Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Assistance Fund

• 10-11-2011 3:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

Hi, anyone know when we will hear back about the student assistance fund?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭shellib

aloofasc wrote: »
    Hi, anyone know when we will hear back about the student assistance fund?
    I got it last year, and as far as I can remember, I didn't hear anything til January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 tipp.angel

in my college, letters for successful and unsuccessful applicates will be sent out in nov 21st and then payment is early december i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭meg3178

Did anyone hear from NUIG SAF yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭millivanilli

i haven't heard back yet was hoping to hear something before christmas the other thing i was wondering is if we can get any documentation back from our applications. i have them my p60 and i need it back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭shellib

Got an email today, sayin that due to the high numbers it will be February before we hear anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭meg3178

So in the meantime how are the students supposed to survive? I think its time the S.U. started putting on some pressure. I know my offspring finds it very hard trying to get by, let alone someone who has to decide whether to pay the rent or buy food. The people who have applied for the SAF really do need the help sooner than February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭musical.x

meg3178 wrote: »
    So in the meantime how are the students supposed to survive? I think its time the S.U. started putting on some pressure. I know my offspring finds it very hard trying to get by, let alone someone who has to decide whether to pay the rent or buy food. The people who have applied for the SAF really do need the help sooner than February.
    if you are in dire need of it you just have to call them and let them know and they will speed it up a bit. they mentioned that in the email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

I applied way back but haven't heard anything at all from them, not even an email to say it will be Feb as I'm reading here.

Anyone know how to go about contacting them??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Nal

still no word on this? :/

they said it could take another 2 weeks or more Nal :)

oh ok, thanks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

Have they found other avenues to give more money to the Student Assitance Fund yet?

ok, so apparently this is been given out on a "staggered basis" from yesterday. has anyone here got anything yet? do they email you or what to inform you the applications been successful?

Nal wrote: »
    ok, so apparently this is been given out on a "staggered basis" from yesterday. has anyone here got anything yet? do they email you or what to inform you the applications been successful?

Just found this now Nal so may be of use to you......

http://www.nuigalway.ie/student_services/student_assistance_fund.html

<H6 class=bodytext>The deadline for applications for the Student Assistance Fund (which includes the Childcare Subsidy) has now passed.

We will be writing to students who did not qualify for funding next week and cheques will be processed for those who were successful in the coming weeks.

WHILE THE DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS HAS NOW CLOSED, IF YOU ARE IN SERIOUS FINANCIAL DIFFICULTY PLEASE CONTACT TERESA OR ANGELA, 1ST FLOOR, ARAS UI CHATHAIL. PHONE: 091-495282.
    </H6>

I'm assuming if ya haven't heard from them in writing it means you have been successful so now just a matter of waiting......

when was that posted up on the site do you know?

coz the SU put this up on the 17th
    **Student Assistance Fund Update**
    The SAF funding will be distributed on a staggered basis from next Monday 20th of February. If any other students are in severe financial hardship they should contact Brian Grant the SU Welfare Officer su.welfare@nuigalway.ie or Teresa and Angela in the Accommodation Office in Áras Uí Chathail.
    EDIT: Just seen your 2nd post there, alright thats good news so, thanks a lot :)
    I was wondering that myself nal, but I've no idea. There is no date on the webpage so I'm hoping I qualified cos I'm struggling too :(

Might give a quick call tomorrow to see what the crack is??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭The___________

Anyone heard anything yet? I've had no correspondence at all yet thus far

nothing :(

EDIT: from the SU FB page
    Student Assistance Fund Update from SU Welfare Officer:

People who are deemed ineligible will receive a letter by the end of the week. Cheques will be paid into the account for those who are eligible. Payments will be made over the next two weeks.

I didn't get a letter, yay :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭niamhocxox

Did anybody get paid yet?

No Niamh, not heard anything at all :(

no one i know have received anything. they are starting to distribute it slowly for the next two weeks though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭rebecca 30

musical.x wrote: »
    no one i know have received anything. they are starting to distribute it slowly for the next two weeks though.

I went asking last week in student services N.U.I.G and they said it defo be paid by this week end ,

rebecca 30 wrote: »
    I went asking last week in student services N.U.I.G and they said it defo be paid by this week end ,

Do you know what way it will be paid Rebecca??
    I now they don't have my bank details (mainly cos there is nothing in there:()

Do you know what way it will be paid Rebecca??
    I now they don't have my bank details (mainly cos there is nothing in there:()

Hey ,
    On the application form they asked fro bank details, It should go into your bank account but I say they will post out a check to you if you didn't give them bank account details
    They did say it would be nearer the weekend !!!!

Thanks again Rebecca.....Will be nice to get something in the post other than a bill:D

oh yes it would !!!!! Ill post the min I know anything

Great news. Thanks Rebecca :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Giller44

Why oh why is it taking so long. The closing date was ?November - so have they had that money in University bank account since then gathering interest (along with the €60,000 that the president added for the non-rag week) while we wait - hungry - and cold.

Giller44 wrote: »
    Why oh why is it taking so long. The closing date was ?November - so have they had that money in University bank account since then gathering interest (along with the €60,000 that the president added for the non-rag week) while we wait - hungry - and cold.

Yeah it's a funny carry on alright. Sure the year is nearly over now for a lot of people anyway. Does this happen every year? I'm only in 1st yr so this is my first time applying

Nal wrote: »
    Yeah it's a funny carry on alright. Sure the year is nearly over now for a lot of people anyway. Does this happen every year? I'm only in 1st yr so this is my first time applying

Yeah, every year. I'm in 4th year and I applied in 1st year as I didn't qualify for the top up grant even though I lived 26km away, had 4 children and was unemployed.

I didn't bother to apply in 2nd year and it was 3rd year before I actually qualified for the special rate grant only to have it all slashed this year by 60%. So feck it, I had no choice but to apply this year:(

got mine into bank today , hope ye got yours ,

rebecca 30 wrote: »
    got mine into bank today , hope ye got yours ,

Do you mind me asking what bank are you with? and did you get the full amount you applied for?

Nothing by post or into bank yet:(

Nothing here either :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 galwaynewbie

I got nothing today either. @Rebecca do you mind telling us if you were happy with what you got, ie. did it cover months rent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭tbahh

I've been keeping an eye on this thread over the past few weeks and said I would post if I got word back.

Checked my account a few mins ago and assume that it's SAF and delighted with it.

Hope ye got/will get something too.

got mine 2. it certainly is nice to get something for free for once :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 The Script Fan

hey does anybody mind saying how much they got roughly?

Has anyone else received no communication or money into their account???

Very worried here....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 The Script Fan

Very worried here....

Yeah I haven't heard anything at all either, hoping that money will come in this week

i haven't heard anything either and got no letter so am hoping it will be in this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

What doent does one need from His/her parents.

Could you explain what you mean please:confused::)

Very worried here....

Worried here too as haven't received anything yet. :(:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭freeze4real

Could you explain what you mean please:confused::)

I'm thinking that one needs a P21 from her guardians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭christina_x

I'm after emailing them... I havn't gotten any word, but also havn't received any payments so was just wondering what the craic was tbh.. :/ Am a student nurse spending 60e a week on travel to get to placement for 6 weeks - I need my moneys!!

if you didn't get a letter then expect payment within the next 2 weeks.
    They can only send out so much a day :)

i got mine today am so happy can relax for a while got enough to pay a moths rent with a bit left over which is generous i think hope you all hear something soon

Got payment late yesterday evening lads so well happy:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭niamhocxox

Did anybody who is in HEAR receive payment?