Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Road "Drifting"

• 03-11-2011 12:47am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiG4U1DRkB0

well folks what do you think about this video.

Great cars and all, but the speed and angles around some of those corners on the bypass is crazy.

From what I can tell from the landmarks, this is in Waterford City.

I've seen that Toyota myself once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Not a badly shot video. I admire the work and effort that goes into these kind of cars to an extent, but I still detest them. Horrible, horrible noises and looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Great cars and all, but the speed and angles around some of those corners on the bypass is crazy.

It's this type of crap that gives other high performance car drivers a bad name, me included in that. These guys then wonder why there pulled over all the time? I have my car 6 months now and I have not been stopped once in it, and my licence is still clean after 4 years. I wonder how many points these so called 'excellent drivers' have on there's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

To be fair, their practising on a quiet road in the middle of the road in what looks like the docks/an industrial estate. There's not going to be a whole lot of traffic coming their way, if any and for all we know they could have people at either and of the roads with walkie talkies informing them of other traffic coming through. Radioing about other traffic has always been a key part in drifting, if I'm not mistaken.

If they're not putting the public in danger, I don't see any harm in it.
    As far as their own safety is concerned, they're old enough to decide for them self's, what risks to take.

As for the cars and the camera work, I'm very impressed.
    One of the best drift videos I've come across on youtube.
    I've subscribed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Neil always does good work for Juicebox, surprised its not better known.

But German over Jap anyday http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V7KoIsDqds0&feature=player_embedded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

thay'll be dug outa a ditch sum day soon. FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

lab man wrote: »
    thay'll be dug outa a ditch sum day soon. FACT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Because they're totally out of control of their cars?
    They're not, that's what drifting is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭amandaf675

Savage Video. Camera Work is Epic!

And i agree with a previous poster, I know where that was mostly filmed and its a dead end road with no traffic at night! there not endangering anyone else so why not!

CianRyan wrote: »
    Because they're totally out of control of their cars?
    They're not, that's what drifting is about.

Exactly! Drifting like that takes much more control than people know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

have seen that car in the flesh before , the colour stands out but isnt as abrasive in person , i like the video , but shouldnt be on public roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

I have nothing bad to say about the people who drift in that video. Like other people mentioned, (i know the area) they are in a quiet area away from the public so no harm done. Some people may have an issue with noise pollution but that can be tollerated. There is no open area around the country that has a public space for drifters, thats the downfall for the hobby.

I admire the skill involved in drifting! That takes alot of practice and skill to master. Also the video is a work of art, very well done! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

have seen that car in the flesh before , the colour stands out but isnt as abrasive in person , i like the video , but shouldnt be on public roads

Give them somewhere legal to practice cheaply and most of them will, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

definitley , drifting has become a popular motorsport in ireland, it needs somewhere to go to prevent accidents

Exactly! its like drag racing that used to happen quite alot in waterford, now that caseys are open every second sunday, not 1/10 of the people still want to race illegally

This was the case with skating for years in Ireland.
    God knows how many time's I had my board and name taken for "public road skating".
    Thanks to a hell of a lot of pushing, Ireland now has about 20/30 free public skate parks, if not more, it's helped keep offices from getting wrecked and given people like me a place to go.

Big problem though, where as skate parks are expensive to build, race tracks are astronomically expensive, never mind insurance. I can't see the state giving us one any time soon, nor can I see a private company opening one for cheap track days.

Another problem with this is people like to go back to their roots.
    I use to love skating, I did it every day from about the ages 11-19. I started on the streets and regardless of how amazing the skate parks where, I always went back to the streets.
    Parks and courses are great for practising and letting loose but there's a whole world out there to be ridden/driven and explored.

Drifting, like skating, will never leave the streets but I for one would love to see more affordable track days on many different courses.
    A pipe dream though, really.

definitley , drifting has become a popular motorsport in ireland, it needs somewhere to go to prevent accidents

You're preaching to the wrong person here, I'm usually media at drift events :D

But in all seriousness - Some of the best drifters in the world are Irish. We've numerous people competing in the US in Formula D, and have had for a few years now. The champion of BDC this year is Irish (James Deane), probably the best drifter to come out of Ireland, was Prodrift champion at 17 IIRC and has been winning since. Despite the finals of Prodrift Ireland this year having competition from the UK and US (Fredric Aasbo, Dai Yoshihara, Team Japspeed, Driftworks, etc) - it was still an all Irish finale. And only last week another Irish drifter won Drift GP Romania last week (or thereabouts)... you get the idea :D

I'd be delighted to see more drift tracks open, but over the last number of years, more and more have been forced to close for one reason or another

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

SO amanda and eric ye are agreeing with me :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Wexfordian

KittyKat wrote: »
    I have nothing bad to say about the people who drift in that video. Like other people mentioned, (i know the area) they are in a quiet area away from the public so no harm done. Some people may have an issue with noise pollution but that can be tollerated. There is no open area around the country that has a public space for drifters, thats the downfall for the hobby.

I admire the skill involved in drifting! That takes alot of practice and skill to master. Also the video is a work of art, very well done! :)

The initial shots are the Waterford Bypass (in other words the main Rosslare to Cork road) It is anything but away from the public.

Wexfordian wrote: »
    The initial shots are the Waterford Bypass (in other words the main Rosslare to Cork road) It is anything but away from the public.

Empty though.

I do agree they shouldn't having been drifting there, as controlled as it is, accidents are a common part of any motor sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

I was reffering to a post already stated about a dead end road as i said "like other people mentioned"

Its pitch black, ive been on that road at night nd have NEVER seen traffic!

Lads, I'm all for drifting once it's done in a controlled place a public road is no place for it. Posting videos like this up on youtube is giving us hassle we don't need.

And another thing, it only takes one gob****e to look at that video then go out and try it on a public road and have a massive crash.

If I posted a video up on this website with me racing someone up to Howth Sumit there would be all out war on this site.

Also please don't compare skateboards to machines or skateparks to public roads there worlds apart.

But what I will say is, if your good at it keep it up in a controlled space and keep trying for a free drift race course.

Doing it on a public road is just giving people the wrong idea and will start people off doing it that unlike you, won't give a **** about people or other drivers, pedestrians if it's day or night.

amandaf675 wrote: »

I've been on that road at night and met a spinning car before now. I've also seen the evidence of this up past Slieverue and just past the Glenmore turn

msg11 wrote: »
    Lads, I'm all for drifting once it's done in a controlled place a public road is no place for it. Posting videos like this up on youtube is giving us hassle we don't need.

And another thing, it only takes one gob****e to look at that video then go out and try it on a public road and have a massive crash.

If I posted a video up on this website with me racing someone up to Howth Sumit there would be all out war on this site.

Also please don't compare skateboards to machines or skateparks to public roads there worlds apart.

But what I will say is, if your good at it keep it up in a controlled space and keep trying for a free drift race course.

Doing it on a public road is just giving people the wrong idea and will start people off doing it that unlike you, won't give a **** about people or other drivers, pedestrians if it's day or night.

How so?
    I never said skating in public is as dangerous as a drifting in public but the comparison is solid so far as why we need more tracks but why it won't completely solve the problem.
    I also never compared skateparks to public roads, read my post properly before picking holes that aren't there.

And yes, people would go mad if you posted a video of yourself racing up Howth, that road has heavy traffic, walkers, cyclists, a school and houses.
    DO NOT compare that with an empty industrial estate with one entrance.
    They are, as you say, worlds apart.

Last point, gob****es are gob****es, it doesn't matter what they see or what they do, they're always going to be gob****es.
    Should we ban The Fast and The Furious movies incase some gob****e sees one and decides to start racing?

It happens in every country. its impossible to stop. once it doesnt interfere with my family, friends or my own life in anyway bad i couldnt give a sh!t tbh. different people like different things, its just unfortunate for these people that their hobby is illegal in public places and they are choked into doing at night whenever possible. the fact that its illegal will bring out the natural rebellious side in people

Does the industrial estate whose dime (and insurance) you are using, know you are using it?

Who said I'm doing it?

Its a generic you....

How so?
    I never said skating in public is as dangerous as a drifting in public but the comparison is solid so far as why we need more tracks but why it won't completely solve the problem.
    I also never compared skateparks to public roads, read my post properly before picking holes that aren't there.

And yes, people would go mad if you posted a video of yourself racing up Howth, that road has heavy traffic, walkers, cyclists, a school and houses.
    They are, as you say, worlds apart.

Last point, gob****es are gob****es, it doesn't matter what they see or what they do, they're always going to be gob****es.
    Should we ban The Fast and The Furious movies incase some gob****e sees one and decides to start racing?

It was this line I was referring to that seem to me that you were comparing the two .

"Drifting, like skating, will never leave the streets"

Also drifting in public is dangerous whether you believe it or not.

As for the Howth comment, in compression to what you said.

The road was empty
    I have done it on race tracks
    I had people at every junctions with walkie talkies
    I knew I was putting my life on the line and it's my choice

I have no problem with drifting or people doing it, but why are you posting videos on the internet when your doing something illegal (I don't me you personally). Your just giving yourselves unwanted attention and other people who drive cars like these attention. I don't want attention brought on me for something I have no part in, the RSA will be issuing press releases now over this stuff branding us all boy racers again.

Well in that case they don't, in the same way "your" insurance company don't know about that time "you" were probably a bit over the limit but you drove home any way, or the time "you" thought the motor way was pretty clear so you put your foot down for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Savage vid, subscribed......

msg11 wrote: »
    It was this line I was referring to that seem to me that you were comparing the two .

"Drifting, like skating, will never leave the streets"

Also drifting in public is dangerous whether you believe it or not.

As for the Howth comment, in compression to what you said.

The road was empty
    I have done it on race tracks
    I had people at every junctions with walkie talkies
    I knew I was putting my life on the line and it's my choice

I have no problem with drifting or people doing it, but why are you posting videos on the internet when your doing something illegal (I don't me you personally). Your just giving yourselves unwanted attention and other people who drive cars like these attention. I don't want attention brought on me for something I have no part in, the RSA will be issuing press releases now over this stuff branding us all boy racers again.

I used that line to show one of the few connections, that as both are sports born on the streets, it will be a long time, if ever, before they leave the streets.

I'm well aware that drifting is dangerous in a public place but in my eyes, an industrial estate in the dead hours can hardly be classed as public.
    The only people out there at that time would be the lads in the cars and the odd drug deal going down. Business are closed and every one's gone home.

If you could get the road up Howth Head closed for the day and be sure that the school, grave yard and every house along the road are cleared of (living) people then I'd love to see a race on that road, it'd be a nice course.

Posting videos of this stuff is nothing new either, if you have a look on youtube, there are loads of "classic" drift videos from Japan starting when people could afford cameras. I'm sure as soon as they could, they got them online for all to see.
    I don't see the RSA butting in at any stage but it's the general public that keep the "boy racer" flame burning so brightly. That's not something that's going to go away, we just have to live with it if these are the types of cars we choose to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 807 ✭✭✭Divorce Referendum

Wow. That means there is no traffic on it then?

Did i say that? No!! So stfu!

Your trying to justify the drifting by saying its and dark and you never seen traffic on it. If there is traffic there like you have just now admitted why bother.

no im saying ive been on that road and at that roundbout every night for the last 5 weeks and have never once met a vehicle on it

Wow:eek: Thats amazings. Yet there probably is gonna be traffic there though isnt there some night when they are drifting

Ah come on now, nothing rarely ever means "zero" in Irish terms. He's not trying to justify it, per say, more like he's just saying that of all the places they could have picked, its not like they picked O'Connell street at 2pm on a monday, it' specifically not busy at night time. It may not make it safe or justifiable, but they're at the least having some cop on for everyones sake to do it on quiet roads.

Ah come on now, nothing rarely ever means "zero" in Irish terms. He's not trying to justify it, per say, more like he's just saying that of all the places they could have picked, its not like they picked O'Connell street at 2pm on a monday, it's not excessively busy in general and specifically not at night time. It may not make it safe or justifiable, but they're at the least having some cop on for everyones sake to do it on quiet roads.

I would have thought amanda is a girl however I could be wrong. Its dark yes fair enough but that doesnt mean its very late. The waterford bypass is usually fairly busy up to 11 or so. Its not the best place in my opinion but I presume its fine if you say so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I would have thought amanda is a girl however I could be wrong. Its dark yes fair enough but that doesnt mean its very late. The waterford bypass is usually fairly busy up to 11 or so. Its not the best place in my opinion but I presume its fine if you say so.

My god. Would you cop on ta fúck.
    Talk about grasping at straws.

It's clearly not busy. The video shows that.
    So what is your problem?

I can tell ya the video was more than likely shot at around the 2:30/3am mark.

Well, you never know, internets and all - apologies, I'm concentrating on something else at the minute..

At a guess, these sort of things wouldn't happen until maybe 2-5am and for the odd car that might come along, it will be visible from a distance

Well, you never know, internets and all - apologies, I'm concentrating on something else at the minute..

At a guess, these sort of things wouldn't happen until maybe 2-5am and for the odd car that might come along, it will be visible from a distance

Fair enough but a guess is a guess. Are trying to make out that this a controlled racetrack or something and these drivers never make mistakes? Its the N25 and anything could happen. Fair enough in the indutrial estate at least its out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭savagecabbages

Is it not blatantly obvious from the video that its quiet?

In fairness the video is good, very nicely put together.
    Personally, drifting does nothing for me, and people drifting on the open road (quiet or not) only serve to make life hell for those organising rallys who actually go to the bother of getting permission from the public, council and Gardai to close the roads.

Joe public can't draw a distinction between drifting/diffing and actual rallying, whose community tries to distance itself from the antisocial behavior associated with them.

I'm not anti drifting, I've just no interest in it, and don't like the way drift events on public roads make life hard for motor clubs trying to organise and run special stage rallies which I'm much more into...

SV wrote: »
    My god. Would you cop on ta fúck.
    Talk about grasping at straws.

So what is your problem?

I can tell ya the video was more than likely shot at around the 2:30/3am mark.

Would you ever cop on. I never said it would be busy did I. The possibility is there that cars will be on that road. Go on prove it was 2:30/3am.:rolleyes:

hey, im a girl :P but i dont give a flyin fook you said he! that other poster seems to be trying to start a fight :)

SV wrote: »
    So what is your problem?

Well seeing as he hasn't said anything about the video or drifting, only taking someone up on whether the Waterford bypass is quiet or busy at night. I dont think said poster has anything to add here other than trying to rise people...

hey, im a girl :P but i dont give a flyin fook you said he! that other poster seems to be trying to start a fight :)

Ya of course. Disagreeing to post is trying to start a fight. When you said stfu now that could be starting a fight;)

Well seeing as he hasn't said anything about the video or drifting, only taking someone up on whether the Waterford bypass is quiet or busy at night. I dont think said poster has anything to add here other than trying to rise people...

I watched the video. Its very well put together I have to say. Better than anything RTE could muster with their big budget. I disagree with using the Waterford bypass for drifting. Get over it.

Are we done boys and girl? We need pudzey to throw a few lighthearted questions about drifting into the mix i feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

I'm not anti drifting, I've just no interest in it, and don't like the way drift events on public roads make life hard for motor clubs trying to organise and run special stage rallies which I'm much more into...
    And I can certainly understand where you're coming from there, but just to clarify, drift events don't happen on public roads, they happen in Mondello, in Punchestown, in Fermoy Marts, and in Ennis Mart the last couple of years.

As you said, Joe Public isn't much good at differentiating between officially organised events and young lads diffing on roads late at night, so 'tis important to be clear ourselves, surely, and not compound the problem?

As was said earlier, while drifting has become much more popular in Ireland, and Ireland's top drifters are winning abroad and being brought to the US etc. on contract to big name teams, there are very few places where young fans and aspiring drivers can actually practice safely and legally. I genuinely think that's a pity, not to mention encouraging anti-social behaviour.
    There will always be eejits, but yes, I think you're right, provide reasonable facilities and most will choose to use them.

And while decent (and therefore fairly costly) facilities are needed for the competitive events, especially given the crowds they're starting to attract, somewhere just for practice need not be either that elaborate or that costly. Goldstone track in Castlecomer isn't that elaborate for instance. And it isn't as if such facilities can only be used for drifting ... for instance, while not all karting tracks are suitable for drift practice, you can pretty much guarantee that a halfway decent drifting practice track will double up as a very good karting track.

And I can certainly understand where you're coming from there, but just to clarify, drift events don't happen on public roads, they happen in Mondello, in Punchestown, in Fermoy Marts, and in Ennis Mart the last couple of years.

I've absolutely no problem with ones like you mentioned there, great to see events being held at racetracks or suitable venues in a controlled environment. But the drift event* shown in the video posted by OP was on an open public highway and the drifters are breaking one law after another in the video.

What I'm more having a go at is the likes of this video which has nothing at all to do with the Rally of The Lakes, (and i'm pretty certain you'll tell me it has little to do with drifting either) but some idiot puts this sort of thing up on youtube, and next monday morning some hero 'rings joe' saying the rally competitors were at this over the weekend and next year a resident objects...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5PiyYCU0Lrs

*I'm calling it an event maybe wrong word there but there are spectators watching in a few of the clips which suggest its an organised thing, rather than just one guy flying around on his own...