Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R/T Xmas beers, December 10th 8pm O'Reilly's Bar

• 10-11-2011 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭

There has been quite a bit of talk about this in the logs and at the races, so I just thought I'd announce it here.

We'll be meeting at the above time and place, to celebrate/commiserate our perfromaces in the Waterford Half or aware 5 miler.

All are welcome, there are already loads of people already confirmed and the more the merrier.

The location is here and apparently there is a wide selection of drinks available, so whether you are a craft beer snob like Krusty_Clown or knacker (heineken shandy) drinker like TheRoadRunner, this should appeal to you.

So who's in?

Edit: the location is still To be decided, please vote in the poll above, it's a multiple choice poll so you can choose as many options as you like.

Where to drink? 35 votes

O'Neills
    0%
    The Bank
    11%
    Krusty_Clownmenoscemogerard65Kander 4 votes
    The Czech Inn
    11%
    Krusty_Clownhf4z6sqo7vjngigerard65drquirky 4 votes
    Doyles
    14%
    tHE vAGGABONDKrusty_Clownmenoscemogerard65drquirky 5 votes
    O'Reillys
    20%
    Krusty_ClownWoddlemenoscemoTheRoadRunnercouerdeliongerard65tunguska 7 votes
    The Long Stone
    25%
    Krusty_ClownWoddlemenoscemoTheRoadRunnergerard65BrianderunnershazkeaMr SlowNules10 9 votes
    McTurcaills
    17%
    Krusty_ClownWoddleOisin11178gerard65drquirkyaverage_runner 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

The Long Stone
    I'm in of course but not too keen on the venue. I've had my run in with the bouncers there more than once during my Trinity days (i wasn't in the wrong) and it always seems to be uncomfortably crowded in there on a Saturday night (and the Guinness gives you hangovers from hell)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Should be able to manage my usual 'two pints and I'm off' that evening :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

A couple of things - anyway possible for people to make suggestions on the venue? I've nothing against the place as i've never been there by the way. I know you're never going to get a place that everyone's happy with by the way. I would suggest somewhere with seats though:p

Also, IIRC loads of people confirmed last year too in advance and about a dozen in total showed up so a 'wait and see' policy on numbers would be best.

But as i remember slipping on my backside going down Christchurch hill and not stopping for a good while, i think the snow and the ice was the problem.

And Meno could you check your spelling of Waterford;) Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

The Long Stone
    chinguetti wrote: »
    A couple of things - anyway possible for people to make suggestions on the venue? I've nothing against the place as i've never been there by the way. I know you're never going to get a place that everyone's happy with by the way. I would suggest somewhere with seats though:p

Also, IIRC loads of people confirmed last year too in advance and about a dozen in total showed up so a 'wait and see' policy on numbers would be best.

But as i remember slipping on my backside going down Christchurch hill and not stopping for a good while, i think the snow and the ice was the problem.

And Meno could you check your spelling of Waterford;) Thanks

Done on the Waterford thing ;).
    There were some PM's behind the scenes on the venue and while not everyone agreed, Doyles seemed like the best compromise. Unfortunately being a regular pleb poster (unlike yer mods and fancy subscribers) I can only send PM's to 5 people at a time.
    It really has to be a big bar with open spaces because we are actually expecting a big turnout this year, and for handiness I guess it has to eb in Dublin City Centre. The last time I was in Doyles I definitely remember there being loads of seats

The Long Stone
    menoscemo wrote: »
    Done on the Waterford thing ;).
    There were some PM's behind the scenes on the venue and while not everyone agreed, Doyles seemed like the best compromise. Unfortunately being a regular pleb poster (unlike yer mods and fancy subscribers) I can only send PM's to 5 people at a time.
    It really has to be a big bar with open spaces because we are actually expecting a big turnout this year, and for handiness I guess it has to eb in Dublin City Centre. The last time I was in Doyles I definitely remember there being loads of seats

Doyles is far from a big bar with open spaces. It's one of those narrow circular bars. Go there on a Saturday night and you can barely move. There's seats alright but they're in groups of 3 or 4 and seperated (and hot property as you can imagine in a crowded pub).

Upstairs is more roomy but it turns into a nightclub later on and you can barely hear yourself think up there (Christ i'm getting old :))

I suggest naming alternate venues and let democracy decide via a poll or whatever.

The Long Stone
    I suggest naming alternate venues and let democracy decide via a poll or whatever.

That's cool, fire ahead. Other Bars on the shortlist were The Bank, O'Neills and the Czech Inn.

The Long Stone
    That's cool, fire ahead. Other Bars on the shortlist were The Bank, O'Neills and the Czech Inn.

Not McGrattans anyway :D. O Neills and Czech Inn would be better than Doyles for sure. Havent been to the Bank but it looks a bit poxy. You always seem to pick the pubs with the dearest pints :pac: (€3.20 a pint in O Reilly's under Tara St. station)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

The Long Stone
    Not McGrattans anyway :D. O Neills and Czech Inn would be better than Doyles for sure. Havent been to the Bank but it looks a bit poxy. You always seem to pick the pubs with the dearest pints :pac: (€3.20 a pint in O Reilly's under Tara St. station)

O'Neills is very pokey. The Bank is very narrow. I like Doyles, I think that was a ruuner as in has arty farty craft beers and bog standard larger lout swill, however, this 3.20 a pint thing has me intrigued. Haven't been in O'Reillys in a couple of years but I use to be a big fan. Put it to the people I say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

O'Reillys
    The location is here and apparently there is a wide selection of drinks available, so whether you are a craft beer snob like Krusty_Clown or knacker (heineken shandy) drinker like TheRoadRunner, this should appeal to you.

So who's in?

Big fan of doyles, especially at crimbo. Always a great atmosphere in the place that time of year and they play great music. Yeah it gets crowded but everywhere will be.

The Long Stone
    O'Neills is very pokey. The Bank is very narrow. I like Doyles, I think that was a ruuner as in has arty farty craft beers and bog standard larger lout swill, however, this 3.20 a pint thing has me intrigued. Haven't been in O'Reillys in a couple of years but I use to be a big fan. Put it to the people I say

Can a mod add a Poll?
    Let's say between:
    O'Neills
    The Bank
    The Czech Inn
    Doyles
    O'Reillys???

The Long Stone
    Can a mod add a Poll?
    Let's say between:
    O'Neills
    The Bank
    The Czech Inn
    Doyles
    O'Reillys???

Sounds good yeah, we'll go with the majority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

McTurcaills
    Not sure if i make it or not as work party is in the shelbourne the night before.

McTurcails is quite a big pub and you can reserve an area in it.
    Long Stone is another pub you can reserve upstairs in it.
    Doyles is ok
    There is another pub on Suffolk st down from Oneills that looks big.
    Hairy lemon not bad either.
    Sinnotts off grafton Street!!!
    White Horse on the quay by tara st station is quite open and has xmas decs up so you could get xmas songs:)

Can a mod add a Poll?
    Let's say between:
    O'Neills
    The Bank
    The Czech Inn
    Doyles
    O'Reillys???

added. I'll add anything else that gets two nominations

It's a multiple vote poll, so you can vote for your two favourites, or vote for everything other than the pub you hate...

The Long Stone
    RayCun wrote: »
    added. I'll add anything else that gets two nominations

Lapellos

Lapellos

I think VillageRunner is offering to sort people out...

The Long Stone
    McTurcails is quite a big pub and you can reserve an area in it.
    Long Stone is another pub you can reserve upstairs in it.

My 2 old locals.

McTurcaills have €3.50 pints Monday to Sunday. It's quite open and plenty of seating. I was in there about 3 days a week when i was on the dole :pac:

The long stone is next door and is a little better with a class smoking area but standard prices.

+1 on the reservation thing. If there was enough of us

The Long Stone
    I vote for everything (except the bank).

If we have too many places nominated I think it just gets too messy, that's why I tried to go the 'authoritarian' route :pac:

Still and all, I know the longstone and it's a fine pub. I still have a soft spot for The Czech Inn though, a few of us from here went for a beers a few months ago and ended up there and it was great. (we initially went to Porterhouse but you couldn't hear yourself think).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

McTurcaills
    Could just do a 12 pubs of xmas instead :)
    All pubs be cater for then!!

The Long Stone
    Could just do a 12 pubs of xmas instead :)
    All pubs be cater for then!!

We can still do that :D The poll is just to see where we start :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

We should all wear 'I'm following Fagan' Tee-Shirts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

pistol_75 wrote: »
    We should all wear 'I'm following Fagan' Tee-Shirts :)

Either that or a "Are the Kenyans still behind me T Shirt"

Im easy going as ony one of the Pubs I have been to is Doyles so new experiences always welcom. As long as there drink is flowing I will be happy (6 weeks without drink in build up to Waterford will kill me:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

So is this for the lads only or are the girlies allowed along too (the Lapellos nomination was putting me off...:rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭shazkea

The Long Stone
    Emer911 wrote: »
    So is this for the lads only or are the girlies allowed along too (the Lapellos nomination was putting me off...:rolleyes:)

Lol - that thought never even occured to me :rolleyes:. I've already cast my vote and invited myself along :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I thought the Lapellos nomination was TRR offering to dance for the ladies. No?

• Company Representative Posts: 9,510 ✭✭✭Richersounds.ie: John

How come all you super-fit 'n fast Boardies are so into your pubs / pints - fe*k it takes me all I have to stumble along (ever so slightly) faster than walking pace, and I've been off the Vino since a month before the DCM :mad:....

I may have to go along and see your capes / superman/woman gear..

Laughing (but really very jealous)

Jmc

John McDonald / Managing Director / Richer Sounds Ireland / www.richersounds.ie / johnmc@richersounds.ie

Scary :eek:

How come all you super-fit 'n fast Boardies are so into your pubs / pints - fe*k it takes me all I have to stumble along (ever so slightly) faster than walking pace, and I've been off the Vino since a month before the DCM :mad:....

I may have to go along and see your capes / superman/woman gear..

Laughing (but really very jealous)

Jmc

I'll be dressed like this - http://www.flickr.com/photos/mbpics/2965033205/

I usually leave my crown at home for these events so as not to leave other people feeling too insignificant. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

McTurcaills
    Is that not a skunk:eek:

gerard65 wrote: »
    Is that not a skunk:eek:

That's what I thought but the badge on it's neck looks remotely like a Racoon. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

McTurcaills
    Their both vermin.

We won't have any problems spotting the ATR group in a crowded pub then :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Doyle's is small and crowded alright and might be best avoided.

O'Reillys I think is called the Sub Lounge now. The last few times I've been in there they have been chronically understaffed and you'd be quicker brewing your own beer. They used to have some sort of cocktail thing on and you'd get some airhead going up ordering 10 cocktails that would take the one staff member about 20 minutes to make. Another to avoid :D

The Long Stone

That valid nomination only got one vote cast in it's favour so don't let that put you off. I must emphasise that I am not a sexist/pervert a-hole.
    Yes I'm willing to dance (in ny famed boxers ;)) for any ladies for a nominal fee. Alternatively if locked will do for free.
    G-Money wrote: »
    Doyle's is small and crowded alright and might be best avoided.
    Fair enough but any ****er nominating a boozer better make an appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Might need to decided between the boozer or the half marathon now :(

shels4ever wrote: »
    Might need to decided between the boozer or the half marathon now :(

The half is that morning can get a lift back with me if you need it after. Make it back in plenty of time

ecoli wrote: »
    The half is that morning can get a lift back with me if you need it after. Make it back in plenty of time
    Will need to work on the OH about getting a 24 hour pass :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Don't be silly. Just say you are going and that's it. I bet she doesn't ask you for a pass??? :P

Thats what pre race tapers are for............. Earning the browny points:D

ecoli wrote: »
    Thats what pre race tapers are for............. Earning the browny points:D

Ah yes, but after 2 weeks away, I better wait a couple of week to spring that plan. She still doesnt know about London yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

The Long Stone

FYP :D

Are you planning on wearing this?

The Long Stone
    Are you planning on wearing this?

Are you asking cause you want me to?:D

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Are you asking cause you want me to?:D

If you would like to an establish a Boards tradition of wearing swimwear to the xmas beers, someone will have to take the first step. I know we can rely on you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭claralara

I don't drink but will attend in order to take note of the antics and then remind everyone in due course how much of an embarrassment they really are...:rolleyes:;)

The Long Stone
    If you would like to an establish a Boards tradition of wearing swimwear to the xmas beers, someone will have to take the first step. I know we can rely on you :)

I really think RQ is better placed than either of us to take that first step. Fair play to her, always pushing the boundaries.

The Long Stone
    claralara wrote: »
    I don't drink but will attend in order to take note of the antics and then remind everyone in due course how much of an embarrassment they really are...:rolleyes:;)

Another bikini volunteer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I don't drink

Good idea. Maybe you could record a video and put that video up on Boards a couple of weeks later, when those concerned think their antics have been forgotten?

The Long Stone
    Good idea. Maybe you could record a video and put that video up on Boards a couple of weeks later, when those concerned think their antics have been forgotten?

Has that been posted yet????

No, but this would be a good time...