Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baz Extreme Worlds - Bodybuilding

• 24-10-2011 3:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10

Seen a few adds on during last week about tonights show on RTE2 at 22.20. Its about Baz following 2 bodybuilders (1 male and 1 female) on their preperation leading up to the NABBA show 3 weeks ago. Didn't say who the bodybuilders were. Looks promising :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,183 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

It might be if Baz wasn't so painful to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

Christ he's awful alright, makes ya wonder about the powers that be in RTE when they go "hmmm, I think he should have his own TV show". Thing is... I'll probly still watch it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Aly Dowling is going to be featured on it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Hawk Wing 2

a painful gob****e to try and endure watching a programme with him presenting it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭DL Saint

g'em wrote: »
    Aly Dowling is going to be featured on it anyway.
    Niall Kinsella is also going to be featured on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Not a Baz fan myself, but I think the programme treated the subject and participants with respect and it was decent exposure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Fiddy chicken fillets a week, a brazillion eggs and still can buy jeans that fit. Genius IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭The Guvnor

No idea who or what Baz is but he did not take the p1ss and seemed to treat the whole thing seriously so that is a good sign for the show being decent, imo.

I had not seen the show yet despite the time of this post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,005 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

is that just a carbon copy of Louis Theroux's Weird Weekends?

Obviously though, way shíttier with Baz..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭cmyk

Very disappointing show. Offered little to sway those who belittle it as a 'sport' any reason to change their minds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

i feel tiny

Tigger wrote: »
    i feel tiny

But at least you're bouncy, trouncy, flouncy and pouncy.

I missed it?:eek:

I could have sworn it was on Tuesday?

Seems from the comments I was overly ambitious about it so?

RTE Player so!

I just watched that now and IMO it was good.

I don't think it made fun of BB'ers and Baz came across fine imo.

It was a little bit short and no happy ending with Niall coming second (fair result though).

It was a pretty accurate account or as accurate as you are going to get on TV.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

Apart from just wanting to strangle Baz for existing it seemed pretty good. I'm not really into BB but have a vague idea of what's involved, didn't think he tried to portray it as a freakshow or anything and he seemed to be genuinely impressed by the work ethic etc. Congrats to Aly, she seemed to be training and cutting like a demon for the last few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

Tried looking for the results of RIBBF 2011 and couldnt find anythin, not even a friggin homepage like! Am I missin somethin here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

O.P.H wrote: »
    Tried looking for the results of RIBBF 2011 and couldnt find anythin, not even a friggin homepage like! Am I missin somethin here?

There is a Bebo page for the RIBBF with all the results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭The Davestator

I like Baz:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

I just watched this, and apart from my jaw dropping regularly (OMG the size of that guy Niall's arms) I thought it was interesting.

Given how dedicated the contestents are and how much training and work goes into their preparation, I think the shows themselves are the real let down. They cheapen all the effort that goes into what they do, and turn it into a cheesy pagent-like glitter-fest of a stage show. Though don't ask me what the alternative is ...

Glowing wrote: »
    I just watched this, and apart from my jaw dropping regularly (OMG the size of that guy Niall's arms) I thought it was interesting.

Given how dedicated the contestents are and how much training and work goes into their preparation, I think the shows themselves are the real let down. They cheapen all the effort that goes into what they do, and turn it into a cheesy pagent-like glitter-fest of a stage show. Though don't ask me what the alternative is ...
    Hi Glowing,

I was just wondering have you ever been to a Bodybuilding comp or are you just going by what you saw on the programme?

I have been to quite a few of these comps, both pre-judging and evening show and besides the womens class which is all glitsy and flash, the competitions are very professionaly done with competitors doing comparisons, mandatory poses, their routine and a final posedown. You get to see all the sheer effort these guys put in, you get to see who has nailed there conditioning and you get to see which competitor wants it the most! Granted Baz's programme did not explain all this very well though.

Imo the programme was too short and could have been 50 minutes long (instead of 25) if they had gone into more detail about the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

No I've never been to a show, just judging by the one I saw in the program! (there was a lot of glitter in fairness! :)) I agree the show could have been way longer, sure it was hardly more than an introduction. It'd be interesting to see a more 'seriously' produced documentary, just out of pure curiosity ...

DL Saint wrote: »
    Imo the programme was too short and could have been 50 minutes long (instead of 25) if they had gone into more detail about the sport.

I gave this a second chance and it wasn't as bad the second time, but they still could have done a much better job. If an independent film maker had come to RTE with that they'd have been given no funding which is the really frustrating thing but that's a separate rant. It could have been a bit better too if they'd cut the amount of "Wow, look at you" out of the script and filled the space with more interesting questions...

@glowing, there's an independent small budget film called 'I want to look like that guy' that charts a journey to the stage that's actually pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,391 ✭✭✭COH

If anyone is interested there will be a documentary done by an independent film maker about Tommy Staunton and his prep for the NABBA Universe 5 years ago showing soon in the Irish Film Institute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

Epic. Any idea what it's called?

COH wrote: »
    If anyone is interested there will be a documentary done by an independent film maker about Tommy Staunton and his prep for the NABBA Universe 5 years ago showing soon in the Irish Film Institute
    Hi COH,

Any idea what dates this is on? Also is that the IFI in Dublin City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭alexsmith

was a fairly **** programme,didnt really show much about the sport in general

the sacrifice of training and dieting 24/7 is unreal.its not like soccer where you can eat almost anything you want,play a match,do some training then go home

bodybuilding is 24/7,your next meal,your next rep.

mind you your man niall kinsella nailed his conditioning and was huge,he got shafted

alexsmith wrote: »
    mind you your man niall kinsella nailed his conditioning and was huge,he got shafted

Agreed, unfortunately number 42 didn't.

Picture1-1.png

Yeah IFI Dublin.

Don't know what its called, or when its on. it was supposed to be shown last friday but dates got mixed up... when I have the details ill post them up but having trained with him on a few occassions and seen what he puts himself through off season and pre contest i can guarantee itll be good!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

cmyk wrote: »
    Agreed, unfortunately number 42 didn't.

Picture1-1.png

What the f*Ck.... did he forget to diet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

Just watched this now, I'm not a fan of Baz but in fairness he was genuinely in awe of Niall and Aly. So was I in fairness. I've nothing but respect and admiration for them or anyone who shows such dedication for a sport they love. Very impressive people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

That Baz guy is nearly as annoying as hector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

That Baz guy is nearly as annoying as hector.

It's neck and neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Kev M

Hanley wrote: »

It would appear so. But his redeeming move was to follow 3 or 4 guys all posing horribly to the gladiator soundtrack with a tender choreographed routine to MJ's timeless classic 'you are not alone'. The place went so quiet you could of heard a penny drop. Absolute hero.

Kev M wrote: »
    It would appear so. But his redeeming move was to follow 3 or 4 guys all posing horribly to the gladiator soundtrack with a tender choreographed routine to MJ's timeless classic 'you are not alone'. The place went so quiet you could of heard a penny drop. Absolute hero.
    Ye was very quiet, except for the few drunken eejits at the bar laughing at him and booing him, I think the only reason they weren't asked to leave is because they appeared to be drinking the bar dry...

Kev M wrote: »
    Hanley wrote: »

Did anyone record it and throw it on YouTube?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Keith1979

Did anyone record it and throw it on YouTube?

There seems to be a few clips on youtube from Baz extreme Worlds. Just type in Niall Kinsella. Niall also just competed in the NABBA Universe the last weekend. He went over with the Irish team. He placed 8th out of 24 in his class. Not a bad acheivement for his first Universe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOrryvwvnfw

Keith1979 wrote: »
    There seems to be a few clips on youtube from Baz extreme Worlds. Just type in Niall Kinsella. Niall also just competed in the NABBA Universe the last weekend. He went over with the Irish team. He placed 8th out of 24 in his class. Not a bad acheivement for his first Universe.

I meant the asian lad who forgot to diet doing his routine to MJ.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 318 ✭✭chris139ryan

have to go and see this

More details on the name and times for the tommy staunton film.

The Guvnor wrote: »
    Were you missing a link or trying to ask a question here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

The Guvnor wrote: »

http://www.mefeedia.com/watch/44115161

dave80 wrote: »

^^ 'DEADLIFT' ^^

Cheers for the link there. Still dont know when they are showing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭dave80

^^ 'DEADLIFT' ^^

Cheers for the link there. Still dont know when they are showing it.

i heard it might be in the new year