Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trick or treat!

• 31-10-2011 4:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭

Anyone else already getting trick or treaters? What are ye handing out or are ye hiding inside with the curtains closed and the lights off? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

*Treat

Edit: Nice ninja edit OP. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭No.125

get owa me garden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

No kids yet but there's a gigantic bonfire down the road that's wrecking my head. People are throwing the contents of their wheelie bins into it and it smells rank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I give them little bags of vegetables.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

in each hand I have a card, one says trick, the other treat, pick one but I wont tell you which one you have picked
    pick a treat and something nice will happen to you, pick treat and it wont be..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I don't think I will have any kids calling, i did buy stuff just in case. we had no one last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I'm in a fairly rural area. Ten of them just arrived into my driveway in a minibus.

Trick or treating at a new level of efficiency!

hondasam wrote: »
    I don't think I will have any kids calling, i did buy stuff just in case. we had no one last year.
    That means you must be the local mad oul bint that has 40 cats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I was about to start the exact same thread.

I will be ignoring them altogether. Can't be dealing with telling stranger's kids they look cute/ scary, giving them sweets, etc. And also- they're MY sweets!

They always knock if you don't buy any sweets, we had none fo 3 years so we bought none last year. Of course, we get about 20 kids. had to cobble something together with a packet of cookies and my maltesers :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I'm hiding upstairs with the lights off downstairs...

bah humbug!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

I've had 5 groups already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Not into witchcraft and all that. But I suppose it is good for the kids to enjoy themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

none, since I connected the gates to the fuse board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

I stopped doing it after this one very tall kid kept calling to the door, asking for tree fiddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Lights off,blinds closed,I'm expecting the house to be egged tonight so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

That means you must be the local mad oul bint that has 40 cats.

No, live in the sticks and there is no kids around.
    phasers wrote: »
    They always knock if you don't buy any sweets, we had none fo 3 years so we bought none last year. Of course, we get about 20 kids. had to cobble something together with a packet of cookies and my maltesers :(

That has happened to me in the past. I usually have something just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭AG2R

A kick to the jaw if they knock on this door, also wham bars and twixs :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

The less people that call, the more sweets for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭jaybee747

Treats all round in this house,Herself goes mad with the seasons.Has dozens of goody bags made up.
    I did do a trick many years where I covered an egg in chocolate and wrapped it up in a kinder wrapping, handed it out to this little nuisance but i've been guilt ridden ever since.
    Ah the sound of joy in his voice when he shouted " I got a Kinder " to his little mates.

I can hear the little sh*trats at my door now... just when i wanted to go get some tea :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Iv crisps and sweets that are well out of date!:) shoudve listened to their parents when they said never take sweets from a stranger hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I'm thinking of smashing my doorbell.

They keep ringing it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Just got a couple of kids knocking at the door... gave them a few kit kats and some monkey nuts ...

"we dont like nuts!" t'was the reply :pac:

There was an innuendo to be made. But I didnt risk saying it. lol.

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Just got a couple of kids knocking at the door... gave them a few kit kats and some monkey nuts ...

"we dont like nuts!" t'was the reply :pac:

There was an innuendo to be made. But I didnt risk saying it. lol.

I loved monkey nuts as a child... kids are spoiled with their choices these days :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

Ok I've had about 40 plus kids call here so far. I think 4 actually said thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Ok I've had about 40 plus kids call here so far.

you must be giving very good "treats" ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Anyone else already getting trick or treaters? What are ye handing out or are ye hiding inside with the curtains closed and the lights off? :D

My door is locked and I am in the back room. Peace and quiet is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

Sounds like Beirut out there now, will be ready for prick or treating in no time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

I live in a decent area of Arklow, and you can just see all the scummer parents from the bad parts of the town coming to our area in order to get the good sweets. It's blatantly obvious too, it's the sort of parent that isn't fit to have kids.

Regardless, I have two large bags of sweets at the door; One with good sweets for the kids/parents I recognise as being from around here, another with the cheapest Lidl crap (and fruit) I could find for opportunistic bastards.

I live in a decent area of Arklow, and you can just see all the scummer parents from the bad parts of the town coming to our area in order to get the good sweets. It's blatantly obvious too, it's the sort of parent that isn't fit to have kids.

Regardless, I have two large bags of sweets at the door; One with good sweets for the kids/parents I recognise as being from around here, another with the cheapest Lidl crap (and fruit) I could find for opportunistic bastards.

jesus fking christ... is it hard to come off as such a snobby git or is it something you're well practiced at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Due to shocking lack of funds, we were faced with a six pack from Aldi or a bag of nuts and apples for the chislers.

We used to make a big fuss and have a witches cave and my wife would dress up and scare the kids, but not this year, we've closed the doors and and saving electricity before we get cut off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

RichieC wrote: »
    jesus fking christ... is it hard to come off as such a snobby git or is it something you're well practiced at?

We got extra classes in it in Boarding school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 902 ✭✭✭DoneDL

Had to read that twice, sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭Gee Bag

I live in a decent area of Arklow.

I never knew such a thing existed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

Opportunistic? At the end of the day the tricker treaters usually are young kids looking to have some fun. A sad and lonely life on the horizon for you anyway. Fooking gowl.

Lidl sweets > name brand stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,345 ✭✭✭landsleaving

Gee Bag wrote: »
    I never knew such a thing existed!

PseudoFamous

Can't even admit to being from Arklow...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭xoxyx

The joys of living in an apartment block with no kids in the area. I suppose if a trick or treater managed to get through the main gates and the locked door into my building, I'd almost feel bad about ignoring their hopeful little knock on my door.

I did my bit though - helped my mum pack up over 50 goodie bags yesterday. She gets loads of callers and gives out great stuff - every bag got crisps, chocolate, lollies and jellies. Was just raging that she didn't get nuts 'cause I'd have stolen a few of them for myself. :mad:

Well la dee fooking da, that's some statement to come out with.

Shove you're ferrero rocher's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Everyone get a sense of humour by pass today ? I enjoyed his amusing post, the proles obviously feel it cuts a bit close to the bone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,290 ✭✭✭mickydoomsux

I bought a **** load of sweets and nary a person in sight.

I live in a new(ish) development in a tiny village with **** all school-age kids so i guess it's hardly surprising, they probably think no one lives here. Wasn't home last year so don't know if it's normal that there's been no one yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

The kids round here keep throwing bangers in to peoples gardens. Shame the treats being handed out at these doors aren't bangers and some duct tape to their hands. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Shpuds

Used to make a huge fuss previous years but due to lack of funds, I spent the money on two bottles of wine. Someones got to think of the children, but it's not me!

I agree with you tbh, we used to get this a few years ago, especially for the wren on st stephens day.
    parents would drive the kids around, some of them would be from miles away. I would not like to take it out on the kids but the kids I know would get more money.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭Twee.

Have only had one group so far, and that was the little girl from across the road being brought around by her brother and his mates!

Ah well, more mini Crunchies and Time Outs for me.

Back in the good old days we'd have trick or treaters for hours! Used to do home made cup cakes with black and orange frosting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

First knock at about 5 I think, hasn't stopped since. I don't mind answering them for as long as the stuff lasts, after that it's lights out and then I set the dogs on them.

Jesus, when I was a nipper we used to have to do the whole trick or treat rhyme, I was pissed about them shortening it to trick or treat, some of them aren't even doing that anymore. I just had a little bollix at the door, bout ten I'd say. He just rocks up to the door and looks at me. Well I wasn't having that, made him say the whole thing.

Some are polite. Others are indifferent or just plain ignorant. The nice ones are getting more.