Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I would murder for an Eddie Rockets slap up feast!

• 21-10-2011 1:37am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭

I am currently a (VERY) long way from home, on an island in the south east Pacific Ocean.
    Although I am enjoying my time here, there are some things I am craving for after a few months;
    KFC/Eddie Rockets,
    A (few) pint(s) in a decent pub with the lads,
    Heinz Ketchup,
    A bit of cold weather (Honestly, when it's +30* ALL THE TIME you miss a bit of a chill)
    Some decent TV at night,

So what do you think you would miss if you were stuck on an island far from home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I am currently a (VERY) long way from home, on an island in the south east Pacific Ocean.
    Although I am enjoying my time here, there are some things I am craving for after a few months;
    KFC/Eddie Rockets,
    Heinz Ketchup,
    A bit of cold weather (Honestly, when it's +30* ALL THE TIME you miss a bit of a chill)
    Some decent TV at night,

So what do you think you would miss if you were stuck on an island far from home?

Lost me here, everyone knows Chef is king.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Never bought anything out of there and probably never will on principle.

Heard it's seriously over-priced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Lost me here, everyone knows Chef is king.

It is in me arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

shrewdness wrote: »
    It is in me arse!

Only inside your arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

You must be in a bad way to try to get into prison so cheaply. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I haven't been in an Eddie Rockets in 5 years, and right now I live 5 minutes away from one of them.

Trust me OP, you're wearing rose tinted glasses. It's overpriced, greased up garbage for fat people served up by miserable Chinese students on the minimum wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

later10 wrote: »
    I haven't been in an Eddie Rockets in 5 years, and right now I live 5 minutes away from one of them.

Trust me OP, you're wearing rose tinted glasses. It's overpriced, greased up garbage for fat people served up by miserable Chinese students on the minimum wage.

I know, and you're right, but when you are so far away from your home comforts, overpriced, greased up garbage for fat people served up by miserable Chinese students on the minimum wage is what you dream about.

In fairness, Even when I was back in Ireland, I would only go to ER once every couple of years.

So what would you crave for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Hop on a boat over to Samoa, they have their own brand of KFC like chains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭saywhatyousee

So what would you crave for?

Barry's tea and sour cream and onion ripples.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

potato waffles, carolls premium ham, snackbox/dinnerbox from tony's chipper, chicken wings in barbecue sauce, I could go on but now i'm bloody starving and only have two eggs in the fridge and old el paso box but with no chicken. looks like an omelette.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Eddie Rockets is fúcking terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

A pint of Harp. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

When I lived in holland and scotland I really missed Tayto and TK red lemonade.

Sonics2k wrote: »

I asked for a hotdog with everything on it the other day and i got a big massive sausage drowned in ketchup with nothing else, wasn't good at all it was dire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

It is in me arse!

Arse burger :eek::eek::eek: :pac::pac::pac::pac: munch munch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

vicwatson wrote: »
    Arse burger :eek::eek::eek: :pac::pac::pac::pac: munch munch

GTFO

Arse burgers :confused:

also i'd miss meanies corn snacks pickled onion flavour dipped in curry sauce. :pac:

GTFO

Eh joke :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭Dunny

Oh rly?:D

Don't knock it till you try it....

meaniesandthaicurry.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭haydar

Curry chips, Jambons and fizzy lucozade sport.

Oh and decent spuds for mashing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Susie_Q

I'm in India and really miss certain foods from home, especially beef, Irish spuds and creamy chocolate. I'd eat them all mashed together if I had the option. Mmm chocolatey beefy mash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

A decent fry up - I dont think I've ever came close to anything nice anywhere else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

It's terrible if you don't have a voucher as it is so expensive.

They have a voucher here(you get it in the local newspaper that's free) where you get any 2 Burgers, 2 portions of fries and 2 drinks for €13 which isn't bad at all as the quality if fairly good for a fast food restaurant.

It's over €20 without the voucher though, which is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭EverEvolving

As a chain fast food joint the food is alright, they do pretty decent burgers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Eddie Rockets chocolate malt shakes are deadly, the rest is meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

Bulmers/Magners, Bisto, proper crisps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

I havent been in Eddie Rockets in years, are they still robbing c*unt's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

They arent that much of a robbery as people think - compared to McD's they are reasonable... you get a fresh bun, good quality meat and large drinks without have to "go large"!

mmmmmmmmm smokestack mmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

There's a good reason for people calling them Empty Pockets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

later10 wrote: »

I completely disagree.

I was in there last night

I had a Chicken Ceasar Salad (chicken was grilled, no grease).

I sat at the counter and was served (wish I was "serviced";)) by two absolutely stunning girls, who were also extremely nice and customer focused. Both were Eastern European

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I always miss black pudding, bacon, and chedar cheese.

I thought only schoolchildren with blazers and a love for rugby go to eddie rockets. Seems to be a lot of them skipping school. Once I went in got chips with cheese, It was that American licquid crap. Disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Balmed Out wrote: »
    I always miss black pudding, bacon, and chedar cheese.

/Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Eddie Rockets is ok. The food is nice but I think it's over-priced. I only go when I know someone else is paying.

Right now, I miss Barry's tea (nothing else comes close), Foster's, proper rashers and black and white pudding.

Burger King's are few and far over here. To get to one, I have to get on a bus to a shopping centre twenty minutes out of town. It's expensive but it's worth it. If you want a proper burger from a fast food chain, go to Burger King.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Some decent TV at night
    Your on a island in what sounds like paradise and you want to watch TV , MY GOD!

Anyway have a luck at the RTE thread and you'll never want to come back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

you guys all suck, Eddie Rockets is lovely. You can get a meal in there for less than the price of a big mac meal btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

eddies grand, but a bit too prices. i like going there after a nightclub but when sober i wouldn't generally go for eddies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I miss Eddie's loads too, especially when I'm hungover! I also really miss Itsa Bagel. They have a bagel place here that everyone raves about but compared to Itsa Bagel it's mank.

I also miss sausages, rashers, butter (NZ butter tastes "off" to me), cheese, galaxy minstrels and pretty much anything Marks and Spencer makes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Just make yer own burgers!

First they came for the socialists...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

KFC/Eddie Rockets,
    Heinz Ketchup,
    Some decent TV at night,

Jesus buddy, enjoy yourself, the lads will be there when you get back, the boozers will be there, and the sh*tty cold weather will be there.
    Go and chase some backpacker tail and get a tan or go snorkelling. You'll probably be back on the rain sodden rock sooner or later anyway, longing for the days of 30c heat and ice cold fordin beers!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

KFC/Eddie Rockets,
    Heinz Ketchup,
    Some decent TV at night,

Aren't we all :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭BuzzFish

Dropped into Eddie Rockets Naas (Newly opened) last Sat. Big mistake.

Gave me the wrong order to take away, which I only noticed when I got home. Took it all the way back and when I got there I asked the manager if she would make me a fresh milkshake as the original would be turned to milk by the time I got home the second time. She laughed in my face and said "Sur it's nicer that way". While I was sat at the counter waiting I was watching the chefs cook and it nearly made me walk out of the place. The work surfaces were filthy and in 1 15 minutes I never saw them once wipe the work area once.

Anyway... OP I'd miss sitting in an (real) Irish pub having a few pints with the lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

I was in the South Pacific once. How I long for walking around the white beaches on the coast and getting lost on remote islands. Or trying to dig up those huge crabs that burrow into the sand. Or realising how pathetic you'd be if you were stranded there when you try and spear a fish. Not that the lame spear I made would have even taken a scale off them... Seriously as soon as you step into the water they dart off at the speed of light...
    I feel no sympathy for ya buddy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

one thing i notice about eddie rockets its nearly all foreign chicks working there, not that i mind as most of them are hot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

I sometimes miss chocolate when I'm travelling, some countries have what they call chocolate, but tastes like cardboard.

Where are you OP, Easter Island?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Sonics2k wrote: »

Oreo Malts.

All they are good for.

I used to do a door in Blackrock and the girls from the ER down the street would always drop us up a malt or two over the course of the night.

Yummers.

Ye are all correct of course, however there is no reasoning for your cravings..
    Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't go back home yet, just some things that a person needs...
    Proper Coke (Coca-cola) is another one, the stuff they have here is less carbonated and too sweet.
    Oh, and a tesco/spar/dunnes.. any kind of supermarket, it's all tiny little grocery stores here that only sell a few bits & peices each, how I long for a shopping trolly !

@Imme; No, I'm in Guadalcanal/Malaita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

A curry chip from the Four Lights.

irish-stew wrote: »
    A curry chip from the Four Lights.

Just the one ?