Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should I tell neighbours about house party tonight?

• 21-10-2011 10:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I'm having a house party tonight but haven't told the neighbours. I don't know them very well and it'll involve explaining myself in Spanish. And I'm a coward and afraid they'll say no.

There's going to be about 50 people coming and we're on the first floor with neighbours next to us and above us but none downstairs. The Spanish are a noisy bunch of bastardos as it is...at the moment I can hear a woman shouting at the top of her lungs, a man hammering something and somebody hacking up phlegm loudly. It seems like they don't notice noise here (Madrid is the second noisiest city in the world after Tokyo) and in fact, if you're not noisy, there's something wrong with you. I believe this party will prove to my nieghbours that I've integrated finally into their culture (or I'm an annoying, cowardly foreigner...).

I was planning on getting us all to leave at 1-2am to go to a club close to my house.

The question is, should I bother my arse telling them? Party is tonight and if they do say no, then I'll have to cancel and nobody will ever like me then...

Whaddya reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    And I'm a coward and afraid they'll say no.
    So what if they do say no? It's not their gaff is it? They can't stop you from having a party.

Just tell them you'll try to keep the noise to a minimum and you'll all be out by 1am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭cosmicfart

Blast them with pistachio nuts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

Why could the neighbours say no? They can't stop you.

Be courteous, and tell them, and invite them along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

El Weirdo wrote: »
    So what if they do say no? It's not their gaff is it? They can't stop you from having a party. Just tell them you'll try to keep the noise to a minimum and you'll all be out by 1am.

Well they might call Los Pigs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

Invite them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If you want to be nice then do so.
    As for the Spanish, use http://translate.google.com/ and print it off if there is any confusion.

Bendihorse wrote: »
    Invite them

I don't want them to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Spanish eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Nobody's business as long as you keep the noise down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

(Madrid is the second noisiest city in the world after Tokyo)
    Statistically speaking you have no need to tell them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Fresh Pots

I wouldn't bother telling them. Everyone's allowed have a party ever once in a while. Just as long as it quietens down around 1-2 they can't really be too annoyed. Go for it!

Well they might call Los Pigs.
    And what will Plod do? They can't stop you from having a party either. How old are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Stick a note in their door, should invite them though they prob won't come anyway

And what will Plod do? They can't stop you from having a party either. How old are you?

Can't they tell us to leave? I'm 31. Why does my age matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Dont bother telling them - little pay back for what they've done to us over the summer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

And yet you want to explain your private business to people, by your own admission, you don't know very well.

If I was you, I wouldn't be bothered telling them - its none of their business anyways. Will they tell you when they are having some sort of party? I doubt it...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

TBH unless I lived in a HOUSE and knew my neighbours well then I would never invite 50 people around for a party, it's completely disrespectful to those around you tbh.

You can try and ''keep the noise down'' all you want it's just not going to happen. There's nothing more irritating than a bunch of fúcktards keeping you awake at night.

Kojak wrote: »
    And yet you want to explain your private business to people, by your own admission, you don't know very well.

If I was you, I wouldn't be bothered telling them - its none of their business anyways. Will they tell you when they are having some sort of party? I doubt it...

It's my first house party since my early twenties and last time I had one, the police called round and we had to shut up. Perhaps I'm behind the times....just wondering what's the done thing these days...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

House party in Spain: make as much noise as you want up until 11 and then you can make no more or police will be called and they will be none too polite in telling you to finish up the party

don't tell them but buy them a bottle of wine or something tomorrow and tell them you're leaving anyway

TBH unless I lived in a HOUSE and knew my neighbours well then I would never invite 50 people around for a party, it's completely disrespectful to those around you tbh.

You can try and ''keep the noise down'' all you want it's just not going to happen. There's nothing more irritating than a bunch of fúcktards keeping you awake at night.

****tards? All night? Reread my post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

You obviously don't know that s[panish police very well, there are a number of different types but basically one is just more violent then the other. They will literally beat you into finishing up your party

Can't they tell us to leave? I'm 31. Why does my age matter?
    No they can't tell you to leave; it's your home. The Gardai have fuck all powers when it comes to parties on private property. They might come and ask you to keep it down if you're making too much noise, but that's about it.

I ask your age because you sound like some teenager that's having a party whilst her parents are away for the weekend.

Edit: Ah it seems I have misread the situation. I thought OP was living here and had Spanish neighbours.

Disregard my earlier comments. Bribe the cops. Go for the one with the biggest moustache and wettest, greasiest sweat patches. He's bound to accept it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

you answered you own question in the OP :confused:

****tards? All night? Reread my post.

Oh sorry, 2am, and that's if you do actually head to a club.

The Gardai have fuck all powers when it comes to parties on private property. .

Especially property in an entirely different country

No they can't tell you to leave; it's your home. The Gardai have fuck all powers when it comes to parties on private property. They might come and ask you to keep it down if you're making too much noise, but that's about it.

I ask your age because you sound like some teenager that's having a party whilst her parents are away for the weekend.

I live in Spain.

I Don't most posters on AH revert to teenage mode when posting? I'm only posting for the craic and to kill some time :rolleyes:

Oh sorry, 2am, and that's if you do actually head to a club.

Almost everyone coming is over the age of 30 (mostly ate 30s) and non-Irish. It won't be a vomiting out the window, nick-nacking on doors and fighting fest. It'll be reasonably civilised and if I tell people to leave to go to club, they will. They're decent like that being friends 'n' all. Perhaps you believe everyone who has a party in their home is a ****tard? Strange opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

Don't tell them, feck it. Sure you'll be heading off to a club anyway at 1 or 2 in the morning, sure its not that late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

i live in a row of houses surrounded by quite elderly people, any time we are having something i just mention to them that there are mates calling round for a party and that if at any stage the music or noise is to loud to ring me, they seem much more appreciative of that and i have yet to have a phonecall or anyone say anything.

Just don't take the piss and try and stop before to late in the night/early in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Cancel the party and grow up, there's a recession you know.

Almost everyone coming is over the age of 30 (mostly ate 30s) and non-Irish. It won't be a vomiting out the window, nick-nacking on doors and fighting fest. It'll be reasonably civilised and if I tell people to leave to go to club, they will. They're decent like that being friends 'n' all. Perhaps you believe everyone who has a party in their home is a ****tard? Strange opinion.

I believe anyone who invites 50 people to have a party in an enclosed space in what sounds like a flat or an apartment complex and expects to keep the noise down until 2am when they ''plan'' on going to a club is being disrespectful to their neighbours and is therefore a fúcktard.

If you can do it without annoying your neighbours then fair play, but if you could do that then you wouldn't need to have to start a thread in here asking if you should tell them or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭4leto

If your party is going to disturb their peace, which 50 people partying beside them will, you have to at least warn them otherwise we will see you in the next version of Neighbour from hell.

Enjoy the party.

I believe anyone who invites 50 people to have a party in an enclosed space in what sounds like a flat or an apartment complex and expects to keep the noise down until 2am when they ''plan'' on going to a club is being disrespectful to their neighbours and is therefore a fúcktard.

If you can do it without annoying your neighbours then fair play, but if you could do that then you wouldn't need to have to start a thread in here asking if you should tell them or not.

Well I think you sound uptight (you're DEFINITELY not invted to MY party) and I'm posting here asking to kill time. Now go away and spread your bad buzz elsewhere. You're annoying me.

And I might've exaggerated slightly, we've just counted 30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

If it was a weeknight, then I would protest but if it is the weekend then people are entitled to a night with friends.

MM is just sad he's not going to a party tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

4leto wrote: »
    If your party is going to disturb their peace, which 50 people partying beside them will, you have to at least warn them otherwise we will see you in the next version of Neighbour from hell.

Enjoy the party.
    ffs, live a little you sound like a right nark!. I don't think its the type of thing that the girl does every weekend. Do you ever have fun??..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Eve you're a nuisance, too old at 31 to be having parties anyway, you sound like a stupid teenager, your mates are all f*cktards. Just f**k off and cancel the stupid foreigners party, f**king cheek of you, Christ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Tell us where the party is :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Everyone that throws a party here just puts up a note in the hallway saying that they are having a party, plus they always invite everyone in the building. I wouldn't do anything more than that.

Fire ahead with it and enjoy. I never understood this BS about living in a city and expecting it to be quiet. That's what the countryside is for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Will Chambers be there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Paddy Samurai

The question is, should I bother my arse telling them? Party is tonight and if they do say no, then I'll have to cancel and nobody will ever like me then...

Whaddya reckon?

Tell them your celebrating ETA's Ceasefire..........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Have a good one Eve!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

In the country where I live a lot of the time, everyone is entitled by law to have, I think, two late night parties a year (in addition to certain holidays, when everyone is likewise free to party), provided the neighbours are informed in advance. Then they have no right to object, no matter how loud it is or how long it goes on.

The done thing is to slip a note into their letterbox, telling them the date on which the party takes place. It is also common practice to mention that they are cordially invited, although it is extremely rare for this invitation to be accepted.

What a pity Ireland does not have clear rules that everyone could follow. It would save a lot of hassle.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I wouldn't tell them, if it was going on all night til 6 or 7 am then you'd want to warn them, but since you're leaving for the club there should be no problem. Just don't let it get too out of control and it should be okay.

Tell them your celebrating ETA's Ceasefire..........;)

Was just down the shops getting goodies and thought of that as well!! I think it's a great idea! Going to write notes now and stick them under doors...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Ellis Dee wrote: »
    What a pity Ireland does not have clear rules that everyone could follow. It would save a lot of hassle.:rolleyes:

Surely the most Germanic post of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭leggit

If the party is tonight then it's probably too late to tell them. If you were going to I would have done it at least a couple of days before.

If you're leaving by 1-2am then I wouldn't worry about it unless they're the biggest captain bringdowns ever!

Enjoy your party and if they call to your door to complain, spit tequila in their eyes!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

What time is this shindig on?
    Ill bring the dutch gold......

Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaffffffff!! Ah! Remember those days....