Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

William Hill Grand Slam Of Darts 2011 Thread

• 07-11-2011 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭

DRAW GROUPS

Group A
    Scott Waites (1)
    Mark Walsh
    Tony O'Shea
    Michael van Gerwen

Group B
    Raymond van Barneveld (8)
    Dean Winstanley
    Ted Hankey
    Ian White

Group C
    Gary Anderson (5)
    Wayne Jones
    Brendan Dolan
    Nigel Heydon

Group D
    James Wade (4)
    Terry Jenkins
    Justin Pipe
    Dave Chisnall

Group E
    Phil Taylor (2)
    Mervyn King
    Steve Beaton
    James Hubbard

Group F
    Wes Newton (7)
    Paul Nicholson
    Barrie Bates
    Magnus Caris

Group G
    Mark Webster (6)
    Jan Dekker
    John Part
    Arron Monk

Group H
    Adrian Lewis (3)
    Vincent van der Voort
    Co Stompe
    Martin Phillips

The schedule of play will be announced on Tuesday, however the players in Groups A-D will play on Saturday night, Sunday night and Tuesday night, with the players in Groups E-H playing on Sunday afternoon, Monday night and Wednesday night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

I notice Simon Whitlock has withdrawn due to his injured hand which he sprained by all accounts. Brendan Dolan will be happy enough with his group I imagine. All good groups really with the potential of some cracking games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭buster180

Its a broken bone in his ankle. He Could struggle to make the worlds if he has any complications.
    http://www.pdc.tv/page/NewsdeskDetail/0,,10180~2508523,00.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

interesting group that john part is in with arron monk and jan dekker. dolan has a very good chance of getting to the next round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie

I could see Terry Jenkins getting crushed in his group, Pipe and Chisnall are on form

William Hill GSoD Schedule
    William Hill Grand Slam of Darts
    Saturday November 12
    8pm-12am
    Groups A-D First Games
    Wayne Jones v Brendan Dolan (C)
    Mark Walsh v Tony O'Shea (A)
    Dean Winstanley v Ted Hankey (B)
    Raymond van Barneveld v Ian White (B)
    James Wade v Dave Chisnall (D)
    Scott Waites v Michael van Gerwen (A)
    Gary Anderson v Nigel Heydon (C)
    Terry Jenkins v Justin Pipe (D)

Sunday November 13
    Afternoon Session - 2pm-6pm
    Groups E-H First Games
    Paul Nicholson v Barrie Bates (F)
    Wes Newton v Magnus Caris (F)
    Mark Webster v Arron Monk (G)
    Vincent van der Voort v Co Stompe (H)
    Mervyn King v Steve Beaton (E)
    Phil Taylor v James Hubbard (E)
    Adrian Lewis v Martin Phillips (H)
    Jan Dekker v John Part (G)

Evening Session - 8pm-12am
    Groups A-D Second Games
    The winners of Saturday's games will play each other, and the losers will play each other.

Monday November 14
    7pm-11pm
    Groups E-H Second Games
    The winners of Sunday afternoon's games will play each other, and the losers will play each other.

Tuesday November 15
    7pm-11pm
    Groups A-D Final Games

Wednesday November 16
    7pm-11pm
    Groups E-H Final Games

Thursday November 17
    7pm-11pm
    Winner A v Runner-Up B
    Winner B v Runner-Up A
    Winner C v Runner-Up D
    Winner D v Runner-Up C

Friday November 18
    Winner E v Runner-Up F
    Winner F v Runner-Up E
    Winner G v Runner-Up H
    Winner H v Runner-Up G

Saturday November 19
    Afternoon Session - 1pm-5pm
    Quarter-Finals x2

Evening Session - 7pm-11pm
    Quarter-Finals x2

Sunday November 20
    Afternoon Session - 2.30pm-6pm
    Semi-Finals

Evening Session - 8pm-10pm
    Final

Justin Pipe 66/1 with Paddy power at the moment. I shall have some of that!!

stylie wrote: »
    I could see Terry Jenkins getting crushed in his group, Pipe and Chisnall are on form

it could happen like that but jenks did get to the semis of the WC, the premier league didnt work out for him but as he showed in the uk open he is capable of beaten anyone in the shorter format

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭leoch

why does martin adams never enter this tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

leoch wrote: »

To give everyone else a chance at a title.

buster180 wrote: »
    Its a broken bone in his ankle. He Could struggle to make the worlds if he has any complications.
    http://www.pdc.tv/page/NewsdeskDetail/0,,10180~2508523,00.html
    With the World championship just over 5 weeks away Whitlock is facing an uphill struggle to be in ideal preparation for that event.

Seems he's not the only player suffering from an injury at present with John Henderson the player who's currently suffering from a hand injury,reports on other forums vary from a sprain to a broken hand. Henderson could miss out on the players championship grand finals if he misses the last players championship floor tournaments on weekend November 26th/27th and players below him make up money to pass him out on the table.

leoch wrote: »
    Basically he says the sport's official governing body is the BDO and he'll only play in BDO recognised tournaments yet he didn't think that 10 years ago when he appeared on Sky Sports numerous times playing in PDC tournaments!

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Basically he says the sport's official governing body is the BDO and he'll only play in BDO recognised tournaments yet he didn't think that 10 years ago when he appeared on Sky Sports numerous times playing in PDC tournaments!

exaclty spot on there, shame really as he would do quite well. waites has shown getting to the last 2 finals , winning last year and runner up in 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

What channel is it on tonight?

sky sports 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭chalkie 501

buster180 wrote: »
    sky sports 1

cheers buster,
    i suppose i could have checked!
    now all i have to do is hope herself lets me watch it:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭pudzy

guys, i cant get access to tv.. any link for darts.

pudzy wrote: »
    guys, i cant get access to tv.. any link for darts.

Here you go http://www.justin.tv/live_sport9#/w/2058837552

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭pudzy

Results so far; Jones 5 Dolan 2,Walsh 5 O'Shea 2,Winstanley 5 Hankey 0. Hankey was brutal,he missed doubles galore including 10 in 1 leg!

A shock there. Qualifier Ian White beats Barneveld 5-4. Hard to see Barney getting back to his best based on recent performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

Cracking game there between Wade and Chisnall

Van Gerwen on fire here,4-0 up already on Waites!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭cantgetright

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Van Gerwen on fire here,4-0 up already on Waites!

I was thinking you might of jinxed him

Van Gerwen went to sleep there for a while but got his form back to beat Waites 5-3.

Another shock result Heydon 5 Anderson 3.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Strange night last night with a lot of the top boys getting beaten. It goes to show you that anything can happen over such a short format. Looking forward to this afternoons action now. You can't beat a lazy Sunday watching darts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Fair play to Hubbard against Taylor earlier you could see the nerves throwing for that double 1 and he could well have nicked another 2 legs off Taylor. Can see him giving King and Beaton a decent match.

Is it just me or is Adrian Lewis becoming a little annoying with his attitude he seemed to just think he could turn up and win, the look of disbelief when Phillips won a leg as if he shouldn't be doing that against Lewis. Phillips is quite a handy player and I was actually willing him on to win that match. Lewis came good in the end but personally i'm becoming to dislike one of my old favorites :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

C'mon Dolan. Easy one tonight for you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭tumbler

C'mon Dolan. Easy one tonight for you :p
    think thats game over for dolan now

tumbler wrote: »
    think thats game over for dolan now
    Damn!! He may go home now, no point in hanging around for the last game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭tumbler

Damn!! He may go home now, no point in hanging around for the last game
    one of the two up now will be sharing a taxi with him think it might be O'shea need a big car for them pair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

ted hankey said in his interview that he will play in the premier league if hes aloud stay in the bdo, alot of work must be going on behind the scences to get him to make the switch

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

sc86 wrote: »
    ted hankey said in his interview that he will play in the premier league if hes aloud stay in the bdo, alot of work must be going on behind the scences to get him to make the switch

Well last night proved why, whether you love him or hate him you can't deny that he makes great viewing whenever he plays. Sky would love to have him make the switch.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Well last night proved why, whether you love him or hate him you can't deny that he makes great viewing whenever he plays. Sky would love to have him make the switch.

exactly kp, i 'd say by the sounds of it hankey could make the switch in the new year. i would love to see how he would get on in the pdc. barney played poorly , looked disinterested but ted took his chances very well

Cm Punk on next I see :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭hawaii501

Lewis was immense tonight(109 avg), love watching an in-form Lewis. Hopefully he keeps it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭Kieran81

barney played poorly , looked disinterested

all he seems to do these days , if he wasnt in the prem lge i wouldnt miss him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

hawaii501 wrote: »
    Lewis was immense tonight(109 avg), love watching an in-form Lewis. Hopefully he keeps it up.

Great to see him play like that again i slated him the other night for looking a bit like Barney and uninterested at times but when he gets into a rhythm like last night he really is superb to watch on the other hand could someone shove a rocket up Justin Pipe's hole he's desperately slow and horrible to watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

i hope barney isnt in the premier league
    give the spot to somebody worthwhile
    he is living of things he done along time ago
    i used to love him but not now
    wouldnt be sad to see him retire now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭luis suarez

I used to be barneys biggest fan but the last couple of years he has been the most frustrating player to watch.I can't understand how this can be the same man that came back to beat taylor in the 2007 world championship :eek: He throws a lose dart now and starts shaking his head and you can see him give up :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 ATR180

Great to see Terry Jenkins throwing some great darts again.....Keep it going Jenks...WAT ABOUT THAT FINISH TO WIN THE MATCH LAST NIGHT....:eek::eek::eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 243 ✭✭Fits Morris

7 wins from the last 8 matches now for BDO players in head to head clashes with PDC players. We're told time and again by PDC fanboys that the BDO is pub darts. The reality is anything but. Barry Hearn must be getting worried to see his organisation getting shown up again. Expect to see BDO representation at the Grand Slam reduced again next year.

Barry Hearn must be getting worried to see his organisation getting shown up again.

A little much don't you think! So far two BDO players have qualified for the next round and two have gone out. Not exactly showing up the PDC lads. Anyway anyone who says there isn't talent in the BDO hasn't got a clue about darts but the PDC is still clearly the better organisation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭treble3

Kingp35 wrote: »
    . Anyway anyone who says there isn't talent in the BDO hasn't got a clue about darts but the PDC is still clearly the better organisation.
    its like people in our league saying the ivory are going to stay up havnt a clue gas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 ATR180

In our league TREB3....who is it again you play for???:confused:

treble3 wrote: »
    its like people in our league saying the ivory are going to stay up havnt a clue gas

Haha you're all mouth, stop dragging the thread off topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

Anyone have a stream for the darts? sky player is brutal, keeps freezing.

Here you go

http://www.kiwi-sportz.eu/stream-1.html

You'll have to install Veetle if you don't have it

Google smoggychrisdarts. Not sure if it's working but I've used it before and it was quite good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,745 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Has there ever been any discussion on the TV or elsewhere about the curious structure of the knockout draw?

For example A1 plays B2 and A2 plays B1 in the last 16. All fine.
    Now normally (say in football, or the rugby world cup) the winners of those games would play the winners of C1 v D2 and C2 v D1 in the quarters.

But in the GSOD the winner of A1/B2 plays the winner of A2/B1 in the quarters, meaning group games are likely to be repeated as early as the quarter finals.