Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying A Laptop For DJ'ing

• 06-11-2011 04:22PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Hi Guys,

I'm hoping to start DJ'ing soon and I'm going to buy a new laptop. I've asked a few people and they have said to go for a MAC but with my budget I cant afford one. Just looking for some advice on what laptops people would recommend I have a max budget of €800.

Hope ye can help me out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I've never had anyone offer me a valid reason as to why a MAC would be required for DJing.

A decent Dell will do the job just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Forde_1

cheers thanks... any idea what sort of spec I should be aiming for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I've never had anyone offer me a valid reason as to why a MAC would be required for DJing.

Mac isn't a requirement, I got by fine with a Sony Vaio for a few years. A couple of hiccups and near heart attacks along the way but nothing any punters ever even noticed. The worst (software-wise, equipment is another story) was having to re-install software as I started a mobile gig so whacked on a mix I'd made for such an emergency. Was back up and running within 10 minutes.

So yeah, especially if you're just starting out as a hobby then you'll get decent laptops for a few hundred. If you have to go on a shoestring, get a notebook, store all your tunes on a portable HD and you may even have change for a cheap controller.

When you're taking it more seriously though, Macs are considered professional standard due to their processors for speed/reliability. And you'll notice the difference when you use one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

DJing doesn't require that much power afaik. The only thing that would be taxing would be effect processing.

I think something that is much more important is reliability. You can't be playing out live and then all of a sudden you get buffer under runs or just gaps in sound.

For that reason I'd probably go with a cheap Mac because in general they are more reliable.

Edit: Just thought I'd add that I'd normally be the one advising to get a PC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭DubDJ

A Mac isn't a requirement for DJ'ing but it is a more reliable DJ tool. I've used Windows for the last 5 years+ and have had a number of different issues over the years, some worse than others.

Have a Mac now the last few weeks and have yet to deal with a single problem.

BTW Apple offer refurbs time to time. I've seen Macbook Airs (which are perfect for on-the-go DJ'ing due to portability) in the refurb section of the site for €699-799. So they aren't too expensive seeing as they are one of the most reliable machines out there imo. Run with flash memory also so it's instant on.

You could also go for a Windows based machine. Try aim for Core i3, i5 or i7 processor and at least 4GB RAM. Using 2GB of RAM with certain DJ programs will lead to crashes and issues as i've experienced before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

I know people who have virtual Dj running on a stripped down netbook as backup to main laptop. Personally I'd get an i3 from a reliable brand and buy a better mixer/controller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

I run a Dell studio XPS with i5 have it around a year i never have a problem with it when using Abelton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Forde_1

Thanks for the info guys... I have been looking at the Dell but I have been looking at a HP this is the link have a look and let me know what ye think...
    http://www.hp.com/united-states/campaigns/holiday-beats/envy14_beats.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭CyberWaste

A laptop like a thinkpad or a dell would do fine.
    My laptop is a Lenovo Thinkpad SL510. Its running Win7 HP 64bit. Its got 4gb ddr3 ram, dual core processor, 500gb HD. Nothing fancy but does the job perfectly. The laptop is built like a tank too with metal sides and a metal back, very well built so can take a knock or 2. Also its got a keyboard that is splash resistant, in that water (or beer for those drunk fools) can drain from the keyboard and out the bottom of the laptop without damaging the internals of the laptop. Best thing is that it was only €290 new a few months ago on www.saveonlaptops.co.uk

Something like that would do fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭was.deevey

If you are going PC, I'd go with the Thinkpad 100% over a HP or Dell TBH for reliability and build quality.

We bought 5 Hp lappy's at differing times and differing models for staff, they all died (motherboards) within 3 months of the warranty expiring.

Dell I'm not a big fan of due to their mega high first year failure rate (defiantly not what you want at a gig).

Oh and the "Beats" thing is a gimmick, you aren't going to DJ using laptop speakers anyhow.... and at that price you'd get a Refurb Macbook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

TIL that Thinkpads are they only laptops that are allowed on the international space station :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Here is one.

6 years using a mac daily.............never crashed.

Use a PC ( dell ) in work daily...........crashes at least once a week.

I need to know when i turn on my computer that 4 hrs later it will still be going, using a Mac gives me that confidence.

I was on the receiving end for going round the country replacing Dell Optiplex machines that globally had a 97% failure rate... fun times.

In fairness to Windows 7 its closed the Mac/PC gap considerably when it comes to OS choice, I've been using it on and off in bootcamp and it screams speed wise.

The hardware is now really the weakest link where it comes to reliability, Mac still tops it where thats concerned, but IBM a close second, they just don't look as pretty by a longshot.

But in your case I'd go with the Thinkpad :)

Here is one.

I need to know when i turn on my computer that 4 hrs later it will still be going, using a Mac gives me that confidence.

Sorry, just not good enough. Been using PC's since i was 16, so that's 14 years, never had a crash. Not once.

Did easily 2 or 3 dozen gigs with my laptop over the course of a year, never had an issue.

Windows is open architecture, if you look after it right it will be absolutely fine. Your IT guys in work obviously can't set up a system for ****, it really is that simple with regard to the crashing.

So confidence in my system really isn't an issue for me...mainly because i know what i am doing with it. I can understand how it would be an issue when stuff is getting piled into all hap hazardly as tends to happen in the workplace.

My old job was all PC's and they crashed regularly because the IT department was, once again, **** at their job.

Just how things go in the work place sadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

Sorry, just not good enough. Been using PC's since i was 16, so that's 14 years, never had a crash. Not once.

Did easily 2 or 3 dozen gigs with my laptop over the course of a year, never had an issue.

Windows is open architecture, if you look after it right it will be absolutely fine. Your IT guys in work obviously can't set up a system for ****, it really is that simple with regard to the crashing.

So confidence in my system really isn't an issue for me...mainly because i know what i am doing with it. I can understand how it would be an issue when stuff is getting piled into all hap hazardly as tends to happen in the workplace.

My old job was all PC's and they crashed regularly because the IT department was, once again, **** at their job.

Just how things go in the work place sadly.

Yeah you can set up Windows to work perfectly, but you could better use that setup time on tunes, right?

FWIW I use OSX, Windows 7 and Xfce fairly equally. Do all my music stuff on OSX.

See thats the issue right there "if you look after it right" .. why should you need to be a techno head (not in a music sense) to get the most & avoid trouble from your OS.

was.deevey wrote: »
    See thats the issue right there "if you look after it right" .. why should you need to be a techno head (not in a music sense) to get the most & avoid trouble from your OS.

I'm not a techno head, i just don't go installing every random piece of conflicting **** i find about the place on my computer.

Treat a computer the way an upstanding and chaste woman treats her vagina...don't go sticking everything you find inside it.

I can understand how it would be an issue when stuff is getting piled into all hap hazardly as tends to happen in the workplace.

I'm not a techno head, i just don't go installing every random piece of conflicting **** i find about the place on my computer.

The fact that you say that in the first place validates you having a better understanding than many MANY people with regards to successfully running a windows rig.

As you well know, it doesn't even take installing anything par se just someone clicking on a random link is enough to get infected with all manner of niceties.

I always tell people "If you need a Mac, you'll know you do beforehand." In other words, save your cash unless you specifically know exactly why you need one. For starting out DJ-ing, Windows will do. But down the line you may decide you need the extra reliability of Mac OS. It is better suited, yeah, but not something I'd push on someone either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

DubDJ wrote: »
    BTW Apple offer refurbs time to time. I've seen Macbook Airs (which are perfect for on-the-go DJ'ing due to portability) in the refurb section of the site for €699-799.

They are not the best for DJing. Get a Pro, they are far more stable and offer more horsepower for a fraction more.

I started on a MacBook Pro 13" and moved recently for a 15" Quad Core with 8GB of RAM. I've never, ever had a crash and I've had upwards of 4GB in the RAM stack.

While I'd be biased, I cannot urge you enough to go Mac. There is a reason nearly every studio in the world runs MacOS and why the major production suites are based on Mac. They are incredible when it comes to audio and video production. They are far more stable on a technical level. They also hold their value unlike Windows machines (Bought my 13" for €1200 two years ago, sold for €900 a month ago)

A lot of people who are anti Mac, are so because of the price range or because of the belief if you own a Mac your an anti-social hipster :) Believe me, they are worth every penny as no other operating system or build quality comes close.

Save your money, buy cheap and you'll buy twice. Nothing in DJing is cheap, and if it is cheap, its probably going to be a short term solution.

ironclaw wrote: »
    They are not the best for DJing. Get a Pro, they are far more stable and offer more horsepower for a fraction more.

Obviously a Macbook Pro would be better but as far as the Air goes it should do just fine. 4GB RAM intel i5 dual core. More than meets the minimum requirements of most DJ software/hardware. Flash memory comes as standard which is also a big bump over the Macbook Pro. And it's built just as reliably as a Macbook Pro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 PremierDJ

I'd buy a new generation i3, with a min of 4gb RAM. Don't install tonnes of crap on it and keep it off the net, use it just for DJing if possible. My three year old Dell has never crashed during a gig, it has legit DJ software installed and very little else. I would't spend more than €500 op, unless you are doing Video or something and need a good gfx card, you'll get a cracking machine for that money. Something like this would be fine for DJ work. What software will you be using?

DubDJ wrote: »
    Obviously a Macbook Pro would be better but as far as the Air goes it should do just fine. 4GB RAM intel i5 dual core. More than meets the minimum requirements of most DJ software/hardware. Flash memory comes as standard which is also a big bump over the Macbook Pro. And it's built just as reliably as a Macbook Pro.

The Air meets the requirements, but as with all machines, that doesn't mean its suitable. The Air gets extremely hot when its under pressure. Yes its extremely fast but when things get hot, you can get serious problems developing. Also the battery life isn't great on them, not that it will be too big an issue when DJing but its handy to know if your charger fails (As has happened me) you can still do a gig.

The Air meets the requirements, but as with all machines, that doesn't mean its suitable. The Air gets extremely hot when its under pressure.

I've seen quite a few "Big Names" using Air's with Serato/Traktor/Ableton recently.. most DJ/audio applications don't cause thing to heat up half as much as playing 3d games or even watching youtube vids, (freaking flash player!!) thats when things really hot-up.

In saying that the OP has an 800 euro budget ... so getting away from the Mac Vs PC stuff realistically he'll be able to get.

1. Refurb Macbook (not pro)
    2. Dell / Lenovo / HP / Asus / Samsung or something like that.

For a workhorse DJ Machine .. i'd be going with a dual Boot Lenovo for reliability and partition things off with a slimmed down, everything off OS for DJ'ing and another partition for general use.

was.deevey wrote: »
    I've seen quite a few "Big Names" using Air's with Serato/Traktor/Ableton recently.. most DJ/audio applications don't cause thing to heat up half as much as playing 3d games or even watching youtube vids, (freaking flash player!!) thats when things really hot-up.

In saying that the OP has an 800 euro budget ... so getting away from the Mac Vs PC stuff realistically he'll be able to get.

1. Refurb Macbook (not pro)
    2. Dell / Lenovo / HP / Asus / Samsung or something like that.

For a workhorse DJ Machine .. i'd be going with a dual Boot Lenovo for reliability and partition things off with a slimmed down, everything off OS for DJ'ing and another partition for general use.

+ An external HDD with a back-up of all your music (Just in case :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

I use the new Macbook Air (11") for Serato and it's a dream.... 4gb and i8 processor - runs like a dream with plenty to spare too :)

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I don't like Apple. They drive me nuts and I love to poke fun at them in general. I think iOS is pants and I have never really warmed to OSX I find it a pain in the ass compared to windows. However despite all this, I would still advise a DJ to buy a Mac. When it comes to Djing, controllers, drivers software etc etc - they just work. I've been DJing using software for nearly 10 years, and I've had every possible problem you can imagine including a crash mid set playing live, and I've even had to reinstall drivers before a gig. But never with the Mac. You just plug it in and go - and the software you just install and it works. And you can't really put a price on this. As much as it pains to to say it, they are just better for DJing.

I still think they have the ghey apart from that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭SmallBalls

Lads, sorry for resurrecting an older post but I'm in the market for
    a refurbed laptop/macbook for dj purposes only. Computer specs and
    the like wash over me a bit so I'm not overly confident when buying these
    things.

I'm using Serato Scratch, I'll post the minimum specs below.
    iSeries processor's are out as theres a known issue with them
    and Serato, AMD is also out. So I've sort of narrowed it down to a
    Intel Core 2 Duo.

I had my eye on this but he ended it early ebay :(

Seen this thread and then started to look at Lenovo machines as a cheaper option.
    Found this on ebay Lenovo Looks like a decent machine but like I said I'm a bit green when
    it comes to these things so any opinions welcome. He also has other
    machines for sale if you click the other items tab, maybe theres a
    better one for me?

Cheers in advance.

Minimum specs:
    PLEASE NOTE: These are the minimum requirements to run Scratch Live. For best performance and for use in professional situations we recommend you use a higher spec computer. We also recommend Intel processors.

Mac

Intel 1.8 GHz Core Duo (2.0 GHz, Core Duo for SL 4) or better (See Note 2)
    2 GB RAM*
    1024 x 768 screen resolution
    OSX 10.5 or higher
    Available USB port (USB 2.0 required for SL 2, SL 3, SL 4 & Sixty-Eight)
    Windows

Intel processor, 2.0 GHz Core Duo or better (See Note 1 & 2)
    2 GB RAM*
    1024 x 768 screen resolution
    Windows XP with Service Pack 3 or higher
    Windows Vista with Service Pack 2 or higher
    Windows 7
    Available USB port (USB 2.0 required for SL 2, SL 3, SL 4 & Sixty-Eight)
    *If you have a large library, you will benefit from having more RAM.

Note 1: Please read these FAQs first if you are looking at buying any of the following:

Windows based PC with Intel iSeres (i3, i5 or i7) processor
    Windows based PC with Pentium P6xxx processor
    Windows based PC with AMD processor
    Note 2: If you are using Scratch Live 2.x's more system intensive features such as DJ FX or AUX Deck plugins and are having issues you may need a higher spec computer for best results or make sure you have optimized your system: Windows 7 and Vista / Mac OS X.

SmallBalls wrote: »

I'm using Serato Scratch, I'll post the minimum specs below.
    iSeries processor's are out as theres a known issue with them
    and Serato, AMD is also out. So I've sort of narrowed it down to a
    Intel Core 2 Duo.

Talking purely specs wises, you'd be better off on the iSeries processors. I had a MacBook running a Intel Core 2 Duo and now I'm on a quad core i7. The difference is phenomenal. The issue specifically is based around USB:
    Some users are encountering issues with computers featuring the newest Intel i3, i5, or i7 processors when used with USB 1.1 devices such as the Rane SL 1 or TTM 57SL.

So unless you using a USB 1.1 device, there really is no reason not to buy an iSeries. The problem also seems to be confined to Windows which I would not recommend for DJing unless its going to be used only for DJing (And I mean, only DJing)

Obviously a Intel Core 2 Duo would be cheaper but you'd be buying older by one generation, as opposed to buying the newest. I always tell people to buy the very best you can, because at the pace technology moves, you'll get the most bang for your buck. Again speaking techwise, your iSeries would be good for at least another two years+. Your Intel Core 2 Duo will at most be good for about a year. (Taking 18 months as the general life span and the introduction very soon of smaller chip sets)

Then again, its coming to the stage were your hard drive will slow you down, not the processor. SSD should be getting cheap in the next 12 to 18 months, and I'd urging people in that direction.

So unless you using a USB 1.1

Thanks for the reply ironclaw.

I should of said in the post I'm using a TTM 57SL so its USB 1.1 for me.
    Moneys tight, maybe 500 - 600 max, so defo wont get
    a Macbook with iSeries for that.

It's such a shame that Microsoft are being dicks with Serato
    about the USB 1.1 thing. It'd make life easier if I could get
    a laptop with an iSeries processor.

Laptop or Macbook will purely be used for DJing, nothing else.
    Mostly bedroom stuff and a few house parties, but obviously
    want something thats reliable, no dropouts.

Any thoughts on the Lenovo's in the link or keep searching for
    a Macbook. I think I would of bought that Macbook if the seller
    hadn't bailed early :cool:

Looking at this one now Macbook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Thanks for the reply ironclaw.

I should of said in the post I'm using a TTM 57SL so its USB 1.1 for me.
    Moneys tight, maybe 500 - 600 max, so defo wont get
    a Macbook with iSeries for that.

It's such a shame that Microsoft are being dicks with Serato
    about the USB 1.1 thing. It'd make life easier if I could get
    a laptop with an iSeries processor.

Laptop or Macbook will purely be used for DJing, nothing else.
    Mostly bedroom stuff and a few house parties, but obviously
    want something thats reliable, no dropouts.

Any thoughts on the Lenovo's in the link or keep searching for
    a Macbook. I think I would of bought that Macbook if the seller
    hadn't bailed early :cool:

Looking at this one now Macbook

Its like this if your serious about making tunes or djing then you need a good laptop. windows is grand for beginers and win based laptops are alot cheaper but if your really serious and plan on giving djing or production a real good run then your only delaying the inevitable. macbooks just work better when it comes to music.

i changed to mac last october after using win based machines since day one. i for one will never go back to windows.

and as for the guy who is using windows for the last 14 years and never had a crash that i find real hard to believe!

Appreciate its not my money, but I cannot argue the case strongly enough for Mac. And for the record, I used both Windows and Mac daily. But Mac is built for Audio and Video. Theres a reason their used in development scenarios. A Dolby equipped studio with a pair of these (http://www.apple.com/ie/macpro/) is quite something to behold in terms of video / audio.

Keep an eye on the Refurb site: http://store.apple.com/ie-business/browse/home/specialdeals/mac and CompuB occasionally have "End of Line (EOL)" or Shop Demo models which are pretty much the same (http://www.compub.com/)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭2tek

MacBook pro all the way.

My current setup is the MacBook Pro I7 2.0 8gig Ram running on Lion, serato sl 2.3, video sl, sl3, DJM 700 (midi connected via USB) and two turntables (st 150). Never had a problem because it just works.

When I'm getting gigs at bars with its own Serato set up, I leave all my gear at home except my mac,headphones, time codes +/- cartridges.

I have plugged every Rane interface except the 68 Ito my mac and they all worked.

The issue with the USB with the sL1 and ttm57sl was addressed a few updates back.

If you are going to get a windows pc for djing I will advise you keep it 100% for djing. No illegal software, no porn, no isohunting, no lime wiring, no emails, no random USB sticks, wifi permanently off, you also need to delete all the bloat ware that came installed with it.

Djing itself is not that demanding on the computer but bare minimum is the way to go with windows. If you go out to gig make sure you ask for the interface and install the necessary drivers. Carry back up of all the drivers and software too. You should be fine if you take heed.

Just to add a bit of balance here (as a guy who was pimping Macbooks initially), had my first issue last night at the start of a gig while doing soundcheck. The software was running horribly, just not the performance I've come to expect and more like what I was used to with Windows, and had to do a reboot. I've plenty of memory and was only running one other programme in the background (iTunes). It ran as normal after the reboot.

First time I've had any kind of hiccups with the Mac since I got it last August, but just so you know you aren't getting a completely invincible piece of hardware with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭2tek

leggo wrote: »
    Just to add a bit of balance here (as a guy who was pimping Macbooks initially), had my first issue last night at the start of a gig while doing soundcheck. The software was running horribly, just not the performance I've come to expect and more like what I was used to with Windows, and had to do a reboot. I've plenty of memory and was only running one other programme in the background (iTunes). It ran as normal after the reboot.

First time I've had any kind of hiccups with the Mac since I got it last August, but just so you know you aren't getting a completely invincible piece of hardware with it.

Yup. The MacBook Pro crashes too. Its just the relative stability of Apple MBP compared to Windows

leggo wrote: »

You shouldn't really have iTunes open in conjunction with other software e.g. Traktor, Serato as they are both accessing the same file system, which could cause a conflict. I know for a fact that iTunes if opened first can take precedent over other software and cause all sorts of hassle for accessing the iTunes database etc.

However I have noticed that iTunes is very resource hungry since it got that Sync over Wifi function for iOS devices. As a matter of course I always have iTunes closed and Wifi off when gigging live.

You shouldn't really have iTunes open in conjunction with other software e.g. Traktor, Serato as they are both accessing the same file system, which could cause a conflict. I know for a fact that iTunes if opened first can take precedent over other software and cause all sorts of hassle for accessing the iTunes database etc.

However I have noticed that iTunes is very resource hungry since it got that Sync over Wifi function for iOS devices. As a matter of course I always have iTunes closed and Wifi off when gigging live.

Interesting, I didn't know that so cheers (not a big techie: just know what I need to know well!). I like to keep it open in the background so I can download if I get any requests on the night that I don't have already...but may just open and close it as necessary now.

Lads, if anyone has a minute to look at this ebay page ebay

At the moment he has 6 Macbooks under 600 euro for sale,
    which is around about my budget.
    Some have bigger HDD, some bigger RAM, other than that they look pretty much the same.
    Is there anything else between them?
    Would one be more suited to my needs(SSL with a TTM 57-SL) than another?.....I'm not big
    on the tech stuff so just wanna get whats best for my few quid.
    Any opinions welcomed :)

Lads, if anyone has a minute to look at this ebay page ebay

At the moment he has 6 Macbooks under 600 euro for sale,
    which is around about my budget.
    Some have bigger HDD, some bigger RAM, other than that they look pretty much the same.
    Is there anything else between them?
    Would one be more suited to my needs(SSL with a TTM 57-SL) than another?.....I'm not big
    on the tech stuff so just wanna get whats best for my few quid.
    Any opinions welcomed :)

Basically you want the best / fastest CPU you can get. They are all old, so you buy more RAM fairly cheaply. However, new they are not and you will reach a limit. I think the max ram could be 4GB for those models. The Black MacBook was discontinued quite some time ago by now.

The Black MacBook was discontinued quite some time ago by now.

They ceased in October 2008, these are February 2008.
    Wish I could go for a higher spec, but it just ain't gonna
    happen :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,755 ✭✭✭A V A

you'll get a great i5 core proccessor mac with 4 gig ram blah blah for around your budget on adverts.ie . . .thats where i bought mine

They ceased in October 2008, these are February 2008.
    Wish I could go for a higher spec, but it just ain't gonna
    happen :(

I would very much advise against buying a 4 year old machine. Laptop components have a lifetime of, at best in my experience, of 5 to 8 years. After that, they just degrade and finding parts would be nigh impossible.

Buy on Adverts, there are some very good machines there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Here is one.

How much more did the Mac cost than the Dell? Probably at least twice as much if not more.

If you buy a Dell for circa €3000 then you're going to get a good machine.

For the OP, the most powerful and dependable laptop you could get would be a Dell Precision M4600. It costs around the same as a Macbook Pro but instead of getting underpowered nonsense and comparatively poor service you get a top class workstation with world class service.

The whole "Get a Mac for Audio/Video" thing is nonsense that's peddled by people buying Windows computers and then buying extremely expensive Apple computers that are in a higher product bracket who then disingenuously compare the two.

It costs around the same as a Macbook Pro but instead of getting underpowered nonsense and comparatively poor service you get a top class workstation with world class service.

Underpowered? Thats absolute hog. On a base level the OS for MacBook is above and beyond anything Windows every produced. Its absolutely solid as an architecture goes. This quickly equates to why Apple build the hardware and software together. So you get maximum performance from each.

As for service, you've obviously never heard of AppleCare. Their service is unbelievable. I had an iPhone and MacBook replaced with 72 hours. I heard nothing but bad reports from Dell etc.
    The whole "Get a Mac for Audio/Video" thing is nonsense that's peddled by people buying Windows computers and then buying extremely expensive Apple computers that are in a higher product bracket who then disingenuously compare the two.

Again, absolute hog. Why do design studios and the print industry nearly 100% run on Mac? Why do photographers nearly 100% use Mac? Because they enjoy paying a little extra? And why do most sound studios and international producers use Mac?

You get what you pay for in this world. Granted there is a slight percentage added to Mac for the whole hipster angle, but if your serious about computing and have a knowledge of its base architecture, then you'll understand why Mac is so powerful.

Underpowered? Thats absolute hog.
    No it isn't. Look at the top spec you can get with a Precision M6600 and the best you can get from a MBP 17. There's a world of a difference between the two.
    On a base level the OS for MacBook is above and beyond anything Windows every produced. Its absolutely solid as an architecture goes.
    How? There's nothing more "solid" about OS X Lion than Windows 7 and you simply saying that it is isn't enough to prove the point.
    This quickly equates to why Apple build the hardware and software together. So you get maximum performance from each.
    Funny. You would have thought that such a perfectly engineered computer would be ISV certified. Oddly enough they're not whereas Dell's Precision line is.
    As for service, you've obviously never heard of AppleCare. Their service is unbelievable. I had an iPhone and MacBook replaced with 72 hours. I heard nothing but bad reports from Dell etc.
    And obviously you've never heard of Dell's business support. I had a laptop replaced within 18 hours with them. Others have had design engineers flown to their residence to examine issues as seemingly trivial as light leaking through the corners of their screen. "Applecare" doesn't have a scratch on Dell's business support. That's not even taking in to account the fact Applecare is an extra whereas Dell's business support is offered inclusive of the price.
    Again, absolute hog. Why do design studios and the print industry nearly 100% run on Mac? Why do photographers nearly 100% use Mac? Because they enjoy paying a little extra? And why do most sound studios and international producers use Mac?
    For the same reason you think Macs are better than Windows computers. They start off on mid range Windows machines and then buy far more expensive Mac hardware and then put the blame on Windows for the difference in quality.
    You get what you pay for in this world. Granted there is a slight percentage added to Mac for the whole hipster angle, but if your serious about computing and have a knowledge of its base architecture, then you'll understand why Mac is so powerful.
    To use your own word... Biggest load of "hog" that i've read so far in this thread.

im with iron claw!!!!!
    How much more did the Mac cost than the Dell? Probably at least twice as much if not more.

yeah but atleast you wont be wasting time in getting it fixed or repaired or getting a new one which is what happens most of the time with windows!!! in the long run your saving your self alot of bother and hassle if you get a mac!!
    iv had both mac and windows, i switched to mac because windows was utter muck. shut down half of the time and ran real slow.i am having none of those problems with my mac,it ups and runs straight away with no glitches etc .
    i use mine for music production and dj'ing and have never ever had a problem with it , again thats why most people use mac in most of the industries around and not windows because of the lack of power in them.my mate uses a windows laptop and its in bit cosmetically let alone crashing !!mac is so durable with their frame etc ,yes i know it can get dented but its not easily scratched or marked like a windows laptop !! so my ten cents , mac for dj'ing !! and defo for production

like i said , go to adverts and check out the macs up there!! you can get 2011 models for decent prices , theres one and i5 13"mac with 4 gb ram 5400 rpm

A V A wrote: »
    im with iron claw!!!!!

yeah but atleast you wont be wasting time in getting it fixed or repaired or getting a new one which is what happens most of the time with windows!!! in the long run your saving your self alot of bother and hassle if you get a mac!!
    iv had both mac and windows, i switched to mac because windows was utter muck. shut down half of the time and ran real slow.i am having none of those problems with my mac,it ups and runs straight away with no glitches etc .
    i use mine for music production and dj'ing and have never ever had a problem with it , again thats why most people use mac in most of the industries around and not windows because of the lack of power in them.my mate uses a windows laptop and its in bit cosmetically let alone crashing !!mac is so durable with their frame etc ,yes i know it can get dented but its not easily scratched or marked like a windows laptop !! so my ten cents , mac for dj'ing !! and defo for production

like i said , go to adverts and check out the macs up there!! you can get 2011 models for decent prices , theres one and i5 13"mac with 4 gb ram 5400 rpm
    *facepalm*
    This is exactly what i'm talking about. The entry level Macbook Pro STARTS at €1000. Very few Windows laptops start at €1000 and those that do (Such as the Precision M4600) absolutely destroy any Macbook in terms of power, durability and manufacturer service.

he can look at adverts , my brother just bought a late 2011 13"macbook pro for 820 .
    those window laptops that are under 1000 or even 800 are muck for dj'ing they are terrible and run horribly and gather problems over time , iv had my 17" i5 for about a year and a half and havent had one problem, my best mate has a decent dell laptop which he got about 2 months ago and its in taters!!!! its crashing and slowing down etc !!! they are terrible, i would rather save and get a mac ,because they are known to be good fro dj'ing and production!!! why do you think so many people have them !!

A V A wrote: »
    he can look at adverts , my brother just bought a late 2011 13"macbook pro for 820 .
    those window laptops that are under 1000 or even 800 are muck for dj'ing they are terrible and run horribly and gather problems over time , iv had my 17" i5 for about a year and a half and havent had one problem, my best mate has a decent dell laptop which he got about 2 months ago and its in taters!!!!
    What's "decent" to you? An Inspiron 17R? An XPS 17? They're both decent laptops but neither are in the same price bracket as a Macbook 17. The only one that is in the same price segment is the Precision M6600 which i'm fairly certain almost cannot fall apart.
    its crashing and slowing down etc !!! they are terrible, i would rather save and get a mac ,because they are known to be good fro dj'ing and production!!! why do you think so many people have them !!
    Probably because they, like you, are disingenuous in how they compare the two platforms *sigh* Oh, and they're shiny and have a glowing Apple on the back of them.

here right you can fcuk right off , i never insulted you or made little digs ,i just gave my input , im out of this thread !!