Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fit2Fat2Fit

• 21-10-2011 8:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

Have you heard of this?

I was only sent a link to his site yesterday. What do you think?

http://www.fit2fat2fit.com/

PURPOSE

This is my story of how I plan on going from being obsessed with being fit, to fat in 6 months and how I plan on showing everyone how to get back to fit again in 6 more months. My diet will be unrestricted and I will refrain from any exercise during my fat stage. I plan on putting on around 50-60 pounds. After those 6 months, I will be teaching people how to get back in shape by allowing everyone to follow my specific meal plans and workout plans on this site. I will be documenting my progress every step of the way and blogging about it, from weekly pics, measurements, and even allowing people to decide what fatty foods I should partake of during my fat stage.

BACKGROUND

I’ve always had a passion for fitness. My love of fitness began at an early age and through sports it became an addiction. Throughout college I gained more experience through not only sports, but college courses as well. This inspired me to become a certified personal trainer through NASM. I began training clients on both proper nutrition and workout plans as a side job that I still continue to do. I’ve had great success in working with people on their meal plans and workout plans that have helped them achieve their fitness goals.

GOAL
    My goal is to inspire people to get fit, teach them how to do it and give them hope that it IS possible to get fit and stay fit. I want to share my comprehensive fitness knowledge with my followers so that they can know how to lose weight successfully, even though for many it’s going to be a struggle. People that are overweight have to overcome both physical and emotional barriers when it comes to losing weight. I hope to have a better understanding of this through my experience over the next year.
    Also, I hope to better gain an understanding of how hard it really is to be overweight. I know it’s only going to be for 6 months, but at least it’ll give me a small window of the physical and emotional issues that come with being overweight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Saw this yesterday too, it's an interesting idea - a fundamentally flawed idea, but interesting nonetheless. I'd imagine it would be significantly easier for him to relate to people who are overweight (and vice versa) having made the journey himself, but his weight-loss will be from a head-start position, what with him having the knowledge base to do it in the first place. There's muscle memory and whatnot too.

Fair play though, I'm sure it's not an easy psychological journey to put yourself through.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

IDIBISHDI

85kg -> 110kg -> 88kg

Dude's a few years late on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

I did it too.

100kg - 119kg - 96.5kg.

It's not that difficult.

I did it too.

100kg - 119kg - 96.5kg.

It's not that difficult.

Yeah, but I'm lean :p

Hanley wrote: »
    I did it too.

100kg - 119kg - 96.5kg.

It's not that difficult.

Yeah, but I'm lean :p

Swing low Internet cock swinger,
    Coming to carry Hanley to Crossfit......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

IDIBISHDI

85kg -> 110kg -> 88kg

I did it too.

100kg - 119kg - 96.5kg.

It's not that difficult.

Fair play to ye both... But he's doing it to try to help others.

I agree with the first reply from g'em too about him having a headstart position for getting back in shape. But he's doing it so that people can try to make the transition to fitness with him - I understand he will be giving nutritional advice and details of exercise regimes etc.

Anyway, just thought it may be of interest to some of you here in the fitness forum!!

Swing low Internet cock swinger,
    Coming to carry Hanley to Crossfit......

You'd have done the exact same!!!

In other news, my current 5rm squat is at about 70% of 5rm PR levels, f*ck CF, I shoulda done Smolov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭marathonic

I'd seen something similar on another thread before.

I think the conclusion was that the person would have a lot of muscle mass covered by a pretty large percentage of fat.

The mucsle mass would give the person a very high maintenance calorie requirement making it easier to lose the fat. Also, when the fat was shed, the after photos would reveal the large amount of muscle mass.

The before and after photos would give people that look the same, but have very little starting muscle mass, the impression that they could do the same in the same time period (and a ton of money would be made along the way).

I'm not sure that this is the same - I'm in work and didn't spend any time on the website looking at dodgy male photos :D

Fair play to ye both... But he's doing it to try to help others.

I agree with the first reply from g'em too about him having a headstart position for getting back in shape. But he's doing it so that people can try to make the transition to fitness with him - I understand he will be giving nutritional advice and details of exercise regimes etc.

Anyway, just thought it may be of interest to some of you here in the fitness forum!!

The majority of the stuff he's doing won't apply. He's in fantastic shape already, probably has a really good base level of cardio and strength, obviously has pretty good genetics, trains hard, knows what to do, and what not to do - you don't loook like that beofre pic without being SERIOUSLY disciplined.

This is absolutely nothing other than a publicity stunt.

marathonic wrote: »
    I'd seen something similar on another thread before.

I think the conclusion was that the person would have a lot of muscle mass covered by a pretty large percentage of fat.

The mucsle mass would give the person a very high maintenance calorie requirement making it easier to lose the fat. Also, when the fat was shed, the after photos would reveal the large amount of muscle mass.

The before and after photos would give people that look the same, but have very little starting muscle mass, the impression that they could do the same in the same time period (and a ton of money would be made along the way).

I'm not sure that this is the same - I'm in work and didn't spend any time on the website looking at dodgy male photos :D

Nail 100% on head.

You'd have done the exact same!!!

In other news, my current 5rm squat is at about 70% of 5rm PR levels, f*ck CF, I shoulda done Smolov.

Yeah, I'm sure I would have to be fair.

You can't ride two horses while wearing one pair Of board shorts!

Stick with CF for a while & see where it takes you.
    You can always go back to Beastville Tennessee on Smolov.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

This is absolutely nothing other than a publicity stunt.

And this aint?:pac:

Degsy wrote: »

...nice of you to pop on and snipe. Seems to be the usual for this forum.

As I've stated in numerous other threads, and in my log - I'm very open about my training journey. There's over 4 years of documented data on my own training and learning here. That's just another one to add to the folder.

If people have a problem with me sharing information I paid for with money and/or sweat, then that's ok - but if that's the case then I must be the best shiller ever cos I've been doing it for 4+ years now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Your first post on this thread made it about you Hanley, put yourself in the firing line like that and there's only so much bullet deflection I'm willing to do. Degsy, the seagulling is getting tiresome.

Any further comments for me, take it to PM. Fair warning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 GoneFR

This is just the kind of self promoting idea I'd expect on boards.

Complete waste of time.

Why not take someone who is actually overweight and needs the attention, record their training and weight loss.
    Instead of wasting the time on self love.

I went from 20stone - 14stone in 2 years. All it took was closing my mouth and exercise. Anyone who thinks different, or who wants to add more than there actually is to the problem, is an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

I did it too.

100kg - 119kg - 96.5kg.

It's not that difficult.
    IDIBISHDI

85kg -> 110kg -> 88kg

He made it onto the Tonight show with Jay Leno, you boys missed out, ye could have been on Tubridy!

Thud wrote: »
    He made it onto the Tonight show with Jay Leno, you boys missed out, ye could have been on Tubridy!

Saw that on his site alright, which just confirmed my initial skepticism!! I'll end up on TV anyway :D

...and GoneFR hit the nail on the head. There's been a lot of that in this thread so far - faith in fitness forum restored :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j2ALxYvbS8

Meh, no one has original ideas anymore (not saying Paul James was the 1st to do this)

Burkatron wrote: »

Meh, no one has original ideas anymore (not saying Paul James was the 1st to do this)

I've some pretty awesome original ideas... They're not worth sh*t, but that hardly matters?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭Burkatron

I've some pretty awesome original ideas... They're not worth sh*t, but that hardly matters?!

Sorry I'm just giving out for the sake of it! Suppose to be doing **** assignments that are taking away from studying relevant things :mad::mad:!!

My issue isn't with what he's doing, it's how the media are picking up on something that was only done 2 years ago! It's like Hollywood rebooting every franchise possible, it's been done! GoneFR's idea would be far more worth documenting (unless its about that blonde from steps....My gf has control of the tv :()!
    Fair play to the guy for getting exposure out if it though...I suppose :confused:

Rant rant rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

This might be a tad negative and cinical but, one - he is doin it for publicity which he has certainly gotten alot of, and two - he is a personal trainer, training is his job, this probly wont be very hard for him at all and not very relateable to your average obese person who isnt a personal trainer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭xgtdec

good timing on this one..i let a roar at my trainer last week...we were doing a sort of press up to burpee to pull up combo... and i found the middle part tough cause i have a gut and it gets in the way:o

so i says "it ok for you Mr i have a ripped stomach and ive never actually been fat"...and his response..."i dont need to have been fat...you just need to trust me that i can get rid of yours"

Stoopid trainer:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭sharky86

I'll end up on TV anyway :D

Banged up abroad??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

Burkatron wrote: »

interesting how he seemed put most the weight on in his stomach/pot belly compared to US guy who seems to have bloated all over....they should compare their crap diets...