Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show October 29th

• 29-10-2011 1:52pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭

Coming up on the show this week, Domhnall Gleeson takes us behind the scenes of his recent Hollywood blockbusters Harry Potter and True Grit. Weather girls Evelyn Cusack and Klara Finkele discuss this week's floods in Dublin and predict what's ahead for us this Winter! Ray D'Arcy will be in with Gary Kirwan who's lost 12 stone with the help of Ray's radio show and they're both taking part in Monday's Dublin Marathon. Music on the night will be performed by Galway brothers The Kanyu Tree.

Yawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Heard on RTE today after Green Tea... Oliver Callan will be on again tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Something worth watching so! Really horrible line up otherwise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Weather girls Evelyn Cusack and Klara Finkele discuss this week's floods in Dublin and predict what's ahead for us this Winter!

One has a MSc in Physics and the other a PhD in Meteorology - and RTE describes them as a pair of "weather girls".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

RayM wrote: »
    One has a MSc in Physics and the other a PhD in Meteorology - and RTE describes them as a pair of "weather girls".

Gutted the lovely Jean Byrne is not on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭jacksprat

His opening intro jokes were horribly unfunny, i'm struggling to stay watching just for the Kanyu Tree

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Oliver callan is a second rate wannabe. Hes writing is really poor, in comparison to Gift Grub he doesnt rate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Little_Red_Hen

Completely agree. Mario Rosenstock has that whole area squared off. Callan is just like a poor relation - OTT impressions and very lacklustre scripting.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

I don't find Mario Rosenstock funny at all tbh. I'd much prefer Callan.

Something doesn't seem quite right about the show tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The jokes at the start are so bad, when they get so little response, he actually said "well, I liked that one anyway". Cringe!!!

Does yer one Klara have a gold tooth or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

This interview ran out of steam a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭garbanzo

Clara is Beef to the Heels like a Mullingar Heifer !

Skid wrote: »
    This interview ran out of steam a long time ago.

Yeah, I'm only watching five minutes, and it's pretty much done...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

Great so we are paying him and giving him another slot to take the piss out of Paul Galvin. Keep this up and Galvin might have a case to sue RTE.

garbanzo wrote: »
    Clara is Beef to the Heels like a Mullingar Heifer !

The arms of an East German(male) shot putter. Wrong wardrobe choice.

fk... a serious interview I wasnt expecting this... thought he was going to be on doing a special about Michael D..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Temaz wrote: »
    Gutted the lovely Jean Byrne is not on!!
    She's here with me tonight :) will be going to bed soon :p

He's gay... !!!!!!! Had my suspicions but didnt expect this tonight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Is that argument watertight:
    "i'm not a homophobe because i'm gay" :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

Wasn't expecting that at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

He's gay... !!!!!!! Had my suspicions but didnt expect this tonight..

Galvin looks like even more of an idiot, now.

Briing out Paul Galvin, let them sort out their differences here and now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Shatstand

I can see how coming out as gay kind of puts paid to any rumours that he is homophobic, but didn't Galvin get pissed off because Callan was repeatedly implying he was gay? And he claims not to be.

Galvin looks like even more of an idiot, now.

I can't see how Callan being gay gives him a free pass to defame Paul Galvin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

What a boll0x, no wonder Galvin saw red. This idiot would really drive ya demented, he's finished in ordinary peoples minds now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Matt Cooper is great at the impressions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

What a gobsh1te!

Glad i dont pay the tv licence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Totally agree wit ya

The most offensive thing about Callan is that he is not funny....

He is more guilty at not being able to write terribly funny comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Wierd.

I just switched on for the last ten seconds of the coming out speech before the Michael d part.

Was that really awkward??? (or was that because I just came in on the end of it?)

Ps. That Galvin fella is a complete tool. Fashionista me @rse

He is more guilty at not being able to write terribly funny comedy.

Well in his defence he can do impressions of people in the present government unlike that mate of Joe Duffy on unfunny Friday that is flogging P Flynn and Charlie McCreevy impressions still.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 54 ✭✭danceswithwolf

Met Eireann segement was weird. Evelyn Cusack seemed bitchy towards her German colleague and Brendan was rude and anti-German. Bit odd.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

amdublin wrote: »
    Wierd.

I just switched on for the last ten seconds of the coming out speech before the Michael d part.

Was that really awkward??? (or was that because I just came in on the end of it?

Are you saying YOU want to come out, seems so.

Not a very good song...

Oliver Callan v Paul Galvin is one of those arguments where you want to be on neither side ...

Having said that, fair play to Callan for coming out, it can't be easy. But it was the wrong context in which to do it.

D'arcy's arse

He had eaten the scales

ah jaysus, the lad should be realistic.. he's not gonna make it around... Why not lose some more weight and do it next year.. ??

We've had enough flooding, if he goes jogging we'll have a tsunami

Corsendonk wrote: »
    Well in his defence he can do impressions of people in the present government unlike that mate of Joe Duffy on unfunny Friday that is flogging P Flynn and Charlie McCreevy impressions still.

The satire itself is very weak.

That chap could win Slimmer of the Year 2011, and come back next year to defend his title. Still a long way to go.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 183 ✭✭Paracore

Shatstand wrote: »

It must be great being perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

Shatstand wrote: »
    that's not nice, you are being mean :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Is this Jeremy Kyle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

casio4 wrote: »
    that's not nice, you are being mean :(

The lad has let himself get into a shocking state to be fair.

Ray must have forced Gary to listen to his show every time he ate too much, after a while the weight started falling off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

headmaster wrote: »
    amdublin wrote: »
    Wierd.

Was that really awkward??? (or was that because I just came in on the end of it?

Are you saying YOU want to come out, seems so.

Does it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭tommy21

Ray should be presenting the show, Brendan has no skill for it or empathy for the guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Macca3000

tommy21 wrote: »
    Ray should be presenting the show, Brendan has no skill for it or empathy for the guests.

You got your wish ;)

That show could have been sponsored by the Vintners Federation. It would make you want to head down to the pub on a Saturday Night :(