If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭teR_

Anybody got a tracklist for this parsley and thyme asylum mix?

teR_ wrote: »
    Anybody got a tracklist for this parsley and thyme asylum mix?

Yeah i have this as a Warren K mix don't know why.I'm sure i d/l it,and i'm sure it was d/l as Warren K.

Wonder could anybody confirm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭holy_macaroni

ace have you got gravity 18? I think its 18.. the mix with that tune on it "we are crystal skulls" well sounds like that anyway.. I deleted my youtube account by mistake the other day.. don't think il bother uppin all those tunes again.. just gonna use it for ids and if I get any juicy ids il up them in the hope itl wreck afew heads

I took afew snippets off some of your warren k mixes and up them, I sent them to afew I know, so ya never know.. is ken givin you all these warren k mixes? some great tunes on them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭locked 1

ace have you got gravity 18? I think its 18.. the mix with that tune on it "we are crystal skulls" well sounds like that anyway.. I deleted my youtube account by mistake the other day.. don't think il bother uppin all those tunes again.. just gonna use it for ids and if I get any juicy ids il up them in the hope itl wreck afew heads

there was no gravitys after 17 as far as i know used to have them all on tape so its 17 ye want mac i have ****ty internet r id u/l 17 4 ye sure some1 has it here

locked 1 wrote: »
    there was no gravitys after 17 as far as i know used to have them all on tape so its 17 ye want mac i have ****ty internet r id u/l 17 4 ye sure some1 has it here
    cheers locked. il have a look for it..

Yes i noticed you y/t acc was gone,was wondering what happened.You deleted it by accidend ?????????// how the tell did u do that.
    I took afew snippets off some of your warren k mixes and up them, I sent them to afew I know, so ya never know.. is ken givin you all these warren k mixes? some great tunes on them..

I d/l most of them Warren mixes from NI in the good aul days.Don't think you wer about back them.So i have them a while now just never got round to u/l them.TBH various ppl u/l them don't think.Not even sure if Ken u/l any...maybe 1 r 2...Had a couple meself aswell from bitd....

Yeah cheers banging out some snippets might help...Might have another 2/3 mixes to u/l aswell

Like i keep saying to ppl back it up...All the mixes tunes i d/l over the yr and the ones i ripped from my own vinyl....had to be backed up...No point d/l them otherwise cause if u lose that 1 d/l and it aint backed up...then it's gone forever...lol

Yeah always only ever :D seen up to 17 meself so always assumed it was the last....I'll u/l it if i have it..........

I forgot that google own youtube and I deleted my google account which also deleted my youtube account, I added you other day on the new one,, just ids on it now tho. could you up gravity 17 if you have it? it use to be on youtube but its gone now,

Ah i c was wondering.Thats a heads up anyways for anyone thinking of deleting there y/t acc.Yes i seen that other acc the other day...

Gravity 17

MICK WALSH - GRAVITY 17 (SIDE B).mp3
    http://www69.zippyshare.com/v/32005447/file.html

MICK WALSH - GRAVITY 17 (SIDE A).mp3
    http://www69.zippyshare.com/v/46382656/file.html

Here's a tracklist i did b4 do ya now either of the missing tracks..
    Side A:

Technohead – The Passion
    Baby Doc & The Dentist – Exigent
    Sushi -The House of Hong
    DJ Hooligan - The Mystic Culture
    The Syndicate - Incinerator
    ????????
    Pyrate – Bycance
    Jones and Stephenson – The first rebirth
    Sounds like (Baby Doc & The Dentist – Exigent)

Side B:

Yum Yum - £ Minuate Warning
    Baby Doc & The Dentist – INFANTA
    Baby Doc & The Dentist - Catalan Dawn Pt.1
    Virtualmismo – Cosmonautica
    Elevetor – For your love
    ??????? Unknown – (we are responsible)
    Epik – DRIVER (2 HIGH vs DRIVER)
    Bluepeter – flagship

aceberg wrote: »
    Ah i c was wondering.Thats a heads up anyways for anyone thinking of deleting there y/t acc.Yes i seen that other acc the other day...

Gravity 17

MICK WALSH - GRAVITY 17 (SIDE B).mp3
    http://www69.zippyshare.com/v/32005447/file.html

MICK WALSH - GRAVITY 17 (SIDE A).mp3
    http://www69.zippyshare.com/v/46382656/file.html

Here's a tracklist i did b4 do ya now either of the missing tracks..
    Side A:

Technohead – The Passion
    Baby Doc & The Dentist – Exigent
    Sushi -The House of Hong
    DJ Hooligan - The Mystic Culture
    The Syndicate - Incinerator
    ????????
    Pyrate – Bycance
    Jones and Stephenson – The first rebirth
    Sounds like (Baby Doc & The Dentist – Exigent)

Side B:

Yum Yum - £ Minuate Warning
    Baby Doc & The Dentist – INFANTA
    Baby Doc & The Dentist - Catalan Dawn Pt.1
    Virtualmismo – Cosmonautica
    Elevetor – For your love
    ??????? Unknown – (we are responsible)
    Epik – DRIVER (2 HIGH vs DRIVER)
    Bluepeter – flagship
    we are responsible.. I thought he was saying we are crystal skuls..afew people think hes saying that too.. one said its a sample off an 80s cartoon.. that's if it is crystal skulls.. I messaged mick, but got the usual reply,, fuk all.. ken brady had it as an id on tuneid but I think he has it

Yeah i was wondering what the **** u wer on about lol

crystal skuls :D

Ah sure look if we get it we get it if we don't we don't.....

Well if Ken has it check the tune id thread :D

I can't even remember my user name for that ****e or site...lol

no id say mick gave him the id,

yeah more than likly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,749 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

anyone able to id this track? thanks. http://www39.zippyshare.com/v/13186669/file.html

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭locked 1

yeah more than likly

that tunes still a mystery lads lookin 4 it yrs dont even think mw remembers 4 f sake :D

Well thats not very responsible from Mick Now is it...lol :D thooooooooo

****in right he remembers.. track hoardin bstrds the lot of them..they hate to see tunes they played on youtube,, only reason why I have a youtube account, fuk the lot of them,,,

if you had a sample of grace- its not over yet and you didn't know the tune and you asked mick or any of them,, they wouldn't bother replying.. dilly is some man.. I was chattin to him before.. sent him 2 of his own mixes and would you believe he couldn't remember 1 tune off either of them.. then we chated some more,, he was surprised I identified hidden dimensions- time dilations. and was laughing that everyone was after that tune in particular on a mix he did.. at the end of our chat he said he wouldn't give out any ids coz theyl end up on youtube..
    true story.. up everything and fuk them

A few mixes i was forgetting to throw up here

DILLY live @ REACTIVE North vs South, Dublin 310307.mp3
    http://www71.zippyshare.com/v/54933374/file.html

ED CASE LIVE @ REACTIVE North vs South, Dublin 310307.mp3
    http://www6.zippyshare.com/v/15459140/file.html

A few mixes i was forgetting to throw up here

DILLY live @ REACTIVE North vs South, Dublin 310307.mp3
    http://www71.zippyshare.com/v/54933374/file.html

ED CASE LIVE @ REACTIVE North vs South, Dublin 310307.mp3
    http://www6.zippyshare.com/v/15459140/file.html
    that's why I never went to any of those reunions... all crowd pleasing tunes... tunes uve heard a million and one times.. their old mixes were the business tho

Yes very tru Mac.There's was quite a few oldskool gigs around that time b.The lads used to up them but i did'nt d/l many of them.Possibly for that reason u gave.

But sure even that lads who went regularly would be complaining about the sets.I think 1 well known DJ played the same set at 2 different gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,671 ✭✭✭francois

Yes very tru Mac.There's was quite a few oldskool gigs around that time b.The lads used to up them but i did'nt d/l many of them.Possibly for that reason u gave.

But sure even that lads who went regularly would be complaining about the sets.I think 1 well known DJ played the same set at 2 different gigs

I suppose I'll hold my hand up and say I'm guilty of doing that, and to be honest I'd rarther play techno than the european label trance numbers as there is so much excellent unheard techno that's in my collection, however when I have tried to do something different the whinging from punters is ****ing unbelievable, the dance floor clears and only fills up again when a well known tune is put on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

francois wrote: »
    I suppose I'll hold my hand up and say I'm guilty of doing that, and to be honest I'd rarther play techno than the european label trance numbers as there is so much excellent unheard techno that's in my collection, however when I have tried to do something different the whinging from punters is ****ing unbelievable, the dance floor clears and only fills up again when a well known tune is put on

Doesn't say much, for the "musical diversity" or the punters, of these oldskool events. In general though, Irish "club land" (for want of a better phrase) has always been very limited musically, in comparison to the UK, Europe, etc.

francois wrote: »

I was'nt refering to you by the way francois lol.It was Warren.But yes i see you point.Maybe same reason Warren played the same tunes....
    es-cee wrote: »
    Doesn't say much, for the "musical diversity" or the punters, of these oldskool events. In general though, Irish "club land" (for want of a better phrase) has always been very limited musically, in comparison to the UK, Europe, etc.

I wonder was i go to do with the various cultures and races in England at the time Sean and even now.Altho we are probably seeing more varying cultures here now but back then i would say it was less.Obviously there are alot more ppl in England so hence the chance of a greater musical diversity

Just a thought

I was'nt refering to you by the way francois lol.It was Warren.But yes i see you point.Maybe same reason Warren played the same tunes....

I wonder was i go to do with the various cultures and races in England at the time Sean and even now.Altho we are probably seeing more varying cultures here now but back then i would say it was less.Obviously there are alot more ppl in England so hence the chance of a greater musical diversity

Just a thought

House, Trance, and the occasional bit of Techno, although Techno has a much bigger following these days. What else is there, that has been up there as big as those mentioned? Answer is nothing. 20 odd years, of the same stuff, every weekend in Dublin. And as for there being more people in England, granted, there are millions more people in London alone, than in this country. But what fraction of those people, were actually involved in the scene? Not just talking about ravers/clubbers, i'm talking about producers and DJ's. I mean, the majority of the stuff played here, was shipped in from Europe anyway. And there's a lot more on offer in Europe, than house and trance like, isn't there?

I do take into account btw, that there has always been the odd club, through the years, willing to break the mold in this City. But for the most part, it's been very same old same old. Francois' post there, proves my point. When you have clubbers, who whinge, or walk off the dance floor, because you're not playing the tunes they know, and are not willing to even entertain something new (to them, whether it be an old tune, or new) it doesn't really say much for them tbh.

Some good tracks on this mix

es-cee wrote: »
    House, Trance, and the occasional bit of Techno, although Techno has a much bigger following these days. What else is there, that has been up there as big as those mentioned? Answer is nothing. 20 odd years, of the same stuff, every weekend in Dublin. And as for there being more people in England, granted, there are millions more people in London alone, than in this country. But what fraction of those people, were actually involved in the scene? Not just talking about ravers/clubbers, i'm talking about producers and DJ's. I mean, the majority of the stuff played here, was shipped in from Europe anyway. And there's a lot more on offer in Europe, than house and trance like, isn't there?

Yeah i totally understand ppls point of view on the same tunes etc and whinging clubbers.....

But u still gotta take into account the population of some of those countries.Where talking over 60 million i would say in Germay and 50 in England.

Also the funny thing is when trying to id tracks from the Dublin mixes as we call them.It's still very hard to get them id's on discogs etc.Which contain alot of european members and some English.I geuss we just had a different scene over here.Just a point that might be relevent.

Also just wondering u might have more knowledge than me on this.What was the jungle/break beat scene like in Germany and other European countiers for that matter back in the early 90's...