If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Oldskool Appreciation Party - O.A.P's thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Ant C

Not as good as planet violet in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭aceberg

Ant C wrote: »
    Right boys,

My new mix is been upped at the minute:

Here is the tracklisting:

1 Mozaic - Rays Of The Rising Sun (Dekkard & Danes Mach Dub)
    2 Generation X - Kooky Ballerina (Outdare's Exorcism Dub)
    3 Lost it.com - Animal (Trance Mix)
    4 Lovechild - Time Travellers
    5 DJ Misjah & DJ Tim (X-Trax) - Access
    6 Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns
    7 Friends,Lovers and Family - Diamond Lil's
    8 Baby Doc & The Dentist - Catalan Dawn Pt.1
    9 Virtualmismo - Cosmonautica (Moontrip mix)
    10 The Delorme - Spanish Fly (Sound in this is a bit muck as it is recorded from Vinyl from UTube but I have the midrange up to max so to keep up with the rest of the level on the mix)
    11 D.M.B - If we lose our lovin'
    12 The Unknown - Skiddly Wah

I will post a link when it is up on my page.

I think you have to register on the site to download the mixes but I can upload them onto here if you want also.

Wouldn't mind a bit of feedback on the mix lads.

Ant.

Sound Ant i'll d/l it now try give it a whirl tomorrow.few mixes to get tru...:D

ED CASE – Stargaser

side a

House of Usher - Shades
    Humate – 3.1
    Terms Of Being - Methods Of Deep Diving
    Sidewalk – Akira
    Unreal – Replicants
    dazzle pulse - discourse
    Alicic – Saturn
    Sidewalk – Lost in time

side b

Solva Nova – Toward the boundries of Solva Nova
    Baby Doc & The Dentist - Tales Of The Seraphim
    Natural born – Death Row
    yoji bomehanika - Rendezvous de Telepathie
    M.A.F. X-Perience, The - Dreamland
    Sunbeam - outside world
    Aqualite - Wavemaker

Holy Macaroni.......i don't beleive it.

Good man Mac.Did'nt realise Aban Don / Dazzle Pulse - -Discourse was on this mix.Have it on another mix.DJ Pordy - live in America.Anto think i might have got that off you aswell.:DIt's 1 of them mixes i have'nt listened to much tbh.

Love there other track aswell which is also on the Pordy mix.

And the name of that other track looks familiar.Did i see it on your y/t page by any chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭Maysa07

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭holy_macaroni

weird vocal in this.. hes talking about being stopped by the police. patted down and asked whats in his bag, ha great track tho..

Billy Mays wrote: »

Top track as is some of ther other tracks

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Nice bit of trance here from 97

aceberg wrote: »

Sound Ant i'll d/l it now try give it a whirl tomorrow.few mixes to get tru...:D

Holy Macaroni.......i don't beleive it.

Good man Mac.Did'nt realise Aban Don / Dazzle Pulse - -Discourse was on this mix.Have it on another mix.DJ Pordy - live in America.Anto think i might have got that off you aswell.:DIt's 1 of them mixes i have'nt listened to much tbh.

Love there other track aswell which is also on the Pordy mix.

And the name of that other track looks familiar.Did i see it on your y/t page by any chance.

Did u have a listen Ace?

What a bad ass ****ing tune.

Ed Case Asylum....................Sail away....:D

Did u have a listen Ace?

I did Anto yes.Hang on i grab a cup of tea.Then it's feedback time.....:D

Be nice now😬

tdv123 wrote: »
    Nice bit of trance here from 97

I like this.

Be nice now😬

No harm in a bit of constructive critism...lol :D

And the verdict is.........:p

Ok the first 2 tracks blended in very well yes liked that.
    2/3 fit well liked the way they worked together
    3/4 was'nt too bad maybe the Volume on Lovechild - Time Travellers was a tad high
    4/5 Loved the way they mixed.Was thinking to meself tho while listening could you have left Lovechild - Time Travellers playing for an extra 2 secs tho
    i'm a stickler for timing...:D..And here's me who can't mix tshl.probably the reason why i'm try to be to ****ing perfect....:)
    5/6 again loved the way they mixed in aswell good stuff
    7/8 Yeah like the way Lifesigns finishes and the synths kick in off Diamond Lil's.(works well)
    8/9 was'nt too bad just did'nt like the way Diamond Lil's faded out.See i like break to break (DJ Pressure style :D ) so i'm a **** for wanting tracks to mix that way.R even when the bass drum off the track coming in kicks in hard that wer i klie the other track to end if ya get me,not in the middle.
    8/9 Ah yes i like your thinking here and your stlye.Love the way Baby Doc ends and Cosmonautica kicks in.Deadly
    9/10 have to say the first time i listened to these 2 mixing i thought what the ****.But actually it pretty good.My attention was probly waning at this stage.:D had just finished listening to Sean's mix (your nest by the way....lol)was on to your's then after sitting waiting for the gruaige to be cut.
    10/11 love DMB by the way top track.Yeah these 2 worked well together.Tad of on the eq on DMB coming in yeah.Pesonally i'd have cut Spanish Fly out a bit sooner just on the timing side of things.there was twice ther wer i though ye cut it ther.But everyone to ther own i suppose.Just my preference as to the way i like tracks mixed.
    11/12 ****ing love Skiddy wah aswell.Have it on vinly bass kalimba is a nice track on the vinyl aswell.Yeah geled well together kept the energy going from DMB.:D Love the break in Skiddy Wah....que the strob......:pac::pac::pac::pac:

how is that for ya.

6 Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns
    10 The Delorme - Spanish Fly (Sound in this is a bit muck as it is recorded from Vinyl from UTube but I have the midrange up to max so to keep up with the rest of the level on the mix)

Sean also had a listen to yours aswell.Your ****ed if i'm giving u that run down aswell.:D Well you did'nt ask for it but i did'nt want to be rude.

Actually really enjoyed the mix.Did'nt think i would as i'm only really into a select amout of gabber etc.But ther's some banging tunes in ther.Pure anarchy.there's just no let up in the aul gabber is there.Some top notch mixinf from what i could work out.Hard to tell at times when 1 track was coming in and 1 out.So that must be the sign of a good dj....lol...You'd be more familiar with tracks then i would.

Need another cuppa after that....:D

No harm in a bit of constructive critism...lol :D

And the verdict is.........:p

Ok the first 2 tracks blended in very well yes liked that.
    2/3 fit well liked the way they worked together
    3/4 was'nt too bad maybe the Volume on Lovechild - Time Travellers was a tad high
    4/5 Loved the way they mixed.Was thinking to meself tho while listening could you have left Lovechild - Time Travellers playing for an extra 2 secs tho
    i'm a stickler for timing...:D..And here's me who can't mix tshl.probably the reason why i'm try to be to ****ing perfect....:)
    5/6 again loved the way they mixed in aswell good stuff
    7/8 Yeah like the way Lifesigns finishes and the synths kick in off Diamond Lil's.(works well)
    8/9 was'nt too bad just did'nt like the way Diamond Lil's faded out.See i like break to break (DJ Pressure style :D ) so i'm a **** for wanting tracks to mix that way.R even when the bass drum off the track coming in kicks in hard that wer i klie the other track to end if ya get me,not in the middle.
    8/9 Ah yes i like your thinking here and your stlye.Love the way Baby Doc ends and Cosmonautica kicks in.Deadly
    9/10 have to say the first time i listened to these 2 mixing i thought what the ****.But actually it pretty good.My attention was probly waning at this stage.:D had just finished listening to Sean's mix (your nest by the way....lol)was on to your's then after sitting waiting for the gruaige to be cut.
    10/11 love DMB by the way top track.Yeah these 2 worked well together.Tad of on the eq on DMB coming in yeah.Pesonally i'd have cut Spanish Fly out a bit sooner just on the timing side of things.there was twice ther wer i though ye cut it ther.But everyone to ther own i suppose.Just my preference as to the way i like tracks mixed.
    11/12 ****ing love Skiddy wah aswell.Have it on vinly bass kalimba is a nice track on the vinyl aswell.Yeah geled well together kept the energy going from DMB.:D Love the break in Skiddy Wah....que the strob......:pac::pac::pac::pac:

how is that for ya.

6 Rodd-Y-Ler - Lifesigns

Sean also had a listen to yours aswell.Your ****ed if i'm giving u that run down aswell.:D Well you did'nt ask for it but i did'nt want to be rude.

Actually really enjoyed the mix.Did'nt think i would as i'm only really into a select amout of gabber etc.But ther's some banging tunes in ther.Pure anarchy.there's just no let up in the aul gabber is there.Some top notch mixinf from what i could work out.Hard to tell at times when 1 track was coming in and 1 out.So that must be the sign of a good dj....lol...You'd be more familiar with tracks then i would.

Need another cuppa after that....:D

**** Me ,Now there is a proper review buy a man who actually has an ear for music!!

Cheers for the feedback man, yeah I wanted to keep the energy and flow in the mix but I have learned that the classics can start of so distinctly (and we all recognise the track the second it comes in) that sometimes beat matching is not the best way to mix even when mixing in key.

"7/8 Yeah like the way Lifesigns finishes and the synths kick in off Diamond Lil's.(works well)" - I wasn't sure how this would come out but the synth kick in on Diamond Lills saved the mix. Cutting rather than beat matching.

"8/9 was'nt too bad just did'nt like the way Diamond Lil's faded out." - I don't think this really worked myself but I just gave up when I couldnt get the mix as tight as I normally like as I wanted those 2 tracks in the mix as they are both stompers.

"8/9 Ah yes i like your thinking here and your stlye.Love the way Baby Doc ends and Cosmonautica kicks in.Deadly" - This worked out sweet for me, the quick mini buildup at the end of Baby Doc & The Dentist just before I cut in Cosmonautica just clicked for me.

Nearly didn't leave Spanish Fly in the mix as the sound quality was **** but it is such a classic and brings back many a memory that it had pride of place in the mix.

Yeah, DMB into Skiddly Wah also clicked. Another perfect example of how cutting between 2 tracks in a mix works better than beat matching.

Cheers again for the review, think u missed your calling as a music reviewer mate!!!

Working on my next oldskool mix and also a techno mix as well so keep an eye out.

Gonna grab a cuppa scald now myself.

No sweat Anto just like the old days in IPS when ya first start out.You'd do a mix bring it in on tape hand it to me and say rite have a listen let me know what ya think.Be in next day after listening and of course we.d spend half the day chatting about the mix as I reviewed it.....lol.

Ye I hear what your saying about cutting rather than beat matching.What about trying a bit of break to break the way Pressure used to.He was the best at it imo.Have ya listened to any of his mixes latley.

Would love to be able to mix meself.So many tunes in me head over the yrs id love to try out.Might eventually invest in a decant mixer and jst play around with virtual dj or something.

What set up do ya have yourself

**** Me ,Now there is a proper review buy a man who actually has an ear for music!!

Cheers for the feedback man, yeah I wanted to keep the energy and flow in the mix but I have learned that the classics can start of so distinctly (and we all recognise the track the second it comes in) that sometimes beat matching is not the best way to mix even when mixing in key.

"7/8 Yeah like the way Lifesigns finishes and the synths kick in off Diamond Lil's.(works well)" - I wasn't sure how this would come out but the synth kick in on Diamond Lills saved the mix. Cutting rather than beat matching.

"8/9 was'nt too bad just did'nt like the way Diamond Lil's faded out." - I don't think this really worked myself but I just gave up when I couldnt get the mix as tight as I normally like as I wanted those 2 tracks in the mix as they are both stompers.

"8/9 Ah yes i like your thinking here and your stlye.Love the way Baby Doc ends and Cosmonautica kicks in.Deadly" - This worked out sweet for me, the quick mini buildup at the end of Baby Doc & The Dentist just before I cut in Cosmonautica just clicked for me.

Nearly didn't leave Spanish Fly in the mix as the sound quality was **** but it is such a classic and brings back many a memory that it had pride of place in the mix.

Yeah, DMB into Skiddly Wah also clicked. Another perfect example of how cutting between 2 tracks in a mix works better than beat matching.

Cheers again for the review, think u missed your calling as a music reviewer mate!!!

Working on my next oldskool mix and also a techno mix as well so keep an eye out.

Gonna grab a cuppa scald now myself.

No sweat Anto just like the old days in IPS when ya first start out.You'd do a mix bring it in on tape hand it to me and say rite have a listen let me know what ya think.Be in next day after listening and of course we.d spend half the day chatting about the mix as I reviewed it.....lol.

Ye I hear what your saying about cutting rather than beat matching.What about trying a bit of break to break the way Pressure used to.He was the best at it imo.Have ya listened to any of his mixes latley.

Would love to be able to mix meself.So many tunes in me head over the yrs id love to try out.Might eventually invest in a decant mixer and jst play around with virtual dj or something.

What set up do ya have yourself

I'm gonna have a listen to pressures stuff again as I haven't listened to it in years and have a stab at the break to break style.

I use a couple of programs - virtual dj and dss dj. The mixer is built in and has a full eq so most of the mixing is done through the headphones but hey I can't have it every way. Still get to mix which is the main thing.

My vinyl set up was a set if 1210's with a 3 channel Behringer mixer running through an amp with a huge set of Mission speakers. I miss this set up as I cut my teeth on it and I had a LOT more control over my mixes - I'm sure all the other dj's on this site when I say that there is no substitute to playing vinyl even the high end CD decks do not hold a candle to Technics.

Pitch bend is NOT the same as twisting the spindle or running the side of the deck with your finger. Rant over!!

Never took to CD Decks.

U should definitely even get a copy of virtual dj and just have a mess around with it. Get your hands on the Camelot Harmonic Mixing Wheel to understand how keys work and tracks blend in key. This will be a BIG help with your mixing. Just keep at and it will click for ya, just have to learn the skill of listening to two tracks at the same time and being able to tell if u need to pitch up or down to match the beats.

Also Helps if you have tracks with a similar BPM also if not even within +/- 5 BPM. ie: house is generally 128 BPM but hard trance is around 145+ BPM so use your own judgement.

Most people say you should get two copies of the same track and try mix them but this can be a bit tricky because you can sometimes get a "Phasing" effect. (Google it)

Hope that helps a bit mate.

On a totally different topic - u going to the Wall at the Aviva Stadium on the 28th Sept? I owe my love of the Floyd to yourself and Scotty mate, ever since I heard Relics I was hooked from them on and have every single recording they have ever done. Even managed to get my hands on the vid from live in Pompei. Let me know if u want any of that and I will sort it for u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

Here's this weeks installment of mayhem!!!

https://soundcloud.com/es-cee/es-cee-techno-tuesday-22-01

Not oldskool, but still, any gabba fan should appreciate it ;):)

Don't know what the **** does b going on with that Nabi.

Yeah get youself listening to Pressure again sure u got a lot of his full tracklists now so b good to put names to tracks.I'm sure ya knew a lot of them anyways.

I actually go virtual dj on the pc and have played with it a little.Its just not the same mixing with a mouse...lol.But ye that se upu got now would suit me also.Can't b making to much noise meself either

Here I ws told by Dj Pilgram (Irish Pilgram - kenny from Finglas ) now in London ,to stay away from the spindle and the chicanes lol.Ride the pitch bitch.

Yeah, bought my ticket the day they came out. Never seen the wall live so looking forward to it. If u and Scotty are going we can meet up before hand if that suits your good self and maybe go the shilling for one or two. Haven't been in the shilling in years. Last time I was there they had bass on tap!!!!

I can post the vids for u or burn onto a DVD, let me know whatever suits ya.

Can I expect the same detailed review of my other old Skool mixes? If u have time that is, family life doesn't allow a lot of free time these days trust me I know!!

Yeah get youself listening to Pressure again sure u got a lot of his full tracklists now so b good to put names to tracks.I'm sure ya knew a lot of them anyways.

I actually go virtual dj on the pc and have played with it a little.Its just not the same mixing with a mouse...lol.But ye that se upu got now would suit me also.Can't b making to much noise meself either

Here I ws told by Dj Pilgram (Irish Pilgram - kenny from Finglas ) now in London ,to stay away from the spindle and the chicanes lol.Ride the pitch bitch.

Cheers for the advice I'll check that on google.

Suppose I will go the aviva.Not too keen on stadium gigs,neither was Roger Waters part of the reason e came up wit the concept of the wall.Went to c u2 in crocker,sound was ****e. So I'm sceptical about thi aswell.Meself and scotty have be to see Roger The 3 times he's been over top gigs.Last time was in the 02 for the wall.what a gig.R u heading yorself

Can't believe u got that big into the Floyd man. Good stuff delighted must tel l Scotty.

Have live I pompey on vid its in the attic wouldn't mind it o dvd tho is it o the tube
    I'm gonna have a listen to pressures stuff again as I haven't listened to it in years and have a stab at the break to break style.

I use a couple of programs - virtual dj and dss dj. The mixer is built in and has a full eq so most of the mixing is done through the headphones but hey I can't have it every way. Still get to mix which is the main thing.

My vinyl set up was a set if 1210's with a 3 channel Behringer mixer running through an amp with a huge set of Mission speakers. I miss this set up as I cut my teeth on it and I had a LOT more control over my mixes - I'm sure all the other dj's on this site when I say that there is no substitute to playing vinyl even the high end CD decks do not hold a candle to Technics.

Pitch bend is NOT the same as twisting the spindle or running the side of the deck with your finger. Rant over!!

Never took to CD Decks.

U should definitely even get a copy of virtual dj and just have a mess around with it. Get your hands on the Camelot Harmonic Mixing Wheel to understand how keys work and tracks blend in key. This will be a BIG help with your mixing. Just keep at and it will click for ya, just have to learn the skill of listening to two tracks at the same time and being able to tell if u need to pitch up or down to match the beats.

Also Helps if you have tracks with a similar BPM also if not even within +/- 5 BPM. ie: house is generally 128 BPM but hard trance is around 145+ BPM so use your own judgement.

Most people say you should get two copies of the same track and try mix them but this can be a bit tricky because you can sometimes get a "Phasing" effect. (Google it)

Hope that helps a bit mate.

On a totally different topic - u going to the Wall at the Aviva Stadium on the 28th Sept? I owe my love of the Floyd to yourself and Scotty mate, ever since I heard Relics I was hooked from them on and have every single recording they have ever done. Even managed to get my hands on the vid from live in Pompei. Let me know if u want any of that and I will sort it for u.

Yes defo would like to meet up indeed.Not working atm so did'nt get a ticket yet.But i'm sure i'll get 1 somewer along the line.

Yeah sure post the vids up that b great.Thks.

At the moment yes u can expect the same detailed review.:D

Yeah family life indeed.3 boys meself hows about yourself.My eldest Ryan is 18 this Fri....:eek:

What bout yourself with regards to work.Ya working away are u still at the quality end of things.

Did u work in oracle.
    Yeah, bought my ticket the day they came out. Never seen the wall live so looking forward to it. If u and Scotty are going we can meet up before hand if that suits your good self and maybe go the shilling for one or two. Haven't been in the shilling in years. Last time I was there they had bass on tap!!!!

I can post the vids for u or burn onto a DVD, let me know whatever suits ya.

Can I expect the same detailed review of my other old Skool mixes? If u have time that is, family life doesn't allow a lot of free time these days trust me I know!!

Yes defo would like to meet up indeed.Not working atm so did'nt get a ticket yet.But i'm sure i'll get 1 somewer along the line.

Yeah sure post the vids up that b great.Thks.

At the moment yes u can expect the same detailed review.:D

Yeah family life indeed.3 boys meself hows about yourself.My eldest Ryan is 18 this Fri....:eek:

What bout yourself with regards to work.Ya working away are u still at the quality end of things.

Did u work in oracle.

Yeah, I have 2 little ones meself so time is a luxury at the minute. I remember when Ryan was only a toddler, **** me how the years have passed.

Yeah, working away but moved into Health & Safety back in 2006 and out of the print industry completely. No mate, never worked in Oracle.

Yeah, I have 2 little ones meself so time is a luxury at the minute. I remember when Ryan was only a toddler, **** me how the years have passed.

Yeah, working away but moved into Health & Safety back in 2006 and out of the print industry completely. No mate, never worked in Oracle.

2 little nippers of your own now good man fair play.:D

Health & Safety i see,think someone might have mentioned that to me alrite.Not sure who it was that told me u wer in Oracle,anyways.

Yeah scary how the yrs fly.:eek: