

I tells ya.. a bike isn't the only thing I've ridden whilst drunk.

Remember kids.. don't drink and ride.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

Up to 5 pints or so, I think that a person would be OK. If you can walk in a straight line, you should be able to handle a bike.

But hold on, that would be classed as hazerdous drinking :eek: :P :pac: so must not be safe according to the experts! :P

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I got from City centre to Terenure on the way home I cycled in a straight line after a few pints but after a while you might lose concentration,

out of nowhere on the cycle path I just swired right into a lamp post, almost.
    I let out a loud eeep and managed to avoid it, the rest was fine.

I wouldn't advise it but its nothing like driving tipsy, you're probably going to scrape and bump yourself worst case a car hits you and you're done for but you're not going to hurt the driver in most instances. Still not a great idea I would avoid but I wouldnt take it as a serious problem in ireland we have to tackle

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

saa wrote: »
    I got from City centre to Terenure on the way home I cycled in a straight line after a few pints but after a while you might lose concentration,

out of nowhere on the cycle path I just swired right into a lamp post, almost.
    I let out a loud eeep and managed to avoid it, the rest was fine.

I wouldn't advise it but its nothing like driving tipsy, you're probably going to scrape and bump yourself worst case a car hits you and you're done for but you're not going to hurt the driver in most instances. Still not a great idea I would avoid but I wouldnt take it as a serious problem in ireland we have to tackle

If a driver hit a pissed cyclist and badly injured/killed them that will have a terrible effect on him/her in most cases, so I do not think its fair to suggest its only the cyclist who will be hurt (maybe physically, but the driver mentally). A pissed cyclist also may plugh into a pedestrian, small child etc and bikes can kill people if cycled wrecklessly. The limit for cycling a bike should be higher, but I think people who cycle absolutely trolleyed are morans. Not suggesting you were in this category at all btw, but you know the kind I mean who swerve all over the road/paths/cycle lanes.

Nick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Many years ago in college we got stopped by a patrol car. Friend had a bike, I was walking, we were just walking and talking. Cops stopped to chat and send us on our way, realised we were a bit drunk, told is to go home. Friend swings leg over bike, misses it then falls over it. Cop looks down and says, perhaps walking would be a better idea. Then followed him a bit to make sure he was ok walking.

Another friend got stopped and I think fined. Long time ago so don't remember well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

texidub wrote: »
    I tells ya.. a bike isn't the only thing I've ridden whilst drunk.

Remember kids..
    Was briefly unsure where you were going with that one..

You're not alone AgileMyth... post in haste, marvel at your leisure.. or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭MetalDog

I remember once I was rat arsed I was cycling and came off the bike over the handlebars - SPLAT! - Funnily I was fine, only bruised.

I reckon if I did that sober I'd have needed a doctor. . . didn't do it again though.

Now that I think of it, the only times I had accidents on bikes is when I've been sober. When I've been pissed.. no probs.

Therefore, I think cyclists should be legally obliged to drink before taking to the streets/foothpaths/front gardens/canals. Not only would it bring a smile to the faces of other people --and we all need a laugh in these dark, winter days-- it would obviously reduce the number of accidents.

If that means more Gardai and more breathalyzer kits, then so bbe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

did it once and broke my collarbone. never again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

I dont recommend it.
    And I can hardly cycle sober! (Not a good combination since I used to go mountain biking nearly every weekend :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The great thing about cycling drunk is when you crash you feeling nothing:D

yoyo wrote: »
    If a driver hit a pissed cyclist and badly injured/killed them that will have a terrible effect on him/her in most cases, so I do not think its fair to suggest its only the cyclist who will be hurt (maybe physically, but the driver mentally). A pissed cyclist also may plugh into a pedestrian, small child etc and bikes can kill people if cycled wrecklessly. The limit for cycling a bike should be higher, but I think people who cycle absolutely trolleyed are morans. Not suggesting you were in this category at all btw, but you know the kind I mean who swerve all over the road/paths/cycle lanes.

Nick

Hardly an issue to get up in arms about compared to driving,
    one is every two years someone is killed by a cyclist, and that isn't related to drinking!
    And that's in the uk

[1] Road Casualties in Great Britain 2001, Department for Transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Lived in Finland for a few months and it was the normal thing to cycle home pissed after pub/club.

Never had any hassle on it and was often on it when completely twisted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The great thing about cycling drunk is when you crash you feeling nothing:D

Until you wake up with a hangover and a pedal wedged up your arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

It's illegal to be drunk in a public place, even on foot.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Until you wake up with a hangover and a pedal wedged up your arse.

I never found that pedal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Been drunk many times on a bike and crashed many times too.
    Once got entangled in the bike and couldn't get up for like 15 minutes.
    Was in the middle of the night so luckily no-one saw my shame...

biko wrote: »
    Been drunk many times on a bike and crashed many times too.
    Once got entangled in the bike and couldn't get up for like 15 minutes.
    Was in the middle of the night so luckily no-one saw my shame...
    .....until now!

So, who's got the CCTV footage?

McGaggs wrote: »
    It's illegal to be drunk in a public place, even on foot.
    What if you're legless though? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Brother did it in England. Hit a kerb, broke his cheek bone, lost his eyesight in one of his eyes. He was so inebriated, he thought he could walk it off and was found by the police walking his bike home with his eye partially hanging out...bloody idiot!

Jaysus!! :eek:
    Did he lose the eye too, or just the sight in it?

Only his sight. He has lost some movement in it so sometimes it rolls over to the corner. I'd have more sympathy but he is an awful idiot. He's grand now, drives, plays soccer, cycles and everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Roundabouts are the worst

You arrive up to them with to much speed and an inability to judge distance

The knee goes down as if you riding a motorbike in the Isle of Man TT and then gravity kicks in and you find yourself eye level with the curb

Only his sight. He has lost some movement in it so sometimes it rolls over to the corner. I'd have more sympathy but he is an awful idiot. He's grand now, drives, plays soccer, cycles and everything
    Does he still cycle drunk?

Nah, he's learned his lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I know someone that happened to as well. All too common :(

KTRIC wrote: »
    I know someone that happened to as well. All too common :(

Interesting*

*Edit.. actually I'd say drunken cycling injuries are more common then people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

It's dated April 1st. Belated April Fools?
    No that was a true case. Have a pedelec and they are classed as bicycle for a reason.

Nah, he's learned his lesson.
    I'd like to think so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo