Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did you ever have your seat taken on a bus.

• 09-11-2011 12:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭

This happened to me a few times, Im referring to these 20 minute breaks on the Expressway Buses when travelling from say Sligo to Galway etc. Perhaps you have to go for a wizz or a cigarette. I was travelling from Bundoran to Galway, when it stopped at Sligo I got off for 5 minutes leaving my jacket on my seat, a window seat at that. Anyways when I got back this Italian couple were sitting where I was previously, my jacket was put into the shelf overhead, when I complained to them the driver told me to sit down and stop being a muppet. What I should have done was when the bus got to Galway station I should have given the Italian fellah a thump. Ok whinge over, but a bit of a pisser really.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

No, as the bus usually tears off when I get off to have a ciggie :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

sit down and stop being a muppet

Theres your answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

I once had my bus taken while out having a fag :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

You snooze, you lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Hasmunch wrote: »
    Theres your answer

Yeh but its wrong, dont remove someones jacket from their seat, this usually signifies that this seat is actually taken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

This happened to me a few times, Im referring to these 20 minute breaks on the Expressway Buses when travelling from say Sligo to Galway etc. Perhaps you have to go for a wizz or a cigarette. I was travelling from Bundoran to Galway, when it stopped at Sligo I got off for 5 minutes leaving my jacket on my seat, a window seat at that. Anyways when I got back this Italian couple were sitting where I was previously, my jacket was put into the shelf overhead, when I complained to them the driver told me to sit down and stop being a muppet. What I should have done was when the bus got to Galway station I should have given the Italian fellah a thump. Ok whinge over, but a bit of a pisser really.
    Next time take the seat with you :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Yeh but its wrong, dont remove someones jacket from their seat, this usually signifies that this seat is actually taken.

damn blow ins not knowing the rulz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

It could also signify someone forgot their jacket.

Someone could have left a jacket behind them.
    should have given the Italian fellah a thump
    Yes you should have hit him, he was obviuosly clearly only came to Ireland to steal your seat and deserves such a reception for plotting against you, if you leave him away with this, who knows what he'll do next

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

Damn foreigners.... taking our seats and our women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

if you leave him away with this, who knows what he'll do next

Are you from Tipp, Kilkenny or Waterford?

TheZohan wrote: »
    Are you from Tipp, Kilkenny or Waterford?

Perhaps... how would one come to such a conclusion???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

I once had my bus taken while out having a fag :mad:

What did he have to say about it?:pac:

Perhaps... how would one come to such a conclusion???
    leave him away

To people outside those counties that phrase doesn't make much sense!

TheZohan wrote: »
    To people outside those counties that phrase doesn't make much sense!

Ah never realised that. What is the equivalent saying for the rest of the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

It only would have bothered me if there was no seats left on the bus when i came back on other than that meh.

Ah never realised that. What is the equivalent saying for the rest of the country?

Well the rest of the English speaking world would say "let him away"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

What I should have done was when the bus got to Galway station I should have given the Italian fellah a thump.

Now that is just a wholly inappropriate attitude to have, there was absolutely no reason for you to assume the woman wasn't also guilty of being just as much a filthy seat-stealing Italian as her boyfriend! You should have given both of them a thump, lest you give the Irish a bad name as being sexist and discriminatory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

You should have sat on the girls lap. And then jumped back on your seat in the ensuing melee.
    Creating socially awkward situations is better than resorting to violence.

Also calling the Driver a see you next tuesday would also have been acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

You wouldn't need to thump the Italian. All you would have to do is barely touch them then he'd dramatically collapse to the ground and start rolling around on the floor. Then you'd have got your seat back :cool:

It's the same on Irish Rail. Old people sitting in your reserved seat.
    It's always old people and they feigning ignorance.

I always insist they get up. Thems the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

This happened to me a few times, Im referring to these 20 minute breaks on the Expressway Buses when travelling from say Sligo to Galway etc.......

There's a 20 minute break on the Express Bus from Sligo to Galway :confused:

It's only a 2 hour drive FFS, what the hell are they stopping for? German it up the next time and leave your Jacket on the seat instead of above. Italians are normal people too you know and they're not mind readers. So if they get on a bus and see an empty seat, thay assume it's empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

suprised he didn't argue for first wee while and then suddenly join your side and thump his gf for you before throwing her outta the seat and sit beside you

"Eh Scoozi, gettah the hella uppa from mya Seatah!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Should have showed him a football OP, he'd dive to the floor and roll around faking an injury

You then sit down and get comfortable with his bella signora ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,057 ✭✭✭conorhal

I would have told the fecker that, "as I clearly can't even leave my seat to take a slash, even though I desperately need to, you've forced me into an awkward position."

Then I'd have whipped it out and blasted him with piss.....

Or you could have gone the more subtle route and bought them loads of beer, then when merry and bursting, wait until he goes to the jax and then have sex with his wife. "Sorry! Since you'd left you wife behind you I just assumed that the 'space' was available!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

It's not your seat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Plazaman wrote: »
    There's a 20 minute break on the Express Bus from Sligo to Galway :confused:

It's only a 2 hour drive FFS, what the hell are they stopping for? German it up the next time and leave your Jacket on the seat instead of above. Italians are normal people too you know and they're not mind readers. So if they get on a bus and see an empty seat, thay assume it's empty.

Try reading the OP properly. He was coming from Bundoran, so its safe to say the bus is coming from Donegal or Derry so a small break is OK for the driver and passengers. He also said he left his jacket on the seat "German style" and it was moved.

Here:
    I was travelling from Bundoran to Galway, when it stopped at Sligo I got off for 5 minutes leaving my jacket on my seat, a window seat at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You are Ned Flanders.

Meekly accept your station in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Unless there were no seats left, I don't see what the big deal is. yeah it's rude, but what did you expect to happen by saying it to the driver. he's not your mammy, he's not going to give out to them for you. if you had a problem and wanted something done, you should've said it to the people that took your seat. otherwise STFU and find another seat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I've never had my seat taken from me, but it does seem fairly wrong for someone to take your seat. If someone leaves their jacket on the seat, that usually signifies that someone is sitting there, and therefore i have to find somewhere else to sit. If i had returedn to find that people have not only taken my seat but also touched my possessions I would be quite annoyed, but even so the people should have gotten up since I returned. Unless Italian people do things differently in their country, there's really no grounds for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

This has the makings of a curb your enthusiasm skit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

Why I dont completely drain when I go to the bathroom. Never know when you need to do some off the cuff, miscellaneous blasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

Ever had me seat taken? I went out for a smoke and this smartarse who was standing beside me the whole journey (bus was packed) unscrewed the feckin' thing and walked off with it on top of his head! Well, I wasn't having THAT.

So I legged it down the road after him and tripped him up from behind and stabbed him in the eye with me bus ticket and took off his shoes and tied them to the bus and screwed the seat back in place and made faces at yer man as we drove by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Op, its possible they thought your seat was done with and you left your jacket behind. Being Italians though, possibly not. So you should've just stood beside them talking at an uncomfortable level in your native language for the rest of the journey with a gingload of your mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

surely they would have had some english OP , you could have pointed to your jacket that they were sitting and im sure they would have copped on to the situation. nothing the bus driver can do really for you , pointless complaining to him, you were perfectly within your rights to keep at them to get your seat back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 Katekat

Some donegal/dublin bus drivers will not allow new passengers on the bus until everyone who was already on it get back on, (have to show ticket to prove you were already on it). it saves a load of hassle. and yes I have had seat taken even after leaving jacket, book and backpack on the seat. bus driver ask the eedjit for his ticket and then told him to get off and wait till everyone was back on the bus.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Just buy a car.

Drunk?

Buy a driver too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Thread title sounds like a Richie Kavanagh song.

Excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Thread title sounds like a Richie Kavanagh song.

Excellent.

Was anyone else disappointed to hear that he had died and then even more disappointed to hear that he hadn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭number10a

Dey tuk ar seeets!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

i got off a bus once for a fag i headbutted the driver and knocked him out dragged him off the bus took the keys when i finished my fag i pissed on the driver then drove the bus the rest of the way to galway where all the remaining passengers got off and i set the bus on fire in the middle of eyre sq then went over to the imperial hotel for a session with some of the passengers :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭overshoot

Katekat wrote: »
    Some donegal/dublin bus drivers will not allow new passengers on the bus until everyone who was already on it get back on, (have to show ticket to prove you were already on it). it saves a load of hassle. and yes I have had seat taken even after leaving jacket, book and backpack on the seat. bus driver ask the eedjit for his ticket and then told him to get off and wait till everyone was back on the bus.
    over 4 years of getting that piece of crap bus iv never had to do that once! although they usually do wait to let em on (its their break too i suppose) and they do a count after to make sure the numbers are right
    and to the question earlier about the break it sounds like its the 64 galway derry bus.

It was a fairly packed bus, so there was only one seat left nearer the passageway and at the front. The person in the window seat had a few holdalls so there wasnt much room and I had to squeeze in there, uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

It's called public transport for a reason.

You don't own any seat, no booking or reservations.
    Get off to have a smoke or toilet break, then tough luck if new passengers get on.

I thought you had posted this for a laugh. If you are serious, then you are a muppet or a kid.

TheUsual wrote: »
    It's called public transport for a reason.

You don't own any seat, no booking or reservations.
    Get off to have a smoke or toilet break, then tough luck if new passengers get on.

I thought you had posted this for a laugh. If you are serious, then you are a muppet or a kid.

Yeh, buts its nice to be civil, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

A somewhat related thing happened to me a couple of weeks ago, I went with a mate to the cinema to see The Cup, outside the screen was a sign saying reserved seating and the tickets had seating numbers specified.

We went in a few minutes before the film was to start and there was just one old woman, at least 75 I'd guess, in the entire room (it wasn't a very big room mind). We just sat anywhere but after us a middle age couple arrived in and the guy went up to the old woman and said "Sorry but I think you must have taken the wrong seat by mistake"...normally I ignore stuff like that but the pure lack of cop on from him meant I had to shout back to tell him there were plenty of free seats for him. There is a big difference between being reasonable and being a dick.

I've had seats taken from me at bars, cafes etc, it can be a bit annoying but I'd only make an issue of it if I couldn't get anywhere else. There's no sense in being argumentative just for the sake of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

bodhrandude has now been successfully added to your ignore list.

Oh how I love my "ignore list".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

What I should have done was when the bus got to Galway station I should have given the Italian fellah a thump. Ok whinge over, but a bit of a pisser really.

A toolbox full of hammers..............