Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NUIM Beers ~ Caulfields ~ Monday 14th @ 7pm

• 06-11-2011 3:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭

Yes, I know the title is crap :p

Seeing as there hasn't been a meetup in a while, I thought maybe we could have one in the next few weeks :D What does everyone think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

Sounds like a great idea. Somewhere quiet enough where we can actually talk? i.e. Caulfields, O'Neills?

Not the SU bar, oh please. Then I'm basically in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭How so Joe

Excellent idea! I'm coming home tomorrow for a week! I'm so in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Oh teh excitmentzorsnesses.
    I vote Caulfields!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Yesh, I <3 Caulfields. The Indian above it is nommy too, shnakey korma could be got and brought downstairs >___>

I can pretty much do all the days/times, possibly Thursday too depending on what day Imma head home on.

shnakey korma >__>

Anytime I ever eat Indian, I shall think of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭DB21

Inb4suggestionofgoingonafridayandsubsequentrobjokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Bit hectic next couple of weeks so can't really commit but will try make it if it's happening. I'll arm wrestle Rob if people will chip in, all proceeds to Pieta House :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

I'm trying to figure out the title, not getting it :P

Caulfields sounds good, can I borrow a couch to sleep on? :D

Yeh, we have three couches, I'll leave one down the canal for you :pac:

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Yeh, we have three couches, I'll leave one down the canal for you :pac:

Lads, Christmas is coming early to me, bet yis are all jealous now :D

I'll give you the one the dogs chewed. It's lovely :)

I'm trying to figure out the title, not getting it :P

Caulfields sounds good, can I borrow a couch to sleep on? :D

It's meant to be a play on words, but it's a bit fail :P

And we've loads of comfy couches for you if you want! Although I don't know which one was chewed by dogs >_>

The one with the bite marks all over it.

Coolbeans, is it safe to park around there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Woopse planner fail, I clicked not making it on all the days...

Coolbeans, is it safe to park around there?

It is yeah, our estate is pretty quiet. ZOMGZZ BOARDS SLEEPOVAR.
    banquo wrote: »

Moar voting!! It'd be nice to see a few new faces at this too, as well as us ould ones :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

i can do thursday starting any time , any other day id be along at 11 if people were still there, if people needs to get back to smellbridge/leixlip after ill exchange lifts for dinner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

I think I've said I was attending one of these every year since first year... Final year now, I really want to make this one :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

How exactly would this work?

I would go but these kind of things are always very awkward seen as how many of us in this forum don't actually know each other.

Having said that Caulfields is small enough so if there's a specific table we have to meet it might be a success.

karaokeman wrote: »
    How exactly would this work?

I would go but these kind of things are always very awkward seen as how many of us in this forum don't actually know each other.

Having said that Caulfields is small enough so if there's a specific table we have to meet it might be a success.
    l

Actually the majority of us do know each other, and it's from the beers that we do. It's easy, try not to be awkward and shy, cuz we won't be!

What squishykins said. And if anyone is nervous about coming on their own or anything, give me a PM and I can arrange to meet you outside or whatever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

ye sure it'll probably be slightly akward for a few mins, but its beers we'll be having so that will fade pretty quickly with the magic of alcohol.

also theres a piano there isnt there? maybe if someone was to sing a song it might ease the awkwardness, especially if the song had something to do with a specific day of the week.

but the quesiton is who should sing? and to what day should the song be about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭purebeta

The Piano(Keyboard attached to a piano shaped tables)'s gone!
    Well at least it was when I was there during the summer. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Bigtoe107

Really would like to go to this despite being unknown, but Thursday or Wednesday don't suit.

Will this be an all night thing?

Bigtoe107 wrote: »
    Really would like to go to this despite being unknown, but Thursday or Wednesday don't suit.

Will this be an all night thing?
    It depends on how people feel on the night really! And do come along, we were all unknown once :)

Looks like Monday is in the lead... So are we definite on Caulfields? Any particular time?

It depends on how people feel on the night really! And do come along, we were all unknown once :)

Looks like Monday is in the lead... So are we definite on Caulfields? Any particular time?

Savage I was hoping for Monday. I'm finished at 6 and I've nowhere to go in Maynooth, can we make it early? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

Would love to go to this, cause you all seem like such nice people, but I'll probably chicken out again.. :/:o

El Pr0n wrote: »
    Savage I was hoping for Monday. I'm finished at 6 and I've nowhere to go in Maynooth, can we make it early? :pac:

I'd be happy with it being early too :D Tuesday is always a verrrrry busy day for me so I like an early night on Monday :P
    jubella wrote: »
    Would love to go to this, cause you all seem like such nice people, but I'll probably chicken out again.. :/:o

You should pop in and say hi!! I know it's really nerve-wracking the first time, but you will have a great time :) And my offer of meeting people beforehand still stands!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

Should be able to pop in on monday for a beer or five, though in work on tuesday at 8am:mad: , so im a maybe at the moment:cool:

never been to one of these before, kinda wondering if I know anyone already, i know nordeth and funky, and el pron is in alot of my classes although im not sure how I know who he is:confused:

I should be able to make it on monday.

Really should be trying to get my assignments done but I've never been to a boards beer so I will see how it goes:D.

I'm on antibiotics atm so no drinking, meaning I can drive home after, but thanks for the offer your text here :) is this next week then?

That's grand! The couches are there any time you need somewhere to crash anyway :)

And I think so yep! Maybe Norrdeth would be nice and edit the title ;)

Does Monday at 7 suit everyone? Nice and early for people who need to get buses/trains (or who want to pan out on the bed early :p).

wonton wrote: »
    i know nordeth and funky, and el pron is in alot of my classes although im not sure how I know who he is:confused:

I think I'm the only Rory in 3rd year music...?

Monday at 7 is perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

Monday at 7?...but I wanna see The Blanks!
    Suppose that is starting at 9, so will pop in for beers then leave early.
    Where are we headed?

Must start keeping up to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭tootyflutty

El Pr0n wrote: »
    I think I'm the only Rory in 3rd year music...?

Monday at 7 is perfect!

Wait... is Wonton in music?
    *scratches head*

Monday at 7?...but I wanna see The Blanks!
    Suppose that is starting at 9, so will pop in for beers then leave early.
    Where are we headed?

Must start keeping up to date
    Didn't realise The Blanks were on this Monday, kept thinking it was ages away!!

Heading to Caulfields :)

Didn't realise The Blanks were on this Monday, kept thinking it was ages away!!

Heading to Caulfields :)

The Blanks are on the 21st aren't they?

You're right, just googled it there.

Beers are in Caulfields on Monday 14th at 7pm :) I hope I'm not the only one who shows up :p

@Norrdeth: Can we edit the thread title to include the time and place?

I STILL DON'T GET THE WORD PLAY IN THE TITLE!!!!

banquo wrote: »
    @Norrdeth: Can we edit the thread title to include the time and place?

I sent him a PM about it, so hopefully he'll do it when he's online next!
    DB21 wrote: »
    I STILL DON'T GET THE WORD PLAY IN THE TITLE!!!!

November/beers > novembeers > NUI can be kinds made to look/sound like no (or maybe that's just me :p) and then the m had to be capitalised too because I'm pedantic.

That is most definitely just you

Woo!:D

DB21 wrote: »
    That is most definitely just you
    :o

I'm really looking forward to this now!

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay beers! :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

I'd defo be there if I hadn't already promised that I'd come down to Maynooth on Thurs! Don't know if I can really afford to do the two trips. Moneywise and sleepwise what with work the next morn!

You're welcome to a lift, I'll be going back to Dublin that night :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

You're welcome to a lift, I'll be going back to Dublin that night :)

I might take you up on that! I'll let you know! Thanks :-)

Have a meeting with the Tea society beforehand but I will head up for a few minutes before getting the bus home.

Look forward to seeing you all there:D.