Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

India's population growth

• 26-10-2011 9:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭

They are breeding like flies.India's population grew by 180 million in the last 10 years and by 2025 they are set to pass out China.

At least China have the one child rule to curb the growth.

Is it irresponsible carry on that their government are not trying to control their population?,especially in a country where you have slum dwellers and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

More curries for everyone.

Can't be a bad thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Is it irresponsible carry on that their government are not trying to control their population?,especially in a country where you have slum dwellers and all that.

What? You mean they have poor people? How vulgar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Thank you. cum again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭yuppies

They would want to get their act together... CHICKEN TIKKA MASALA LALALALAL/ apu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

instead of our government giving billions in overseas aid ( some of which went to Pakistan, Indias neighbour and a nuclear power ) we should send 'em condoms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭rockmongrel

This planet is going to have the best tech support in the universe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

Yes we must curb their growth or next thing you know they will be coming over here opening convenience stores and fine restaurants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

We are overdue a worldwide plague so i ain't that fussed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Google tells me they have a population of over 1 BILLION :eek: That couldn't be right could it? The country's a third of the size of the U.S!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

Indias Population grows...

GOODNESS GRACIOUS ME...

yeah sorry... I'll get me coat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

More curries for everyone.

Can't be a bad thing.

Bog roll shortage ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

We are overdue a worldwide plague so i ain't that fussed.

We already have one, it's called humanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

India poops the weight of the island of Ireland every week.Fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭yuppies

On a serious note, it is a bit annoying to think that all the good work the western world and china is doing for the world by reversing their population growth rates is just being negated by India.. arseholes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Time to send in the cowboys -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

yuppies wrote: »
    On a serious note, it is a bit annoying to think that all the good work the western world and china is doing for the world by reversing their population growth rates is just being negated by India.. arseholes!!

Good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,929 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

JAI HO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Damn sexy paprika.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

On the plus side you'll be able to get through to an unintelligible call-centre operative quicker than ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Spudmonkey

Poverty is so widespread in India, many families are large purely for the purpose of going out begging and robbing. Many of the poor kids there shouldn't even be brought into the world. They have a short life expectancy and the time they are actual alive is a pretty horrible existence.

India's population growth is a ticking-time-bomb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

Give every Indian man a condom and tell him to .....popidon

thank you. im here all week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

29% of Earth is land mass. Of that 29% we humans occupy less than 1% of that area.

The world being over populated, we don't have enough food is the biggest load of bull**** ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

:mad: SORT IT OUT INDIA FOR FECK'S SAKE!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭jonsnow

When are people ever going to learn.Democracy doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

whubee wrote: »
    Give every Indian man a condom and tell him to .....popidon

thank you. im here all week.

I didn't know the dole office was open this late.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭positron

I don't know how many of you know but Indian government is doing plenty to try and control the population growth there.

Have a look here if you are curious: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Family_planning_in_India

I wouldn't want India to follow Chinese policy of one child and kill the subsequent ones etc, but Indians are slowly but surely improving the economy, literacy rates and everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

At least China have the one child rule to curb the growth.

Jaysus someone talking about the one child rule like its a good thing, never mind the forced abortions and people killing their newborn daughters.

In many european countries the population is falling and without such draconian freedom eroding practices, in china its still going up slightly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

As they say in India...

Lob it in there bosserashajad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

eth0 wrote: »
    Jaysus someone talking about the one child rule like its a good thing, never mind the forced abortions and people killing their newborn daughters.

In many european countries the population is falling and without such draconian freedom eroding practices, in china its still going up slightly

The durty buggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

You do realise that many western countries are actively trying to increase their birth rate and India is trying to reduce its rate.

http://www.lifesitenews.com/news/germany-to-subsidize-ivf-in-bid-to-reverse-dwindling-birthrate/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_France

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/europe/4768644.stm

http://www.rickety.us/2009/01/the-falling-fertility-of-europe/

http://www.theglobalist.com/storyid.aspx?StoryId=8868

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

More soylent green me thinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 177 ✭✭LaFlammeRouge

Squall19 wrote: »
    29% of Earth is land mass. Of that 29% we humans occupy less than 1% of that area.

The world being over populated, we don't have enough food is the biggest load of bull**** ever.

1/3 of the Earth's land mass is desert. Then you have bog land and swamps, mountains, rain forests etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭twebb

Your facts may be dodgy but I appreciate your sentiment, we could in theory feed a much larger population.. however, when nine billion people ( projected world population in a very short time) start demanding better food, better shelter, a better standard of living, more space, cars, refridgerators, tvs, air con, ipods, xboxes etc etc ad infinitum... do you seriously believe those resources are there? or do you think we will all happily live together munching plain rice and veggies and singing happy songs.... I'm with the previous poster who suggested an imminent plague. Not wanting to sound like a conspiracy theorist but if I was CEO of a huge pharma company I would love the idea of a man made virus/ pathogen that only I/ my company had a drug for... anyone who could pay would pay... all intercontinental population problems resolved in matter of weeks..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Entertaining documentary. Worth a watch. The guy comes across as paranoid but he has some interesting theories.

twebb wrote: »
    Your facts may be dodgy but I appreciate your sentiment, we could in theory feed a much larger population.. however, when nine billion people ( projected world population in a very short time) start demanding better food, better shelter, a better standard of living, more space, cars, refridgerators, tvs, air con, ipods, xboxes etc etc ad infinitum... do you seriously believe those resources are there? or do you think we will all happily live together munching plain rice and veggies and singing happy songs.... I'm with the previous poster who suggested an imminent plague. Not wanting to sound like a conspiracy theorist but if I was CEO of a huge pharma company I would love the idea of a man made virus/ pathogen that only I/ my company had a drug for... anyone who could pay would pay... all intercontinental population problems resolved in matter of weeks..

Tis all downhill from here on. Global population is set to decrease after about 2030 too, they can all be given ipods and all that stuff once its designed to last and not planned obsolescense

I'm getting fairly tired of the "upgrade path" myself. Using a laptop with specs similar to Desktop PC's i've found in the bin. I get more of a thrill out of making something useful out of electronics people throw in the skip than going to the shop and buying new

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Had to share a house with a Indian before, never again, never trust a Indian, full of lies and very arrogant not to mention this fellow was trying to pay someone to marry him to get permanent visa in Ireland:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,109 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Had to share a house with a Indian before, never again, never trust a Indian, full of lies and very arrogant not to mention this fellow was trying to pay someone to marry him to get permanent visa in Ireland:mad:

So what your saying is don't trust 1.2 billion people because you had a bad experience with one of them. How about us Irish?

Gandhi was a hoor for the brown envelopes too.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    So what your saying is don't trust 1.2 billion people because you had a bad experience with one of them. How about us Irish?

Gandhi was a hoor for the brown envelopes too.

Yea well I don't trust the blody Chinese

Used to have this little old Chinese cleaning lady, did a great job cleaning and everything but as soon as I wasn't looking she'd be trying to kill me with fecking guns hidden inside her hoover and everything. Then one day she followed me to London when I went to visit the Queen and the security guards there finally got the better of her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

OP, have you seen how many people it takes to make a successful bollywood film? Even for that shot in trinity on the rte news a few weeks ago, they had to import over three million people so they'd have enough dancers. Blame the film industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,565 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

only if you believe that all wildlife and pristine wilderness should be populated and destroyed to fit more and more crop land...

Plenty of room in Russia;)

This is just one example of the many resources we are running out of.
    From Edward O. Wilson's "The Future of Life".
    "The current world production of grains, which provide most of humanity's calories, is about 2 billion tons annually. That is enough, in theory, to feed 10 billion East Indians, who eat primarily grains and very little meat by Western standards. But the same amount can support only about 2.5 billion Americans, who convert a large part of their grains into livestock and poultry."

The food doesn't just feed us, we like meat, which needs to be fed 10 times more energy than what we get from it. Every step up the food chain, only approximately 10% of the energy is carried on. So even if the plants are being grown and given straight to the animal, 90% of that energy goes nowhere. 10% gets passed to us when we eat it. So ultimately we're eating in one meal, part of an animal that had to be raised on far more food than the equivalent that we would eat if we went veggie. Add to that the fact that some people are eating two meats a day, and that's a lot of grain/grass/whatever that needs to be grown. And as other less developed countries become more developed, they're going to start eating more meat too.

As for the India question, I actually think that the fact they're thinking about the issue is good. Ireland isn't doing enough about the population problem in my opinion. Lots of people are still having four or five children, when even so much as an awareness of the full extent of the population problem would help. The mere idea that you should stop at 2 or 3 children being introduced to us would probably stop a few pregnancies. Even just a small sense of taboo about it would affect some people.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

In Holland, Poland, Germany etc they are encouraging people to make more babies, big advertising campaign behind it.

Something like 30% of the food we produce is dumped so I can't understand how you can say we don't we have enough food.

Every county in the world has some kind of food quota, tonnes and tonnes of perfectly good crops are dumped and destroyed every year to keep prices high and in demand.

Its necessary to stabilise international food prices and keep ous poor and them rich.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭LondonIrish90

They are due a big war with Pakistan around now.

War has always had significant effect on the global population.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

This is just one example of the many resources we are running out of.
    From Edward O. Wilson's "The Future of Life".
    "The current world production of grains, which provide most of humanity's calories, is about 2 billion tons annually. That is enough, in theory, to feed 10 billion East Indians, who eat primarily grains and very little meat by Western standards. But the same amount can support only about 2.5 billion Americans, who convert a large part of their grains into livestock and poultry."

The food doesn't just feed us, we like meat, which needs to be fed 10 times more energy than what we get from it. Every step up the food chain, only approximately 10% of the energy is carried on. So even if the plants are being grown and given straight to the animal, 90% of that energy goes nowhere. 10% gets passed to us when we eat it. So ultimately we're eating in one meal, part of an animal that had to be raised on far more food than the equivalent that we would eat if we went veggie. Add to that the fact that some people are eating two meats a day, and that's a lot of grain/grass/whatever that needs to be grown. And as other less developed countries become more developed, they're going to start eating more meat too.

As for the India question, I actually think that the fact they're thinking about the issue is good. Ireland isn't doing enough about the population problem in my opinion. Lots of people are still having four or five children, when even so much as an awareness of the full extent of the population problem would help. The mere idea that you should stop at 2 or 3 children being introduced to us would probably stop a few pregnancies. Even just a small sense of taboo about it would affect some people.
    Ireland's population density is tiny, there's no chance of us running out of room.

Dotrel wrote: »
    [

Entertaining documentary. Worth a watch. The guy comes across as paranoid but he has some interesting theories.

Thanks for the link.

Looks good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I live with an Indian should I be worried :eek:

Something like 30% of the food we produce is dumped so I can't understand how you can say we don't we have enough food.

Every county in the world has some kind of food quota, tonnes and tonnes of perfectly good crops are dumped and destroyed every year to keep prices high and in demand.

Its necessary to stabilise international food prices and keep ous poor and them rich.

Exactly, we're not exactly sharing it out. There is a huge amount of waste and just because it's being wasted it doesn't mean we don't desperately need it, it just means that someone is going to make a profit from wasting it.

Our current population is unsustainable, but our real problems are A) the ever increasing population growth rate and B) that the resources we do have are being severely mis-managed. Everything from food, to electricity, to paper, to waste products, need a huge change in management if we're going to provide for a population anywhere near our current one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Squall, stop posting nonsense. The global population is unsustainable. Fossil fuels are being depleted, and the direct impact of pollution from such a high population impacts the environment. It is dangerous for a country to have a population that high. China's population will be reduced over time - but India's will continue to climb at the expense of the entire globe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

With the rate their Giving birth we be all part of India theirs a big difference between India and China country size is the main one. India will end up running out of space hence the killing off of wild animals for areas for ppl to live