Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Higgins vs Gallagher

• 23-10-2011 7:03pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭

I dont see why Mr Gallagher is getting so much abuse, (well actually I do but I've addressed this elsewhere). What I mean is I dont see how his treatment is fair compared to Higgins.

1. Micheal D Higgins was a member of Fianna Fail as was Gallagher.

No mention of this?

2. Micheal D Higgins, has on a number of occasions had left wing views on foreign policy in America and Israel.

As usual no questions asked.

3. Micheal D Higgins signed the banking bill in the early Nineties which led to chums Bertie Ahern and the rest bringing this country to its knees.

Questioned on Vincent Browne had no real answer.

Why the surge on here for his support, in anyone but Gallagher fashion?

Much like we had anyone but Norris and McGuinness when they were higher in the polls.

Something quite underhand it appears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Eh, this forum is rabidly anti-FF in any form and has been for years, thus the anti-Gallagher spin on things. Unsurprising really if you've been around this forum for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

Why has Gallagher lied about his FF past ?

Why has he lied about smarthomes being "the fastest growing technology company in Ireland "
    Why has he lied about his farming past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,922 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

I dont see why Mr Gallagher is getting so much abuse, (well actually I do but I've addressed this elsewhere). What I mean is I dont see how his treatment is fair compared to Higgins.

ffs, that was over 40 years ago, your just being mischievous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭swampgas

nesf wrote: »
    Eh, this forum is rabidly anti-FF in any form and has been for years, thus the anti-Gallagher spin on things. Unsurprising really if you've been around this forum for a few years.

In that case the forum may well be reflecting the fact that most of the country is rabidly anti-FF (I wonder why???).

Latest poll shows FF in fourth place behind SF http://www.thejournal.ie/fianna-fail-remains-fourth-in-party-support-red-c-poll-261218-Oct2011/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

No mention of this?

2. Micheal D Higgins, has on a number of occasions had left wing views on foreign policy in America and Israel.

3. Micheal D Higgins signed the banking bill in the early Nineties which led to chums Bertie Ahern and the rest bringing this country to its knees.

Much like we had anyone but Norris and McGuinness when they were higher in the polls.

oh lordy.

so your other post was not a joke.

Higgins, the FF banker destroyer of the economy.

BTW, Did you know that Aliens have landed in O'Connell st, like 5 years ago? They have invisible rays, so you cant see them, n stuff, but it's, like, completely true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭brownswiss

raymon wrote: »

Why has he lied about smarthomes being "the fastest growing technology company in Ireland "

Because those lies will get him elected........

If he told the truth about anything he would not feature in this race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

Well looking at what they've done I think that Higgins has done far more than Gallagher, who I think is a spoofer and a liar. I also think Higgins has a far far better understanding of the role of the president and that Gallagher is in over his head.

Looking at their vision for the presidency Michael D's is far more realistic than Gallagher's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

No mention of this?

Because it's so distant in the past, it's completely irrelevant. It was discussed briefly on one of the debates btw.

Why would he be asked about them? If he had right-wing views in support of the US and Israel - would you want a similar line of questions asked?

I don't think Gallagher's membership (or former membership of FF) has any real meaning in the context of this election. He didn't influence the bank bailout within the party itself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 189 ✭✭Bergkamp 10

What I dont understand though is both politicians have been Fianna Fail members at one point.

Alot of people are making up stuff on Gallagher, I mean the farm thing I know for a fact it was just his father bought some land in his own name but Sean Gallagher had the use of it.

Its just ridiculous the lengths people go to! Is it so wrong for his father to let his son use a few acres of land while in his name?

I believe it is something else, I think the appearance of both men is clearly having an affect on some people.

You would think Sean Gallagher was Bertie Ahern by the carry on, online lately. He has that charisma about him though, that other Fianna Failers had and some see that as a terrible thing. Where as Higgins is a bland character.

that's one way of putting it.

And?

Its about as relevant as Gallaghers Fianna Fail links. Which is not very.

Mr Higgins is clearly misleading the people about his Fianna Fail past. His bank details should be forwarded to the public to be examined with a fine tooth comb.

bleg wrote: »
    Well looking at what they've done I think that Higgins has done far more than Gallagher, who I think is a spoofer and a liar. I also think Higgins has a far far better understanding of the role of the president and that Gallagher is in over his head.

Looking at their vision for the presidency Michael D's is far more realistic than Gallagher's.

What has Higgins done?

The guy is in hiding these days, skipping debates on rte radio and saying nothing at all.

He's doing an Enda Kenny, in hiding in last weeks of an election so he doesnt piss people off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

No mention of this?

Gallagher has been trying to distance himself from FF since the start of the campaign and has been caught out as being much closer linked than he likes to pretend.

Just saying is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

swampgas wrote: »
    In that case the forum may well be reflecting the fact that most of the country is rabidly anti-FF (I wonder why???).

I'd disagree actually. I think the majority won't vote FF but most of those don't really care very strongly.

In my experience anyway, it's relatively unusual to meet a true anti-FF person outside of places like this. Most people don't seem to care much about Politics at all.

raymon wrote: »

1. As far as I'm aware Gallagher has not lied about his association with Fianna Fail, possibly an irrelevant mistake on an official leaving date.

2. Do you know what marketing is? Are Tayto Irelands finest?

3. He has not lied about his farming past. He and his father bought a plot of land, Sean used it to paint sheds because he couldnt afford cattle. The land was in his father name not his but he had use of it. Comprende?

The farming thing really is laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

I don't get it either. Higgins was in the Dail for the most of the time that things were messed up. At that time for better or worse Gallagher was trying to get by in the real world creating jobs. I don't like his FF links but I also don't like Higgins getting his reward without comment for his years in the establishment, i.e. many pensions, approx 100,000 per year apparantly. On radio this morning on the Dunphy show they had a right go at SG for trying to be president when he had apparantly only earned 12,000 last year. I don't think that money earned is a way to decide this but it is a factor and I think someone who got 100,000 won't understand the problems of people.

That said I'm not convinced SG does either but at least he is claiming that he would push the boundaries of the presidency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭swampgas

I'd disagree actually. I think the majority won't vote FF but most of those don't really care very strongly.

In my experience anyway, it's relatively unusual to meet a true anti-FF person outside of places like this. Most people don't seem to care much about Politics at all.

Fair point - apathy seems to be the default position of most people I know off line. Guess I spend too much time online ...

Correct IMO. He is doing well because people think he would be the best for the job irrespective of perceived or real links to FF. Alot of voters have voted FF in the past and left them this February in the General election. A similar pattern to Gallagher there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Jeboa Safari

And?

Mr Higgins is clearly misleading the people about his Fianna Fail past. His bank details should be forwarded to the public to be examined with a fine tooth comb.

I see he had the second highest expenses in 2002.

and i believe back in '98 he left the cap of the toothpaste in the Dail bathrooms.

this is a fact.

ArtSmart wrote: »
    and i believe back in '98 he left the cap of the toothpaste in the Dail bathrooms.

this is a fact.

Expenses are legal corruption in many cases. Look at the Ivor Callely milking of the system. I don't know what expenses MD had but if they were controversial I presume they would have emerged by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

No mention of this?

1. Michael D never pretended that he wasn't in order to fool the electorate
    2. Michael D Higgins has criticised American's invasion of Iraq - that's a plus in my book
    3. Michael D voted against the recent bank guarantee - back in the early 90s no-one would have foreseen the damage that Ahern & Co have done, and even in 2007 some people ignored where they were steering us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

What I dont understand though is both politicians have been Fianna Fail members at one point.

Was that a FiannaFaillien slip?

MDH was a FF member for 9 months 40 years ago. SG 'left' tha party last January.

Gallagher is a chancer. He paid himself a fortune on Celtic Tiger hype. He fundraised for FF during the implosion of this country. He was a uber-goon in a TV show. He's inarticulate and one dimensional. Not Presidential material. He might do ok in FAS though as he seems to have the presidency mixed up with hawking ideas and products to international leaders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Well if the polls are correct and hold good at election day then the Irish voters like to be conned and elect a chancer, so that they can moan forever about that terrible fella who is president.....what's his name, you know.... the Dragon lad.

Expenses are legal corruption in many cases. Look at the Ivor Callely milking of the system. I don't know what expenses MD had but if they were controversial I presume they would have emerged by now.
    exactly.

so, you coming around jonnie? Coming over to the less dark side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

Higgins looked very tetchy tonight on the news trying to get digs in at Gallagher, it smacked of desperation. Gallagher managed to hide his glee and say how he didn't get into personal attacks before saying 'you never grow an inch taller by criticizing someone else'. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

No mention of this?

1) True, he never claimed otherwise or fudged the issue like Gallagher

2) So, he takes a political standpoint (which you may or not agree with fully), but unlike SG he doesn't seem to make it up as he goes along. Kinda of the point of politics isn't it? Can anyone tell me what Gallagher political viewpoints are (apart from those which make as much money for himself)?

3) Clutching at straws here, SG was happy enough fundraising for those who would eventually push the country over the edge - does that make him culpable as well?
    On radio this morning on the Dunphy show they had a right go at SG for trying to be president when he had apparantly only earned 12,000 last year. I don't think that money earned is a way to decide this but it is a factor and I think someone who got 100,000 won't understand the problems of people.
    Money DOES matter, there's a very good reason why we don't allow bankrupt judges or politicians (here's looking at you Wallace!) to remain in position, not saying SG is bankrupt but he seems to need the position finacially more than any other candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭BQQ

Gallagher's opponents need to drop the FF thing. It's clearly not enough to put people off.
    Instead focus on the fact that he's a spoofer and a liar up to his neck in dodgy deals and secret fundraisers.

Remind you of anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭effluent

Wasn't Higgins in FF for about six months though?

There's nothing wrong with being a member of FF, but what really got me was how he couldn't bring himself to blame FF for the mess we are in. He reminds me of the usual FF genepool were nothing is more important than the party and being able call something for what it really is.

I think it would make a mockery of the role if he is elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

1. As far as I'm aware Gallagher has not lied about his association with Fianna Fail, possibly an irrelevant mistake on an official leaving date.

2. Do you know what marketing is? Are Tayto Irelands finest?

3. He has not lied about his farming past. He and his father bought a plot of land, Sean used it to paint sheds because he couldnt afford cattle. The land was in his father name not his but he had use of it. Comprende?

The farming thing really is laughable.

1 . An irrelevant mistake ..... right Ted.... just like that cheque that ended up in the wrong account..... oops that was an honest mistake

2. Not marketing .... this is lies on www.seangallagher.com now, today, click on "about Sean"

3 he never bought a farm at 21 this is a lie
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/farmer-claims-young-sean-never-did-own-20acre-plot-of-cavan-land-2913918.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

Sean Gallagher linked to secret FF fundraiser

Business friends paid €5,000 to dine with Brian Cowen

By Fionnan Sheahan Political Editor

Thursday October 20 2011

Presidential election frontrunner Sean Gallagher personally invited donors to attend a secret Fianna Fail corporate fundraiser for former Taoiseach Brian Cowen.
    Mr Gallagher contacted a number of his business friends to invite them to attend the dinner, where guests were asked to donate up to €5,000 to the party.
    The Irish Independent has learned that Fianna Fail held the fundraiser in Co Louth, where Mr Gallagher is based, shortly after Mr Cowen became Taoiseach in 2008.
    The select group of businessmen invited to the fundraiser were promised exclusive access to the new Taoiseach.
    Mr Gallagher will now face questions about the organisation of the function, the list of businessmen in attendance and how much was raised for the party.
    He invited a small number of his friends, associates and business contacts and passed on some details to party chiefs in Fianna Fail headquarters to issue invitations.
    Mr Gallagher's spokesman insisted last night he did not himself contribute to the event and nor did he solicit donations.
    Throughout his presidential campaign, Mr Gallagher has downplayed his role in the party, claiming he was an ordinary grassroots member.
    The event was held in the Crown Plaza Hotel, Dundalk, in early summer 2008, just weeks after Mr Cowen assumed office, taking over from Bertie Ahern.
    One of Mr Cowen's first acts as leader of Fianna Fail was to scrap the controversial fundraising tent at the Galway Races.
    But the dinner in Dundalk, which took place even before that year's Galway Races event, shows the party was still involved in aggressive fundraising among big business.
    Mr Gallagher's claims to be an independent candidate representing a new kind of politics will be damaged by the revelations. After surging to the top of the polls, he has come under attack about his Fianna Fail links.
    Mr Gallagher only resigned from the party's ruling body, the national executive, this year. The 'Dragons' Den' star also launched the campaigns of a number of Fianna Fail candidates in the general election.
    Mr Gallagher's spokesman said last night the candidate would have passed on some details of contacts to the party. But he insisted the fundraiser was organised centrally by Fianna Fail headquarters.
    "Sean Gallagher did attend the event. He was not requested to donate nor did he, either before, during or after the event, make a donation in a personal capacity or a corporate donation," the spokesman said.
    "At no point did he actively solicit any donations. He would have been in touch with a number of people he knew to tell them it was on," the spokesman added.
    Fianna Fail last night confirmed the fundraiser, which was never previously publicised, was held at the time. "Yes, we organised a dinner in Louth in 2008. We organised it to help defray the cost of the 2007 general election. All of the donations are all recorded and reported in line with regulations," a spokesman said.
    But a local businessman told the Irish Independent he was contacted directly by Mr Gallagher. "He rang me up and said they were holding a function in the Crown Plaza. He had pull where nobody had pull," he said.
    The prominent businessman in the north-east said Fianna Fail drew up a list of wealthy potential benefactors and targeted them. "I was one of 40 listed to contribute €5,000 a head. There were 40 people selected in the county to attend. I swear to God," he said.
    Last week, Mr Gallagher had to clean up the mess he made in failing to criticise Fianna Fail's record in power.
    Abhorred
    Widely regarded as the worst moment of his campaign to date, Mr Gallagher was exposed on his links to Fianna Fail when he repeatedly refused to say a bad word about the party in the Prime Time debate. After repeatedly failing to say if he believed his former party let the country down, Mr Gallagher now says he "abhorred" the decisions made by the last Fianna Fail governments. "I couldn't condemn the ordinary grass roots members of the party throughout the country, ordinary decent people, who were not in government who were not in Cabinet, who did not make decisions," he said a week ago.
    But Mr Gallagher had direct access to Mr Cowen through his involvement in the party and was trusted enough to be involved in fundraising.
    Although he repeatedly stresses he was not involved in the party all his adult life, he did have a substantial involvement.
    Mr Gallagher was a member of Ogra Fianna Fail and served on its national committee. He was also a member of Fianna Fail. He served as an adviser to a Fianna Fail minister and worked for its headquarters. Mr Gallagher acted as director of elections to a Fianna Fail TD. He served on the Fianna Fail national executive, its ruling body. He was appointed to a state board by a Fianna Fail minister and considered running as a Fianna Fail candidate in the general election.
    - Fionnan Sheahan Political Editor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Its about as relevant as Gallaghers Fianna Fail links.

Higgins is not just ex-FF because he left, he's ex-FF because he joined an opposing party and has opposed them at every election since.

Gallagher supported FF at the last election, and even considered running for them. He still can't condemn FF on Primetime. That's where his 40% is coming from, the same 40% who voted FF in 2002 and 2007.

This is one reason I'm actually not too upset to see Gallagher winning. If he's not safely stashed in the Áras, he'll be the feckin Taoiseach after the next GE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

Gallagher supported FF at the last election, and even considered running for them. He still can't condemn FF on Primetime.

This is the main issue, the one that the OP claims not to understand. Gallagher was happy to be up to his neck in FF when it profitted him personally, as soon as they were a liability to him he ditched them.

Of course he thinks (correctly) that they'll be back at some point so he's not willing to completely condemn them.

Claiming that Gallagher and Higgins both have the same type of connection to Fianna Fail is ludicrous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Higgins is not just ex-FF because he left, he's ex-FF because he joined an opposing party and has opposed them at every election since.

Gallagher supported FF at the last election, and even considered running for them. He still can't condemn FF on Primetime. That's where his 40% is coming from, the same 40% who voted FF in 2002 and 2007.

This is one reason I'm actually not too upset to see Gallagher winning. If he's not safely stashed in the Áras, he'll be the feckin Taoiseach after the next GE.

And tell me was Gallagher a TD in the last Dail which oversaw the ruin of this country?

Last time I checked he wasn't. I'm surprised at how easily people forget that Higgins was.

I'm also surprised that people forget he's part of a Labour party which is basically run by trade unions. A Labour party that pushed for pay increases over the last decade which saw the country lose more and more competitiveness each year. A Labour party who moved to increase the minimum wage by €1 the minute it got back into power.

Does Ireland need to have the third highest minimum wage in the EU? I don't think so.

Higgins may claim to be anti-establishment but he's been a part of the establishment longer than any of the other candidates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

I know it's obvious but I guess it's worth saying just in case anyone reading this might fall for this line.

Higgins opposed the government that presided over the worst financial meldown this country has ever seen.

Gallagher supported it. The fact that he (apparently) only did it because he thought it was the best way to help himself makes it worse in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

Lemlin wrote: »
    And tell me was Gallagher a TD in the last Dail which oversaw the ruin of this country?

No, but he was campaigning for FF in this years general Election, after they ruined this country. He was on the National Executive, and helped raise funds for them while they ruined the country.
    I'm surprised at how easily people forget that Higgins was.

Simply being in the Dáil while FF ruined the country does not mean Higgins is to blame, as we have this division within the Dail between a thing called "the Government" and another thing called "the opposition". Look it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

No mention of this?

There has, also Michael D was a member of FF between 1964-1965, a time when FF did not ruin the country. Sean Gallagher has been a member and still is a member of FF since he was 19 years of age. Sitting on the National Executive, deciding FF policy and sponging off the state using his FF connections to get IDA grants.

What questions are to be asked?? Michael D opposes Israeli imperialism and the USA murdering over 500,000 civilians in Iraq and Afghanistan. I think killing is wrong, do you think its right?

Nonsense of the highest order. Perhaps you should take a look at this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Dqw4XNGIks

No, but he was campaigning for FF in this years general Election, after they ruined this country. He was on the National Executive, and helped raise funds for them while they ruined the country.

Simply being in the Dáil while FF ruined the country does not mean Higgins is to blame, as we have this division within the Dail between a thing called "the Government" and another thing called "the opposition". Look it up.

Yes, he was a "grass roots" member of the organisation. He didn't have any say in policy or legislation. He was never a TD.

So if the "opposition" are sitting in the Dail and have no say, what the hell are we paying the different TDs 90k or so a year for then?

I'd be interested in seeing what way Higgins voted when various legislation was passed because he hasn't come out like Norris and stated categorically that he voted against any legislation introduced.

I also note you've ignored my point that Labour were continually pushing for wage rises when the country was getting less and less competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭ratracer

Yes, he was a "grass roots" member of the organisation. He didn't have any say in policy or legislation. He was never a TD.

So if the "opposition" are sitting in the Dail and have no say, what the hell are we paying the different TDs 90k or so a year for then?

I'd be interested in seeing what way Higgins voted when various legislation was passed because he hasn't come out like Norris and stated categorically that he voted against any legislation introduced.

I also note you've ignored my point that Labour were continually pushing for wage rises when the country was getting less and less competitive.

Obviously you are not trying to live on the minimum wage then?

ratracer wrote: »
    Obviously you are not trying to live on the minimum wage then?

No, I worked hard in school and did well in my Leaving Cert. Then I went to college and worked 24 hours a week along with going to college so that I could get a degree. I never received a grant.

Then I started out on a low wage and have worked hard so that I've been promoted numerous times since then.

So, no, I'm not on the minimum wage and I worked damn bloody hard to make sure I wouldn't be and still do.

I suppose I would have better off sitting at home on my arse and relying on Labour and Micheal D to push for more wages rises for me and better welfare, would I?

Do you think its realistic for Ireland to have the third highest minimum wage in Europe? Particularly when its taken into account that one of the countries with a higher minimum wage is France where 20% of the workforce are on that wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,446 ✭✭✭ratracer

Big round of applause for you. Maybe no body else in the country has done anything else with their lives?

You are not the only one went to school, most of us did. You worked hard from the low wage to the get to wherever you are now, good for you, at least you got opportunities along the way, but why do you feel the need to have a dig at the lower paid workers now? The reason there is a minimum wage is to stop greedy employers from exploiting their workers. Slavery has been abandoned ya know!!

Don't get me wrong, I am not working on the minimum wage, but for the people who are, they are probably doing crap jobs at crap times for that money and probably earning it.

Perhaps your rant is aimed at the wrong section of society, I feel that social welfare benefits should be targetted more so that the welfare state that we have is not an easier option than getting a job, even at the minimum wage.

ratracer wrote: »
    Big round of applause for you. Maybe no body else in the country has done anything else with their lives?

You are not the only one went to school, most of us did. You worked hard from the low wage to the get to wherever you are now, good for you, at least you got opportunities along the way, but why do you feel the need to have a dig at the lower paid workers now? The reason there is a minimum wage is to stop greedy employers from exploiting their workers. Slavery has been abandoned ya know!!

Don't get me wrong, I am not working on the minimum wage, but for the people who are, they are probably doing crap jobs at crap times for that money and probably earning it.

Perhaps your rant is aimed at the wrong section of society, I feel that social welfare benefits should be targetted more so that the welfare state that we have is not an easier option than getting a job, even at the minimum wage.

You directed a comment at me and I responded to it. Nowhere did I say that nobody else in the country had done anything so I don't see where you are pulling that bull**** from.

My "rant" is aimed at Labour and Michael D who have no problem pocketing pensions like Higgins' 125k while arguing that they are championing the cause of the lesser paid, just like the good unions like Siptu where Jack O'Connor refuses to discuss his own salary.

The simple fact is that the minimum wage was set too high and this is part of the reason Ireland is ruined. We don't have a big enough economy to sustain the third highest minimum wage in Europe. Do you think the people in other EU countries on the minimum wage work less than people in Ireland?

You and others may blame Fianna Fail for the bust but I blame all of the parties. While Fianna Fail were lining their pockets, the opposition were doing exactly the same and helping push through policies which bankrupted the country.

Gallagher wasn't a TD during this time. Higgins was. Therefore I can't see why all the criticism is being delivered at Gallagher's door. He wasn't in the Dail. Higgins was.

And?

Its about as relevant as Gallaghers Fianna Fail links. Which is not very.

Are you taking the piss? How exactly is he misleading??:confused:

Last time I checked he wasn't. I'm surprised at how easily people forget that Higgins was.

Whats your point? Do you understand how parliamentary democracy works?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

I've no respect for Fianna Fail at all. From the first interview Gallagher gave on the Late Late about his presidency, I've never been impressed. He is totally one dimensional.

Whats your point? Do you understand how parliamentary democracy works?

And what's your point? Are you going to throw out the old line that Higgins was in opposition. Well, last time I checked, opposition TDs also got paid 90k and were there to oppose legislation. Did Higgins oppose any of the numerous acts which went through that made the country less and less competitive?

Here's my favourite question to Michael D supporters:

Was Michael D. Higgins a T.D. being paid 100k or so a year for the last decade when this mess happened?
    Now, was Sean Gallagher a TD for the last decade when this mess happened?

I'm amazed at the number of Higgins supporters that are stumped by one simple question that requires a yes or no answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

And what's your point? Are you going to throw out the old line that Higgins was in opposition. Well, last time I checked, opposition TDs also got paid 90k and were there to oppose legislation. Did Higgins oppose any of the numerous acts which went through that made the country less and less competitive?

Here's my favourite question to Michael D supporters:

Was Michael D. Higgins a T.D. being paid 100k or so a year for the last decade when this mess happened?
    Now, was Sean Gallagher a TD for the last decade when this mess happened?

I'm amazed at the number of Higgins supporters that are stumped by one simple question that requires a yes or no answer.

That's actually two questions, one with a yes and one with a no. Maybe you were asking the questions badly.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    That's actually two questions, one with a yes and one with a no. Maybe you were asking the questions badly.

And maybe its a question that the Higgins camp want to ignore. The man has been involved in government for 30 years and I'm amazed that people seem to ignore the fact.

Higgins fights for the poor yet pockets 125k in pensions a year. He's spent 320k on his campaign and has posters all over the place.

If I want someone to be president, I want someone who will at least practice what they preach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

And maybe its a question that the Higgins camp want to ignore. The man has been involved in government for 30 years and I'm amazed that people seem to ignore the fact.

Higgins fights for the poor yet pockets 125k in pensions a year. He's spent 320k on his campaign and has posters all over the place.

If I want someone to be president, I want someone who will at least practice what they preach.

What makes you think they ignore that he's been in government? What decisions that he took as a member of government deserve investigation. So far one person on the forum has mentioned his giving away of turf cutting rights, and another has mentioned that he has left wing views. Why don't you explain what exactly he did that makes you so angry? Beyond collecting a pension for a life of public service (and I agree, incidentally, that his pension is way too high).

No he hasnt been in government for 30 years. You dont even understand the difference between a member of the Dail and being a member of Government. You are a political illiterate. Oh and re your question in the previous post, yes he voted against many Govt measures, including the bank bailout.