Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prince William is voted the most influential man of 2011

• 20-10-2011 6:23pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭

Prince William, the Duke of Cambridge, has been voted the most influential man of 2011, beating the likes of Barack Obama, Steve Jobs and Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

William, who married Catherine Middleton at Westminster Abbey earlier this year in a ceremony watched by billions around the globe, was said by those surveyed to have revamped the British royal family, making them 'accessible and cool'.

Drew Lubega, editor of lifestyle website AskMen.com, which commissioned the study, said William had improved the image of the royal family 'in a way that the previous generation failed.'

'He’s a hard worker determined to use his global profile for good causes,' he added.

The recently deceased Steve Jobs finished sixth in the poll and Obama only finished tenth.

Of the top 20 most influential men of 2011 eight of them are British.

'Cool' Duke of Cambridge named most influential man of the year ahead of David Cameron and President Obama

By Deborah Arthurs
    20th October 2011
    Daily Mail

It's been a good year for the Duke of Cambridge. A glamorous new bride and a successful royal tour under his belt - and now the young duke has been named the most influential man of the year in a poll.

Prince William beat the likes of David Cameron - who was named last in the list of 50 well-known men - late Apple co-founder Steve Jobs, U.S. President Barack Obama, Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg and Justin Bieber.

The 29-year-old, who married Catherine Middleton, also 29, in April earlier this year, was said by those surveyed to have revamped the royal family, making them 'accessible and cool'.

article-2050812-0E642EF200000578-5_468x570.jpg
    The future King and Queen: the Duke of Cambridge has been named most influential man of the year in a survey, joining wife Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge (whom he is pictured with at a charity event at St James's Palace earlier this week) at the top of the polls after she was named best dressed woman in earlier studies

Drew Lubega, editor of lifestyle website AskMen.com, which commissioned the study, said William had improved the image of the royal family 'in a
    way that the previous generation failed.'

'He’s a hard worker determined to use his global profile for good causes,' he added.

The feeling of those polled, Lubega added, was that the duke had matured into his role.

'This was the year that our readers believe Prince William finally came of age,' he said.

French DJ David Guetta came second in the list of Top 49 Most Influential Men.

President Obama was named 10th in the poll, while David Cameron came in 49th - but AskMen says considering politicians are usually globally unpopular, the rankings are impressive

The Duke of Cambridge beat off competition from footballer Cristiano Ronaldo, named 3rd in the list, and Prince Harry, named 22nd, to take top spot

Footballer Cristiano Ronaldo was third, journalist Piers Morgan was fourth, and Mr Obama was 10th in a poll of 7,200 men aged 18-40.

The duke's younger brother Prince Harry came 22nd in the poll.

The results show that together the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge are becoming quite the power couple, with Catherine's pole position on global best-dressed lists adding to the status of the two as one of the world's most influential couples.

MOST INFLUENTIAL TOP TEN

1 Duke of Cambridge
    2 David Guetta, French DJ
    3 Cristiano Ronaldo, Portuguese football star
    4 Piers Morgan, journalist
    5 Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook founder and CEO
    6 Steve Jobs, late co-founder of Apple
    7 Sir Alex Ferguson, football manager
    8 Charlie Sheen, actor
    9 Alan Sugar, British businessman
    10 Barack Obama, U.S. President
    11 Justin Bieber, teen singer
    12 Daniel Radcliffe, British actor, Harry Potter
    13 Tinie Tempah, British rapper
    14 Brad Pitt, Hollywood actor
    15 Kanye West, rapper
    16 Anonymous, 'hactivist', member of anonymous hacker group
    17 Robert Pattinson, actor
    18 Lionel Messi, Argentine football star
    19 George Clooney, actor
    20 David Beckham, British football star

Prince William named most influential man ahead of David Cameron and Obama | Mail Online

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Can we please ban anything to do with the daily fail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Can we please ban anything to do with the daily fail?

Another excuse to slag a paper....

Is the article fake, inaccurate, sensationalist, or is the article just an accurate and telling article?

I bet if it was the Telegraph or The Times reporting this you would have little to say.

I don't get paper snobbery.

BTW, William comes across as a great bloke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Hardly a paper snob seeing I don't really read the/any paper. I just happen to notice that the daily mail contains a lot of horse shít.

If you want to believe that the article is accurate then fair play to you, you're easily fooled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

That is truly pathetic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

The quality of that article is given away by the fact that their Top 10 lists 20 people.

As for people like Juston Bieber, C Ronaldo, Robert Pattinson, and a few more being influential, well no, just no.

Hardly a paper snob seeing I don't really read the/any paper. I just happen to notice that the daily mail contains a lot of horse shít.

If you want to believe that the article is accurate then fair play to you, you're easily fooled.

Nothing to do with being easily fooled. Many papers contain horse****, and to you some things may be so, but to others it may interest them. We all have different tastes and likes and dislikes. That is what makes it interesting. Be a shame now if we all liked and disliked the same things.

It is impossible to tell who is the worlds most influential person. It's a very individual idea. I take it as a kinda' survey, that is all. Again, point out any inaccuracies or porkies in the article and then maybe the slagging of the paper could be justified.

website AskMen.com. They carried out the survey/report. The paper is just reporting this...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

How is a French DJ at number two? I'd never heard of him before, a quick wiki of him and he's won a few awards but so what

Is this one of these polls which huge campaigns, didn't Ronnie O'Brien become an Italian football legend or the Wolfe Tone's had the greatest song ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

So wait a second... the most influential man of the world is an unelected (And almost completely powerless) member of the British government?

Who did he influence and how exactly did he influence them? :confused:

That article is complete BS.

tricky D wrote: »
    The quality of that article is given away by the fact that their Top 10 lists 20 people.

As for people like Juston Bieber, C Ronaldo, Robert Pattinson, and a few more being influential, well no, just no.

Maybe to you they are not influential. But, the report said to others they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

The single most influential person this year is by far Mohamed Bouazizi, a lowly street vendor, who set himself on fire in protest over corruption and oppression. Whose actions sparked revolutions across the Arab world, which culminated just today in the death of the now former worlds longest serving dictator. Mail = Fail

So wait a second... the most influential man of the world is an unelected (And almost completely powerless) member of the British government?

Who did he influence and how exactly did he influence them? :confused:

That article is complete BS.

Why is it BS; because you disagree with it?:confused:

It is a report carried out amongst people, and to the people these are the results. What is BS about it?

sink wrote: »
    The single most influential person this year is by far Mohamed Bouazizi, a lowly street vendor, who set himself on fire in protest over corruption and oppression, who sparked revolutions across the Arab world, which culminated just today in the death of the now former worlds longest serving dictator. Mail = Fail

My god, did the mail carry out THIS report/survey?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

walshb wrote: »
    My god, did the mail carry out THIS report/survey?

No but the people who voted in it i.e mail readers, are clearly idiots.

How do you know who voted in it? Am I missing something? Was this a survey carried out for only daily mail readers:confused:

Drew Lubega, editor of lifestyle website AskMen.com, which commissioned the study, said William had improved the image of the royal family 'in a way that the previous generation failed.'

BTW, I don't find it odd that a person who is second in line to the British Throne, who has been in the news all his life, and who just got married with billions watching, could be quite influential to maNy people.

BTW, I don't find it odd that a person who is second in line to the British Throne, who has been in the news all his life, and who just got married with billions watching, could be quite influential to may people.
    But how does he influence them? The only reason he's famous is he just so happened to be born in the British Royal family. He'd be any old nobody if it wasn't for the whole "Royal" label.

He isn't an artist of any sort like some of the others on that list.
    He isn't a successful athlete.
    He didn't change the world in any way.
    He doesn't even have any political power.

But how does he influence them? The only reason he's famous is he just so happened to be born in the British Royal family. He'd be any old nobody if it wasn't for the whole "Royal" label.

He isn't an artist of any sort like some of the others on that list.
    He isn't a successful athlete.
    He didn't change the world in any way.
    He doesn't even have any political power.

Maybe you should ask them how he influenced them.

Soemtimes one needs to do little to have an affect, a result, a change. It is not just to do with fame, but fame absolutely helps.
    If your not famous, then who can you influnece, as in, who will vote for you if they don't know of you?

Who says a person has to achieve, or be an athlete etc to have an impact, or an influence? Where does it say this? BTW, the man has been all over the globe visting, speaking and meeting people. This not worth anything? He has been doing this for many many years. This has had to have had some effect, hence the reason he is influential. There are many many great people who are not on the list, but that is down to the report.

Ask a section of people in the Arab world and they will have a different view. It's a lot to do with tastes, media and geography.

Maybe you should ask them how he influenced them.

Soemtimes one needs to do little to have an affect, a result, a change.

Who says a person has to achieve, or be an athlete etc to have an impact, or an influence? Where does it say this? BTW, the man has been all over the globe visting, speaking and meeting people. This not worth anything?
    Probably not. Greeting people and making light conversation isn't exactly noteworthy. At least not for me anyway.

Well, maybe if he met you you may think different. It's not just meeting and greeting for many people.
    Many many great people spend most of their time meeting and interacting with people, that is what gets results.

Well, maybe if he met you you may think different. It's not just meeting and greeting for many people.
    I highly doubt it. It'd be the same as meeting any other member of the British government. "Ah yeah, he's a nice guy" and that's about it.
    Many many great people spend most of their time meeting and interacting with people, that is what gets results.
    Yep. It's a great way to improve PR. I still don't see how him being a nice guy makes him influential in any way. The only relevance he holds is to the people of Britain who will have him as head of state some time in the vague future. Even at that, he'll only be a powerless figurehead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Cannibal Ox

walshb wrote:
    Ask a section of people in the Arab world and they will have a different view. It's a lot to do with tastes, media and geography.
    It's to do with a ****ty sample :pac: You can't generalize across a population based on the views of a percentage of the readers of askmen.com. It ain't statistical dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Correction :
    Prince William, the Duke of Cambridge, has been voted the most influential man of 2011 by a tiny minority - the bunch of brain-dead Brits who read the likes of the Mail, beating the likes of Barack Obama, Steve Jobs and Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

This is no surprise. Prince William is a very good man and very influential. Well done Prince William.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Pand

Obamas nobel peace prize all over again...

It's to do with a ****ty sample :pac: You can't generalize across a population based on the views of a percentage of the readers of askmen.com. It ain't statistical dammit!

Grand, so why are folks slating the mail?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Correction :

You are so eager to slate the mail that you have not even realised that the mail did not carry out the study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭tim_holsters

Another excuse to slag a paper....

Is the article fake, inaccurate, sensationalist, or is the article just an accurate and telling article?

I bet if it was the Telegraph or The Times reporting this you would have little to say.

I don't get paper snobbery.

BTW, William comes across as a great bloke.

Really I thought he was a parasitical toff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭IRE60

Really I thought he was a parasitical toff.
    It would seem that the above opinion would vary depending if you were a subject or a citizen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 905 ✭✭✭easychair

How do you know who voted in it? Am I missing something? Was this a survey carried out for only daily mail readers:confused:

Its obviously a slow day for news. It say more about those who took part in the "survey" that they think the president of the USA has less 'influence than a footballer.

The survey was probably of three or four Daily Mail journalists who were fearful of having blank copy.Anyone who believes these things are real needs to stop and consider how the media actually works.

I am often amazed at the apparent gulliability of some that they fall for this tpe of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭SnoopyGunner

I highly doubt it. It'd be the same as meeting any other member of the British government. "Ah yeah, he's a nice guy" and that's about it.

Yep. It's a great way to improve PR. I still don't see how him being a nice guy makes him influential in any way. The only relevance he holds is to the people of Britain who will have him as head of state some time in the vague future. Even at that, he'll only be a powerless figurehead.

Whatever about his role and influence, but Prince William is not a member of the British government, he's a member of the British Royal Family, who are not members of government. Maybe people could read about the UK's system of government.

FYI, the British Queen is head of State of quite a few nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

I really don't get the 'influential' bit - I think if the pollsters were sent out with a question along the lines of ....

Name someone famous who has never appeared on Big Brother and isn't called Jordan

you'd have gotten the same answers.

Admired (for their ability to make money), maybe. Influential? I don't think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭bill_lehane

Well that thread title definitely gave me a laugh if nothing else! I find with these things often the participants are given a long list to choose from that's not much more extensive than the final results, along with a tiny box to add your own nomination that none of the readers of askmen whatever that is are likely to be bothered with. The decision by the mail to give this such play in their newspaper is certainly enough reason to criticism them in my view.