Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ballycotton 10 miler 4/3/2012

• 20-10-2011 3:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

Quick question, Is the normal practice for the Ballycotton 10 to be held on the first Sunday in March?

2011 thread
    Race website

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 29 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0%
    4 stars (good)
    89%
    The_Scary_ManopusKrusty_Clownrgfullergustaforun_Forrest_runCondo131FormosaSweaterfluffysierraTFBubendorferRedBBobMac104runrabbitEmer911solovelyQ7wfdrunGetWithItdernipper 26 votes
    3 stars (average)
    10%
    romflying_scotsmanDial Square 3 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    0%
    1 star (terrible)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

4 stars (good)
    Ballycotton 10 2012 is on Sunday March 4th, Two weeks after the Eagle AC Carrigaline 5!

Hmmm.....do I sense the phone about to ring with a 'ticking off' from mr. Ballycotton......teach him to send me off on a last minute measuring jaunt to Kerry! <big grin>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

Thanks for the heads up gringo.
    I've only done this once before and couldn't quite figure out why all the hype, but the date suits with the Berlin half on the 1st of April so I'll be there, maybe I'll figure out why people love it so much this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Most over hyped race in the country. Still i will be there to get a tshirt nxt year:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I see the following statement in their document:
    "In the interest of fairness and equality, we do not have
    online entry"

Do they not trust modern technology? Or do they prefer to go through the manual process of opening 2,500 entries and then having to type up all the data into electronic format?

I really can't see why they wouldn't go the electronic route...who would that be unfair to and imagine how much money/inefficiency they could save??

Having said all that I have zero interest in entering this so it's just a matter of curiosity really. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭Larry Brent

Woddle wrote: »
    couldn't quite figure out why all the hype,
    Most over hyped race in the country.

:eek: Best race in the country, by a country mile. All a matter of opinion I suppose. But the competition you'll get under the hour is second to none, a good reasonably quick course, great support, organisation etc.
    Still i will be there to get a tshirt nxt year:D

Bet you'll change your opinion on the race if you get a t-shirt :D But it's not the race to do as a training run which I think you've done before. Too big a race for that with the logistics of having to be there early etc. making it more of a goal race than a tune up race if you know what I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,197 ✭✭✭elvis jones

I'm up for this,

i have a standing bet i need to win and a 10 miler is needed !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

I was delighted to get in last year. Nice course, and got myself a pb, but don't think I'd do it again. Found the hanging around before hand too much of a drag - about 2 hrs - but there's not anything the organisers can do about that so it's not a negative comment at them - they do a great job with transferring runners in/out of Ballycotton. I suppose me not knowing anyone else running didn't help :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭petermijackson

belcarra wrote: »
    I see the following statement in their document:
    "In the interest of fairness and equality, we do not have
    online entry"

Do they not trust modern technology? Or do they prefer to go through the manual process of opening 2,500 entries and then having to type up all the data into electronic format?

I really can't see why they wouldn't go the electronic route...who would that be unfair to and imagine how much money/inefficiency they could save??

Having said all that I have zero interest in entering this so it's just a matter of curiosity really. :)

Could not agree more, I made this point last year. The whole stamped address envelope (for entry forms) and cheques in the post is so backwards and outdated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

4 stars (good)
    Could not agree more, I made this point last year. The whole stamped address envelope (for entry forms) and cheques in the post is so backwards and outdated.

They have the forms in a few sports shops as well & luckily for me I work within a short cycle of John Buckley sports so I'll head in there the afternoon the forms come out & stick it in the post on the way back.
    There will also be forms in John Buckley Sports (Cork), Ger Wyley Sports (Dungarvan) and local shops in Ballycotton and Shanagarry that same afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

4 stars (good)
    The easiest way to get the form is to download it from their website as soon as they release it. Keep an eye on this thread, it will be announced as soon as it is available, no doubt.

:eek: Best race in the country, by a country mile. All a matter of opinion I suppose. But the competition you'll get under the hour is second to none, a good reasonably quick course, great support, organisation etc.

Bet you'll change your opinion on the race if you get a t-shirt :D But it's not the race to do as a training run which I think you've done before. Too big a race for that with the logistics of having to be there early etc. making it more of a goal race than a tune up race if you know what I mean.

Quick is one thing it aint. The last 2 miles i dread. I was up 20 seconds on hte hour last year after 8 miles and failed. With a wind its a tough course. I honestly dont know if its worth hte effort. Leave at 9am and not home until 5.30pm.
    Dungarvan, mallow are better races. Easier get too etc. I might just enter in case;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

4 stars (good)
    Most over hyped race in the country. Still i will be there to get a tshirt nxt year:D

wash your mouth out now!! ;)

Fair play for managing to get a t-shirt though, I just have a collection of mugs :D
    It's a great race and a great day. And it is a day really, if you don't like hanging around (I call it taking in the atmosphere) then it's not for you.
    As for those moaning about the entry system I think one of the reasons it was done like this is because of how it started, a local race for local runners.

Obviously it has seen a massive rise in popularity and the application form system sort of gives an advantage to the local runners in ensuring their place.

I know I'll be there anyway, it's not worth missing just because their entry system may not be as smooth as PayPal;)

4 stars (good)
    Every year people bitch like mad about Ballycotton not having an on-line entry.

..It's the way that they do it!! ...... Now get over it!

If you're joined an AAI club or have run in all 4 of the 2011 Ballycotton series, you have two weeks, after entries open, to get your entry in.

Ballycotton is run on a very tight budget AND a low entry fee. If you want to enter online then pay your €30/40/50/whatever for another 10 miler and stop bitching about Ballycotton! It's your choice.

Roll on Ballycotton!! :D

28th consecutive Ballycotton 10 coming up!............GW!!

wash your mouth out now!! ;)

Fair play for managing to get a t-shirt though, I just have a collection of mugs :D
    It's a great race and a great day. And it is a day really, if you don't like hanging around (I call it taking in the atmosphere) then it's not for you.
    As for those moaning about the entry system I think one of the reasons it was done like this is because of how it started, a local race for local runners.

Obviously it has seen a massive rise in popularity and the application form system sort of gives an advantage to the local runners in ensuring their place.

I know I'll be there anyway, it's not worth missing just because their entry system may not be as smooth as PayPal;)

I dont have a tshirt but thats what might get me going this yr. I barely missed out last yr but my mate also missed out and he was 30 seconds ahead. If he had got one i would be gutted. Real gent aint I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

Great race.

It has its drawbacks but its the best value race in the country (and they could charge more if they wanted to!!)

The hanging around is the major drawback and on a bad day its something to embrace but head up early and bring something warm to wear.

The course is good (although the last mile or so is tough and it does seem for those few minutes to be the longest village in Ireland).

Get over the crowd and the invest the time!

The entry procedure is "old" but it saves the few bob on the online entry company. It's a runners race and its run by runners.

Dungarvan is better in some ways (easy access, arguably faster) great organisation too.

IMO Both are essential spring races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

4 stars (good)
    Podge83 wrote: »
    The course is good (although the last mile or so is tough and it does seem for those few minutes to be the longest village in Ireland).

oh how true is that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

Can anybody find the entry form online? I can only find the proceedure.

Edit: I have read the information again. I will wait till 29 November so.

4 stars (good)
    Wally Runs wrote: »
    Can anybody find the entry form online? I can only find the proceedure.

Edit: I have read the information again. I will wait till 25 November so.
    Even 29th November, when the form goes up on the website! :cool: (forms will be posted on 28th Nov to anyone who has applied, sending an s.a.e., for one.)

Re-Read the information again!! :rolleyes::cool::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,053 ✭✭✭opus

4 stars (good)
    Reminder that the entry process for this kicks off tomorrow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭qweeva

Any idea what time today the forms can be downloaded from the website? Really really want to do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kuro2k

qweeva wrote: »
    Any idea what time today the forms can be downloaded from the website? Really really want to do it!

Application went "live" around 3pm last year..........

I received the application in the post this morning so its on its way back to already :D

Thanks,
    I'm not going to get home until after 11pm tonight, so I won't get my postal forms until its probably too late. Thought that if I get the downloaded form in the post by the afternoon, I might be in with a chance. I'll keep checking. Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

4 stars (good)
    Are you a member of an AAI affiliated club? If so, you should have more time available to get your application in.

No, I'm not. I'm in a triathlon club - that won't work will it?! I did it a few years ago and I'm planning a weekend in Cork around it. Will be very disappointed if I'm only a spectator:(

4 stars (good)
    Nope, 'fraid not. If you get it in the post this evening/morning, that should be plenty of time..

Are you a member of an AAI affiliated club? If so, you should have more time available to get your application in.

I'm gonna post my entry in next week so as a AAI member I don't take a slot from someone by my entry arriving in on time....around 600 of the first 2500 opened postal entries last year were from AAI club members even though they didn't need to be so early but they still count towards reaching the 2500 cut off.

4 stars (good)
    Gringo78 wrote: »
    I'm gonna post my entry in next week so as a AAI member I don't take a slot from someone by my entry arriving in on time....around 600 of the first 2500 opened postal entries last year were from AAI club members even though they didn't need to be so early but they still count towards reaching the 2500 cut off.
    I'm sure you won't take a slot from anyone (you're just redistributing the allocation in favour of AAI-club members). They'll fill the 2,500 entries.

Actually no, whatever applications are received after the 2500 deadline is reached, but are valid because they are AAI entries in before the extended date deadline, or international entries or entries from people who completed the summer series, are added in to bump up the numbers - last year around 800 more people entered by other criteria after the first 2500 dealine was reached.

Of course if all AAI members were to delay there entry, the organisers would probably just change the cutoff down to 2000 or something like that, to control numbers.

4 stars (good)
    Gringo78 wrote: »
    Actually no, whatever applications are received after the 2500 deadline is reached, but are valid because they are AAI entries in before the extended date deadline, or international entries or entries from people who completed the summer series, are added in to bump up the numbers - last year around 800 more people entered by other criteria after the first 2500 dealine was reached.

Of course if all AAI members were to delay there entry, the organisers would probably just change the cutoff down to 2000 or something like that, to control numbers.
    Well you live and learn..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭kuro2k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭Ar Strae

Turned around and in the post on the way back!

Had to miss this year due to injury. (Speaking of which, surely they should allow deferments for such a difficult race to get into!) But this time...I will NO fail! :-)

Ronan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭corked

c y'all there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

Ar Strae wrote: »
    Turned around and in the post on the way back!

Had to miss this year due to injury. (Speaking of which, surely they should allow deferments for such a difficult race to get into!) But this time...I will NO fail! :-)

Ronan

Is it?:confused:
    You receive an application form.
    You complete said form.
    You post complete form with 15e cheque.
    You are in.

The only thing required is a modicum of organisation, something that we all do without thinking at work everyday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭rgfuller

4 stars (good)
    eliwallach wrote: »
    The only thing required is a modicum of organisation, something that we all do without thinking at work everyday.

Not quite true, you need strategy too!
    Last year during the snow, I posted 2 applications (for different people mind), one from a regional leinster post box on the day the form was available and one (the next day) from a dublin city post box, the dublin city application was accepted, the regional application was too late.
    Needless to say - this year my application went into the gpo yesterday afternoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Only saw today that applications are being accepted... dang I'm guessing I'm to late at this stage, I have run this for the last number of years so gonna be sad if I fail to get a number.

Anyone know does one need a cheques? would a bank draft do?

4 stars (good)
    Cheque/P.O./Bank draft...any will do...I reckon that not everyone in tomorrow's post will be accepted.

...of course, if you join an AAI club, you still have two full weeks to enter, irrespective of the 2,500 cutoff!! :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

4 stars (good)
    I sent mine tuesday (send cash though hope noone robs it) so i should be ok

BobMac104 wrote: »
    I sent mine tuesday (send cash though hope noone robs it) so i should be ok

That was bright.............Throwing it away is one thing but putting it in an envelope and posting it is class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

4 stars (good)
    That was bright.............Throwing it away is one thing but putting it in an envelope and posting it is class.

Agreed. If you don't make the cut they just tear up the cheque, I can't see them posting the cash back to you? Maybe I'm wrong....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭EauRouge79

4 stars (good)
    Credit where its due. My €15 was sent back to me last year. I forgot about the deadline and didnt get a chance to organise a bank draft, so took my chances.

When/how will you find out if your accepted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

4 stars (good)
    The cheque being cashed is the sign that you're in.

It's the only indication until you get the race pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭CorkRunning

"I can't see them posting the cash back to you? Maybe I'm wrong...."
    Formosa wrote: »

Formosa......you're putting a lot of information out there which is quite simply wrong! :mad:

1) The orgainisers will return the entries to anyone who is not successful. They do NOT keep anyone's money.

2) They usually announce the list of entrants in January. People will know long before they get their race packs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭rgfuller

4 stars (good)
    Note up on the website (from last night I think) - the 2500 entry limit has been reached so unless you are the following don't send any more applications!

The following will still be accepted by post up to and including Thursday December 15th:
    (a) All bona fide AAI (Athletics Ireland) registered club members.
    (b) All runners who completed the 2011 Ballycotton Summer Road Race Series (all four 5-mile events).

Plus.

All bona fide overseas entrants will be accepted by post up and including Monday January 9th.

4 stars (good)
    rgfuller wrote: »
    Note up on the website (from last night I think) - the 2500 entry limit has been reached so unless you are the following don't send any more applications!

The following will still be accepted by post up to and including Thursday December 15th:
    (a) All bona fide AAI (Athletics Ireland) registered club members.
    (b) All runners who completed the 2011 Ballycotton Summer Road Race Series (all four 5-mile events).

Plus.

All bona fide overseas entrants will be accepted by post up and including Monday January 9th.
    ...and this is why they don't need to rely on an internet-based registration system. Can you imagine the carnage if they did? It'd be like trying to pick up tickets for U2's retirement concert. At least by using the postage system, they have a better chance of getting the runners who really want to do the race, rather than those who don't mind risking 15 euro and are not sure if they'll turn up or not. Here's hoping my registration goes ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭dernipper

4 stars (good)
    They should have a list of the first 2500 entrants on the website in the coming days. Last year in particular the list was up within a week so maybe even next week should see something,

Formosa wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

rgfuller wrote: »

Thats definitely putting ideas in my head. Another month to decide :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭BobMac104

4 stars (good)

thanks for that!:rolleyes:

I did it for the cork to cobh and it was grand. I dont have a cheque book and a draft seemed like too much hassle.

As I said I posted it not too long after they put the form up on the website. id be very unlucky not to get in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Just doing up my list of races tonight for next year and Ballycotton is full.Im part of a club so does this mean I can still chance sending in an entry?

4 stars (good)
    Rfff! Yes...As an AAI club member, you have until Thursday week.