Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shamrock Rovers v PAOK

• 03-11-2011 11:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭

Looking forward to this I am. I'm going. Its on 3e also. Its an awful pity kick off is at 6 o clock. KOH.

It wont be but I'd like to see.

Thompson
    Sullivan Sives Oman Patterson
    Dennehy Rice Tina Ricketts
    Shepchenko Twigg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

paddy978 wrote: »
    Looking forward to this I am. I'm going. Its on 3e also. Its an awful pity kick off is at 6 o clock. KOH.

It wont be but I'd like to see.

Thompson
    Sullivan Sives Oman Patterson
    Dennehy Rice Tina Ricketts
    Shepchenko Twigg

No way! It's got to be a 5 man midfield. That type of suicidal Sligoesque formation would be destroyed by a team of this caliber (just ask Sligo)..

Replace Twigg with McCormack. And I don't think Ricketts works hard enough for what's needed tonight so push Paterson up to the left wing and Enda left full.

(Michael I'm available for consultation any time.....)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

McCormack and Murray have to play if fit. I'd probably pick Oman ahead of Sives for freshness. Dunno about Turner/Rice/McCabe. They exploited the gap between Murray-Oman and Rice-Turner a lot last time with angled short passes.

Great weather for the game though, horrible conditions at the ground at lunchtime :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Massive interest from Dublin/Irelands "football fan" community as usual I see. Match news relegated to below Leeds Uniteds exploits by RTE today.

Twigg is out I hear, Shep to start up front on his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,203 ✭✭✭shanec1928

No way! It's got to be a 5 man midfield. That type of suicidal Sligoesque formation would be destroyed by a team of this caliber (just ask Sligo)..

Replace Twigg with McCormack. And I don't think Ricketts works hard enough for what's needed tonight so push Paterson up to the left wing and Enda left full.

(Michael I'm available for consultation any time.....)
    we dont play 4-4-2:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Tallaght Saint

Fancy rovers to get at least a point out of this one tonight.

2-1 Rovers, Sheppard and Murray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

we dont play 4-4-2:confused:

Was wondering how long it would take one of the fans to mention Sligo Rovers, although I had hoped the poster would know what they were talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Went 1-0 down after 7 mins. Struggling badly so far here. Lumping long balls up to the lone striker is never gonna work.

Rovers are a bit like the Irish team, being at home doesn't suit them at all. Seem to do much better away.

I'd love to see Rovers win, but I did take advantage of the Evens Paddy Power were offering on this game for Paok to win. Stuck €16 on it (cos i had €191 in my account, so leaves it at €175). Looking at the match so far I wish i had went for the €41 I was thinking about!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Stevecw wrote: »
    Went 1-0 down after 7 mins. Struggling badly so far here. Lumping long balls up to the lone striker is never gonna work.

Rovers are a bit like the Irish team, being at home doesn't suit them at all. Seem to do much better away.

I'd love to see Rovers win, but I did take advantage of the Evens Paddy Power were offering on this game for Paok to win. Stuck €16 on it (cos i had €191 in my account, so leaves it at €175). Looking at the match so far I wish i had went for the €41 I was thinking about!

Damn, I only got 4-5:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,773 ✭✭✭madma

yeah paok could be 3 up..

rovers really dodgy at the back

but its the type of game if rovers get the luck keep at 1-0 and take a any good chances ya never know

ha just as i wrote that 2-0. awful awful at the back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Was a silly pass to mccormack there .

Terrible by McCormack, gave it to them to make it 2-0. They may go for 4-4-2 in 2nd half and bring on Twigg or Kilduff. Also need Ricketts on, he had a bit of quality about him and holds on to the ball.

Oh jaysus 3-0 now as I typed this :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

What a goal there 3-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

PAOK fans are mental, seen them in town earlier.

3-0 it will be more if PAOK want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Come on Shamrock Rovers. Do the League proud tonight.

On a side note, why is this not on TV3, surely as part of their television rights to it, they have to make it available to as many as possible, ie, those without digital.

As part of their contract rights they have to show thier home club sides, I would have thought that should extend to making it as available as possible as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Shams are poor tonight, disgrace really.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    PAOK fans are mental, seen them in town earlier.

3-0 it will be more if PAOK want it.

Yeah I saw them too, walking down Westmorland st, with a banner at front "We are Paok" and chanting and singing very very loud! Good to see tho.

Twigg & Kilduff on, for 2 of the mfs. This will end up either 3-3 or 6-0 if Rovers are gambling with a 4-3-3

irish-stew wrote: »
    Come on Shamrock Rovers. Do the League proud tonight.

On a side note, why is this not on TV3, surely as part of their television rights to it, they have to make it available to as many as possible, ie, those without digital.

As part of their contract rights they have to show thier home club sides, I would have thought that should extend to making it as available as possible as well.

No idea, the Rubin Kazan & Spurs games were on tv3, but the away leg v Paok & tonights were both on 3e for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

On what I've seen so far, no way this ends up 3-3.

Nice free there by the Kerry man, c'mon now Rovers get attacking them like mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

On que, Rovers score :P

Still 3-1 Rovers doing better, but can't seem them pull this back. Rohan Ricketts def shud have got a half, a quality player. Hard done by. 3rd sub now used and wasn't him.

All over now 3-1, i got my 40 quid off the bet, but it was a bet i put on I wished i wudn't win.
    Rovers were better in 2nd half once they went attacking, Kilduff is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Sucker punched first half but thought we did ok second. The way we are so slow to start playing and ship early goals is a killer. Would be a cop out to blame some of the defensive errors and poor set pieces on the quality of opposition though.

The quality of play is only going to get worse as the European opposition get further into their seasons and we get further away from ours.

McCormack very poor after a great season. Shepherd is turning out to be a real player. If I could stop any players taking the magic plane this winter it would be him, Sives and Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Rovers game on 3e, fecking Expose on TV3?! ...dopes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Kilduff and Dennehy deserved better. Pity this wasnt in 2 weeks and Kazan tonight, reckon with a decent break Rovers would of got something tonight, cant see it in Siberia unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Leroy Lita

Rovers were brutal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭Leejo

Patsy fyre wrote: »

So is your opinion. I'm no defender of Shams - In fact I absolutely f*cking hate them. But calling them a disgrace half way through a match when they're 60 games into their season, playing against a massive, much superior Greek team in full fitness, who have held 2 of the top teams in England and Russia and will more than likely qualify from the group. Cop on :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

They weren't a disgrace imho. Rovers are in a group with three teams who are clearly leagues ahead of them in quality and fitness and they're doing a great job keeping the score semi-respectable while trying to play proper football.

I think when the draw was made people presumed PAOK would be the 3rd place team in this group and therefore the one Rovers might get a win or draw against. Hence the disappointment at losing twice to them. TBH I thought they were fairly decent opposition and will push the other two teams for a place in the knockouts.

Worst thing Rovers can do now is give up. I still suspect they could knick 1 point from one of their final two games and that in itself would be a huge result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Leejo wrote: »
    much superior Greek team in full fitness, who have held 2 of the top teams in England and Russia and will more than likely qualify from the group. Cop on :rolleyes:

No they wont qualify , spuds and kazan will qualify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭carlop

PAOK are no slouches. They did a number on Atletico Madrid last year in the Calderon.

Great support too. They pretty much took over the centre of Madrid that night, both before and after the match. If you're ever in any bars around the Sol area of Madrid, keep an eye out for 'Aris Platatoniki' stickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

BERBA wrote: »
    No they wont qualify , spuds and kazan will qualify.

Two matches left there, Berba! Plenty more time left for you's to **** up against the likes hgwegwewewygxhsagdxhjasgdhjsagdhjdgdhdgdhjdsgdhjdsghjd and Shams on a thursday night!!

Was in Block H in the West Stand, beside and underneath the PAOK fans...they were easily the loudest and best travelling fans. Will no doubt put the plastic uninterested Spurs fans to shame in six weeks.

Thought the second half flew by, great game. Could've been closer with chances from Sheppard and Kilduff and could've been a heavier defeat. Two slightly mental dodgy keepers - for every hoof, the PAOK keeper half-came out of his area. Thompson's distribution is not improving.

As seen with Sligo, Derry and Rubin, they pushed up on Rovers and with only Sheppard upfront, there was no out-ball, especially given McCormack struggling. That improved by putting Kilduff there and there was less chance of being caught passing around going nowhere in defence. Murray in particular and Sullivan too were outstanding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

monkey9 wrote: »
    Two matches left there, Berba! Plenty more time left for you's to **** up against the likes hgwegwewewygxhsagdxhjasgdhjsagdhjdgdhdgdhjdsgdhjdsghjd and Shams on a thursday night!!

at least our kids getting a run out , what your lot doing on a thurs night???....talking about evra;)

But calling them a disgrace half way through a match when they're 60 games into their season, playing against a massive, much superior Greek team in full fitness, who have held 2 of the top teams in England and Russia and will more than likely qualify from the group. Cop on :rolleyes:

There's been a few stunners this season in these threads, Raskolnikov's "I only see the league improving with better players" and "Huge gulf between these teams" midway through the Partizan or Copenhagen away game are strong competitors...

dfx- wrote: »
    Was in Block H in the West Stand, beside and underneath the PAOK fans...they were easily the loudest and best travelling fans. Will no doubt put the plastic uninterested Spurs fans to shame in six weeks.

Thought the second half flew by, great game. Could've been closer with chances from Sheppard and Kilduff and could've been a heavier defeat. Two slightly mental dodgy keepers - for every hoof, the PAOK keeper half-came out of his area. Thompson's distribution is not improving.

As seen with Sligo, Derry and Rubin, they pushed up on Rovers and with only Sheppard upfront, there was no out-ball, especially given McCormack struggling. That improved by putting Kilduff there and there was less chance of being caught passing around going nowhere in defence. Murray in particular and Sullivan too were outstanding.

This sh!t wrecks my head. I saw a lot of empty seats tonight, yet you's claim sell outs. But, it looks to me as if a load of Spurs fans bought tickets (for the whole three games) and will choose to turn up for the final game only??

at least our kids getting a run out , what your lot doing on a thurs night???....talking about evra;)

I thought you's were too good for thursday nights?? Or is that before you's were put back in your place??

This sh!t wrecks my head. I saw a lot of empty seats tonight, yet you's claim sell outs. But, it looks to me as if a load of Spurs fans bought tickets (for the whole three games) and will choose to turn up for the final game only??

Dunno what the car park end of the West Stand looked like, but it looked a fair few empty seats in the South Stand. There was a few empty seats between where I was and the mental PAOK fans down the front. [Particularly liked their to-the-point, 'Singing and Drinking' flag:pac:].

The tickets were sold mostly 6 weeks ago, so circumstances could've changed for some Rovers fans who planned to go as well but couldn't.

Would love to see PAOK and Rubin go through, with Spurs' disrespect, they don't deserve to go through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Your post is poor, disgrace really.

Funny with the disgrace thing. People ignore the league and its teams, forcing teams like Rovers to build teams to compete in elite European competition on a shoestring yet there is a directive from the same people to "do the country proud" and not be "a disgrace" when you play teams whose wage bills alone range from 8 to 90 times your entire club turnover.
    I thought you's were too good for thursday nights?? Or is that before you's were put back in your place??

Aren't there a suitable threads for United and Spurs love-ins?

As for the attendance, I would have said 6500-7000. The only way to prove that the missing 1000 or so people only bought block tickets to see Spurs will be proved or disproved on December 15. I would expect to see 8000 minimum that night myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Murray in particular and Sullivan too were outstanding.

Sorry im still trying to get over this!

How can you claim Murray was outstanding ? His distribution and lack of being first to the ball was terrible. In fact he caused the first POAK goal.

Glasses mate.

PAOK fans were the business. Fair play to them.

listermint wrote: »
    Sorry im still trying to get over this!

How can you claim Murray was outstanding ? His distribution and lack of being first to the ball was terrible. In fact he caused the first POAK goal.

Glasses mate.

Passing around the ball at the back for 45 minutes on a slick pitch against PAOK pushing up is always going to find errors at LOI level. It was Murray once, it was Sives another, it was McCormack for the second goal, it was Thompson another. It's harsh to pick on any of them once. They had no option upfront with only Sheppard.

As soon as they did, immediately Kilduff came on the pitch, PAOK sat back and there was room for passing. Room is what LOI players need. Suddenly, Sives and Murray had an outball and Rovers were able to push forward. At LOI level, there is no better defender on the ball than Dan.

In the second half, he was outstanding. Covering for Sives who was off colour and probably unfit, making last ditch tackles everywhere. You don't have to be first to the ball to defend well.

The only thing Murray doesn't do is score more goals at Rovers. He should be more of a threat at set-pieces. However I'm sure Cork will break the bank as a sole intention to get him in the off-season. Since he's settled in Cork, he'll move if it's near enough. And Rovers will have a big hole to fill.

However I'm sure Cork will break the bank as a sole intention to get him in the off-season. Since he's settled in Cork, he'll move if it's near enough. And Rovers will have a big hole to fill.

Break the bank? It's common knowledge that Cork is where Murray wants to be. He's not under contract and wants to go to them, absolutely no reason to believe that Cork need to spend big to get him to move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Break the bank? It's common knowledge that Cork is where Murray wants to be. He's not under contract and wants to go to them, absolutely no reason to believe that Cork need to spend big to get him to move.

Agreed. As of last Summer anyway Murray lived in Cork and travelled up to Dublin for a game or training.

I'm not disagreeing that they don't need to, but they would even if Rovers offered him a decent contract during the off-season.

As a matter of interest, why would they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

Why the abuse of Spurs fans who travel all over Europe to watch them play ????. Spurs will sell out their allocation and will be loud, make no mistake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

So is your opinion. I'm no defender of Shams - In fact I absolutely f*cking hate them. But calling them a disgrace half way through a match when they're 60 games into their season, playing against a massive, much superior Greek team in full fitness, who have held 2 of the top teams in England and Russia and will more than likely qualify from the group. Cop on :rolleyes:

You only have to look at clubs like Apoel F.C. The Cypriot champions, top of there group in the champions league. A team from a country of less than 1 million. Yet Shams get torn apart in the Europa cup where most teams only use there reserves. Shams losing 1:3 to paok 2;1 to Paok, 3:1 to spurs, 3;0 to Rubin.
    Now Id love to see an Irish team do well and I like Rovers but realistically the league is ****e and the standard of football is dyer.
    There I said it. :cool:

but realistically the league is ****e and the standard of football is dyer.
    There I said it. :cool:

You're one of those intellectual types aren't you? I can just tell.

Don't know about Apoel but I would assume they are where they paid for. Football isn't a fairy tale and even though Rovers have more than over achieved with what they have to qualify - to do well in the group stages, you must have OK players which means higher wages than we pay anyway. I assume their club has a backer or - shock horror - the Cypriot equivalent of people in Tipperary actually attend their own league in enough numbers to generate income.

The population argument is incorrigibly stupid also. It's like saying Turkey should be better than Spain because the former has 30 million more people.