Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

THURSDAY THE 27th/OCTOBER > AND THE NEXT PRESIDENT OF IRELAND IS . . .

• 24-10-2011 11:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭

All the presidential polls are pointing to the next president of Ireland being either Sean Gallagher or Michael D Higgins, but who will you back in this two horse race? (There are countless other polls with all seven candidates listed, so for a change I thought I'd narrow it down to the Winner and the 2nd place candidate).

Please give reasons why you would vote for either, or neither of the top two.

Who will you vote for on Thursday the 27th/ Oct. 131 votes

Sean Gallagher.
    0% 0 votes
    Michael D. Higgins.
    29% 38 votes
    *Neither of the above.
    70% 93 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 The Cookie Monster

Im voting Gallagher because hes topping all the polls, hes a celebrity:eek: and us irish are a really stupid bunch altogether. We deserve everything we get.............................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Bullcrap pole, should be taken down, this is not a 2 horse race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Although most of the stuff written about Sean Gallagher is absurd I am edging towards Higgins as he is just more suitable for this ceremonial role. Still not convinced though as he is 'establishment' to the core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

Then vote 'neither'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

What? so who is going bridge the gap & overtake the top two?

LordSutch wrote: »
    What? so who is going bridge the gap & overtake the top two?

besides the rubbish polls brought out by our west brit papers Mc Guinness & Michael D are neck on neck, with Gallagher on what the papers are making out the be Mc Guinnesses share of the Votes.

Breaking News had McG at Number 1, The Journal had McG at number 1, Our own polls on boards put him at No1/No.2 .
    Gallaghers Vote is being pushed by the papers, I really hope people don't buy into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

besides the rubbish polls brought out by our west brit papers Mc Guinness & Michael D are neck on neck, with Gallagher on what the papers are making out the be Mc Guinnesses share of the Votes.

Breaking News had McG at Number 1, The Journal had McG at number 1, Our own polls on boards put him at No1/No.2 .
    Gallaghers Vote is being pushed by the papers, I really hope people don't buy into it.

How many of the polls were internet polls though? Unsurprisingly McGuinness always does well in those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

Gallagher because he is a wonderful speaker who can inspire people. Higgins is the same when he gets going but the problem is that he doesn't stopping then. Also his age is a factor.

Absolutely outraged at the Irish Independent for constantly digging up stuff about Gallagher but not doing the same about of investigation into Higgins. All I would have liked was the same amount for both.

Higgins is against the US as far as I know. Not very good for bringing in US investment here. Also he was a supporter of Arafat I think. If we say these are true, and I'm open to correction, I don't want to get into an argument about them, but if they are true, the media should write about them and inform people instead of being totally against Gallagher.

Just listening to the feedback on Newstalk after this morning's debate, No change really, apparanety all the feedback to Newstalk showed that none of the candidates dropped the ball, & that people who phoned in have already made up their minds! Ergo, Gallagher still in the lead by a fair margin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

No matter how many polls you put up, it won't change the fact that MMG has a good chance of getting 2nd place to higgins, biased but unsurprising post by LordSutch.

I doubt it. MMG isn't transfer friendly. I dont think gallagher will collect a lot of transfers either. Higgins is more transfer friendly and will do well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,766 ✭✭✭✭maccored

How many of the polls were internet polls though? Unsurprisingly McGuinness always does well in those.

Why is it unsurprising? Do only shinners only know how to use the interwebs (and not any supporters of the other candidates)? Do you really believe all that guff that SF get their supporters online and make them vote in online polls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭McTigs

Absolutely outraged at the Irish Independent for constantly digging up stuff about Gallagher but not doing the same about of investigation into Higgins. All I would have liked was the same amount for both.
    maybe they did and found nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Dj Stiggie

Higgins is against the US as far as I know. Not very good for bringing in US investment here. Also he was a supporter of Arafat I think. If we say these are true, and I'm open to correction, I don't want to get into an argument about them, but if they are true, the media should write about them and inform people instead of being totally against Gallagher.

Eh, Irish politicians have always been more vocally in favour of Palestine than most Western countries.

Cowen visited Arafat in 2001, Ahern praised him after his death, and many other politicians praised and supported him and the PLO over the years. It's hardly headlining news.

Look under the section 'Irish Politicans' http://markhumphrys.com/irish.left.israel.html

As to the OP, I'll be giving Higgins my number 2, my number 1 probably won't get in, but I'm happy enough seeing Higgins get it.

I don't rate Gallagher. I don't see why he deserves to be president, but he is an able speaker.

maccored wrote: »
    Why is it unsurprising? Do only shinners only know how to use the interwebs (and not any supporters of the other candidates)? Do you really believe all that guff that SF get their supporters online and make them vote in online polls?

It's got some truth in it. I dont think SF are trying to get people onto those polls. But republicans are a zealous bunch. Besides in some internet polls it's possible to vote multiple times.

And if we took interent polls as being just as legitimate as a telephone conducted poll then MMG should be doing better in those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

maccored wrote: »

Look at any past boards poll and look at the real results. SF always do far better on the internet than real life.

Anyway, we all know he doesn't have a hope, that's why he wasn't included in the poll.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Look at any past boards poll and look at the real results. SF always do far better on the internet than real life.

Anyway, we all know he doesn't have a hope, that's why he wasn't included in the poll.

Forget who's with what party for a minute, a lot of people might not be pro sin fein, but there are a lot of republicans in FF & FG. Is it possible the republican vote is higher than Gallaghers. I think it's possible.

Bullcrap poll i'll say it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Im voting Gallagher because hes topping all the polls, hes a celebrity:eek: and us irish are a really stupid bunch altogether. We deserve everything we get.............................

True. You would have to wonder with all the education Irish people are getting nowadays then why they are as thick as ever?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

If it's true that Sean Gallagher sells drugs to children, and I'm not saying he does and I don't want to get into an argument about it, but if they are true, the media should write about it.

This saying things without backing it up is great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Fergus_Nash

Snakeblood wrote: »
    If it's true that Sean Gallagher sells drugs to children, and I'm not saying he does and I don't want to get into an argument about it, but if they are true, the media should write about it.

This saying things without backing it up is great.

http://markhumphrys.com/michael.d.higgins.html

Happy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭RGDATA!

I'm voting Gallagher because he's a hugely successful businessman, he's politically independent and he seems to understand what the Presidency is all about - i.e. getting the country back to work. Also he's a maverick, and not an establishment figure like the other candidates. He has no association whatsoever with the 'establishment', for example the shower of eejits that ran the country into the ground in the 2000's. Finally, the fact that he has Dragon's Den on his CV will ensure he is bound to be taken seriously the world over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Yeah, backing something up is something you should do as a matter of course. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I don't dislike Gallagher but I will be voting Micky D.
    Where are these Gallagher voters? Online, all I see are Michael D supporters voicing their support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭wow sierra

RGDATA! wrote: »
    I'm voting Gallagher because he's a hugely successful businessman, he's politically independent and he seems to understand what the Presidency is all about - i.e. getting the country back to work. Also he's a maverick, and not an establishment figure like the other candidates. He has no association whatsoever with the 'establishment', for example the shower of eejits that ran the country into the ground in the 2000's. Finally, the fact that he has Dragon's Den on his CV will ensure he is bound to be taken seriously the world over.

I know you are being ironic - but to be honest you have probaly described why a lot of people are voting for him - and the fact that its all a myth doesn't seem to be bothering any of them. God its scary:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

People aren't as stupid as most here believe. They know that FF have been destroyed, they know that FG/Lab continued on implementing FF policy after they put them into power.

Spending the rest of their lives spewing out bitterness at anyone who was ever a FF member is unimportant to them, they've moved on as people do.

Well, tonight is the last TV debate, and I wonder will either of them drop the ball?

Gallager is back in 3rd or less, Martin Mc Guinness chewed him up today. Tonight should be good, RTE are going to do a terrible job I fear. They want Sean. The papers have swung back against him.

Unless you're trying to say republicans tend to cheat whereas supporters of other parties dont I dont see how people can jump to the conclusion that online polls are taken over by republicans voting multiple times.

Opinion polls always vary from real elections for various reasons obviously, but the most likely reason I can see for mmg doing well in online polls is that it reaches a wider variety of people that a normal opinion poll due to the internet. it also means people who cant necessarily vote in the republic can still make their opinions known.
    It's got some truth in it. I dont think SF are trying to get people onto those polls. But republicans are a zealous bunch. Besides in some internet polls it's possible to vote multiple times.

And if we took interent polls as being just as legitimate as a telephone conducted poll then MMG should be doing better in those.

Gallager is back in 3rd or less, Martin Mc Guinness chewed him up today.

Gallagher back in 3rd, really? What happened today?

Paparazzo wrote: »

That would make sense if all the people on the internet lived and voted in ireland, but otherwise i dont know what its got to do with anything.
    shouldnt this bit be in the paranormal forum since you obviously reckon you can tell the future?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Looks like Higgins will win. I suppose that is the best outcome.

Gallagher back in 3rd, really? What happened today?

The Newstalk/Google poll after the debate today. Puts Martin back on 20% neck on neck with Gallagher.

He'll slip back to 3rd or 4th yet, the papers like the attack by McGuinness today.

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Looks like Higgins will win. I suppose that is the best outcome.

Not if you want a Vote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Gallager is back in 3rd or less, Martin Mc Guinness chewed him up today. Tonight should be good, RTE are going to do a terrible job I fear. They want Sean.

With all the FF links RTE have then of course they want Sean Gallagher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Gallager is back in 3rd or less, Martin Mc Guinness chewed him up today. Tonight should be good, RTE are going to do a terrible job I fear. They want Sean. The papers have swung back against him.
    The Newstalk/Google poll after the debate today. Puts Martin back on 20% neck on neck with Gallagher.

He'll slip back to 3rd or 4th yet, the papers like the attack by McGuinness today.

Was this a poll taken based on people who tuned into the Newstalk debate? I can't imagine a great deal of people did. The betting markets suggest there is no change today.

Prime Time debate starting now on RTE1 . . . .

Who will triumph? Sean G or Michael D?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Prime Time debate starting now on RTE1 . . . .

Who will triumph? Sean G or Michael D?

McGun just made me cringe again, claiming that he's brought thousands of jobs to "this country".

The guy really needs to be challenged on his basic refusal to acknowledge the facts.

Watching SG now, and the guy strikes me as an absolute Arthur Daly, squeezing in as many buzz-words as possible and yet saying nothing worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Paddy Power no longer taking bets!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭upinthesky

gallagher dropped the envolope and any chance he had of winning with it

Michael D now 8/11 SG evens

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    McGun just made me cringe again, claiming that he's brought thousands of jobs to "this country".

The guy really needs to be challenged on his basic refusal to acknowledge the facts.

Watching SG now, and the guy strikes me as an absolute Arthur Daly, squeezing in as many buzz-words as possible and yet saying nothing worthwhile.
    It was beyond cringe. "This country". Some one should have asked him to Northern Ireland and see his rubbish answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Also he was a supporter of Arafat I think.
    Do you mean Yasser Arafat (24 August 1929 – 11 November 2004)?

Reset poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

KeithAFC wrote: »
    It was beyond cringe. "This country". Some one should have asked him to Northern Ireland and see his rubbish answer.

Even then it wasn't his worst moment of the night - between refusing to call murder murder and pretending that the protection of children was important to him (I was waiting for someone to ask whether he tried to protect the children that were part of the 3,000 murdered) and outing himself as someone who meets known fuel smugglers, the guy should be as dead in the water as Gallagher after tonight!

He won't win.

Well said you, I felt sick as McGuinness attacked Gallagher face to face, the sheer nerve of McGuinness, the utter in your face hypocrisy of the man, and the fact that McGuinness can't call PIRA murder 'Murder', and yet he points the finger at Gallagher and more or less "warns him" . .

I say 'Bug off McGuinness', get lost, get stuffed, go back to your old job, and leave us alone "down here".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I think Gallagher. We like the loveable rogue in this country, and he and Dana were the only ones focusing on the economy rather than resorting to negative-campaigning.

Well said you, I felt sick as McGuinness attacked Gallagher face to face, the sheer nerve of McGuinness, the utter in your face hypocrisy of the man, and the fact that McGuinness can't call PIRA murder 'Murder', and yet he points the finger at Gallagher and more or less "warns him" . .

I say 'Bug off McGuinness', get lost, get stuffed, go back to your old job, and leave us alone "down here".
    Gallagher should have told him to shut up. It was frankly amazing how he just let him slate him like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭votecounts

I say 'Bug off McGuinness', get lost, get stuffed, go back to your old job, and leave us alone "down here".[/QUOTE]
    That wasn't your relative on frontline, I presume you don't like Macaleese either as she is from up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I think some are overestimating the influence of the media in the internet age. There's a reason why INM's share price has gone off a cliff you know. If the media were choosing the next president Gallagher would have been done for 2 weeks ago, Lisbon I and Nice I would have passed and the Citizenship Referendum would have been rejected. In the internet age we no longer rely exclusively on the media for our information or for our perception of events.