Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PAOK Salonika V Shamrock Rovers

• 20-10-2011 8:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭

Hopefully rovers can get something out of this. Really don't know what the chances of that are. PAOK have drawn against Spurs and Rubin so...

Anyway bring it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Even though not one of the glitzier names, they're still ranked 87th in Europe: 237 places above us and above clubs such as Partizan Belgrade so it will be very, very tough. Not least because they need the points to try and make ground on Rubin and Spurs who are both on 4 points now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,799 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Is it a 6.05 kick off time? Assume its on tv 3 too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭bonescap

Mushy wrote: »
    Is it a 6.05 kick off time? Assume its on tv 3 too.

Its a 20.05 KO, coverage starts on 3e at 19.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Like see Rovers get result tonight. Be great see them get some points at halfway stage.

EVENFLOW

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

This away game was where I have been most hopeful as it may suit Rovers. Partisan crowds haven't affected Rovers away from home, high temperatures haven't affected Rovers away from home, far superior opposition on paper haven't affected Rovers away from home, dodgy home refs haven't affected Rovers away from home.

As MON said, Copenhagen, Juventus, Bnei Yehuda, Partizan Belgrade, Tottingham - best performances have probably been away from home, even away to Flora Tallinn was better than the home performance for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭born2bwild

Measure of their strength that they've got Oman and Shepherd to step into those spots. Hope they do well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Have a €5 double on Sheppard 1st goal @ 14/1 and Rubin to win @ 4/1.
    Odds very big on both I thought?
    Anyway, highly unlikely either way:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

**** sake,I hate the way I can't watch this on ESPN HD because it's on poxy 3e with their crappy picture and worse commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

Nunu wrote: »
    Have a €5 double on Sheppard 1st goal @ 14/1 and Rubin to win @ 4/1.
    Odds very big on both I thought?
    Anyway, highly unlikely either way:D

What ya want is 8 team accumulators!
    Az Alkmaar, Dynamo Kiev, PSG, Standard Liege, Both teams not to score in PAOK Vs Rovers, Stade Rennes vs Celtic- under 2.5 goals, Bilbao -1 and both teams not to score in the Stoke game.
    50/1! 'ave it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Anyone else having problems with the tv3 streaming from their site?

Shams looking a bit swamped at times.

Turner and SOD are a big black hole in midfield, not providing the option for the centre-halves and fullbacks as PAOK push forward on them like Rubin Kazan did. First evidence Turner was on the pitch was as he walked off at halftime. McCormack and Finn might at least get on the ball..

Oman lucky not to give away a penalty, Murray a one-man defence at times.

dfx- wrote: »
    Turner and SOD are a big black hole in midfield, not providing the option for the centre-halves and fullbacks as they push forward like Rubin Kazan did. First evidence Turner was on the pitch was as he walked off at halftime. McCormack and Finn might at least get on the ball..

Oman lucky not to give away a penalty, Murray a one-man defence at times.

McCabe, McCormack and Ricketts, anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Cannot believe that!

Good header.

great stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

Go on the co-efficient

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

What a strike

A true fifa goal

Shambles of a call. 6 officials and not one call it right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,560 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Good game but no points nor something for the co-efficient. Looks like PAOK at home is their best bet to earn some points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Jaysus, Roddy's dressed like a badly bruised banana!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Surely TV3 could stretch the budget to do better than Kerr and Roddy ,those accents are killing me , pain me head from it:(

Here comes Kirsty mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

dsmythy wrote: »
    Good game but no points nor something for the co-efficient. Looks like PAOK at home is their best bet to earn some points.

I'd say Spurs are, to be honest!!

monkey9 wrote: »
    I'd say Spurs are, to be honest!!

i would agree , we'll be over for the xmas party and well qualified by then.

Harry could be playing in tallaght himself that night:D

BERBA wrote: »
    i would agree , we'll be over for the xmas party and well qualified by then.

Harry could be playing in tallaght himself that night:D

Well that's what i mean, though! You's will be qualified, Shams should be league champions again by that stage with their domestic season over!! A win for Shams gets them 150 grand and considering that they get 100 grand in prize money for winning the league, that's big money for a LOI club. Even a draw bags them 70 grand.

monkey9 wrote: »
    A win for Shams gets them 150 grand and considering that they get 100 grand in prize money for winning the league, that's big money for a LOI club. Even a draw bags them 70 grand.

i'll have a word with 'arry so and make sure we get the 3 points:pac:

Triffic!!!! :)

Rovers doing themselves and league proud though. Last 2 games they played well, but the better quality side winning out.

no shame in that, but be great if they least nick result in home game give them something to build on.

EVENFLOW

Frustrating in the second half.

However, no Finn, Twigg, Brush, Sives, McCormack, O'Neill, McCabe on the bench and have PAOK playing the ball into the corner to waste time, outstanding stuff.

Rovers doing themselves and league proud though. Last 2 games they played well, but the better quality side winning out.

no shame in that, but be great if they least nick result in home game give them something to build on.

Assume thats a pisstake?

P9 W1

Thats ****ing disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Assume thats a pisstake?

P9 W1

What would you prefer?

Won more than 1? not rocket science tbh.

Assume thats a pisstake?

P9 W1

9 games played in one season, perhaps there's a lesson to be learned in Inchicore of how to progress in Europe:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Against whom though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Taking the UEFA club co-efficiency rankings Spurs are ranked 28th. Rubin Kazan 55th and PAOK 87.

Currently Rovers are ranked 324. Exactly which of those teams, considering two of them have been away (WHL included) would you have expected us to win? Also you say "won more than 1" so I'm going to assume you expected us to win 2 of our opening 3 games which I'd also have to assume means beat Rubin at home and PAOK away. That would give us 6 points which would put us top of group b above copenhagen and hannover, 2nd in group d ahead of zurich and lazio, 2nd in group e ahead of dynamo kiev and besiktas, 2nd in group f above free spending PSG and salzburg, second in group g above AZ and Vienna and finally the kicker joint top of group h with Birmingham, Brugge and ahead of last years beaten finalists Braga.

Now tell me, honestly, do you think that's realistic? Ask the majority of Rovers fans and they will all tell you (dreamers aside) the most we could have hoped for was maybe a lucky away draw with PAOK and hopefully a win against them at home. That's it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Is this the shortest match thread ever?

Sligo and Bohs supporters are probably on a sabbatical from Rovers threads until 2012 for some reason. Not sure why.

Assume thats a pisstake?

P9 W1

You must have a few drinks in you. This is unprecedented territory for an Irish club. Excluding Flora Tallinn, we've played 7 times against much better opposition in the space of 3-4 months. The best anybody hoped for was to make the money and build with it, retain the league for another go next year and maybe snatch a point or two.

No matter what you say, we haven't disgraced ourselves whatsoever given the gulf in class. We've got some great publicity for the league - both in terms of LOI clubs and our supporter culture - this year and showed a lot of people that supposed "pub teams" in this league can at least play football, compete and score goals even if the gap is ultimately too wide at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

It's not even the shortest of the day. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056426883

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

The attitude of some "Irish football fans" here is shocking. Shamrock Rovers have been brilliant for Irish football. Fair play lads!

Assume thats a pisstake?

P9 W1

Ya, I must be on drugs or something.

I apoligise, becuase I mean Irish clubs having been beating the living **** out the Barcelona's and Milan's of this world and sure now look how embarressing Rovers are doing only getting to the group stages of Europa League.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

The attitude of some "Irish football fans" here is shocking. Shamrock Rovers have been brilliant for Irish football. Fair play lads!

Do you support LOI? if not, that comment comes across as quite patronising.

simonw wrote: »
    Do you support LOI? if not, that comment comes across as quite patronising.
    Yes I do support a team in The League of Ireland! Have done for the past 19 years!
    Note the Inverted commas around the words :D

same old rubbish coming out that has done so for years , pat on the back to the irish LOI team for the effort but getting hockeyed in europe

Nobody cares what you think.

Hockeyed by whom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Yep 2-1, 3-1 and 3-0 are absolute tonkings.

Well done.

5-1 is more of a tonking wouldn't you think. Considering your team's been on the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Superhands

its not P9 W1

unless the 2-1 in Belgrade doesn't count because it was in extra time ? :confused:

Rovers are P9 W2 D2 L5

The 1-2 win in Belgrade doesn't count as a win towards the co-efficient, so I presume that's where dreamers75 is manipulating the numbers.
    SantryRed wrote: »
    5-1 is more of a tonking wouldn't you think. Considering your team's been on the end of it.

5-0 against Madrid..4-0 down against Inter...3-0 down vs Young Boys..