Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Monaghan United v Galway United LOI Play-Off

• 01-11-2011 12:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭

1st Leg Gortakeegan 01/11/11 K.O. 7.45

Expecting a big performance from Monaghan tonight. We're missing a few big players including the Brennan brothers.
    Hopefully a good win before friday's away leg. Would be gutted for Monaghan to have such a good season and to throw away promotion again after last year's debacle against Bray. Come on the magic mons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

l hope Galway can do it, because although I hold no ill-will towards Monaghan United, I absolutely detest Rodney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭James__10

IF galway united win the 2 legged play off it'll be a complete joke. A side who have conceded over 100 goals and won 1 game all season will still be in the premier league next season :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

James__10 wrote: »
    IF galway united win the 2 legged play off it'll be a complete joke. A side who have conceded over 100 goals and won 1 game all season will still be in the premier league next season :confused:

Agreed but also if Monaghan can't beat this Galway team over 2 Legs they don't deserve to be in the Premier League.

James__10 wrote: »

Meh, 1 straight down three straight up is never going to be a runner though, if Galway can pull it off, then fair play to them I say.

and I hope they do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Des wrote: »
    l hope Galway can do it, because although I hold no ill-will towards Monaghan United, I absolutely detest Rodney.

Although I was never his biggest fan he did a job this season.

You are a Monaghan fan I take it?

Fair enough with your opinion, but I think he is a detestable human being.

And for that reason, I want anything he is involved with to fail.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Is this on telly?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

It was on some foreign language channel last year wasn't it?

Well RTE, TV3 and Setanta are all showing CL so it's the option at this rate :p

Who was in last season's play off?

Torpedo and someone else?

Wasn't it a complete mudbath, lashing rain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

2 years ago you mean Des? Bray and Spingal.

yeah, probably

was there not one last year, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Hard to look beyond Monaghan win tonight.

Never know though.

yeah, probably

was there not one last year, no?
    Bray and Mons I think

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,720 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Bray and Mons. 2nd leg was a mudbath, pitch not helped by Rovers' trophy ceremony in the middle of the pitch the previous week.

Despite Roddy, I hope Monaghan win it. I'd hope third in the First Division is a better standard than Galway in the Premier this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Mons surely wouldn't get a Premier license though, facilities would definitely not cope with the travelling support of Shams, etc...

500 seats maybe, tiny jacks, a Mon Dog heater, a few old skool bags of sweets and jellies, press "box", etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Hope Galway can do it after the horror of a season they've had. And I've always thought they were a good club with sound fans. Seeing the handful of them up in Tallaght on Friday with the flags was what football is about and that's not in a glib way.

Nothing against Monagahan obviously though, despite Roddy. And them, Cork and Shels coming up would really make the premier competitive next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

So nervous about this tonight. After last season's debacle I wont dare believe we are promoted until 2 weeks into the 2012 season.

Say what you like about Roddy but he has done a bloody good job this year. He took over a few weeks in and got lads whom he hadnt picked to perform at a top level to even beat Shels in Tolka.

If we dont beat Galway we dont deserve to be in the Premier.

Mons surely wouldn't get a Premier license though, facilities would definitely not cope with the travelling support of Shams, etc...

500 seats maybe, tiny jacks, a Mon Dog heater, a few old skool bags of sweets and jellies, press "box", etc...

Can't be worse than Oriel and Dalymount in terms of away fans facilities, UCD coped with a 2,500 crowd with only 1,500 seats and there is no cover for away fans in Bray.

I'd find it difficult to see how Monaghan can be worse than those to not get a licence. CHP was able to handle 300 travelling Hoops back in 2006. Won't be many more on a normal game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

dfx- wrote: »
    Can't be worse than Oriel and Dalymount in terms of away fans facilities, UCD coped with a 2,500 crowd with only 1,500 seats and there is no cover for away fans in Bray.

I'd find it difficult to see how Monaghan can be worse than those to not get a licence. CHP was able to handle 300 travelling Hoops back in 2006. Won't be many more on a normal game.
    We probably brought that many to the cup replay up there this season. Facilities were grand tbh.

With the situation looking bad at Bohs its likely that this playoff won't really matter anyways..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,946 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Witchie wrote: »
    So nervous about this tonight. After last season's debacle I wont dare believe we are promoted until 2 weeks into the 2012 season.

Say what you like about Roddy but he has done a bloody good job this year. He took over a few weeks in and got lads whom he hadnt picked to perform at a top level to even beat Shels in Tolka.

If we dont beat Galway we dont deserve to be in the Premier.
    Everybody in the promotion race beat us at Tolka this year. We're a much better side away from home than we are at Tolka.

Monaghan and Bray. The first leg in Monaghan was 0-0, second leg the same. Monaghan scored in the 29th minute of extra time. Conceded a goal in the 30th minute and lost on penalties :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

come on Galway. I'm a limerick fan so my feelings are known

http://www.northernsound.ie/

Listen live on here

Get in! Sean brennan, 1-0 Mons

Get in! 1-0 Mons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

Get in! Sean brennan, 1-0 Mons

I know Sean very well, delighted for him, more than capable of making the step up, as is his brother Ryan.

Was actually Michael Isichi who scored, Sean Brennan created it though!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,946 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Mons defo need to get a 2nd here, otherwise they take a risk going to Galway. Figure they most likely will get that 2nd though, and probably more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

Yea seen that, has quite a few assists this season Sean, well so he told me:P . Has scored quite a few too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

all mons now

Yeah another goal would be nice, all over them so need to take a chance soon

2-0! Now Sean Brennan has scored! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,591 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Interesting match, RTE just said that both sides ended with 14 men!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

What was the attendance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Good to see Monaghan getting into the Prem League (even for the Mondogs alone).

To be honest, even if Galway were capable of winning this tie, i'd say they would still be f*cked out!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Interesting match, RTE just said that both sides ended with 14 men!!
    Aye, Joe Bergin & Tommy Freeman got sent off. :pac:

monkey9 wrote: »
    (even for the Mondogs alone).
    I've never had one of these, I starting to feel they must be tried

NufcNavan wrote: »
    What was the attendance?

About 850 I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Second leg tonight. Hopefully there'll be a good crowd in Terryland. The President Elect will be there.

COME ON GALWAY!!!!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

I hate Monaghan, but was at their playoff game last year in Bray and thought they were extremely unlucky. Really hope they win tonight.
    Will be nice to see Galway down where they belong and they might even earn promotion this time (although probably not if Bohs implode)

Would like to see Galway do it but another season in the premier would be tough on them and the support - espcially given the strength of the division next year. A rebuilding stint lower down is probably best.

Good luck tonight all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

The sun is shining, there's a bit of a buzz around the place. I'm looking forward to this even though I don't think we'll do it. If we get an early goal you never know though.

Finish the job monaghan! It would be hard to take losing after last year's play-off disappointment. Not gonna make it down to galway, hopefully a good enough crowd from monaghan heading down :)

Congrats to Mons, 3-0 now, 5-0 on agg. Galway chasing the tie was always likely to bring that about.

Good luck to Galway, might see them in the premier yet if they get a licence, preferably in place of Dundalk... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

dfx- wrote: »
    Congrats to Mons, 3-0 now, 5-0 on agg. Galway chasing the tie was always likely to bring that about.

Good luck to Galway, might see them in the premier yet if they get a licence, preferably in place of Dundalk... :D

If only!! Nah we'll stick around and pay our debts unlike other dishonest clubs;)

Roddy in Tallaght next season. Oh yes. The abuse shall be epic. :pac:

doncarlos wrote: »
    If only!! Nah we'll stick around and pay our debts unlike other dishonest clubs;)

Any word on why Foster is walking? :)