Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freemasons... are you a member?

• 22-10-2011 9:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭

Happened to be doing some work in a Lodge recently, nothing unusual about the place, what you guys do there? is the an old boys club where you give each other contracts and dig outs etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Keep talking and see what happens to you.....

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

All the mods are free masons so expect this to be closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭opti76

im not a member but to be honest id be half tempted to enquire about joining ...why not like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 901 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover_53

Can't tell you unless you're the son of a stonecutter freemason

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

any time your down Molesworth St have a look at the cars parked up down the Kildare St end...then youll know how they are doing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

smk89 wrote: »

I have to same birthmark........am I the ONE?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

We talk about our feelings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

They're so cool they even have secret handshakes!!

Bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

Voltex wrote: »
    any time your down Molesworth St have a look at the cars parked up down the Kildare St end...then youll know how they are doing!!

He said Freemason, Not Freeloader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

They're pretty much just run-of-the-mill social clubs with a lot of symbolic & superstitious nonsense included as a main theme.

Not a Freemason myself but I know a couple of people who are. Seems like a load of bollix to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭coach23

i couldnt possibly say

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Nope but I know people who are. I wouldn't be believing the tinfoilhatters anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

if i told you i'd have to paddle you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

A lot of " I know someone who is" going on here.......:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Doom wrote: »
    A lot of " I know someone who is" going on here.......:cool:

Indeed...spill the beans on our governmental demonic overlords!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

They're pretty much just run-of-the-mill social clubs with a lot of symbolic & superstitious nonsense included as a main theme.

Not a Freemason myself but I know a couple of people who are. Seems like a load of bollix to me.

That is exactly what we they want you to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭xxtattyberxx

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    if i told you i'd have to paddle you.

thats a paddling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭tommytee

Hmm, putting a bag over my head, naked from the waist up and a knife put to chest isn't my idea of the kind of singing-in form Id be comfortable with.
    They were on a recruitment drive a few years back not sure about thesedays

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

A few of my uncles on my fathers side are, they dont seem that bad apart from the odd decapitated virgin and black mass.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭UglyBolloxFace

Voltex wrote: »

Go on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭punk77

I was a Freemason once but now I have to charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Liber8or

"I don't want to belong to any club that would accept people like me as a member" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭hiram

Hi Folks, Im a Mason, and to answer the Original Question, drop into Molesworth Street and have a look at our Museum to se the History of The Craft in Ireland over the Centuries. If you have any Questions, fire away.....Oh, and to answer the point above.....well, they let me in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

I thought about joining but witch's covens are much more fun what with all the naked dancing and hexing your enemies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Yes, we currently have an opening for a pearl skinned virgin maiden . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 658 ✭✭✭The Jammy dodger

What are they? they are the wooly jumpered, social climbing, two car in the driveway, middle class gypsies who look down on everyone else as the scum of society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

I'm a member of the Illuminati.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I never cease to be astonished at the preconceptions people harbour about freemasons. I'm not one (because I'm slightly more atheist than Richard Dawkins), but a good friend of mine is. He's Scottish, Catholic (nominally anyway), multilingual, as gay as it gets and great fun. He tells me there are Jews, Muslims, Sikhs, Hindus, various flavours of Christians, etc. in his lodge.

As far as I can gather, freemasonry is all about grown men acting like boys in odd rituals, funny handshakes and a lot of fundraising for good causes.

In other words, pretty harmless. Definitely not a threat to the world as we know it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 424 ✭✭FinnLizzy

http://www.irish-freemasons.org/

Whatever they do, their website is well overdue for an update!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    As far as I can gather, freemasonry is all about grown men acting like boys in odd rituals, funny handshakes and a lot of fundraising for good causes.

In other words, pretty harmless. Definitely not a threat to the world as we know it.:)

What about the orange order? :P

talkinyite wrote: »
    What about the orange order? :P

I am not aware of any connection or equivalence between the Freemasons (who happily accept Catholic members and rarely if ever parade in places where they are not wanted) and the Orange Order, which ...:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭talkinyite

I am not aware of any connection or equivalence between the Freemasons (who happily accept Catholic members and rarely if ever parade in places where they are not wanted) and the Orange Order, which ...:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'm just messing :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I've seen the rules of "you must not do..." and decided against joining until I hit 50 and stop running around like a lunatic getting up to mischief :P

I never cease to be astonished at the preconceptions people harbour about freemasonry.

It does have quite a colorful history in all fairness!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propaganda_Due

Yes, I remember that, too. But P2 was a rogue branch and those of its members who got up to funny tricks had their own agenda, which had little if anything to do with Freemasonry.

True,

And Ireland is one of the Oldest Branches of the Craft in the World. Yes, the boys at the top really need to get their heads around the official Website, especially when you compare it to any of the UK ones. In Fact, most of the Irish Lodge Websites are millions of times better than the main one. Im a Catholic and a Mason, which to some people, does not compute. I dont own a woolly jumper, Im in my 30's, I have just one car, i was born in a council estate, but I have an Interest in History and Esotherical stuff, so I joined up because that is where all those Interests come together. Its a really cool Order, and has absolutely NOTHING to do with the Orange Order, which was a "make it up as we go" effort concocted up North by the Unionists, nicking some of the regailia etc from us.
    There are around 50,000 people in the Republic who are members, and millions around the World. It IS great for networking, especially when you find yourself at a loose end anywhere in the World, you can just call up the nearest Lodge and they would be happy to help out. We give Millions to Charities every year, and are one of the main Sponsors of the Samaratains. However, you kinda need to "get it". The Rituals tend to puzzle people, and its only when you see a full Ritual done in the way it has been done for Centuries,verbatum and without notes, that you really begin to understand the allure. Most Masons only do the first 3 Degrees....Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason, and then stop and are quite happy to use it as a social ocasion once a month. We call them "knife and Fork Masons", others, like me go on to other side orders, such as the Mark Masons, Templars and Rose Croix, to name but a few. Thats where things really get interesting because these are joined by invite only. The Demographis are not great at the moment though, and it is only at the huge Grand Hall meetings when you notice the amount of grey hair, especially in Ireland. I think a job of work needs to be done to make what is essentially a Medieval Order attractive to those x-Box Wielding folks of the 21st Centuary. There are still plenty of new members of course, and you would be very surprised who are members. I nearly had a heart attack when I saw who was in my own Lodge!!! Great craic all round I can tell ya!!
    The Bould Dan Brown will have the Lost Symbol coming out on Film soon, so that should spark up a good debate!!:D

hiram wrote: »
    ---
    The Bould Dan Brown will have the Lost Symbol coming out on Film soon, so that should spark up a good debate!!:D

Thanks for that info. What a coincidence BTW that I'm watching The Da Vinci Code (with Tom Hanks) on TV right now and just checked the Internet during an ad break ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

No but wouldnt mind joining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭luckyfrank

Most of them are swingers and into hidden meanings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

As someone who is going over to Amsterdam to smoke weed, I wouldn't get in, as they don't like people who take any drugs I think.

Oh, and I don't really believe in God, so it seems they don't like "my sort".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Do you have to believe in a God? I was under the impression that you didnt have to believe in religion but could believe in something else, like Science or whatever. Just as long as you believed in something.

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Do you have to believe in a God? I was under the impression that you didnt have to believe in religion but could believe in something else, like Science or whatever. Just as long as you believed in something.

No, you dont have to believe in God, just as long as you believe in a Supreme Being, which could be the frog at the end of the garden, to which you light a candle and chant to every night!!, But Seriously, we are open to all religions, just as long as you dont have a criminal record

I never cease to be astonished at the preconceptions people harbour about freemasons. I'm not one (because I'm slightly more atheist than Richard Dawkins), but a good friend of mine is. He's Scottish, Catholic (nominally anyway), multilingual, as gay as it gets and great fun. He tells me there are Jews, Muslims, Sikhs, Hindus, various flavours of Christians, etc. in his lodge.

All the above is exactly right, and we have a right laugh at some of the Conspiracy stories out there, It is, however, in the side Orders where it gets more Esotherical, and thats where it goes off on one. I am a mere Master Mason, so it will be another 4 or 5 years before I am asked into any of the "Other" Degrees...

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    No but wouldnt mind joining.

Well, we DONT make a point of Recruiting. It is up to YOU to contact us through Grand Lodge in Molesworth Street. The process is as follows.....(deep breath)

1. Make Contact to Grand Lodge expressing your wish to join giving details of where you live etc.

2. They will then contact your nearest Lodge, and ask THEM to contact you to arange an informal, get to know you meeting.

3. In the meantime, you will be descretely "sussed out", just in case you are some kind of weirdo...(I know!! I Know....pot and kettle black and all that!!:D"

4. If the two guys who meet you think you will "get it", they will propose you as a candidate at the next lodge meeting, and a vote will be taken, using black and white beans or balls. If the vote is all white, well you are in, If there is ONE black bean or balls, then you are out, or as the saying goes...Blackballed:cool:

5. Contact will be then made to you to arrange your Initiation.

SIMPLES;)

When you say 'sussed out', what exactly do you mean? I've heard that background checks are sometimes conducted.. any truth to that?

Yep, Its called Googling!! Plus, Local Masons would know rairly well who would be suitable and who isnt. Most Potential Candidates would have already done some homework on the net, so would already be keen.