Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Such users.

• 07-11-2011 3:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

So whats your experiences?

Two things come to mind for me,

In the smoking area with friends one night and a girl asks a mate for a smoke. He replies "sorry dont smoke, he does" (...points to me) she asks me for a smoke with that fake 'please with a smile' ... I know there is 2 smokes left in my packet so I say "go on" ... she proceeds to take the first smoke with one hand, then the second smoke with the other ... smiles (smirk is the better one) and turns around immediately and walks off. B!tch.

Other one is a 'mate' who would always suggest both of us getting a taxi back after the bar closes (as me and him lived in the same part of dublin) ... Did it a few times and he always 'claimed' he didnt have the money to pay for his share of the taxi :rolleyes: Kicker was the fare would cost roughly around 26 euro dropping him off .. as opposed to around 19 euro if i just got a taxi straight to my gaff. So not only was he using me, he was costing me more too ... I then just fobbed him off anytime afterwards.

Story doesn't stop there about him too :) The bar we'd all goto had cheap 3 euro drinks. So often he would buy the lads shots at the start of the night. Say 6 shots (18 euro) then proceed to tap everyone for drinks for the night. And you guessed it, tap people for more than one drink too. Even saw him doing it with other people he knew.

Yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Smokers are idiots!

What is it with this honour system of "You can't turn down someone who asks for a smoke".

Don't you realise there are people who will do this all night, never needing to buy cigs? you're well within your rights to say "I have cigarettes, but they cost me almost €9 so i'd like to keep them for myself if that's alright".

It's the only situation where a person can try to bum something off you and make YOU feel YOU'RE the scab if you don't give one. it's ridiculous! Stand up to these scabby bastards!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

is facebook to blame for us calling people we know mates and friends before they even become propper friends longer term, I think so. I call friends friends and this lad/girl I know just that. you have to earn your 'friend' title :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Don't you realise there are people who will do this all night, never needing to buy cigs? you're well within your rights to say "I have cigarettes, but they cost me almost €9 so i'd like to keep them for myself if that's alright".

It's the only situation where a person can try to bum something off you and make YOU feel YOU'RE the scab if you don't give one. it's ridiculous! Stand up to these scabby bastards!

Oh you're right man.
    The bit with the girl happened in late 2007. I dont give anyone smokes these days. I remember a few months ago coming out of spar and as i am putting the pack in my pocket someone asks me "wouldnt have a spare smoke?" ... "nope" as I slid them in the pocket. Never give out smokes is my mentality.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Oh you're right man.
    The bit with the girl happened in late 2007. I dont give anyone smokes these days. I remember a few months ago coming out of spar and as i am putting the pack in my pocket someone asks me "wouldnt have a spare smoke?" ... "nope" as I slid them in the pocket. Never give out smokes is my mentality.

It's like with spare change. Just because you have change, dosn't make it spare!

There have been times when i'm in the smoking area of a club (and it's always in the same club) and you can see particular girls time and time again bumming smokes. All night they do it. There's been so many times when you'd see the same girls on 3 or 4 different nights doing the same thing. Knowing that this "Honour system" will allow them to never have to buy smokes on a night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

You seem more the kind of guy that might be useful for a light OP..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Hasmunch wrote: »
    You seem more the kind of guy that might be useful for a light OP..

giz a lie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭CallMeFlo

The absolute cheek of that girl! :eek: You should have taken both of the smokes back off her! I hate people that never buy their own smokes, I can't say I've ever had it that bad with loads of people bumming off me in night clubs but in the smoking area in college it always happens and it's always the same people. I'll go in with a fresh 20 in the morning and go home with none. It's my own fault really but you feel like a w*nker saying no :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

I'll throw a smoke on to someone I have been talking to for a while but to some random who just walks up looking for one no, maybe if I'm in a good mood, anyone who asks for a second one for their fried is told to split the one I gave them, leeches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I always keep an empty packet in the same pocket for just such occasions. Someone asks me for one, I pull out the packet and say "Sorry, this was my last one."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,578 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't smoke, but I have a beard, which apparently means I smoke.
    The sheer amount of times I get asked, and quite often I get treated as a liar when I say I don't have any.

MrStuffins wrote: »
    It's like with spare change. Just because you have change, dosn't make it spare!

There have been times when i'm in the smoking area of a club (and it's always in the same club) and you can see particular girls time and time again bumming smokes. All night they do it. There's been so many times when you'd see the same girls on 3 or 4 different nights doing the same thing. Knowing that this "Honour system" will allow them to never have to buy smokes on a night out.

It aint no 'honor system'
    Thats girls being users. Ask some random bloke for a smoke cause they know if a bloke is into them they'll hand one over. And most stupidly do.

CallMeFlo wrote: »
    but you feel like a w*nker saying no :o

WOuld you rather be a wanker with cigarettes or a nice guy with none.
    I bet its the same few using you cos they know you are a nice guy and won't say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Oh you're right man.

Ya that's my policy now aswell. I found myself giving out far too many to random strangers during the week. For instance, outside Heuston station everyday without fail I was getting asked by people, I must have a generous looking face or something.

I always keep an empty packet in the same pocket for just such occasions. Someone asks me for one, I pull out the packet and say "Sorry, this was my last one."

Isn't it ridiculous that you have to do this?

Imagine having to carry around an empty wallet just in case someone asks you for a fiver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I do that, too.

Hasmunch wrote: »
    WOuld you rather be a wanker with cigarettes or a nice guy with none.
    I bet its the same few using you cos they know you are a nice guy and won't say no.

Yeah :o As I said it's my own fault and it is the same people. I'll make a stand someday.. Might not be today or even the next day but someday I am going to be a wanker! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

I remember years ago in Fibber's young wans going around saying they didn't have bus fare home, and people, both strangers and their mates would be offering them a few quid. After doing a circuit of that they'd have drinks for the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

In the smoking area with friends one night and a girl asks a mate for a smoke. He replies "sorry dont smoke, he does" (...points to me) she asks me for a smoke with that fake 'please with a smile' ... I know there is 2 smokes left in my packet so I say "go on" ... she proceeds to take the first smoke with one hand, then the second smoke with the other ... smiles (smirk is the better one) and turns around immediately and walks off. Bitch.

Wait...what?

Cat got your tongue or something?

Why on earth did you allow her to walk off? She does sound like a bitch but to be honest she must have seen something in you. Unsurprising that the bitch smirked. I can't imagine anyone I know allowing that to happen to themselves, and I know some real grade A fukking door mats.

Jesus... man up, my friend...

No offense...

kowloon wrote: »
    I don't smoke, but I have a beard, which apparently means I smoke.
    The sheer amount of times I get asked, and quite often I get treated as a liar when I say I don't have any.

That just reminded me of something, the being treated as a liar part. My cousin was walking home from school before and a group of lads asked him for a smoke, he doesn't smoke and said no sorry and because they didn't believe him they beat the living sh!t out of him! He ended up in hospital and everything over it! :eek:

strobe wrote: »
    Wait...what?

Why on earth did you allow her to walk off? She does sound like a bitch but to be honest she must have seen something in you. Unsurprising that the bitch smirked. I can't imagine anyone I know allowing that to happen to themselves, and I know some real grade A fukking door mats.

No offense...

I aint no soft touch.
    It was literally 2 seconds from pack of smokes opening .. her grabbing both ... smirk then boom ... like a bullet all the way off. I was in that "you .. fu*king bitch!" pause ..

F**k it tho, looking back why didnt I chase after her and go gimme them back.

Two guys/scumbags asked me for a cigarette before, i said i didnt have any as i dont smoke.

They asked to check my pockets as they didnt believe me. :eek:

I obviously told em to feck off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

Yeah, i love bummin cigs of randomers at the end of the nite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

well as they say each fag takes a few minutes off your life the cheeky bizzum has actually added a few minutes to your life

that may come in handy when you are on your death bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

strobe wrote: »
    Wait...what?

No offense...

Worst advice ever -

Eventually hes going to give a smoke to a girl and for his kindness she'll reward him with a night of passionate love making.

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    well as they say each fag takes a few minutes off your life the cheeky bizzum has actually added a few minutes to your life

that may come in handy when you are on your death bed.

More time to poop yourself one last time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Eventually hes going to give a smoke to a girl and for his kindness she'll reward him with a night of passionate love making.
    If only!! >.<

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

If only!! >.<

Perhaps you should try saying "I'll give you a smoke if you f*ck me you little wh*re"

works 11 times out of 10, as in the tenth time she brings her hot mate too.

I don't smoke so im just assuming this is what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

Sometimes saying something when they try to take the second one can lead to trouble haha. I was at work few weeks ago, outside on a fag break and a gang of lads walks toward me. There's bout 6 of them all around 16/17. one of them asked me for a fag and the other 5 kept walking It was a full pack so i gave him one but he tried to grab a second one out of the box which i snatched back and it snapped. I left off a few choice words to the little cont and he got mouthy and started to square up on me. Now I'm not a guy who'd ever claim to be a hard man and this isn't some bullsh1t "I took on 6 lads and won cause I'm an animal' story but I'm well able to handle myself. I squared off with him but then another equally mouthy member of the group backtracked back to where we were standing.Then the other 4 came back. Odds weren't on my side anymore :pac:. Luckily one of the lads I work with seen what was going on and he came out and stood beside me. he's actually from the town and has a reputation so they all backed away and walked on. What could have been me hospitalised over a broken fag became just a box of fags knocked out of my hand as they made their escape. sometimes its better to leave them off with things and make sure it doesn't happen in the future than saying something stupid and being without teeth rather than a few fags. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Perhaps you should try saying "I'll give you a smoke if you f*ck me you little wh*re"

works 11 times out of 10, as in the tenth time she brings her hot mate too.

I don't smoke so im just assuming this is what happens.

For that you have to light it with one flick of either a zippo or a match from a book of matches, while wearing a suit and a hat.

A match that you strike using just your stuble!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭AeoNGriM

Why the shenanigans? Just say feckoff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I was standing outside a pub in Dublin recently and a woman wandered over to myself and my friend and said to my friend, "Give me a drag of your cigarette." He declined. She then turned to me and said, "Give me some of your pint!"

I was pleased that her scabbiness wasn't restricted to just cigarettes. But she did seem genuinely aggrieved when we told her to get lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Haven't heard somebody being called a user since I was a kid. :)

Were they sleeveens as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

is this thread for stories about users or about people who always bum cigarettes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭hbert

Having a smoke after work one Thursday and a girl from work asked me for one. I only had one left and get paid Fridays so was broke and couldn't afford more. I felt really bad until she pulled twenty out of her pocket.

You'd think she would have waited til I went to take out her own??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

hbert wrote: »
    Having a smoke after work one Thursday and a girl from work asked me for one. I only had one left and get paid Fridays so was broke and couldn't afford more. I felt really bad until she pulled twenty out of her pocket.

You'd think she would have waited til I went to take out her own??

She clearly was just using it as a chat up line.

You dropped the ball there buddy. You missed out on some primo-handholding there I bet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The smokes woman - what a ****! :eek:

I've never heard of this honour code thing and I certainly don't know any women or men who'd carry on with that nonsense. Should have stood up to her, OP. Most women aren't such bitches either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

stovelid wrote: »
    Haven't heard somebody being called a user since I was a kid. :)

Were they sleeveens as well?

???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I have an excellent word for such situations. "No"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

thats what you get for smoking, i would of shouted can we do a diamond test on your arse :D

maybe not everyone will get that...

I can be so complex at times :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

Smokers are idiots.

I am one.

Most stupid thing I have ever taken up in my life and I have done a hell of a lot of stupid things.

Have managed to kick alot of addictions but those little bastard cigs always get me.

On topic, I have no problem giving a smoker a cig, we all get caught short now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭hbert

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    She clearly was just using it as a chat up line.

You dropped the ball there buddy. You missed out on some primo-handholding there I bet!

I'm a girl...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

smoke rollies but would offer to roll one if someone was stuck but they usually just go bum a ciggy from someone else, works for me.
    Was out on Thursday night and bumped into a few scabbers though, I got 3 cans of captain for a tenner at the bar and they decided to help themselves to the other two, I didn't mind so much the first time but I went for another round and they just assumed I was buying them their drinks for the night. They didn't even so much as ask is that mine or thanks they just wolfed them down. Asked them after that if they were going to the bar to get a horrified expression claim of no cash so I ****ed off and got myself the last round and took my cans to the smoking area with me. Fúcking as$holes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Kanoe wrote: »
    smoke rollies but would offer to roll one if someone was stuck but they usually just go bum a ciggy from someone else, works for me.
    Was out on Thursday night and bumped into a few scabbers though, I got 3 cans of captain for a tenner at the bar and they decided to help themselves to the other two, I didn't mind so much the first time but I went for another round and they just assumed I was buying them their drinks for the night. They didn't even so much as ask is that mine or thanks they just wolfed them down. Asked them after that if they were going to the bar to get a horrified expression claim of no cash so I ****ed off and got myself the last round and took my cans to the smoking area with me. Fúcking as$holes.

Did you know them or did they just nick your drinks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Did you know them or did they just nick your drinks?
    no I knew them but I didn't go out with them, bumped into them in another bar and we ended up going to late bar after with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 UTEOFTW

So whats your experiences?

Two things come to mind for me,

Other one is a 'mate' who would always suggest both of us getting a taxi back after the bar closes (as me and him lived in the same part of dublin) ... Did it a few times and he always 'claimed' he didnt have the money to pay for his share of the taxi :rolleyes: Kicker was the fare would cost roughly around 26 euro dropping him off .. as opposed to around 19 euro if i just got a taxi straight to my gaff. So not only was he using me, he was costing me more too ... I then just fobbed him off anytime afterwards.

Story doesn't stop there about him too :) The bar we'd all goto had cheap 3 euro drinks. So often he would buy the lads shots at the start of the night. Say 6 shots (18 euro) then proceed to tap everyone for drinks for the night. And you guessed it, tap people for more than one drink too. Even saw him doing it with other people he knew.

Yours?

Sounds familiar. Is your friends name Eamonn by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Kanoe wrote: »
    no I knew them but I didn't go out with them, bumped into them in another bar and we ended up going to late bar after with them.

I dunno, someone nicked drinks from me I'd tell them to **** off somewhere else.

Dudess wrote: »
    The smokes woman - what a ****! :eek:

I've never heard of this honour code thing and I certainly don't know any women or men who'd carry on with that nonsense. Should have stood up to her, OP. Most women aren't such bitches either.

Like most things in life its where you go that matters.
    You do get alot of bitches in bars and especially clubs. You get alot of women looking to tap blokes for smokes all night ... certain percentage even do it with drinks - Flirt with someone so he can buy drinks. Then scatter.

Im 26 and dont goto clubs anymore. Stopped around 2 years ago. But geez, some of the most stuck up women you meet. I dont know if its just the demographic (18-23 or what ever) or just the kind of woman that clubs attract. But the stuck up mentality is unreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

i say sorry i dont smoke......as i blow smoke while talking to them.

I look like a prick but theyre the scabby ***** in the first place.

UTEOFTW wrote: »
    Sounds familiar. Is your friends name Eamonn by any chance?

Nah its not.
    Probably a mooching relative of his :P

He was something else alright. A total moocher but a sly one at that. Most moochers just take take take. He would regularly show acts of "being alight" like buying people shots and crap ... which was just a sly way of then getting into people. Spend 18 euro on shots ... tap 30+ euro or more out of drink from the same people on the night. I soon realised his game.