Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Occupy Waterford

• 01-11-2011 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭

Surprised it's not been posted yet but a group of protesters started camping by the Clock Tower today on the Quay.

I took some pictures today and will probably do again tomorrow. You can check them out here: http://daz0rz.wordpress.com/

Network with your people: https://www.builtinireland.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Probably because nobody cares. Its like 20 people and a few tents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

I care.

I like your photos too dazftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

/offtopic That's a great blog Daz. The idea of the shots of all the locals is simple but looks brilliant.

/ontopic bit of a waste of time and energy unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Yeah none of these protests will amount to anything that will actually change something. Though fair play to them, its cold down there and they are voicing their opinion about the state of the country.

One young fella asked what are ye protesting for and one of the lads simply replied your future my friend.

I'm just interested in Photojournalism so I'm approaching it with an open mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 744 ✭✭✭angry_fox

That's not a great spot to to set up shop, not much cover from the elements and flooding also occurs there in "winter".

Great blog daftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Haha pic of tony Egan and all. Sound fella him.

That pink haired one is the happy one that worked in silver star I think.

Deadly blog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭ratedR

On one hand I applaud anyone there and actually considered it after getting an invite on facebook last week.

But on the other hand I can't help feel the majority of people down there are just hipsters trying to be cool/different.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Jesus Hickey has some head of hair on him in that photo ya have of em!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭dazftw

Sully wrote: »
    Jesus Hickey has some head of hair on him in that photo ya have of em!

hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭daaave

he looks like shaggy from scooby doo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Well if nothing comes of the protest at least I found your blog :) I can't wait to have a proper look through it.

Anyway, Sadly I think the whole movement is in vain but I'll give them 10/10 for trying. they would need there number to grow 100 fold world wide IMO to make a significant impact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Nypd

ziedth wrote: »
    Well if nothing comes of the protest at least I found your blog :) I can't wait to have a proper look through it.

Anyway, Sadly I think the whole movement is in vain but I'll give them 10/10 for trying. they would need there number to grow 100 fold world wide IMO to make a significant impact.

Choice of location is not going to help, it's like a scene from father Ted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭merlante

ratedR wrote: »
    On one hand I applaud anyone there and actually considered it after getting an invite on facebook last week.

But on the other hand I can't help feel the majority of people down there are just hipsters trying to be cool/different.

I was down there last night. Didn't see too many hipsters myself!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Partizan

Looking at those photographs of Waterford remind me of what a bleak and souless place it is. I'm delighted I got out of there years ago. I pity the poor souls condemned to live in that place. A modern day Coketown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭banjacksed

Fair play , we know it's in vain , now if i just could find that €3.6b i left somewhere :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Partizan wrote: »
    Looking at those photographs of Waterford remind me of what a bleak and souless place it is. I'm delighted I got out of there years ago. I pity the poor souls condemned to live in that place. A modern day Coketown.

I'm doing a Waterford calendar atm with pics of city & county. Waterford is FAR from a bleak and souless place imo and offers some gorgeous scenery and we have a fair few local businesses which offer a lot to tourists and locals alike.

Might not be the Dublin or Cork of Ireland, but we have a beauty here and its a shame not many realize it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭homolumo

I disagree completely. Fantastic place to live and I am proud to say I am from
    Waterford.

On topic I imagine only the hardcore will occupy The Quay.

homolumo wrote: »
    I disagree completely. Fantastic place to live and I am proud to say I am from
    Waterford.

On topic I imagine only the hardcore will occupy The Quay.

Not sure how many people will spend every night there. Even if people spent a night every week or two there, there could be a good camp of people there within a short time.

Ill reject your pity meself. Tis not the greatest place in the world but I'm a homebird so wouldn't move outta here ever. Well never say never like lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭livinonaprayer

dazftw wrote: »
    Surprised it's not been posted yet but a group of protesters started camping by the Clock Tower today on the Quay.

I took some pictures today and will probably do again tomorrow. You can check them out here: http://daz0rz.wordpress.com/

love the photos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

Probably because nobody cares. Its like 20 people and a few tents.
    Eventually there will be more tents than people.

Is there many there today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Big Lar

Are they entitled so dole there ? Are they seeking our available for work.
    Pack of wasters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭wellboytoo

Available for work!!!!! after another night like tonight on the Quays they will be available for A and E.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Heathen

wellboytoo wrote: »
    Available for work!!!!! after another night like tonight on the Quays they will be available for A and E.

Just as good they all have medical cards then innit? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭dayshah

Is there any genuine information to suggest the protesters are claiming the dole and refusing employment?

I strongly doubt it. More likely some posters think opinion is a valid substitute for fact.

dayshah wrote: »
    Is there any genuine information to suggest the protesters are claiming the dole and refusing employment?

I strongly doubt it. More likely some posters think opinion is a valid substitute for fact.

True true.
    There's also no proof they are actively seeking employment either though.
    IMHO its none of my business if they are turning down work or not looking for it. There's not much going anyways so they may aswell go down and waste their time if that's what they want to do.

Maybe i am guilty of generalizing, however my comment is based on fact that i know a few of the boys down there very personally and for many years, and even when this town was firmly on its feet and jobs were abundant they were not actively seeking employment!! I was even told by one "Why would i want to work when i get money for free?" Fact!

H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

Heathen wrote: »
    Maybe i am guilty of generalizing, however my comment is based on fact that i know a few of the boys down there very personally and for many years, and even when this town was firmly on its feet and jobs were abundant they were not actively seeking employment!! I was even told by one "Why would i want to work when i get money for free?" Fact!

H

No dude, that's not fact, it's hearsay.

Junior wrote: »

Please explain to me how its hearsay when i know the lads doing it? for over 10 years???

H

So if there was 100% employment, would everything be okay? Would there be any point to the occupy movement?

If the average person has to settle for a smaller and smaller slice of the pie, but they have a job, there's no point in protesting, I suppose? Some of the jobs that people are doing at the moment, and in normal times, are worth protesting about alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Junior wrote: »

Objection! Badgering the witness :D

merlante wrote: »
    So if there was 100% employment, would everything be okay? Would there be any point to the occupy movement?

If the average person has to settle for a smaller and smaller slice of the pie, but they have a job, there's no point in protesting, I suppose? Some of the jobs that people are doing at the moment, and in normal times, are worth protesting about alone.

So true man!! were getting a raw deal, no doubt about it!! I am earning 10k a year less now in my mid thirties then i did when i was in my mid twenties and im doing a job now with a hell of a lot more responsibilities than i did in my twenties, but i have debts and responsibilities that need to be financed, so my only option is to knuckle down and get the job done.

H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭letsbet

So true man!! were getting a raw deal, no doubt about it!! I am earning 10k a year less now in my mid thirties then i did when i was in my mid twenties and im doing a job now with a hell of a lot more responsibilities than i did in my twenties, but i have debts and responsibilities that need to be financed, so my only option is to knuckle down and get the job done.

H

and if your salary was reduced to 5% of what it was you'd be told "ah you're lucky to have a job"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

A couple of dole cheat/crusties/lefties are on WLR right now.

H

This is it, advanced capitalism is supposed to provide a good quality of life for all, and better as time goes on. It more or less did this between 1945 and 1973 before the era of neo-liberalism kicked in. Since then, although average wages have risen slightly, the average is basically pushed up by the top 1% (or whatever) earning massive salaries. Factory salaries and ordinary white collar jobs have declined in real terms. A guy in a factory in 1960 was doing well for himself and had job security. A guy in a factory in 2011 is getting paid nothing and knows that they could be left go at any time.

I don't think that just because people have enough to survive on, that everything is okay. The financial services sector is taking a bigger and bigger chunk of all investment and not enough of this cash makes it to investment in real companies that generate real jobs.

In any case, I'm not sure how many people are down there permanently 24/7. Some are going down after work. They have a rota system in place to make sure there are always people there. So people shouldn't be so quick to judge. I hope it goes from strength to strength and that the inevitable "I know dat fella and his mother and he came from nothing..." bull****e -- or whatever the modern version of that line of begrudgery is -- doesn't stifle the protest or discourage people from joining.

but i have debts and responsibilities that need to be financed, so my only option is to knuckle down and get the job done.

Well if you lived in a tent you wouldn't need a mortgage :D

mike65 wrote: »
    A couple of dole cheat/crusties/lefties are on WLR right now.

Accusing someone of dole fraud is a serious allegation. Dole fraud is a crime, and perpetrators should be punished.

If anyone has evidence of dole fraud they should notify the Dept. of Social Protection.

If you don't have evidence, don't post it on boards.

Accusing someone of dole fraud is a serious allegation. Dole fraud is a crime, and perpetrators should be punished.

If anyone has evidence of dole fraud they should notify the Dept. of Social Protection.

If you don't have evidence, don't post it on boards.

It was a joke.

Daysha robbing your mod hat. The thief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I even flagged the joke with a Carole Smilie! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

God we are very judgemental these days people, down through history if everybody did nothing , said nothing , god knows where we would be in this country of ours!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

decies wrote: »
    God we are very judgemental these days people, down through history if everybody did nothing , said nothing , god knows where we would be in this country of ours!!

but they are doing nothing... sitting around the clock tower, chatting to themselves is not really doong anything ...

decies wrote: »
    I'd agree with robtri on this one. How is siting around on the quay going to help in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭DaleB91

Funny thing about these occupiers, was down ''debating'' with them earlier when one turned around and said why dont you join in, you dont have a job and neither does your girlfriend by the looks of things to which i replied we do we're just on lunch, now this is where it got good, he turns around and said i dont have a job so i said well your not going to find one on the quay are ya? This point he turned sort of aggressive and started giving me some bull**** so i simply and calmly asked him if the media is so corrupt why is yer man over there doing an interview, its not going to get published because in you're own words the media is corrupt and doesn't bother with things like this. Anyway after a heated debate with this chap i asked how much longer you plannin on staying here and he said oh well im back in work Saturday so this will probably be my last day. He really confused me because i thought he said he didnt work, so i posed it to him and again more aggression from him. Another fella came up and tried telling me that look at all these people none of them are greedy, to which i pointed out a person I'd know and said he drives a 06 7 series BMW and a 3litre twin turbo supra with loads of extras, now explain how thats not greed. There alot like a cult I think, there is something wrong with the ''Freemen''. I think they should all get a hefty fine for littering and loitering. Wouldnt be long about fcukin off the quay then, all these people are wanna be's. The ''99%'' of them aren't dedicated to this, grand maybe the "1%" of people from Wexford or Tipp that traveled might believe in this but the rest don't. All I can say it wait till a nice frosty night and wait and see em all heading home. Can't wait for it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

Passed the lads on the way into to college yesterday, seemed to be havin right craic, 2 of em were drinkin cans.

I don't get this occupy "a certain place" trend thats popping up, what they're demonstrating that their not happy with what's going on in the country? and Europe?

Hello! the whole country feels the same, just cause your sitting outside in the cold means your feel stronger about it? made me feel guilty today passing these lads for a second today.

It was a joke.

This thread is littered with allegations of dole fraud.

Sure why not all have a laugh and start naming priests as pedos, and say businesses are going into liquidation. It will be a blast.

Its about time people play the ball and not the man. You should know better.

But hey, here is a wink smilie, just so you don't go into a strop, and say this is for the moderation forum.

There, that ok?

DaleB91 wrote: »
    There alot like a cult I think, there is something wrong with the ''Freemen''.

What is a Freeman?
    Hello! the whole country feels the same, just cause your sitting outside in the cold means your feel stronger about it? made me feel guilty today passing these lads for a second today.

I don't know much about this crowd, and I prefer to camping in the Comeraghs. However there were plenty of marches that had a poor turnout. I certainly don't want riots in the streets, but paying the Anglo bondholders is fundamentally unjust. Maybe the govt is right because the ECB have us bent over a table, but then we could march against the ECB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I don't know much about this crowd, and I prefer to camping in the Comeraghs. However there were plenty of marches that had a poor turnout. I certainly don't want riots in the streets, but paying the Anglo bondholders is fundamentally unjust. Maybe the govt is right because the ECB have us bent over a table, but then we could march against the ECB.

Agreed, but the bondholders needed to be paid for any future stability but imo it should came from the European fund not just the Irish,

What is a Freeman?

Basically someone who doesn't subscribe to our life. Normally someone who wants to smoke joints without getting arrested but decides to resubscribe then if they need help.load of bollox of ya ask me.