Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pro12: Edinburgh -v- Leinster Friday 28th Oct KO 7:35pm Murrayfield (BBC Alba)

• 27-10-2011 11:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Leinster team announced. Kearney, McFadden, Sexton, Boss, Ross & Cullen all return to the XV while Cronin makes his Leinster debut.
    Fitzgerald shifted to the wing. Personally I'd have preferred Fitz at 12, McFadden 13 and Carr on the wing. Still a strong side

15: Rob Kearney
    14: David Kearney
    13: Eoin O'Malley
    12: Fergus McFadden
    11: Luke Fitzgerald
    10: Jonathan Sexton
    9: Isaac Boss

1: Heinke van der Merwe
    2: Sean Cronin
    3: Mike Ross
    4: Leo Cullen CAPTAIN
    5: Devin Toner
    6: Kevin McLaughlin
    7: Dominic Ryan
    8: Leo Auva'a

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Richardt Strauss
    17: Jack McGrath
    18: Nathan White
    19: Steven Sykes
    20: Rhys Ruddock
    21: John Cooney
    22: Ian Madigan
    23: Fionn Carr

How to tune in BBC alba on sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

EDINBURGH:

15: Chris Paterson
    14: Simon Webster
    13: Nick de Luca
    12: Matt Scott
    11: Tim Visser
    10: Harry Leonard
    9: Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN

1: Allan Jacobsen
    2: Ross Ford
    3: Geoff Cross
    4: Esteban Lozada
    5: Steve Turnbull
    6: Dave Denton
    7: Roddy Grant
    8: Stuart McInally

REPLACEMENTS:

16: Steven Lawrie
    17: Kyle Traynor
    18: Lewis Niven
    19: Grant Gilchrist
    20: Netani Talei
    21: Mike Blair
    22: Jim Thompson
    23: Tom Brown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Leinster's backline looks very interesting. Would agree with the OP, McFadden at 13 and Fitz at 12 would've been more interesting tho... Still, a pretty exciting backline. Certain players needing time in a blueshirt before the Munster game too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

.ak wrote: »
    Certain players needing time in a blueshirt before the Munster game too...

They will. Looks like Munster have named what could be their HEC side for their match with Aironi. Hopefully Leinster won't be caught cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Is Nacewa injured/rested? Strange if it's rested since nobody has played for 2 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

while Cronin makes his Leinster debut.

It's not actually his debut as he played in one of the preseason friendlies in which he was slightly disappointing so hopefully he can come in with a bit of form now

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

What's the craic with Isa? Just giving him rest i hope!

Interesting team as always. Wouldn't have started Ross, but perhaps that's to get Cronin used to scrummaging with the unit.

No Willis either, so he's obviously off the menu.

Should we read anything into McFadden coming back in at 12 I wonder?

Great to see D Kearney and Leo Auvaa start aswell.

This will be a test, and the battle of the backrow will be very important for me. We always struggle with Boss at SH against a team who can cause havoc at the breakdown, and a lot will rest on Ryan's shoulders to see how he can handle Grant.

One thing I will say though, that bench looks very inexperienced!

This Embra team is no pushover, we always struggle in Murrayfield, and the likes of Webster, Visser, Patterson and their front row always seem to cause us problems.

Our front row, backrow and 9 and 10 look better though, which is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

I reckon Isa's been rotated, not rested. There are other guys more in need of game time than Nacewa so they've been given the nod.

Would've like to see Fitzgerald staying at 12. Looks like Ruddock has fallen right down the pecking order in the back row battle. And interesting to see Cooney as sub scrum hald, now that Reddan & Boss are back he's preferred to Willis (if he's still there, that is).

WeeBushy wrote: »
    I reckon Isa's been rotated, not rested. There are other guys more in need of game time than Nacewa so they've been given the nod.

Would say the same, he'll be playing an inordinate amount of games in the next 13 weeks, and continuing through the 6N too.

It was mentioned in the press release that Willis is done now and will play AIL with Greystones. I assume he's going back into the family business again. Best of luck and thanks for some great games.

I'm sure Nacewa is just being given an opportunity to rest and relax for the weekend. We've a plethora of options in the back three so there's no need to play him every game and we can see how different combinations get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Disappointed to see Lukey back on the wing, would have liked him to get a few more games at 12, and glad to see cooney on the bench hope he gets some decent game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Anyone think that demotion of Fionn Carr to bench is significant? Is he not better than David Kearney?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

Lots of interesting calls, notably Toner ahead of Sykes. Surprised to see Ross in there considering he was flogged like a rented donkey at the World Cup, another week's rest would have done him good.

Where is Jennings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Anyone think that demotion of Fionn Carr to bench is significant? Is he not better than David Kearney?

I think Kearney has been in better form than Carr from what I have seen of them both this season. A few people have pointed it out already on here; Carr can go missing in game.

Nah. Carr gets a lot of press on the basis of his tries. If he's not getting the ball, he's anonymous. Being called off after 55 minutes against Connacht was the perfect example. Kearney is much better all round I feel. Offers more and will find work, getting into midfield and supporting and hitting rucks. Much better defender too I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Is Nacewa injured/rested? Strange if it's rested since nobody has played for 2 weeks.

Rotated I'd say. As has already been said we've a ridiculous number of options at back 3 so a bit of squad management is needed. No better man than Schmidt for that either.
    wixfjord wrote: »
    No Willis either, so he's obviously off the menu.

His contract wasn't extended. I know they wanted to keep him on, but it looks like he wasn't happy to be third choice behind Reddan and Boss, which I can understand. Unfortunate really, but he def did a job for us.
    Great to see D Kearney and Leo Auvaa start aswell.

Yeah, I think both really stepped up when the internationals were off. Auva'a seems to have become a bit of a crowd favourite too.
    One thing I will say though, that bench looks very inexperienced!

Do you think? Maybe from a Celtic league point of view. But Strauss, Ruddock, Carr and to a lesser extent Madigan have seen this all before, while White and Sykes aren't exactly new to the game either. McGrath and Cooney are the only ones I'd worry about tbh.

Other than a couple of good breaks in the first couple of games I don't think he's done a whole hell of a lot. I'd have D Kearney ahead of him any day at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I dont think anyones been demoted to be fair. Its mostly rotation, resting and getting WC players back.

Maybe Nacewa was given a couple of weeks off to go to NZ for the final or something. Goodness knows he deserves it.

The Munster game will tell us a lot about what our first 23 looks like. I would guess we have about 30 or so plausible candidates for the 23.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

It's a strong enough Edinburgh team actually, I think this will be a tough match but with the squad we have announced, I would expect Leinster to win.

Never heard of this guy who's playing at 10 for Edinburgh, anyone got any info?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

Looking forward to this game. Hopefully we will get a win but it will be tough. We have only won there once in the last 5 years.

I am surprised Ross and Sexton are starting after the WC.

My guess is Isa is still a little hung over from the result on Sunday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭chancer12

Good side, but like many other posters sooooo disappointed to see Luke back on the wing again. He has been ace at 12 and I think has a lot more to offer than McFadden in that position. Would have liked to have seen them as a 12/13 combination 'tho. Hope he reverts to the centre again which he needs to do if he wants an Irish jersey again given Kidneys obsessions and the fact that he regards Earls as no 1 winger as well as BODs successor, hapless twit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

yeah , good side - looking forward to seeing how ryan gets on after injury, and the talk of an Irish call up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Never heard of this guy who's playing at 10 for Edinburgh, anyone got any info?

19 years old making his first start after coming on as a sub previously. That bit I saw on Planet Rugby, I also heard that he had played football for Scotland at underage level also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

This will be tough game.

O'Malley hasn't done it this season, shame to see Fitz moved back to the wing.

I'd start Carr on the right in this, especially given Visser's pace.

Looking forward to getting back to Leinster rugby though!

[Jackass] wrote: »
    This will be tough game.

O'Malley hasn't done it this season, shame to see Fitz moved back to the wing.

I'd start Carr on the right in this, especially given Visser's pace.

Looking forward to getting back to Leinster rugby though!

I think you're being a bit harsh on O Malley there Jackass. He's just back from injury in fairness, and certainly not hitting the heights yet, but give it time, he was brilliant at times last year.

I also think Carr shouldn't be anywhere near starting for Leinster on current form. He's been very poor any time I've seen him, and Kearney has a big future ahead of him, and is also better defensively and a bigger man to combat Visser.

Did they try to convince Willis to stay on? He is only 27 in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

Did they try to convince Willis to stay on? He is only 27 in January.

By all accounts yes but he didn't fancy being 3rd choice and all the training and commitment that goes with it. I can completely understand, he'd retired from pro rugby but jumped at the chance to start for Leinster when offered. Leinster needed a dig out, he did a good job but he has business plans to concentrate on. Good luck and fair play to him for going out on a high.

True enough. Boss is only 32 in April so Leinster should at least 2 more seasons out of him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

Really looking forward to this match feels like the end of the world cup blues or something.

Just noticed that Leinster haven't received a yellow card yet this season.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Just noticed that Leinster haven't received a yellow card yet this season.

Jesus Christ. Munster have received 7.

Anyway, Leinster don't need to cheat. We win on pure style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Anyone heard anything on Jennings? Can't imagine him being left out completely, without a reason, considering he's barely played all season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Jesus Christ. Munster have received 7.

Anyway, Leinster don't need to cheat. We win on pure style.

We had the best discipline (in terms of cards) in the league last year and Munster had the worst. While 7-0 is a bit startling, it's not surprising that Munster have considerably more cards. Leinster are all about quick rucks, if it's secure or a lost cause, make up your mind quickly and get every out of there. Munster tend to fight a lot more at ruck time, which is where almost all of their cards come from.

As for the game, I refuse to question or second guess any calls that Schmidt makes. Embra in Embra is a tough match, let's hope we get the post WC part of the season off to a good start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭iamjenko

It is disappointing that Fitz isnt playing 12 yes, but he has stated several times that he doesn like playing in the centre. Of course he will play wherever he is told but there is no point sticking him somewhere he doesnt want to be when there are other options.

I think D Kearney is a bett option at the moment than Carr. He is a solid player, great step, plenty of gas and goes looking for work. I have been impressed with him this last two months!

tolosenc wrote: »
    We had the best discipline (in terms of cards) in the league last year and Munster had the worst. While 7-0 is a bit startling, it's not surprising that Munster have considerably more cards. Leinster are all about quick rucks, if it's secure or a lost cause, make up your mind quickly and get every out of there. Munster tend to fight a lot more at ruck time, which is where almost all of their cards come from.

As for the game, I refuse to question or second guess any calls that Schmidt makes. Embra in Embra is a tough match, let's hope we get the post WC part of the season off to a good start.

Sweet sig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Just about an hour to go now. Really looking forward to this now. There's that new added dimension with the internationals back which was lacking in the past weeks.

I have cautiously high hopes for Ryan this season so hoping he can stake a claim for the 7 shirt next week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Can anyone tell me how to tune in BBC Alba please? The codes I found through Google don't seem to be working.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

danthefan wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me how to tune in BBC Alba please? The codes I found through Google don't seem to be working.

These guys have two different ways of tuning it in

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75176744&postcount=32

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭ironingbored

danthefan wrote: »

Me too. I had it tuned in previously but now says "there is a technical fault with this channel".

Help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Have you tried - 11.954-H - 27500- 2/3 ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Got it, thanks all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,366 ✭✭✭ongarite

Any way we can switch commentary to English?

Jesus Kearney, you're gonna get shot on Monday for that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

The commentary is all in Gaelic :mad:

It's worse then TG4 as I can at least understand 20% of that.

Will ye stop bitching about the commentary? Just watch the damn game!

Close from Rob, great stuff from Kearney Jr in the buildup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

What was wrong with Rob there?? He's usually lightning.

That's the Dutch winger who caught him? His very quick too.
    Great move though.

Phew, that was close!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 joanofarse

Honey-ec wrote: »
    It's 10.818 V 22000 5/6 according to the post linked to on this thread.

Mary's RFC are showing it live, bar opens at 7.

I got it on this, thanks to the poster earlier in the thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭MoneyMilo

Hagz wrote: »
    What was wrong with Rob there?? He's usually lightning.

Really?? Not gonna be overly harsh on Rob there cuz Visser is a flyer but he's never been particularly fast . Blatant yellow card there too. Appalling miss of a knock on too. Ref is a joker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Who wants to describe the action for those of us snekilly watching the game in work?