Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THE JOHN TREACY DUNGARVAN 10 MILE ROAD RACE 29/1/2012

• 29-10-2011 11:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭

[FONT=comic sans ms,sans-serif]West Waterford Athletic Club have announced the date for their 10 Mile race for 2012. This year the race will be called "The John Treacy Dungarvan 10 Mile Road Race" and will be held on Sunday January 29th at 1pm. Entries are now open through Active Europe or if you prefer to enter by post: log on to our website specially devoted to this race: http://www.dungarvan10mile.org/ and download the entry form .[/FONT]

Remember this race is PRE ENTRY ONLY again this year. The entry fee is €15 up until December 16th and €20 up until January 16th when entries close. The first 1,500 entries will be accepted so get your entry in now!

Looking forward to seeing you all again in 2012.

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 37 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    94%
    opusneilcheffsarmyromrun_Forrest_runAbhainnJohnDozerRubyKbart simpsonGit101eliwallachTJCchinguettiPainIsTemporarytratsaero2kdocjewelCartman78BrianderunnerBobMac104 35 votes
    3 stars (average)
    5%
    KentuckyPetePDCAT 2 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

I will be there, great way to start the year and you will be hard pushed to find a better race all year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

4 stars (good)
    Has this race been combined with the JT 10 mile (held in May) or has it just been renamed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭hawkwing

eliwallach wrote: »
    Has this race been combined with the JT 10 mile (held in May) or has it just been renamed?
    I read last year that they decided to finish the John Treacy Villierstown 10m after two years and combine it with the Dungarvan 10.A big pity as the Villierstown 10m was even more enjoyable and my favourite race of 08 and 09.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

4 stars (good)
    Think I'll be doing this again, really enjoyed it last this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭corked

Count me in! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭DAVID AKA MACKY

this is certainly one id like to do.My pb is 54.44 so would love to go and smash my pb in that.A really great event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭GKiraly

oh oh spaghetti ohs, isnt that the same day as the Raheny 5? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

Cool, i was looking for a 10 mile race............me is in !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Is the old linky not working??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

My 10 out of 10 race for this year - plan on getting back down there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭pc11

Just a pity it's the same day as the Raheny 5, another of the great races in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭scout33

yes this dungarvan 10 on January 29th now incoperates the john treacy villierstown 10 mile race which was held in May.however a 5k fun run is being organised for villierstown instead of a 10 miler.this will be in May 2012.hear after 2 days theres 400 entries in for Dungarvan 10 event.me thinks this will fill quick again this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Cartman78

4 stars (good)
    Have missed this the last couple of years through injury (January is never a good month for me :().

Will deffo be aiming for it again next year as a pre-London warm-up and (if everything goes to plan) would be hoping to shave a few mins off my PB (74mins).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

4 stars (good)
    Cartman78 wrote: »
    Will deffo be aiming for it again next year as a pre-London warm-up and (if everything goes to plan)

+1, I'm doing this as a pre London warm up too. Sub 60 or die trying :)

you mean you have a number for London-gold dust

4 stars (good)
    scout33 wrote: »
    you mean you have a number for London-gold dust

Yep i'm a jammy git :p

4 stars (good)
    Can anyone recommend a nice but not too dear hotel in Waterford for the Saturday and Sunday night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,209 ✭✭✭Sosa

neilc wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a nice but not too dear hotel in Waterford for the Saturday and Sunday night?

The race is in Dungarvan which is 30m outside Waterford City.....
    The Ramada is on the Dungarvan side of the city...cheap and cheerful from what i know about it....with the new road from there you will make it oin 30 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

4 stars (good)
    +1, I'm doing this as a pre London warm up too. Sub 60 or die trying :)

Yes me also & London too. Done this twice. Great race.

4 stars (good)
    Abhainn wrote: »
    Yes me also & London too. Done this twice. Great race.

I've done it twice too (07 and 08) but it looks like a different course this time round. A faster course by the looks of it thankfully.

4 stars (good)
    Sosa wrote: »
    The race is in Dungarvan which is 30m outside Waterford City.....
    The Ramada is on the Dungarvan side of the city...cheap and cheerful from what i know about it....with the new road from there you will make it oin 30 mins

Yeah bringing the better half so going to make a weekend of it. Thanks for the tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 barking1503

neilc wrote: »
    Yeah bringing the better half so going to make a weekend of it. Thanks for the tip.

The Park Hotel in Dungarvan is nice enough, would be as good as the Ramada I would have thought but only a short walk to the start line;)(and finish line even more relevant!!).

Am from Dungarvan and how brill this race is is an indication of what a great club WWAC is. It's an all inclusive club even welcoming us plodders and it has half this town running:p

here here what a club they have going down in Dungarvan,they know how to put on a race thats for sure,the park hotel is an excelent choice and right in the town as well.go for it,i think they do a special race weekend rate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

4 stars (good)
    have to give a big thumbs here too for WWAC,as someone who took up running for health reasons & no real intention of doing races except maybe a marathon at some stage,I did one of their summer races earlier in the year on a whim,just for the craic( & yes the running bug was caught!!!),whether ur an excellent runner or just plodding along the support from the club members themselves is excellent,& their organisation of events seems brilliant IMHO anyway,really looking forward to this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭bart simpson

4 stars (good)
    the e-mail from the race organisers say that john treacy will be running the race himself, what do ye reckon his time for a 10 miler would be these days? think he is in his early 50s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

the e-mail from the race organisers say that john treacy will be running the race himself, what do ye reckon his time for a 10 miler would be these days? think he is in his early 50s

He's currently in training for a race in Africa, he ran last year and I'm officially 1-0 up :p - reckon he'll get close to 60 this year.

4 stars (good)
    Can anyone hazard an educated guess when this this likely to sell out?

Carrying a couple of niggles at the moment so trying to hedge my bets as it were :o

I WOULD SAY IT WILL BE FILLED BY 1ST WEEK OF JANUARY !!

the John Treacy Dungarvan 10 miler on January 29th.the early bird entry fee of 15 euro closes on 16th December and it will be 20 after that with all entries closing on Jaunuary 16th.

4 stars (good)
    the John Treacy Dungarvan 10 miler on January 29th.the early bird entry fee of 15 euro closes on 16th December and it will be 20 after that with all entries closing on Jaunuary 16th.

Thanks for the heads up - signed up this morning so hopefully the multiple-niggles that I am currently developing stay under control for the next few weeks

hi all john treacy dungarvan 10 miler almost full last round up-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Going to up for this in the next couple of days.
    Just a quick question if anyone could help me out with.
    Please note that individual prize winners will not count on teams.
    That means if anyone finished in the top 10 doesn't count in the team standings,very strange.Has anyone seen thsi before?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Going to up for this in the next couple of days.
    Just a quick question if anyone could help me out with.
    Please note that individual prize winners will not count on teams.
    That means if anyone finished in the top 10 doesn't count in the team standings,very strange.Has anyone seen thsi before?

Have seen this in some road races down Cork way....usually only first 3 prize winners excluded. That said, West Waterford club have many different types of race prize types to mix things up and keep things interesting, and they probably have looked at previous results and found more clubs are in with a shot of winning team prize if first 10 are excluded.

West Waterford's way is one prize per athlete ( and they are substantial for this race) this is fair to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭slowsteady

4 stars (good)
    Entries for the 2012 Dungarvan 10 mile road race are now closed. The limit of 1,500 entries was reached today (Wed 28th Dec), approximately three weeks ahead of the closing date last year. - from website

Obviously, running is on the up....

Obviously, running is on the up....[/QUOTE]

Depends what way you look at it.Numbers are on the increase but standards are dropping.

Says on the web site elite entries accepted till the 20th(sub 60mens)

My mate who is aiming for a sub 50 and to make the marathon mission team, refused entry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

My mate who is aiming for a sub 50 and to make the marathon mission team, refused entry.

Did he contact West Waterford AC? - I'm very surprised to hear this.

Podge83 wrote: »
    Did he contact West Waterford AC? - I'm very surprised to hear this.

Contacted one of the 3 names listed on the site for the race.
    Was told ''the numbers are full up'' and ''there will be no exceptions''

Gas thing is he got an elite entry into Rotterdam marathon but yet can't get into an Irish race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭frankeee

Gas thing is he got an elite entry into Rotterdam marathon but yet can't get into an Irish race.

That's very dissappointing, kind of defeats the purpose of having an extended date for elite entry:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

Surprised and disappointed. Some races keep the top first 50 or so numbers for elite entrants. This race is so well organised and run that I would almost go as far as saying I don't believe it!!. Surely they want to get the best possible field out!!

4 stars (good)
    Anyone got any tips on the course & race strategy?

ie. Is it worth going out fast or do you need to conserve energy for later on?

TAKEN FROM DUNGARVAN 10 MILE WEB SITE UNDER ELITE ENTRIES PASTED BELOW

Elite Entry
    Elite entries will be accepted up to Friday 20th January the standards set down are Men 60 minutes and Ladies 65 Minutes. These times must have been posted within the last 3 years. Proof of these qualifying times may be required.

DONT KNOW WHO YOUR FRIEND CONTACATED OR IF HE MADE IT CLEAR HE WAS LOOKING FOR AN ELITE ENTRY BUT THERE ARE STILL ENTRIES AVAILABLE FOR ELITE ATHLETES FOR DUNGARVAN 10 60 MINUTES FOR MEN AND 65 FOR WOMEN.

TAKEN FROM DUNGARVAN 10 MILE WEB SITE UNDER ELITE ENTRIES PASTED BELOW

Elite Entry
    Elite entries will be accepted up to Friday 20th January the standards set down are Men 60 minutes and Ladies 65 Minutes. These times must have been posted within the last 3 years. Proof of these qualifying times may be required.

DONT KNOW WHO YOUR FRIEND CONTACATED OR IF HE MADE IT CLEAR HE WAS LOOKING FOR AN ELITE ENTRY BUT THERE ARE STILL ENTRIES AVAILABLE FOR ELITE ATHLETES FOR DUNGARVAN 10 60 MINUTES FOR MEN AND 65 FOR WOMEN.

Gerry cantwell,the other numbers didn't answer.

http://www.dungarvan10mile.org/contactus.shtml

some cross wires somewhere thirstywork- tell your friend to send in his elite entry in to address provided on web site and he has a garanteed entry if he has a sub 60 minute 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

4 stars (good)
    Has he recorded a sub 60 time in the last three years? you only say he is aiming for a sub 50...

some cross wires somewhere thirstywork- tell your friend to send in his elite entry to address provided on web site and he has a garanteed entry if he has a sub 60 minute 10.

JohnDozer wrote: »
    Has he recorded a sub 60 time in the last three years? you only say he is aiming for a sub 50...

Won the dundalk,Newry,Waterford half's this year running 68mins for the half.Also ran 2.26 marathon in Dublin.His 10mile is 55 and was a poor run in the park 2 years ago but still well under sub 60.

Thirstywork-If its gary o hanlon is your friend i can confirm that he contacted the organisers of the race today and his elite entry is being processed

lovely stuff.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

4 stars (good)
    Cartman78 wrote: »
    Anyone got any tips on the course & race strategy?

ie. Is it worth going out fast or do you need to conserve energy for later on?

It's a pretty flat course, mostly along country roads. There are a couple of small hills (afair, around mile 3 and 7), and there is a drag that starts just before mile 9, that you need to keep something for. It's about 1/2 mile long, on the main road from Cork into Dungarvan - then it's flat/slightly downhill on to the finish line at the IDA.