Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dirty cheating scumbags!!!

• 23-10-2011 8:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭

so here goes... Local pub has be doing a last man standing competition in the football since the start of the season. Yesterday there was just 2 people left in it out of 40. Me and another lad. It was €10 each to enter it so there was €400 in the pot and it was winner takes all.

Anyway, he had aston villa (who lost) and i had newcastle (who won). Happy days right!! I was over the moon knowing that i had just won 400 big ones. I rang up the pub and was talking to the lad who was running it and he quite happily informed me that they put me down for aston villa so there was no winner so now they can start a new one with a roll over prize (already 400 in the pot). I told them that i picked newcastle. I picked my team the way i have done so almost every week so far, a phone call to one of the lads who works there and he puts it up on the board for me. I made this phone call on thursday to pick my team. Problem was he forgot to write it up on the board. He only remembered at 4 yesterday when they had already put me down for aston villa!

Anyway, he informed everyone else there about his cockup. They didn't change it and left me with villa and when the matches were over, they started taking money off the bar flys for the next last man standing competition.

I arrived down then later on to basically see what the hell was going on and collect my €400. The lads involved in running it all agreed that i won but refused to pay up. They tried to say that the fella who forgot to put my team down should pay me!! They said the reason that they cant pay out is because they've already taken money off other lads who think that there is already €400 in the pot. I basically told them to grow a pair and pay up.

Anyway they want to think about it til monday to try find a way to get themselves out of this mess. What would you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,224 ✭✭✭barone

their mistake not yours,get your money,threaten legal if you have too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

The guy in the pub agreed you picked new castle so they'll have to pay up,don't panic or loose the head,you will get your cash.:..:.......if not there's always Joe duffy,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Demand your money they are being awkward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Ignore these betas above me. Burn down the pub.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

They obviously see you as a soft touch. That's hilarious, they "happily informed you"...I'm sure you mush have been delighted that you weren't getting any money!

You selected your team, they all know it, you won fair and square.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

dont let it go op..they fu*ked up not you...if they dont pay out cause a huge(non violent) stink about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

can i just add aswell that i have ran 2 darts exhibitions in that pub (the bar made a fortune both nights) and a 5 week competition that had atleast 16 lads down drinking each week from about 7 o clock til close each nite.

So its not like i'm a stranger to them, i've tried to help them out to get punters in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Spacedog

They think you are a pussy who isn't man enough to take your winnings.
    And frankly so do I. They are all laughing in your face. the time for dicking about on the internet is over, man up, march down there, get your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭chiefwiggum

mackeire wrote: »
    can i just add aswell that i have ran 2 darts exhibitions in that pub (the bar made a fortune both nights) and a 5 week competition that had atleast 16 lads down drinking each week from about 7 o clock til close each nite.

So its not like i'm a stranger to them, i've tried to help them out to get punters in.

makes it even worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

Spacedog wrote: »
    They think you are a pussy who isn't man enough to take your winnings.
    And frankly so do I. They are all laughing in your face. the time for dicking about on the internet is over, man up, march down there, get your money.

made me laugh!
    If i was you id keep a cool head about this,if they dont pay go to the guards station,a call from one of the local guards will make them pay fast enough.
    The money is clearly yours!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Alzy

poor show on the pubs side ... defo keep a cool head and they should pay up !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

The gaurds would have nothing to do with it.

Sounds like a civil matter rather than a criminal matter.

I'd go ape in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

Name and shame the pub please ?

there basically stealing money off you,id go to the guards and see what they say anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Speak to the owner or the manager of the place. I'm sure they'll sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭celticcrash

Keep the head wait till Monday until they come to a final decision.
    If you can pressure them, but dont threaten them yet,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭GetWithIt

They said the reason that they cant pay out is because they've already taken money off other lads who think that there is already €400 in the pot.
    So they give you your money, return the stakes taken since, and start the new last man standing again. I don't see a problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Speak to as many of the other 39 entrants as possible and tell them not to bother parting with their money to these fraudsters who sound as if they couldn't run a píss up in a brewery. The last one of these type of pools I was in, everyone got a text to confirm their team and the cost was factored into the entry fee. Time for them lads to come out of the 80's age with their crayons and chalk and database the competition.

If you don't get your winnings only a hissy fit of volcanic proportions in the middle of the pub will restore your testicularity in this matter. Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

unfortunately sounds like you are being screwed.

Lesson to learn is to give in your submission in writing and get a copy.

I use to go to Pub that had a raffle every Friday with a €50 rollover every week. You had to be in the Pub the night of the draw to win. So we would all sit there like eejits and come draw time, the owner would do a name check of who was in the Bar and then go out to the back office and he himself would come back with a name of someone who wasn't around:rolleyes:

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    unfortunately sounds like you are being screwed.

Lesson to learn is to give in your submission in writing and get a copy.

I use to go to Pub that had a raffle every Friday with a €50 rollover every week. You had to be in the Pub the night of the draw to win. So we would all sit there like eejits and come draw time, the owner would do a name check of who was in the Bar and then go out to the back office and he himself would come back with a name of someone who wasn't around:rolleyes:

Sounds like a right chancer.

ive basically been told that they are not going to pay me!
    They said that they want to put it to a VOTE between everybody that had entered from the start. Feckin stupid idea!! I talked to a few lads who would be able to vote and they all said that although i am right and won the competition, they would all vote against me because they want a chance to win the money!!

What do ya reckon should happen next??

Joe Duffy?

Adrian Kennedy?

Try get a newspaper to do an article?

Name and shame (badmouth them to anybody who'll listen. They do alot of advertising on facebook so could keep posting on their page).

Seek legal advice (i know its only €400 but it would wreck them if I won).

Im trying to keep a cool head and not burn the place down!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

name and shame + tweet/facebook it
    complete boycott of the pub from you and your mates and stop organizing events there.
    You might lose €400 but they'll lose even more..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭godscop

Name and shame the pub :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

What would a couple of kegs of Guinness be worth??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

small claims court? even the threat of legal action might get them to pay. 15ish quid to make a claim. you have witnesses so I reckon you won't have a problem.

They said that they want to put it to a VOTE between everybody that had entered from the start. Feckin stupid idea!! I talked to a few lads who would be able to vote and they all said that although i am right and won the competition, they would all vote against me because they want a chance to win the money!!

What do ya reckon should happen next??

Joe Duffy?

Adrian Kennedy?

Try get a newspaper to do an article?

Name and shame (badmouth them to anybody who'll listen. They do alot of advertising on facebook so could keep posting on their page).

Seek legal advice (i know its only €400 but it would wreck them if I won).

Im trying to keep a cool head and not burn the place down!!

I'd tell them that you have plenty of witnesses and that you will be seeking legal action if the 400 euro is not paid up in full by Friday 28th October. Put it in writing and hand it to the manager.

Also Joe Duffy. get him involved!

this is complete madness, name and shame the pub on joe duffy see what that gets you,failing that small claims.

How often would you go to this place they seem like right dicks!!

this is complete madness, name and shame the pub on joe duffy see what that gets you,failing that small claims.

How often would you go to this place they seem like right dicks!!

I was playing for the darts team there so was there usually twice a week (Monday and Thursday). Thats not including weekends.

Ive got a fairly big family and most of the family do's end up being there. That wont be happening anymore.

I heard that the bar man who messed up with to cause the whole thing was having a great laugh about it the other night. I know that they are only being arseholes now so i kinda want to get my own back now.

Anyone know this place?? http://www.facebook.com/macdonaghsdalkey

http://mcdonaghsbardalkey.com/

I'd be broadcasting it to the far end of Narnia

so whats your next step op?Id seriously ring joe duffy,he ll love this!

ive sent an email to joe duffy and am going to try get on tomorro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

Yay the duffer eats this stuff up..

In all seriousness though the pub staff are basically stealing from you and its a joke that they think they can and have a nice big laugh when they are incapable of managing an incredibly easy system.

I would go as far to say you were purposely ripped off here there were two of you left and they make a feckup? Sounds very dodgy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭ucd.1985

ive sent an email to joe duffy and am going to try get on tomorro.

Sent an email to the pub saying I wasnt going to visit the pub again on the back of this.

Hope it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 320 ✭✭redtelephone

I think gambling debts are not legally recoverable, so unfortunately you might have a battle on your hands. Best of luck I hope you succeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

If you are a local there, and are part of a darts group (usually lads up for a laugh), did you ever think that this could be a prank?

Just a possibility...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    If you are a local there, and are part of a darts group (usually lads up for a laugh), did you ever think that this could be a prank?

Just a possibility...

I think this could be the case because even if you and the other guy went out the pot should of been split between the 2 of you anyway not be put back into a new competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭CORaven

Ask the people themselves what way they would vote if they were on your side of this scam.

Also, go down some busy night and out loud talking, kindly point out that you think that the draw was a sham at the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭W123-80's

Any update on this issue OP?

I'm just interested to hear how it ended up.

I for one won't darken the door of the place again having read this thread, and I hope alot more do the same.

These last man standing type competitions are designed to get punters into a pub on a repeat basis. The pub trade is a tough game at the moment.

If pubs don't have the common decency to acknowledge this loyalty, they don't deserve the custom.

They are also giving a bad name to other pubs who have the decency and cop-on to appreciate repeat business and honour their debts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Alzy

I'd definitely make a lot of noise if it was me . Especially if the barman who was the cause of all this was having a laugh about it. Keep a cool head tho ' ... you wont get anywhere losing the rag !

And as you say if your friends and family stop drinking there and having do's it will maybe make them think on .. hope it all works out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭ResearchWill

Well I think the law is with you and against you as pointed out gambling debts not enforceable in Ireland. Also gambling is illegal on a licensed premises. Tell pub you are going to object to the renewal of its license for allowing illegal gambling lol.

Ok, the way that this ended up was....

I told them that I was going to go on Joe Duffy. Not sure if they believed me or not tho. I spoke to the people in Joe Duffy and was meant to be going on the radio. I ha also sent emails the FM104 phone show ad the daily star newspaper. I had intended to do as much damage to this pub as possible!!

Anyway, I put a message up on facebook with the pubs facebook page tagged in it (so they would see it) and said something along the lines of "whats the point in winning a competition in mcdonaghs if they wont pay out the €400 prize money". I said a bit more aswel in it. Loads of people wrote comments on it so the pub was getting lashed out of it. The pub the the next day got a friend of mine to ring me and offer me a deal to keep my mouth shut. Basically I was never going to get my winnings and they wanted to offer me €50 to shut up!!! I ended up getting €200 (which i took because I have bills to pay and needed the money to help pay them and I wasn't expecting any money).

I still feel very cheated by these cowboys and will never step foot in that pub again while they are running it!!

So I only got €200 but I think I have also wrecked their reputation a bit aswell!!

Also I found out it was a bit of a personal thing as the lad running it when he found out that they had me down for the wrong team said "f*uck him, he's only a w*nker".

I told them that I was going to go on Joe Duffy. Not sure if they believed me or not tho. I spoke to the people in Joe Duffy and was meant to be going on the radio. I ha also sent emails the FM104 phone show ad the daily star newspaper. I had intended to do as much damage to this pub as possible!!

Anyway, I put a message up on facebook with the pubs facebook page tagged in it (so they would see it) and said something along the lines of "whats the point in winning a competition in mcdonaghs if they wont pay out the €400 prize money". I said a bit more aswel in it. Loads of people wrote comments on it so the pub was getting lashed out of it. The pub the the next day got a friend of mine to ring me and offer me a deal to keep my mouth shut. Basically I was never going to get my winnings and they wanted to offer me €50 to shut up!!! I ended up getting €200 (which i took because I have bills to pay and needed the money to help pay them and I wasn't expecting any money).

I still feel very cheated by these cowboys and will never step foot in that pub again while they are running it!!

So I only got €200 but I think I have also wrecked their reputation a bit aswell!!

Also I found out it was a bit of a personal thing as the lad running it when he found out that they had me down for the wrong team said "f*uck him, he's only a w*nker".

Great, thats 200 euro back. Now lets get the other 200 back! No not settle until you have the other 200. They haven't a leg to stand on. From your comments, they are clearly acting the pr!ck with you and you need to do the same.

It's your money!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭W123-80's

They were lucky you let them off at 200 euro.

I would have been inclined to shout until I had all €400.

I'll not bother with that place in future.

Go on Joe Duffy with the latest, they gave you €200 to shut up :)
    F them, they are pr1cks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,517 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Not only have they robbed but called you a wanker to boot?

Spend the next seven days eating nothing but red meat and Bran flakes. Go down there on the busiest night of the week, get up on the pool table, strip naked and take a massive dump. Then start flinging it at the customers and staff.

"Right, here's your wanker" announce to the whole place before strutting out with your dignity firmly intact.

Or you could give the duffers another call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

whats the link of the FB page il get more lads to ad it and add it myself ... even tho you dident get you 400 euro , all this bad publisaty will be priceless , but you could get a tractor and a muck spreader and cover the place in sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭votecounts

OP, you got robbed. If it were me, i'd avoid this pub like the plague and advise friends to do the same.
    Name and shame the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭Juwwi

whats the link of the FB page il get more lads to ad it and add it myself ... even tho you dident get you 400 euro , all this bad publisaty will be priceless , but you could get a tractor and a muck spreader and cover the place in sh1t

here it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=193073390767465&set=a.117296921678446.21649.100001944171169&type=1&ref=nf

That's where your other 200 euro went :p . Fight them to the end for your money man!

Wheres the abuse