Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lower Drink Drive Limit

• 26-10-2011 12:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭

How does the guard know if someone is a 'professional driver'. I drive one day a week for a delivery company. Does that make me a professional driver 24/7 and not just when i'm working. If it does what a stupid discriminative system...

Likewise if i'm driving a commercial tax vehicle does that make me a professional driver? Don't want to hear about tax right and wrong, commercial use debate blah blah blah.

Just wondering?
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

20 milligrams (mg) for learner, newly qualified drivers (for a period of two years after passing the driving test) and professional drivers such as bus, goods vehicle and public service vehicle drivers (PSV)..

Seems pretty clear to me, if your driving a bus, goods vehicle or public service vehicle at the time of being stopped you will be subject to the lower limit.

If your in your private car and have a full license you will be subject to the higher limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

What I was wondering about this was:

You are judged on the lower limit 20 mcg if you dont have your license on you. Say if you are caught with 30mcg and no license, but then produce your license the next day are you judged on the 50mcg or still the 20?

In before rabble rabble rabble you should always have your license rabble rabble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

draffodx wrote: »
    Seems pretty clear to me, if your driving a bus, goods vehicle or public service vehicle at the time of being stopped you will be subject to the lower limit.

If your in your private car and have a full license you will be subject to the higher limit.

Sad news for all commercial drivers out there.
    Ah well, Let's see how the guards enforce it regarding say a commercial Landcruiser or golf...

I can see some guards saying look I could do you but, your under 50mg.
    So let me not see you at it again....

We will have to wait and see...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

I think its very simple.. if you want a drink, don't drive (even the infamous "ah sure, I'll just have the one").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

ciarsd wrote: »
    I think its very simple.. if you want a drink, don't drive (even the infamous "ah sure, I'll just have the one").

I have no intention to, would not drive even after one!
    It would be more the morning after that would concern most people I think....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

There's a really simple thing to do in order to avoid having to worry about this, which is don't have any drink at all of you're driving. I don't know why so many people are so worried. Is it that hard to have a bit of self restraint?
    I like a few pints in the pub but I also like having a driving licence. Sure it would be nice to be able to have a drink whenever you want and not to have to worry about getting somewhere to stay/getting a taxi/having a designated driver but all you need is some self control and a bit of planning. So many people seem to have a huge problem with the idea that driving after alcohol isn't ok... it's an immature and selfish attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

If you're worried about the morning after, don't get ratarsed the night before!

I'm all for the new rules.

If you don't have your licence on you, you can't prove to the Garda that you are not a learner so it's reasonable to take the most extreme view. I'm not sure you're entitled to be prosecuted against the higher limit after you produce it, given that not having it on you is an offence anyway.

For commercial vehicles: if the vehicle is carrying livery/signage for a company, then it's a safe assumption IMO that you're driving professionally, whether you're on duty or not. If it's unmarked, then I'd think it's up to you to prove you're not a professional driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

_Conrad_ wrote: »
    There's a really simple thing to do in order to avoid having to worry about this, which is don't have any drink at all of you're driving. I don't know why so many people are so worried. Is it that hard to have a bit of self restraint?
    I like a few pints in the pub but I also like having a driving licence. Sure it would be nice to be able to have a drink whenever you want and not to have to worry about getting somewhere to stay/getting a taxi/having a designated driver but all you need is some self control and a bit of planning. So many people seem to have a huge problem with the idea that driving after alcohol isn't ok... it's an immature and selfish attitude.
    Driving after having had some alcohol is ok, driving after having had excess alcohol is not. From what I can gather, the law is already more restrictive than is justified by the statistics. I think it's perfectly reasonable for people to ask questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

what happens if you get stopped driving a truck but only have a car license and you are between the two limits?:rolleyes:

crazy idea...you are either pissed or not...Im with Conrad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭_Conrad_

Anan1 wrote: »
    Driving after having had some alcohol is ok, driving after having had excess alcohol is not. From what I can gather, the law is already more restrictive than is justified by the statistics. I think it's perfectly reasonable for people to ask questions.

The mentality behind "ah sure one or two pints will be grand" is why you shouldn't be allowed to have any, because it's all too easy for lazy, weak minded people to slip into saying, "sure i've only had two another one couldn't be too bad." and start letting themselves away with more and more.

If we're asking questions how about this one? Is it really so important that you get to have that one drink? Will it ruin your day not to have a pint or a glass of wine? If it would then anyone who answered yes should take a look at themselves and consider whether or not they're dependent on alcohol. Either that or they feel, and give into some kind of peer pressure/societal pressure/expectations that makes them feel like they simply must drink.

I don't know why it's so hard for people to just say no I'm driving I won't have one. There really seems to be a sick culture of reliance on alcohol built/bred into the people of this country.

Maybe people want to argue about the limits, but my point still stands, no drink before driving = no worries about the limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

The mentality behind "ah sure one or two pints will be grand" is why you shouldn't be allowed to have any, because it's all too easy for lazy, weak minded people to slip into saying, "sure i've only had two another one couldn't be too bad." and start letting themselves away with more and more.

If we're asking questions how about this one? Is it really so important that you get to have that one drink? Will it ruin your day not to have a pint or a glass of wine? If it would then anyone who answered yes should take a look at themselves and consider whether or not they're dependent on alcohol. Either that or they feel, and give into some kind of peer pressure/societal pressure/expectations that makes them feel like they simply must drink.

I don't know why it's so hard for people to just say no I'm driving I won't have one. There really seems to be a sick culture of reliance on alcohol built/bred into the people of this country.

Maybe people want to argue about the limits, but my point still stands, no drink before driving = no worries about the limit.
    Hang on a minute. I'm under the impression that research has proven that one drink before driving will not endanger anyone. It's safe, and it's legal - on what grounds would you stop me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Anan1 wrote: »
    Hang on a minute. I'm under the impression that research has proven that one drink before driving will not endanger anyone. It's safe, and it's legal - on what grounds would you stop me?

Link?

A lot depends on what that one drink is, how long you wait before driving, your own metabolism, etc.

Personally, if I had one glass of weissbier (500ml) I'd be unfit to drive for at least 2-3 hours after.

Alcohol is a drug, its effects impair your ability to control machinery so why take the chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

ciarsd wrote: »
    Actually, it's more of a case of; if you want a drink, know how long it'll take to get out of your system. If you have three pints, go home, sleep for 10 hours, get pulled over, you may still get done for drink driving if your body doesn't handle drink "like everyone else".
    If we're asking questions how about this one? Is it really so important that you get to have that one drink? Will it ruin your day not to have a pint or a glass of wine?
    The way I look at is that if I go drinking spirits, then goto sleep for 10 hours, and not drive for 5 hours after I wake up, I'm pretty sure the alcohol content in my blood is under the limit under the current law. If I have 5 bottles of cider or less, after 8 hours of sleep I'll be below the legal amount. So the limit is of interest to me in regards to how long I have to wait before I can drive after drinking the day before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Chimaera wrote: »
    Link?

A lot depends on what that one drink is, how long you wait before driving, your own metabolism, etc.

Personally, if I had one glass of weissbier (500ml) I'd be unfit to drive for at least 2-3 hours after.

You are one cheap date!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭PaddyTheNth

Delta Kilo wrote: »
    What I was wondering about this was:

You are judged on the lower limit 20 mcg if you dont have your license on you. Say if you are caught with 30mcg and no license, but then produce your license the next day are you judged on the 50mcg or still the 20?

In before rabble rabble rabble you should always have your license rabble rabble
    From http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2011/Public-information-campaign-for-new-reduced-drink-drive-limits-launched/

All drivers are reminded that it is a legal requirement to carry a valid driving licence at all times when driving. If a driver cannot produce his or her driving licence when required to undergo a preliminary breath test, the lower limit of 20 mg will apply to that driver, until such time as the driver produces a valid driving licence.

So you'll be assessed the same as a learner driver if you don't have a license on you for the roadside test. However as I understand it it'll be the same scenario as not being able to produce a license currently - if you subsequently produce a full license within the specified time after being tested your prosecution/not will be based on 50mg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Theanswers wrote: »
    Sad news for all commercial drivers out there.
    Ah well, Let's see how the guards enforce it regarding say a commercial Landcruiser or golf...

I can see some guards saying look I could do you but, your under 50mg.
    So let me not see you at it again....

We will have to wait and see...

I think you didn't even read what you were quoting and answering for.

Professional drivers in that case mean truck and bus drivers.

If you are driving a truck or bus then you are liable for lower limit.
    Otherwise it's higher limit that applies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Limerick Bandit

corktina wrote: »
    what happens if you get stopped driving a truck but only have a car license and you are between the two limits?:rolleyes:

crazy idea...you are either pissed or not...Im with Conrad...

:rolleyes: your going to get banned off the road for driving a truck with no license and no insurance anyway so the new limits are the least of your worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Hifiman

Link?

Alcohol is a drug, its effects impair your ability to control machinery so why take the chance?

An interesting study done in Germany found that stronger enforcement of the 80mg limit would be more effective than enforcing the lower limit which in the Irish context means Gardai wasting a lot of time on lower risk offenders allowing higher risk offenders to escape detetction.

http://www.druglibrary.org/schaffer/Misc/driving/s9p2.htm

Thus, if the legal limit for DUI in Germany (0.08%) was an effective deterrant against driving with a higher BAC, this would mean that nearly everything that could be done to prevent alcohol-related accidents would have been accomplished. Thus, countermeasures directed at those persons driving at BACs higher than 0.08% can be expected to be most effective in reducing the number of accidents attributable to the effects of alcohol. In contrast, measures directed at drivers with BACs less than 0.08% cannot be very effective..... Considering the incidence of DUI, it was argued that effective countermeasures that substantially reduce the number of accidents attributable to the effects of alcohol should be directed towards drivers with BACs greater than 0.08%. This also implies that simply changing the legal DUI limit from 0.08% to 0.05% is insufficient with respect to alcohol-induced accidents

CiniO wrote: »

what about taxi drivers?

If you're worried about the morning after, don't get ratarsed the night before!

You don't need to get ratarsed.
    3 pints late in the evening, and early morning you can easily be over the lower limit (20mg/100ml of blood)

Hifiman wrote: »
    An interesting study done in Germany found that stronger enforcement of the 80mg limit would be more effective than enforcing the lower limit which in the Irish context means Gardai wasting a lot of time on lower risk offenders allowing higher risk offenders to escape detetction.

http://www.druglibrary.org/schaffer/Misc/driving/s9p2.htm

Thus, if the legal limit for DUI in Germany (0.08%) was an effective deterrant against driving with a higher BAC, this would mean that nearly everything that could be done to prevent alcohol-related accidents would have been accomplished. Thus, countermeasures directed at those persons driving at BACs higher than 0.08% can be expected to be most effective in reducing the number of accidents attributable to the effects of alcohol. In contrast, measures directed at drivers with BACs less than 0.08% cannot be very effective..... Considering the incidence of DUI, it was argued that effective countermeasures that substantially reduce the number of accidents attributable to the effects of alcohol should be directed towards drivers with BACs greater than 0.08%. This also implies that simply changing the legal DUI limit from 0.08% to 0.05% is insufficient with respect to alcohol-induced accidents

Another study which strongly suggests one or two drinks doesn't have any effect on driving ability - this link taken from the RSA site!!

http://www.druglibrary.org/schaffer/Misc/driving/s22p4.htm

The results of this study which indicate no impairment after an alcohol intake producing a BAC of less than 50 mg%mL, confirm similar results by many othe authors (Pickworth et al. 1992, Richter and Hobi 1979, Maylor et al. 1987, Mongrain and Standing 1989). These observations also justify the lack of significant differences between the tolerant and non-tolerant groups. Lastly, the negative influence of alcohol on driving ability at BACs under 50 mg% can only be excluded after assessment of experimental results from tests involving combined laboratory tests, driving simulator and real driving tests

what about taxi drivers?

OK I wasn't precise enough.
    Of course lower limit applies to taxi drivers as well.
    My point was, that it doesn't apply to people who drive as part of their work if they are driving anything else than truck and bus, don't do taxi driving and have full licence for over 2 years.

To clarify exactly legislation applies lower limit (20mg) to specified person. Here's definition.

“specified person” means a person who at the time of an alleged offence under section 4 or 5

(a) is the holder of a learner permit,

(b) holds his or her first driving licence, for a period not exceeding 2 years from its date of issue,

(c) is the holder of a driving licence licensing the holder to drive a vehicle in the category C, C1, D, D1, EB, EC, EC1, ED, ED1 and W while driving, attempting to drive or being in charge of such a vehicle,

(d) is the holder of a licence to drive a small public service vehicle granted under section 34 of the Taxi Regulation Act 2003 or section 82 of the Principal Act or a person purporting to be such a holder while driving, attempting to drive or being in charge of such a vehicle, when the vehicle is being used in the course of business,

(e) does not hold, at the time or, at any time within the period of 5 years prior to the commission, of the alleged offence a driving licence for the time being having effect and licensing the person to drive a vehicle of the category concerned, or

(f) is deemed under section 8 to be a specified person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭Mikros

what about taxi drivers?

Just to clear any confusion around the definition of a professional driver - straight from the 2010 Road Traffic Act:

specified person” means

(b) holds his or her first driving licence, for a period not exceeding 2 years from its date of issue,

(c) is the holder of a driving licence licensing the holder to drive a vehicle in the category C, C1, D, D1, EB, EC, EC1, ED, ED1 and W while driving, attempting to drive or being in charge of such a vehicle,

(d) is the holder of a licence to drive a small public service vehicle granted under section 34 of the Taxi Regulation Act 2003 or section 82 of the Principal Act or a person purporting to be such a holder while driving, attempting to drive or being in charge of such a vehicle, when the vehicle is being used in the course of business,

(e) does not hold, at the time or, at any time within the period of 5 years prior to the commission, of the alleged offence a driving licence for the time being having effect and licensing the person to drive a vehicle of the category concerned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

what about taxi drivers?

It is all in the Act.

“specified person” means a person who at the time of an alleged offence under section 4 or 5 —

(e) does not hold, at the time or, at any time within the period of 5 years prior to the commission, of the alleged offence a driving licence for the time being having effect and licensing the person to drive a vehicle of the category concerned, or

(f) is deemed under section 8 to be a specified person.

(2) Where a person holds a driving licence referred to in paragraph (c) or (d) of the definition of “specified person” in subsection (1) it is presumed, until the contrary is shown, that the person was driving at the time of the alleged offence a vehicle of the category concerned or a small public service vehicle being used in the course of business.

From http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2011/Public-information-campaign-for-new-reduced-drink-drive-limits-launched/

All drivers are reminded that it is a legal requirement to carry a valid driving licence at all times when driving. If a driver cannot produce his or her driving licence when required to undergo a preliminary breath test, the lower limit of 20 mg will apply to that driver, until such time as the driver produces a valid driving licence.

So you'll be assessed the same as a learner driver if you don't have a license on you for the roadside test. However as I understand it it'll be the same scenario as not being able to produce a license currently - if you subsequently produce a full license within the specified time after being tested your prosecution/not will be based on 50mg.

Correct.
    Here's a part of legislation expalining it in details.
    8.— (1) Where a person who is in charge of a mechanically propelled vehicle is required by a member of the Garda Síochána under section 9 or 10 to provide a specimen of his or her breath and the person is unable to produce and present, at the demand of the member under section 40 of the Principal Act, to the member a driving licence held by the person, the person is deemed to be a specified person for the purposes of section 4 or 5 , as the case may be, where an apparatus for indicating the presence of alcohol in the breath indicates the presence of more than 9 microgrammes of alcohol per 100 millilitres of breath present in the body of the person.

(2) A person referred to in subsection (1) shall be dealt with accordingly under this Part, until such time as the person produces and presents, within 10 days of the requirement, to the member or another member of the Garda Síochána, at a Garda Síochána station nominated by the person, a driving licence held by the person or is able within that period to produce and present evidence that he or she holds a driving licence.

(3) Where a person on foot of a requirement by a member of the Garda Síochána under a provision referred to in subsection (1) to provide a specimen of his or her breath is required under section 40 of the Principal Act to produce in accordance with subsection (2) a driving licence or learner permit or evidence that he or she holds such and the person fails to produce it or produces it but fails to permit the member to whom it is produced to read it and is charged with committing an offence under section 40 of the Principal Act, section 1(1) of the Probation of Offenders Act 1907 does not apply to the offence.

(4) Where a person is tried for committing an offence under section 4 or 5 for having as a specified person exceeded a concentration of alcohol referred to in the section concerned applicable to a specified person and it is shown to the court that the person at the time of the alleged offence was not a specified person, the court shall—

(a) where the person has produced and presented his or her driving licence to a member of the Garda Síochána under section 40 of the Principal Act at the demand under that section of the member at the time of the alleged offence or produced the licence or evidence of holding such in accordance with subsection (2) or the vehicle concerned was not a vehicle referred to in paragraph (c) or (d) of the definition of “specified person” in section 3 (1) and has exceeded the corresponding higher concentration of alcohol referred to in the section concerned applicable to a person who is not a specified person, try the person, accordingly, in relation to exceeding that second-mentioned concentration of alcohol and amend the summons in relation to the charge, or

(b) where the person did not so produce and present his or her driving licence or evidence of holding such, try the person accordingly as a specified person in relation to exceeding the concentration of alcohol specified in the summons.

(5) In this section “driving licence” means a driving licence (other than a driving licence referred to in paragraph (c) or (d) of the definition of “specified person” in section 3 (1)) having effect and licensing the person to drive the vehicle used on the occasion in question.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2010/en/act/pub/0025/print.html

The actual question here is - when do all these regulation come in force?

You don't need to get ratarsed.
    3 pints late in the evening, and early morning you can easily be over the lower limit (20mg/100ml of blood)

Highly unlikely. If you had three pints starting at say, 10.30pm and finishing your last sip at 12.30am - than you would be completely clear of alcohol at about 4.30am (three pints = six standard drinks) It takes approx one hour for the average person to clear one standard drink from your system. The key point most people miss is that you start processing/eliminating the alcohol from your system from the time you start drinking.

The actual question here is - what do all these regulation come in force?

I have not seen the SI yet but http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/2011/Public-information-campaign-for-new-reduced-drink-drive-limits-launched/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

not correct. they were talking about this after the angelus lastnight and there is a lower limit for professional drivers i.e. the truck and bus drivers so it is a lower limit. so not all 2 people will be treated the same - different limits will apply.

Hifiman wrote: »
    Highly unlikely. If you had three pints starting at say, 10.30pm and finishing your last sip at 12.30am - than you would be completely clear of alcohol at about 4.30am (three pints = six standard drinks) It takes approx one hour for the average person to clear one standard drink from your system. The key point most people miss is that you start processing/eliminating the alcohol from your system from the time you start drinking.

it's still not really useful because if i want to have 4 pints i can't really wait around the pub until 4.30 am until i am ready to drive.

tunedout wrote: »
    not correct. they were talking about this after the angelus lastnight and there is a lower limit for professional drivers i.e. the truck and bus drivers so it is a lower limit. so not all 2 people will be treated the same - different limits will apply.

You must hold the relevant licence and be driving the relevant vehicle. If you do not have a licence for the vehicle you are driving thèn the lower limits apply.

yes exactly. but you can't just have a category a license and category c licence and show them that licence and have that limit applied to you. but yes otherwise, correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

I always wince when I see this particular topic. Our current old limits are/were amoung the highest in europe and the new limit will bring us in line with most modern states and their limits.

We of course cannot have a zero limit for practical reasons but we also cannot take into account for different body types and a persons perceived tolerance for alcohol so low limits must be set.

For those worried about 'the next morning' if you feel ropey the next day well that has to effect your driving. If as on occasion we all do, wake up after one or two hours of drunken unconsiousness and have no hangover yet, well then you are in all probability still over the limit and should not even think about driving. Plan accordingly and the next day shouldn't be a worry.

I think most of us who on a sunday go out for a match and have 4 or 5 pints followed by a take away head home before midnight and sleep!!! will be all right. If you go mad and finish in coppers at 3 and leave for work at 6 well your just asking for trouble and the difference between the old and new limits doesn't really come in to it.

Is it that people feel hard done by that on occasion they might have to spend an evening watching others drinks while they remain sober :eek: or that they are afraid to admit that they need to drink to feel at ease. I still don't quite understand the problem with having a water or coke rather than a pint, hell even non-alcohol beers taste alright these days or is the effects (which also affect your driving) of the 'pint' that people really miss.

At a rough non scientific measurment of 2 hours for one pint, having 4 pints starting at say 9 at night will mean those 4 pints will have motabilised out of your system by roughly 5 in the morning so for someone to claim you would be in trouble after only 3 pints is just scare mongering ala the irish indo and their mouthwash piece.

yes exactly. but you can't just have a category a license and category c licence and show them that licence and have that limit applied to you. but yes otherwise, correct.

Im sorry I don't understand.

for example if you are driving a truck you can't show them your car license and avail of the higher limit. i think anyway. I might be wrong but i would be sure enough.

so anyone driving a car and towing a trailer is subject to the lower limit, I wouldn't have expected that.

no they're still driving a car it wouldn't matter with a trailer or not.

for example if you are driving a truck you can't show them your car license and avail of the higher limit. i think anyway. I might be wrong but i would be sure enough.

That is in the act if you are driving a truck and show a licence for a car then the lower limit will apply as you do not have a valid licence for the vehicle you are driving.

Not anyone.
    Only someone driving a car with trailer which is too heavy to be towed on B licence and requires EB licence.

Would if trailer would exceed weight limits for B licence and EB would be required.

That is in the act if you are driving a truck and show a licence for a car then the lower limit will apply as you do not have a valid licence for the vehicle you are driving.
    That's correct.

Incorrect a car and trailer is EB as set out in the act.

Looks like this bank holiday weekend according to above.

Not a word though in irishstatutebook.ie about it.

Which act?
    Could you quote that?

i have a license to pull a trailer anyway so it won't matter for me. they can't apply the EB to you then without the trailer.

Isn't there a 750kg allowance before you need the E + B

Looks like this bank holiday weekend according to above.

Not a word though in irishstatutebook.ie about it.

Irish statute book is at least 3 months behind. Would have to check http://www.irisoifigiuil.ie/

What is not correct?
    I wrote exactly the same as you

Which act?
    Could you quote that?

Road traffic act 2010 section 3 has been quoted at least twice in this thread.

Irish statute book is at least 3 months behind. Would have to check http://www.irisoifigiuil.ie/

i was reading that gulfoil website earlier and i couldn't find the applicability for trailers or the act. do you have the exact link?