Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women and typically male sports

• 06-11-2011 5:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭

Hi girls,

I have recently taken up two sports that are typically male. (rugby and boxing) I am really enjoying both of them. However Im getting the impression that some people think I must be butch or that the girls I play with must be unattractive and tom boys or gay.
    Its simply not true, the girls come in all sizes and shapes and are a fantastic group.

Have any of you come across this type of attitude or do you also believe it??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,565 ✭✭✭southsiderosie

eilo1 wrote: »
    Hi girls,

I have recently taken up two sports that are typically male. (rugby and boxing) I am really enjoying both of them. However Im getting the impression that some people think I must be butch or that the girls I play with must be unattractive and tom boys or gay.
    Its simply not true, the girls come in all sizes and shapes and are a fantastic group.

Don't believe it at all, but have definitely come across it.

When I started playing basketball ten years ago, people said the same thing to me - everyone would think I was gay (who cares), I would end up looking like a dude (these people were obviously unfamiliar with basic biology), etc. Over time, I've noticed that the same numpties with something to say about how sports magically turn you gay or into She-Hulk are the same ones who quite often don't participate in sports at all, or if they do, have no contact with female athletes. So to be honest, I can't really be arsed to pay any attention to the uninvited opinions of couch potatoes who don't know what the hell they are talking about.

My daughter plays so many sports and as a result is never out of a tracksuit and her hair is always tied back. I can't see her ever changing.

As Rosie said, the people who judge you on playing sports are the ones who haven't a clue about. Ignorance. So let them think what they want. It's not your problem if they're so closed minded!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 Foxytrot

Eilo,

I have played sports all my life. I used to do TaeKwondo and loved it. I now play rugby as well. It wrecks my head when people seem to do a double take when i mention it. It go "oh tag is it". Or are you a he she now!!!!:mad:
    They can't seem to understand why i would want to play. Our team like yours is a big mix of girls of all shapes and the nicest bunch of girls i have played with.

Anytime i show to work with a bruise all i get is would you not take up swimming or something. Even though i am not complaining they feel like they have to comment. I have had worse injuries playing camogie!

So i agree with Whoopsadaisy let them off! Once your enjoying it!! Keep it up!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Nwm2

Hi girls,

Are you actually boxing? That is, getting into the ring and sparring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Feisar

First time I spoke to my GF was at a mixed martial art club after I punched her in the face. I gave out to her for not having a gum shield.

No harm with women in typically male sports at all. No harm with anyone getting involved in any sport and getting active as for as I can see.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Welcome to my life :)

As the Mod of a Fitness forum the default assumption is that I'm male.

As a prominent weightlifter the default assumption is that I'm butch.

As a prominent advocate of women playing/ taking part in "traditionally" male dominated sports the assumption is that I'm gay.

I suppose I've been exposed to these attitudes for so long I don't even pay attention to them anymore, but yeah, they're as prevalent as they always were. Pay no mind to it at all, and if anything use it as part of your drive. Haters are always going to hate, and for as long as popular media continues to perpetuate the misguided ideas that girls in these sports don't belong there it's an attitude that won't change.

g'em wrote: »
    Welcome to my life :)

As a prominent weightlifter the default assumption is that I'm butch.

Sorry but LOL!!!

(g'em is a serious hottie boys and girls :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Yes it depends, there are lots of people who don't play sports at all, so really can't/don't expect them to understand.

I do diving, which according to some isn't really a sport & its actually not that unusual for females to do it, but the ratio to female to male divers in this country is usually leaning to the male side. I recently got involved in a new sport, weightlifting (olympic), most people in general don't even know much about the sport let alone females (at least in my usual group of friends). I was fortunate enough to meet up with another female that does it & is very good, so lots of inspiration there.

But I've come across people who are interested in learning more about it. From what I've heard from others, there are guys out there who actually find it hot when we women-folk go off and take on a typically male sport.

Besides I find it kind of fun being labelled 'untypical', keeps life interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Never ever deny yourself something that's good for you and doesn't hurt anyone else because of what you think they think.

I use to feel self conscious cycling because not a lot of women do it, our bodies are up to be gawked at and judged, not having the perfect body I was shouted at.. a lot.

But no matter what being active is great, really sad to see someone i know who loves running isn't doing so because she's worried her legs will become too bulky, how sad..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I find sometimes it can go the other way too, if guys aren't into the typical 'manly' sports they can get a lot of guff. My best friend in school (a guy) dropped out of the rugby and hockey teams in school as fast as he could because he hated them, but took up swimming, rollerblading and hiking. No-one would believe he wasn't gay, and nobody acknowledged that you can have sports without some kind of ball. :rolleyes: He actually met his now wife in the martial arts soc in college!
    Sorry but LOL!!!

ALso, just FYI butch women can be hot too. :p

I lol'd at g'em being butch.

Her being a hottie part was seperate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 874 ✭✭✭eilo1

Thanks for all the support and opinion's girls!

Its great to hear so many of you are active and not letting stereo typing stop you.

To NWM2 yes I have my first boxing match on Saturday night! Its just a charity white collar fight I have been training for about 8 weeks. We spar at most training sessions (twice a week). I normally spar the boys and the one other girl there. I hope to keep it up after the fight though!

To Gem and the other girls that are lifting, fair play to you! I was doing a lot of weight training over the summer and know its tough!!

Foxytrot You are so right about rugby, people automatically assume you are playing tag or a lesbian!! Its crazy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

Sorry but LOL!!!

I lol'd at g'em being butch.

Her being a hottie part was seperate.

I know, i was only teasing. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Girls - need to throw another sport into the mix here. :D

I'm target shooter. A predominantly male orientated sport. There are only a few of us girls in target sports - there are more females in the clay shooting side of things.

Women in sport - look up

http://www.irishsportscouncil.ie/Participation/Women_in_Sport/

High 5 to all of us!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Hi girls,

I have recently taken up two sports that are typically male.

g'em here got a few of us on this board into weightlifting/powerlifting/actually-daring-to-step-foot-in-the-weights-area-of-the-gym and yours truly here has also come across this attitude.

Shure only last night in my (very male dominated) gym some lad just straight out said to me "do you not get intimidated with all the lads here"

I laughed at him and said "hell no!" and went off to squat and deadlift :pac:

Right I got a lovely comment from a student colleague of mine the other day. I was just buying a bottle of water before training and was chatting to some of my class mates. We are all physiotherapy students so should be very supportive of sporting activities.

Anyways one of the girls was asking about rugby and I told her she should come along. She said she didnt want to as she was worried about injuries, then the other girl pipes up and goes "yeah plus rugby makes you look butch"! :mad::mad:

I do not look butch you silly twit!
    181533.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭howtomake

Right I got a lovely comment from a student colleague of mine the other day. I was just buying a bottle of water before training and was chatting to some of my class mates. We are all physiotherapy students so should be very supportive of sporting activities.

Anyways one of the girls was asking about rugby and I told her she should come along. She said she didnt want to as she was worried about injuries, then the other girl pipes up and goes "yeah plus rugby makes you look butch"! :mad::mad:

I do not look butch you silly twit!
    181533.jpg

Oh yeah and be careful of those rugby injuries, this is what happens
    http://www.irishemigrant.com/ie/go.asp?p=story&storyID=10359

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

A bit worrying for a physio student! Remind me to not book an appointment with her in future :pac:

Yes I know there is more to physio than just sports injuries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

I think the opposite can be true...its always a pleasant surprise when you stumble across an attractive girl in a male dominated area.

I stumbled across an absolute stunner who was into clay pigeon shooting / paintballing...made my month!

A lot to be said for a muddy diamond aka a girl that can play with the lads in the mud, but can turn on the prettyness when required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭hatful

It's as if you said. 'I'm going to tell you something now and in your response I want you to be a touch homophobic and also add some inert sexism, OKAY RIGHT..... I PLAY RUGBY!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Nothing wrong with looking butch anyway :pac:

hatful wrote: »
    It's as if you said. 'I'm going to tell you something now and in your response I want you to be a touch homophobic and also add some inert sexism, OKAY RIGHT..... I PLAY RUGBY!'

not following you at all :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭hatful

not following you at all :o
    I was just commenting on the overall discussion I suppose to summarise the general reaction is a. sexist: women shouldn't be involved in male sports b. homophobic: i.e. if you participate in those sports then you must be gay and I assume these people mean it in a negative way and not in a good for you sort of way.

hatful wrote: »
    I was just commenting on the overall discussion I suppose to summarise the general reaction is a. sexist: women shouldn't be involved in male sports b. homophobic: i.e. if you participate in those sports then you must be gay and I assume these people mean it in a negative way and not in a good for you sort of way.

ah I see and agree. Although I will say its not everyone plenty of people have given me praise for it. Which in itself show how its still not the norm. Iv found its mainly young women who seem to come out with this sort thing. Its sad really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

ah I see and agree. Although I will say its not everyone plenty of people have given me praise for it. Which in itself show how its still not the norm. Iv found its mainly young women who seem to come out with this sort thing. Its sad really.

I've noticed similar enough opinions with some girls I know. One girl was complaining about getting the bus to college and I said she should cycle. To which her answer was "but I'll get thick calves" with a look of disgust on her face. So there are some weird attitudes towards exercise out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

I drive a motorbike, love shore fishing (competitive and pleasure) and playing darts. I am currently doing kick boxing classes and last year I finished a two year Sound Engineering course (I was only girl).

I also love dresses, babies, the X Factor and hate soccer so that balances it out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Having travelled across a lot of Asia I find this to be a strangely western or more to the point Anglo-Saxon attitude. I don't know what it is exactly, but throughout many countries in the far east you find women participating in sports of all sorts, working on construction sites, as binmen (women), and so on. Not to say there's no sexism, there's horrendous sexism, but not in the sporting arena for some reason.

Speaking only for myself, I find it much easier to respect the discipline involved in mastering a sport, male or female oriented, than to fall for a pretty face. Any eejit can be born pretty, it takes strength and will to shape the body.