Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where ye from ..? Boards Golf Society

• 07-11-2011 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭

Hi everyone, we were chatting at the last Boards Golf Society outing about course selection for next year and we thought it would be a good idea to find out where everyone was located for the selection process.

So here it is, a map of Ireland kindly provided by Google that we can edit and insert place marks into.

I don't think their is any need to put the place mark into you sitting room or anything but just a general identification of location would do, It should make it easier for Captain Keano ;) and the lads when they are organizing things at a later date.

Edit: Ah as I now see you can only inset place marks with a Google a/c, everyone has one by now don't they .? If not just PM me and I'l insert the maker for you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

stupid question, am logged in but how do i place a pin?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

charlieIRL wrote: »

Glad I'm not the only one....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

link_2007 wrote: »
    Glad I'm not the only one....

Need to click on Edit and then you will see 3 little icons on the map :)

i think i edited the main title there by mistake!!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

i think i edited the main title there by mistake!!
    No it's fine!

I think I've done the same. Apologies

You're fine. I've fixed it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

can we post a map around to prospective / existing members instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Hilarious stuff, the technology generation and we can't even use googlemaps, feel like an idiot, took me 15 mins to place my mark!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

ssbob wrote: »
    Hilarious stuff, the technology generation and we can't even use googlemaps, feel like an idiot, took me 15 mins to place my mark!

right so we'll give you a technology handicap of 15 starting off :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

conno16 wrote: »
    can we post a map around to prospective / existing members instead?

Conno, were all more interested in where you reside or if indeed you could possibly divulge such info!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

LittleLiam are there any courses on your Island?

What sort of a standard is there at these outings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭paulanthony

Looks like myself and BallyK are neighbours!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

Looks that way alright neighbour! We might even be able to carpool if we're both attending the same outing this year.

poor auld poker face aint gonna be getting much golf in..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

the lawman wrote: »
    LittleLiam are there any courses on your Island?

Your all on your own up there!!!:)
    Whats the population of Tory Island??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

There are plenty up around the Dublin area.
    Member +53° 16' 11.51", -6° 8' 29.03" should have no problems getting a game.:)

we need a nickname for that bloke

What sort of a standard is there at these outings?
    From low to high handicappers. Can honestly say everyone who goes is just out for a game and a bit of enjoyment.

Perfect. I'm on for it then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Looks like Shannon would be a good location to think about for an outing in the west. Less than two hours from Dublin on motorway. Lot of people close to it in the midlands and west.

conno16 wrote: »
    we need a nickname for that bloke

Fr. Ted!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Have put everyone who PM'd me in. A real scatter of people from everywhere, it would be great if everyone who put their location in participated.

k.p.h wrote: »
    Have put everyone who PM'd me in. A real scatter of people from everywhere, it would be great if everyone who put their location in participated.
    That's for sure.

We'll leave this up for another week and get working on arranging the outings for next year. Hopefully we'll have all next year's outings booked by the end of the year.

That's for sure.

We'll leave this up for another week and get working on arranging the outings for next year. Hopefully we'll have all next year's outings booked by the end of the year.

Apologies for the constant questions, I am new to the board (and the sport).

How many outings do you normally have per year?

Apologies for the constant questions, I am new to the board (and the sport).

How many outings do you normally have per year?
    Questions are always welcome.

The society is very much in it's infancy. We have only had 3 outings this year, Dundrum, Macreddin and Mount Temple.

Next year we hope to have double that and maybe a captain's prize to round off the year. We have lot's of issues to iron out but with lots of folk willing to help out it will hopefully get bigger and better.

Questions are always welcome.

The society is very much in it's infancy. We have only had 3 outings this year, Dundrum, Macreddin and Mount Temple.

Next year we hope to have double that and maybe a captain's prize to round off the year. We have lot's of issues to iron out but with lots of folk willing to help out it will hopefully get bigger and better.

Well like I said I am new to both the board and sport but I'd be glad to help any way I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Dont have a google acc so can someone please stick me in for Wicklow town !!

Great idea by the way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

k.p.h wrote: »

Didnt make any this year due to family commitments , but hoping to make a few this year. Any interest in reviving the matchplay ?
    Was great craic the year we did that .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 shaycl

Edit: Ah as I now see you can only inset place marks with a Google a/c, everyone has one by now don't they .? If not just PM me and I'l insert the maker for you.[/QUOTE]

I don't have a google a/c, so could you put a marker on the map. I'm from Mullingar. Also, the manager from mullingar golf club has emailed the rates for societies for 2012. If i can get a good deal would ye be interested in playing there next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 675 ✭✭✭plumber77

Even though I didnt manage an outing this year I've been following the progress of the society from a far.Injury prevented me from participating but hopefully next year.Also made moate but glad I didnt attempt that drive considering what happened.Next year hopefully and I'll bring all the shiny new clubs I'm going to treat myself to for xmas :cool: I'm on the map now at least..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,761 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

can someone stick me in the map for drogheda please

redzerdrog wrote: »
    can someone stick me in the map for drogheda please
    Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 MagsF

Just added my location. Looking forward to a few outings next year.

If there are any ladies out there thinking of joining , don't be shy :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭wcarey1975

Added location hope to get out to a few this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 sheehanshiners

When are we thinking bout getting out this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Carlow here, very nice course. Gimme a shout after April as the second green is out of play as its had renovations during winter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Is it too late to join in? Myself and a mate of mine in Limerick travel around every Saturday in search of a game. Would love to make an outing or two.

I've made a start on this.

Looking into getting something organised for Feb.

Will post an update when I have one.

Ok so I've been in touch with Tom from mygolfsociety and asked him to help us arrange 2 outing's one in Feb and one in March. I explained to him the geographical spread of the group and it is going to be very hard to make everyone happy :(

The future of this society will depend on getting good numbers at each outing so I don't want to try plan the whole year in January for it to fall away in no time.

So far he has come back with the following:

February
    Saturday 18th February - The Heritage - 10am onwards for €40* per person

March
    Saturday 31st March - Dundrum - 9.15-10.15am for €35* per person

How do these dates suit people? As I said these are only the first options he gave me so we may have more to add later.

*€5 added to original price as cost of prizes have to be covered. It's either this or ask everyone who turns up to the first outing to pay a once fee like is done in all societies.

i'll be there. :)

I would play The Heritage one but warn you all in advance that I am crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Let's do it. Can someone get a timesheet up like in the past and people can add their names, get the word out please. I will make both hopefully.

I would play The Heritage one but warn you all in advance that I am crap.
    Don't be put off by your level. We have all sorts playing. :)

ssbob wrote: »
    Let's do it. Can someone get a timesheet up like in the past and people can add their names, get the word out please. I will make both hopefully.
    Spreadsheet here for both outings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

Nice one Keano, Two great courses and good value at that price, Fair Play :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

Spreadsheet here for both outings.

It need its own thread Keano if you want to get it going as its hidden in this one.

New thread HERE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

G'day,

I couldn't find a specific introduction thread so I figure this is as good a place as any to say Hi. New to the forum, in fact relatively new to the country.

Anyway I've added my location to the map and hope to get out for hit with boards members.