Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finn Harps

• 05-11-2011 6:40am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭

from FBTN on a Harps forum...

SAVE OUR CLUB!
    Folks, I write this entirely from my own personal point of view. I am not acting as mouthpiece for anyone and my only agenda is that we still have a football club in the coming weeks.

We are in serious danger of going out of football. That is the bottom line. I don’t know if people don’t care or just don’t realise how bad things are.
    There is a SGM this Sunday in Jackson’s for shareholders where a decision may be reached to wind up the club. We need to come up with 40K from somewhere in the next few weeks so we can get our licensing. If we don’t have a license, we will lose our funding for the new stadium. We are so close to getting into a new ground that will be a re-birth for Finn Harps and the county; it would be an unmitigated disaster for the pin to be pulled.

As fans we HAVE to play our part. The Harps have come through some seriously tough times in their history, the recession of the 80’s and the huge debt and formation of the co-op in 2000/01. There are many people who made huge financial and personal sacrifices to keep the show on the road throughout those years right up to present day. They pulled us back from the brink on numerous occasions. Some of them are still involved, some of them moved away from the club for one reason or another and some of them sadly are no longer with us. But they kept a senior football club in Donegal for 42 years, literally through blood, sweat and tears.

It is now the turn of our generation and we can’t let Finn Harps die on our watch. For many of us it is part of our identity and culture and if we lose that we will never ever get it back. There is no point in thinking in a few weeks, months or even years from now that we should have done more to save it. We need to act now and it is achievable.

Many clubs the world over have been saved at the final hour, normally by their fans. Sometimes as here in Ireland, clubs have been taken over entirely by the supporters and turned into a successful clubs.

Most football fans now see this as the way forward and these are normally the most rewarding clubs to be involved in. You just have to take a look in England at AFC Wimbledon and F.C. United of Manchester. Their successes have spawned other fan based clubs like AFC Liverpool, AFC Rushden & Diamonds etc

Is it a coincidence that the newly crowned champions of both the Premier and the First Division here, namely Shamrock Rovers and Cork City are 100% fan owned clubs? Both clubs were in administration a few years ago and their fans fought tooth and nail to save them. They are now both proud and worthy champions.

We are in an extremely unique position in that we as fans already own our club and it is up to us, the fans and supporters of Finn Harps to save Finn Harps. Not anyone else.

It struck a chord with me that a large amount of Shamrock Rovers fans care so much about the Harps. 35 Rovers fans bought draw tickets online between Friday and Sunday.I’m not sure how many were sold this week. They have it on their forum and their Facebook page encouraging other Rovers fans to give us money. They are talking about having a collection for us tonight at their Europa League game against PAOK.

If our own fans have as much passion to keep us in football as the Rovers lads do then I think we’ll be okay. Finn Harps is not everyone’s cup of tea in Donegal. We know that. We are far from perfect and have had some real heartbreakers over the years. But we are the eternal underdog, we keep coming back and that is probably part of our appeal.

It won’t be easy but can do this. We need to get organised, we need to get money and we need to pull together in the one direction.

There are already a few fundraisers organised. Everyone can – and must – help in some way. Obviously not everyone is in a position to buy tickets and support events every other week. But you can encourage as many family and friends to buy. There are many of our younger supporters currently in Australia, Canada, America etc. The Internet is our friend! Let’s get onto them and ask them to help so that there is a club still for them in Donegal for when they come home. Hopefully we can build some momentum among our own people and go into the Christmas and New Year holidays knowing we will have a club to support in 2012.

I’m not sure about the format of this meeting on Sunday or what the agenda is but the picture will be much clearer next week on where we are at and what we need to do.

For the moment we need anyone that cares about Finn Harps to sit and take notice of how close we are to going out of business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

I don't agree with everything in the opening post but I do know that From Behind The Nets supporters are a very good bunch.

How can someone like me living outside of Donegal help?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

There's lots of way's people can help the official harps site has a list of things you can donate , you can just donate direct through paypal at the bottom, buy tickets for this years draw, subscribe to the monthly 500 club....

http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=656:finn-harps-fc-be-part-of-it&catid=39:news-from-finn-park&Itemid=101

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

http://www.harpstalk.com/forum

A few ideas too there.

Bought a ticket, would prefer not to win the 500l of oil. Might be difficult to collect:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,264 ✭✭✭overshoot

big thanks to the Shamrock Rovers fans buying tickets for the monster draw, they are showing themselves as true fans with their sympathy towards ourselves and iv seen similar support towards galway.
    while the club is building a stadium, financially its completely separate from the day to day running, but the grants/contracts are all dependant on Harps' survival so if the club dies so does the stadium.
    The clubs is also determined to stand over its debts, many of which are to local creditors who otherwise would be entitled to nothing.
    The club has great underage teams with the u19s enjoying a 3-0 win down in sligo last night, combined with the stadium there is the potential for a very bright future but the clubs has to get past the life threatening present first.

I'm guessing if the First Division does split into North and South, Harps would be in a good spot to do well if they can survive..

Galway, Athlone, Longford, Mervue...avoid Limerick and Waterford too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

There - I got a ticket for your Monster draw - if I win yis can keep the cash. Honest.
    What's McElhinney's?
    Btw- you should put this notice up on fans forums around the LoI clubs - I might avoid Bohs right now, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

McElhinney's is a department store in Ballybofey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Dub XV

Missed the draw but donated via PayPal. Best of luck in the Future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Sorry lads, its like the boy who cried wolf at this stage. Every year Harps are going bust unless they raise <insert amount here>.

Hows that brand spanking new stadium coming along btw?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sorry lads, its like the boy who cried wolf at this stage. Every year Harps are going bust unless they raise <insert amount here>.

It's a great pity that creditors don't except mean-spirited bullshit as currency as they'd make you chief patron.

i covered the stadium in my post, read it before being a sarcastic ass. The stadium is separate financially from harps, built of grant money and the transfer of the old stadium to the contractors. it comes under the Finn Harps Trust not Finn Harps FC.
    The club has been fighting fires since the full time premier misadventure, just beacuse other clubs have walked away from their debts at this stage doesnt mean we want to... as i said local creditors

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Just donated twenty euro I had sitting in my paypal account.

post by sam on the harps forum about the SGM last night...
    The figures were scary. When Denise announced how much we need to raise by 21st December the entire room just went quiet.
    The basics are, if we don't raise €48k by 21st Dec 2011, we're finished. And "doing a Derry City" is not an option.
    There is a new committee set up with 11 new names on it to help the board. The hope is to add more.
    If anyone can help fund raise please contact the club 074 91 30070 and give your details.

The stadium is so so close, the draw down of 1.2million is almost ready to be released, the foundations are going in soon and the steel work is expected to be completed by mid-spring.
    We have an under 19's side at the top of their league and playing some lovely football against some of the top sides in the country.
    There is huge potential in this club BUT if we don't rally behind now, the club will be gone before Christmas.
    Shamrock Rovers have also contacted the club asking for the Monster draw to be put back so more of their fans can buy tickets and with the offer of a friendly and suggested that the draw is at half time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭TheBuilder

Harps have been struggling financially for so long its hard to see them not being in the same situation next season. They won't make any money off their new stadium, the novelty will wear off after a few weeks for people going along to see it. They're not an attraction to people of Donegal anymore. Paying players who have absolutely no interest in being part of the club, working for the club or making an effort in getting results, its hardly surprising.

Starting from scratch would be a great option to have for them, get rid of all the over-hyped glorious failure guys in the team and build a team around the core of young players they have on their ranks, their is some fantastic young players in Donegal at the minute and would try harder for the team than some are. If it was financially feasible, start from scratch and accept a few seasons of no proper success but carry on building up the young squad that is there for them. This might also start drawing crowds to see exciting you talent on show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

TheBuilder wrote: »
    Harps have been struggling financially for so long its hard to see them not being in the same situation next season. They won't make any money off their new stadium, the novelty will wear off after a few weeks for people going along to see it. They're not an attraction to people of Donegal anymore. Paying players who have absolutely no interest in being part of the club, working for the club or making an effort in getting results, its hardly surprising.

Starting from scratch would be a great option to have for them, get rid of all the over-hyped glorious failure guys in the team and build a team around the core of young players they have on their ranks, their is some fantastic young players in Donegal at the minute and would try harder for the team than some are. If it was financially feasible, start from scratch and accept a few seasons of no proper success but carry on building up the young squad that is there for them. This might also start drawing crowds to see exciting you talent on show.

I hope by "start from scratch" you mean that with regards to the players rather than the club. I don't think any football fan would sacrifice history for the chance of minor success. Football isn't about success, it's just nice to have. It's about belonging and pride. To start again would mean you have no history and no sense of belonging.

I agree with you though that Harps are not the attraction they one were. However, I think the new stadium will be great for the club and I hope both Bohs and Harps are around for long enough for us both to enjoy it.

The problem with developing young players is that if they show any sign of potential they will be poached from a foreign club. So I don't think it will lead to long-term success. However, I do believe it will lead to longer-term financial stability as I think the investment in youth facilites are self-sufficient in that you pay a lump sum at the start for the facilities and a figure for maintainence. In return you get players who will work for cheap, as they're kids and local, and who may bring in a decent transfer fee some day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Finn Park is well past its sell by date. New stadium will give the club a massive lift.

Harps still draw in decent numbers every fortnight considering the yo yo nature of the club.

They still have a hardcore of 500/600. That's basically the same as Shels and with a bit of success they have a bandwagon effect unlike Shels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

BOHtox wrote: »

The problem with developing young players is that if they show any sign of potential they will be poached from a foreign club.

As in Derry City.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

It was still a field with no grass the last time I saw it which isnt to long ago but HELP SAVE HARPS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,289 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Hope you get through this and I think the club will and with the new stadium coming along will be all the better for it. Best of luck lads.

confirmed now that the Monster draw is put back 2-3 weeks to when the friendly with Rovers is organised... which is just to be confirmed with the FAI
    so 10e a ticket with 5k top prize, few other nice ones in there too. so a chance to donate and get something back!
    http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=670:finn-harps-monster-draw-2011&catid=61:monster-draw&Itemid=98

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,289 ✭✭✭✭CSF

overshoot wrote: »
    confirmed now that the Monster draw is put back 2-3 weeks to when the friendly with Rovers is organised... which is just to be confirmed with the FAI
    so 10e a ticket with 5k top prize, few other nice ones in there too. so a chance to donate and get something back!
    http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=670:finn-harps-monster-draw-2011&catid=61:monster-draw&Itemid=98
    Fair play to Rovers for being so proactive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,703 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Joined the 500 club after years of meaning to. Hope Harps can get the money needed...

Best of luck lads. Nobody wants to see any more clubs go under: friend or foe. Delighted to hear about the friendly and will head to it .

BOHtox wrote: »
    I hope by "start from scratch" you mean that with regards to the players rather than the club. I don't think any football fan would sacrifice history for the chance of minor success. Football isn't about success, it's just nice to have. It's about belonging and pride. To start again would mean you have no history and no sense of belonging.

I agree with you though that Harps are not the attraction they one were. However, I think the new stadium will be great for the club and I hope both Bohs and Harps are around for long enough for us both to enjoy it.

The problem with developing young players is that if they show any sign of potential they will be poached from a foreign club. So I don't think it will lead to long-term success. However, I do believe it will lead to longer-term financial stability as I think the investment in youth facilites are self-sufficient in that you pay a lump sum at the start for the facilities and a figure for maintainence. In return you get players who will work for cheap, as they're kids and local, and who may bring in a decent transfer fee some day.

Yeah sorry obviously I meant with the players rather than the club.

Obviously having a team of kids won't work, but a core team of kids with some experienced players, imo., would benefit them if they stuck with it for a couple of years. They've got a lot of young players on their books the last few years who are highly talented, not Premiership standard but more than capable of doing a job for Finn Harps and moving on to the bigger LOI sides.

Sometimes when I hear people talking about Harps up here its like they all want the best for the club but aren't willing to make any effort until its forced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

Harps are still running the draw and need support. Many clubs e.g. Shamrock Rovers are helping support the draw which has seen the draw pushed back.

General breakdown:
    1. €5000 Cash
    2. €1000 McElhinney's Voucher
    3. 42" TV Courtesy of IRWIN ELECTRICAL
    4. TOSHIBA LAPTOP Courtesy of PC CLEAN
    5. €300 Cash
    6. €150 Cash
    7. 500 Litres Oil Courtesy of QUINN FUELS
    8. €150 Cash
    9. Overnight B+B for 2 at Galway Bay Hotel
    10. Overnight B+B for 2 at Villa Rose Hotel and Spa, Ballybofey

For details: http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=670:finn-harps-monster-draw-2011&catid=61:monster-draw&Itemid=98

I'm from Munster but will support a division one rival. Good luck to them in their fundraising efforts. :)

TheBuilder wrote: »

Who are the over-hyped glorious failure types at Finn Harps?

I could only name one player at Harps and he's probably their best player and goalscorer.

dfx- wrote: »
    Who are the over-hyped glorious failure types at Finn Harps?

I could only name one player at Harps and he's probably their best player and goalscorer.

I don't mean overhyped nationally, i'm talking about at local level where we get it every year up here in the media about it being Harps year as these players are the business etc etc, when really they couldn't give a toss about making an effort for the club and it shows in results.

Hope it's going well lads.

Got my ticket there on Friday. Number over 2,500...does the ticket number relate to the amount sold?

Nice picture of the new stadium too...an 'artist's impression' of it or based on reality of what's funded?

Got my ticket there on Friday. Number over 2,500...does the ticket number relate to the amount sold?

Nice picture of the new stadium too...an 'artist's impression' of it or based on reality of what's funded?

I'd like to find out all of the above as well! Great to hear the draw looks to be doing well. The LoI has it's critics but it's great that supporters of other clubs are helping Harps. Local games are great. There's nothing better than a live game.

Btw, my ticket wasn't far off double 2500!

Excellent news that - I bought mine before it was cool :D

i think its based on reality, it was the first time id seen it but the stands all have rooms beneath them, so to get head heights the seats are steep enough
    http://www.donegal.ie/DCC/iplaninternet/internetenquiry/rpt_ViewApplicDetails.asp?validFileNum=1&app_num_file=059008
    thats the old council application and an extension of time has been given since (drawings in the view related documents tab on top right, typical planning drawings though not giving too much away)
    the roof is different though, a tallagh esque type in the renders vs the flat on on the plans... now just to keep the club alive to see it!

thought id just give an update
    for those who bought monster draw tickets, the shams game isnt going ahead so the draw will take place at the annual awards night on december 3rd.
    Donegal co co voted to make a contribution today which brings us past the 30k mark. around 16,000 still to go but 16k in 3 1/2 weeks sounds better than 48k in 6 weeks.
    various other fundraisers coming up now, along with things like a last man standing comp and entry to the weekly club draw for a year for 100e donation etc
    http://www.finnharps.com/site/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=656&Itemid=167

yay post 500 is good news!
    FINN HARPS CONFIRM ALL FINANCIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE CRITERIA SUBMITTED FOR 2012 LICENSING

cheers to anyone who donated bought tickets
    moster draw results were on the club website(realised i never posted here) but unless you live in donegal, mayo, austria they wont be much good to ya! (a 3 year old won the top prize though!)

anyway next year new stadium, soon europe!:D