Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai have being told AGAIN !

• 07-11-2011 11:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭

and would you believe...... they still haven't done feck all about me

wanna know why ?

because what im doing is not illegal in anyway !

your just a grumpy old bat or bollox with nothing better to do with your time !

and would you believe i've actually spoken to an off duty garda about the situation in general (no specifics about me or anything just in general) and she said its grand just someone with nothing better to do that the report will be thrown in the bin for wasting time !

so to tell the story i go to this housing estate ... park ... go into my friends house and hang out for a few hours and come back out to find paper on my windscreen saying no parking

I have being doing this in my replacement car and have gotten paper on the windscreen wiper and now they actually celotaped it to the windscreen ! :pac:

So do i have a course of action here for them interfering with the vehicle ?

there is a no parking sign but its home made ... so therefore no legal obligation to obey it.

funny thing is too where i parked someone parked in front of me and they dont get in trouble :pac:

i wonder if i walked into the local garda station and said it was me there what would they do ?

other funny thing is i've had this car soo much now i might aswell post it in "pic of your car" thread.

http://imageshack.us/g/846/img01901l.jpg/

img01901l.jpg

img01921.jpg

img01931u.jpg

img01961x.jpg

img01971s.jpg

img01981.jpg

img01991z.jpg

img02001n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Do not park here!
    GARADI have been told again.

Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

someone must not like you lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Stick a sticker like this to your window next time you leave the car there:

1428__34761.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

Maybe don't park on the grass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

just for reference here the paper is still on the car .... drove it home down the road with it on for effect.

i know if they did it to my car i'd be rightly pissed

i parked there before in my car , exact same situation and didnt find paper on my car (probably didnt know how to lift the wiper .. haha :pac: )

but what do i do here ?

van is allowed park there but im not ?

public place and all that.

should i walk into the local garda station for the craic ?

i put the first 2 pics there to show the double yellow lines far down the road to show im not anywhere near them and they do exsist in the estate but in the appropriate place !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,883 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

If this is to do with you parking on the grass, there's nearly ALWAYS someone in every estate who gives out about people being anywhere near the grass which is there for kids to play on and for people to use.

I've had it twice - when I was a kid playing soccer on the "green" in one estate, and again in a different estate where I was renting.

I don't know why there's always one but there is. Don't mind them! I'd say if they rang the GARADI, they pretended to be serious but then forgot about it.

With that said, in the estate where I was renting, the gardai were actually called. They came up to us and said there was a complaint made about us kicking the football at this person's car and house. Needless to say this was totally untrue.

i'd like to think this is just about parking on the grass

but it doesnt explain the no parking sign on the other side of the road on the lampost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Owen wrote: »
    Maybe don't park on the grass?

exactly...greens are there for a purpose and it's not for bloody parking on..find a proper spot to park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

I would be careful OP if I was you, someday you will find a brick sitting on the drivers seat via the windscreen.

And don't park on the grass how would you like it if people parked on you're front garden.

Sc@recrow wrote: »
    exactly...greens are there for a purpose and it's not for bloody parking on..find a proper spot to park.

again no parking sign across the road and van in front of me along with a car further down the grass
    I would be careful OP if I was you, someday you will find a brick sitting on the drivers seat via the windscreen.

i fear this myself to be honest but at the same time the gardai are involved (even though they most likely did throw the report out)
    And don't park on the grass how would you like it if people parked on you're front garden.

to be honest thats where i park all the time ... i have a half road half grass garden and road part will fit 2 cars as would grass part

and we have 3 cars most of the time.... on the grass i go !

i will have pics in the morning to prove that too if you like !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

If it were me, I'd ignore it completely. Keep doing what you're doing, and if any harm is done to the car, well...vandalism is a bigger crime than parking. Nothing better than infuriating a person by not rising to their pettiness. Keep ignoring it, and wait for the inevitable confrontation eventually where you can just smile sweetly at them and continue your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

robbie_998 wrote: »
    your just a grumpy old bat or bollox with nothing better to do with your time !
    should i walk into the local garda station for the craic ?

A little bit of irony in there somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

If someone parked on the grass outside my house i would be rightly pissed off.

It leaves the grass in sh!t and makes the area look grubby. If i were those residents id be leaving the air out of your tires at this stage. Why dont you have a bit of respect for where other people live.

This could also amount to a public nuisance if you are leaving the grass damaged.

Hogzy wrote: »
    If someone parked on the grass outside my house i would be rightly pissed off.

It leaves the grass in sh!t and makes the area look grubby. If i were those residents id be leaving the air out of your tires at this stage. Why dont you have a bit of respect for where other people live.

This could also amount to a public nuisance if you are leaving the grass damaged.

the person i visit tells me to park there other wise i will be in peoples way by taking the space at the end of other peoples gardens and they will be led to park on the grass where i am.

so it actually makes a lot more sense to do what im doing rather than having the neighbor come back out to move their car again when they shouldnt have to.

so by parking on the grass im actually being more generous than taking other peoples spaces and having them do what i do

the road is only big enough to have 2 cars width .... so cars park on one side which leaves the other side to drive on... if i park on the other side then the whole road is blocked,.

Why not just park where that home-made sign is? What's the story there, was it done by the same person that put the note on your car?

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Why not just park where that home-made sign is? What's the story there, was it done by the same person that put the note on your car?

i couldnt say.

that sign is actually pretty new... saw it there the second time i parked there.

and i have not seeing anyone at the car or anyone looking at me coming or going so i cannot say who or when

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

and would you believe i've actually spoken to an off duty garda about the situation in general (no specifics about me or anything just in general) and she said its grand just someone with nothing better to do that the report will be thrown in the bin for wasting time !

As a matter of interest did you mention to the garda about parking on the grass instead of the road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Next spring the residents will probably put down daffodils and tulips
    • looks lovely in the estate
    • whatever about mucking up the grass, there will be a reaction if you're driving over flowers.

It's a tactic that works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

There's nothing illegal about parking on the grass...

hollypink wrote: »
    As a matter of interest did you mention to the garda about parking on the grass instead of the road?

i mentioned parking on the grass .. away from the double yellow lines and the likes and the gard said theres nothing illegal about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Theres nothing illegal about a lot of the parking in the obnoxious parking thread either.........

i couldnt say.

that sign is actually pretty new... saw it there the second time i parked there.

and i have not seeing anyone at the car or anyone looking at me coming or going so i cannot say who or when

Just park under that sign, I can understand the objection to parking on the grass regularly (as it will damage the grass, etc.) but who are they to say you can't park on a public road? Park under the sign, if anyone says a word about it tell them where to go.

The van could well be there due to its size - the owner would have already spoken to neighbours and explained that it's probably the only place he can park without blocking vision/roads.

PrettyBoy wrote: »
    Just park under that sign, I can understand the objection to parking on the grass regularly (as it will damage the grass, etc.) but who are they to say you can't park on a public road? Park under the sign, if anyone says a word about it tell them where to go.

i might just do that to see if it is about the grass part.

i just didnt wanna be taking up the ends of peoples gardens and blocking them out.

but i will do it the next time im visiting and if they put another sign on the rental car.... will be interesting
    Owen wrote: »
    The van could well be there due to its size - the owner would have already spoken to neighbours and explained that it's probably the only place he can park without blocking vision/roads.

so it makes it ok for his van (possibly full of tools etc.) to damage the grass but a lil colt cant do it ?

it doesnt make sense if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭hollypink

i mentioned parking on the grass .. away from the double yellow lines and the likes and the gard said theres nothing illegal about it.

I'm surprised at that to be honest - would it not be covered by this?

http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/Parking/pages/wheretopark.aspx
    Other parking restrictions
    It is illegal to park in a way which interferes with traffic flow or obstructs or endangers other road users, for example:

No parking opposite a continuous white line.
    No parking on a footpath (either partly or wholly).
    No parking within 5 metres of a junction.
    No parking at a pedestrian crossing or traffic lights, within 15 metres on the approach side or 5 metres on the other side.
    Do not obstruct any entrance for vehicles except with the occupier’s consent.
    No parking at a school entrance.
    No parking on a grass margin or median.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

Wrong.

Parking on verge/grass is illegal - I'll get the exact section of the RTA when I have a mo.

Edit already done by Hollypink

so it makes it ok for his van (possibly full of tools etc.) to damage the grass but a lil colt cant do it ?

it doesnt make sense if you ask me

I live in a small ish housing estate, we'd a guy with a LWB Transporter who used to park on the grass because there'd be no way he could get it in his driveway, we all accepted it, and we knew that section of the green area (Which we all paid to maintain) would have his tire tracks on it occassionally. Didn't stop us getting pissed off with the GAAheads would park on our green areas when the local muckball tournament was on though.

When people get used to something, they accept it. Having you park there is new to someone, and probably someone who accepts the van is a necessity, but you're not, and wishes you could park on the road like other cars and not tear up the grass (Which you're probably not doing anyway, but you know how people's minds work).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Parking on the grass is illegal,

and if its a shared green in an estate which it looks like, there's probably someone in particular looking after it, cutting it weekly and cleaning rubbish from it, parking on it wrecks it.

Have a bit of respect and don't park on the grass!

Parking on the grass is illegal,

and if its a shared green in an estate which it looks like, there's probably someone in particular looking after it, cutting it weekly and cleaning rubbish from it, parking on it wrecks it.

Have a bit of respect and don't park on the grass!

just like my own estate the council look after it.

i wont park on the grass next time... i will park next to the no parking sign

but is it not a bit too far fetched ?

if they put another sign on my car next time when im parked on the road what do i do there ? where does it end ? (i'll take the current sticker off the car in the morning)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

OP I think the issue is parking on the grass. If it were my estate I'd be unimpressed by gimps consistently lowering the tone and causing damage by parking on what is a public amenity. Admittedly your buddy is dealing with it in a spectacularly cack handed fashion but that's people for you. If access is an issue outside the house just park down the road. You have legs don't you? It's quite simply bad manners on your part although as I said already the complainer is a tool.
    PS - Who cares if it's illegal or not? Why do people constantly need to be reminded of the law to persuade them to do the right and considerate thing?

if they put another sign on my car next time when im parked on the road what do i do there ?

Tell them to **** right off and any issue they have with you parking on a public road should be taken up with the gaurds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Reloc8 wrote: »
    Wrong.

Parking on verge/grass is illegal - I'll get the exact section of the RTA when I have a mo.

Edit already done by Hollypink

Actually, what Hollypink has posted is not a legal document, so please do go and get the RTA you mentioned.

OP, get on to City Council and get the 'No Parking' sign removed. Just like elections poster's, it may fall under the Litter Act, and be illegal. Outside of that it has no legal standing whatsoever, and you can ignore it.

If that sort of thing was to be o.k., you'd have busybody's out there printing of 20km/h signs and lashing them up all over the place........and then we could all go out and print 150km/h ones as well......... :D

Here's an idea as well. Call it........'insurance'........set up a small camera in your car, and video the people putting the sign on it. Or from another car parked near it........you never know when it might come in handy, say in the context of the brick mentioned earlier........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

just like my own estate the council look after it.

i wont park on the grass next time... i will park next to the no parking sign

but is it not a bit too far fetched ?

if they put another sign on my car next time when im parked on the road what do i do there ? where does it end ? (i'll take the current sticker off the car in the morning)

I'd ignore it. Yer man is obviously a bit touched.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Paint out the no on the no parking sign, then park there. But its not cool to park on the grass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭stephendevlin

hollypink wrote: »
    I'm surprised at that to be honest - would it not be covered by this?

http://www.dublincity.ie/RoadsandTraffic/Parking/pages/wheretopark.aspx

Dont think that applys to a private estate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Put a camera in the car. catch the culprit. Then put a big sign at his door

BIG BROTHER IS WATCHING :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Do not park here!
    GARADI have been told again.

Thank you

or, do your own sign, inside the window........

I am a Garadi !
    Keep Away from my Car !

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Correct the sign in red and leave it on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Lol at the No Parking sign - what sort of sad twat must you be to flout the law like that. If someone wants to park where that sign is, there is nothing in the law to stop them. Pretty sure hanging something like that up is illegal, even if only for littering or something.

As for you - there's no yellow lines at that point, and the road is plenty wide. Just park alongside the kerb like a normal person. If someone is already parked on the opposite side making it too narrow to park in the above place without obstructing traffuic, don't be stubborn and park on the grass, just accept the fact and find somewhere else and they'll have nothing justifiable to complain about.

will i give the council a call to take it down ? littering and all that ?

i would actually get a right giggle out of it just to piss off whoever is doing it.

i can see what ye lads are saying about damaging the grass (it wasnt my first choice) but it made sense to ourselfs to not block the others.

but anyway i will park at the end of one of the gardens and see what happens.

tuxy wrote: »

theres another car there ! not mine !

im not the only one :P

but nah down the end of the road there does be full all the time.. theres actually a lad that has a 2011 mini van and he puts traffic cones around it so nobody goes near it. but its always full... as is the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Now see if anyone can find him a parking space within walking distance that's not on the grass :)
    That's such an Irish attitude!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Anan1 wrote: »
    That's such an Irish attitude!

Walking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

I stopped reading the OP halfway through it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

just for reference here the paper is still on the car .... drove it home down the road with it on for effect.

You drove with that obstructing the windscreen?That's a pretty idiotic thing to do.

i will admit it.

sorry boss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Walking?
    Nah, the sense of entitlement to a parking space within 'walking distance', to the point where, if a space doesn't exist, they'll feel justified in just dumping it anywhere regardless. Because it was too far to walk, like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Anan1 wrote: »
    Nah, the sense of entitlement to a parking space within 'walking distance', to the point where, if a space doesn't exist, they'll feel justified in just dumping it anywhere regardless. Because it was too far to walk, like.

Oh right totally misunderstood and I agree.

or there just wasnt anywhere else to park maybe ?

i dont mind not having the car in sight of the house or the likes but at the same time you dont drive to the shop to walk a half mile to get there after parking.

when you drive to the shop you do aim to get as close as possible and everyone does it.