Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ARTist in the spot light (this week: Tunney)

• 19-10-2011 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭

A busy man I know but I think everyone here would like to pick your brain. As for me it is bed time so I'll post my questions soon....everyone else - let rip! :D

Other rounds of this

other rounds of this :
    (shotgun)MCOS
    interested
    el director

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

1. You work as a programmer - Have you ever thought about creating any type of triathlon application?

2. You haven't done the same Ironman twice I think and you are looking at two different ones again this year. This seems to be a common feature among the boardies - is it a type of triathlon tourism to keep the OH interested in going or is it good for the soul to be training for a different one

3. How did the new arrival effect training - with another one due soon have you some plans to work around this.

4. I think you won my first triathlon in Nenagh a few years back - was that your first win and have you won more before or since

5. You have perhaps been known to get a little bit cross on this forum but I havent seen that in months - whats up? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭BTH

Tomorrow will hurt.

How much does it hurt??

Where hurts?

Why does it hurt?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

1) You keep saying in your blog that you haven't been training, whens the last time you trained properly?

2) When you were running 160k a week were you just running or were you cycling and swimming too?

3) Best race and worst race?( I assume Austria 09 was the 'worst' has anything trumped that? )

4) Whats your favourite flavour of crisps?

5) What are your favourite haribos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

When you have a session planned for the next morning and the baby wakes at 2am, do you get up and deal with it or pretend your still asleep and hope the wife deals with it ?

If you could make one change to the forum what would it be?

Would you ever consider just focussing on one discipline?

How many tunney jnrs do you see in the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

catweazle wrote: »
    1. You work as a programmer - Have you ever thought about creating any type of triathlon application?
    I've written some things for data cleanup of Garmin data and the like but so far nothing groundbreaking. However funny you should mention that but I'm looking at an Android and iPhone app that I am amazed isn't out there already.
    2. You haven't done the same Ironman twice I think and you are looking at two different ones again this year. This seems to be a common feature among the boardies - is it a type of triathlon tourism to keep the OH interested in going or is it good for the soul to be training for a different one

Technically I did Austria twice -'09 and '10. I'd go back to Austria again in a heart beat but "we are never going to Austria again - ever". Bad memories for Glenda.
    Frankfurt was picked as a friend was coming home from Sydney for a wedding in Frankfurt around the same time and we could all do that race. Worked out a treat.
    Barcelona is being talked about as 50% of my tri club are having babies this side of christmas and Barcelona works out nicely date wise next year. The women will be recovered in time to train and get good results and the babies will be old enough to travel nicely.
    Roth - a race I've always wanted to do.
    3. How did the new arrival effect training - with another one due soon have you some plans to work around this.

She didn't really. Any training missed was missed as a result of me and not her or Glenda. I choose not to get up early enough to not impact family life and therefore missed training sessions. All me, nothing to do with her!

#2 - no idea what is going to happen. Depends on how the baby sleeps/feeds and how Aoibhe is with the new arrival. It will be challenging but I will know by the end of the year if I can balance family/work/training well enough to get a good performance next year or if I am better staying short and domestic and not stressing myself and Glenda.

4. I think you won my first triathlon in Nenagh a few years back - was that your first win and have you won more before or since
    Yip - enjoyed that race, great weather. I won one other race back in 2009 just before the bus incident. A great race in Letrim just beside Glenda's homeplace. Garadice lake. A few seconds and thirds as well here and there.
    5. You have perhaps been known to get a little bit cross on this forum but I havent seen that in months - whats up? :D

Nothing - people annoy me less since Aoibhe arrived. I've gotten more relaxed. Sometimes its better to let people wallow in the ignorance :)
    How much does it hurt??

Where hurts?

Why does it hurt?

Hurts a good bit, my head and work night out and since I am just in the door I thought it best to go and socialise and get to know everyone a little better.
    I was on my best behaviour :)
    1) You keep saying in your blog that you haven't been training, whens the last time you trained properly?

December 2010
    2) When you were running 160k a week were you just running or were you cycling and swimming too?
    Cycling and swimming too.
    3) Best race and worst race?( I assume Austria 09 was the 'worst' has anything trumped that? )

Worst races:

Kenmare in 2005, was grossly over trained and over raced and the training I had done was all wrong (club led training at that time). I knew nothing about pacing and went off on the bike way too hard. Blew my load and suffered like a dog on the run. Totally empty, finished on stubborness alone.

Austria 2009 - to have gotten into shape I'll never be in again and to have the bus and the T1 incident happen were crushing.

Best races:

Austria 2009 - There will never be another race that I can look back on and be able to say "I gave it everything, I suffered and pushed myself as much as I could and I could give no more. I could not have pushed harder, on the day given the circumstances thats the best physical and mental performance I could have done".

Austria 2010 - Demons vanquished.

Nenagh 2009 - winning a race with my wife there to see it and for her to realise why I trained so hard.
    4) Whats your favourite flavour of crisps?
    Monster Munch
    5) What are your favourite haribos?
    Tangtastics :) Going to load up on them this week as it has been decried that our house is a junk free house from 25th October.
    Woddle wrote: »
    When you have a session planned for the next morning and the baby wakes at 2am, do you get up and deal with it or pretend your still asleep and hope the wife deals with it ?

Always get up. A Limerick Tri head (one of the old school guys) said to me after Aoibhe was born "they're only this size once, there is always more races. Enjoy them" - he was very right.

I want to be focused and disciplined and I enjoy training and racing but I love my family :)
    If you could make one change to the forum what would it be?

Bring back hunnymonster
    Would you ever consider just focussing on one discipline?
    Definitely. Eventually I won't be able to commit the time to triathlon so I'd like to do something less time consuming and easier. Running a 2:3x marathon would be the next goal. :)
    How many tunney jnrs do you see in the future?

I'd like four but cannot see that happening

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

I don't know you -at all- but even Ive noticed the mellowing in the last while. I dont know which is more scary, belligerent you, or peaceable you.

Ive got to ask the basics:

1. What is your sporting background?
    2. How long are you involved in triathlon?
    3. Where do you see yourself in 5 years (apart from surrounded by kids)
    4. Favourite discipline?
    5. Sex or chocolate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 canhascheez

Tunney, is it true that...

Chuck Norris, when feeling low, looks at a picture of you.. broken collarbone and blood soaked shoes grinding up a hill in Austria and tells himself to HTFU?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Oryx wrote: »
    I don't know you -at all- but even Ive noticed the mellowing in the last while. I dont know which is more scary, belligerent you, or peaceable you.

4. Favourite discipline?
    5. Sex or chocolate?

Number 5 might be more apt if you replace chocolate with Haribo! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

Have you ever coached and if not is it something you'd like to get into?

Right I'll have a rant later today just to balance things up :)

None really. I played hurling very badly at a Junior D level in Dublin. Probably more to do with the club bar than the sport. I was enthusiastic but no co-ordination and very unfit. When MTBing was all the rage I'd cycle up around Hellfire on my tod. Always liked cycling, never took it too seriously. Although aged 13 I was for some reason allowed to cycle from Tralee to Dingle on my own. In hindsight not the safest thing for me to have done.
    Got into training for it in Nov/Dec 2003, learnt to swim and did first race in April 2004.
    Sports wise - still doing triathlon although for fun, looking to running for racing I'd imagine. I'm not a swimmer nor cyclist really but I think I could be a good running.

4. Favourite discipline?

I actually like them all alot. I think probably least favourite is swimming, I couldn't call it between running and cycling but I think the time efficiency of running might edge running ahead.
    5. Sex or chocolate?
    Sex
    Tunney, is it true that...

Chuck Norris, when feeling low, looks at a picture of you.. broken collarbone and blood soaked shoes grinding up a hill in Austria and tells himself to HTFU?

Dunno what he does but I'm trying that approach recently :)
    pgibbo wrote: »
    Number 5 might be more apt if you replace chocolate with Haribo! :D

I do like haribo :)
    Gringo78 wrote: »
    Have you ever coached and if not is it something you'd like to get into?

I work with a few people. It would be something I'd love to do more of but time constraints mean I cannot do more than I presently do. Would love to do more of it. Its very enlightening, rather challenging and I've found it helps me clarify my own thoughts and has made me a better communicator.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Favourite Roses tune? Favourite Ian Brown solo track / album?
    Make a bold prediction, will you get tickets to the Manchester gigs next year?
    Has the crash affected your general bike behaviour, are you more relaxed on the road (when commuting for example)?
    Most controversial training theory?
    Will you be able to stay junk-free come Oct 25th or are you allowed junk outside the confines of your abode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Talk about a Tri over load with these (4/4) having said that I am actual learning a bit on Tri's.

What drew you to Triathlons in the first place as opposed to just cycling?(which looks to be one of your initial interests in Endurance sports)

Will you try to encourage the kids into Tri's or discourage?

You talk of target times in your logs yet with such a variation in courses (in terms of difficulty and also course/disclipline distance/composition) how do you manage to set time targets given there can be such a contrast between courses?

Do you feel its better to work specifically on a discipline and from there work to more general overall Tri Training or should you start broad and work down to spefic over the course of your life training span?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Hi Tunney,

1. People always ask about favourites but what is your best discipline?

2. Have you done many bike races and what did you think of them? Would you ever go back?why/why not?

3. What other sports do you follow on TV?

4. Do you enjoy your work and do you see yourself always being a programmer? ever thought of doing something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,029 ✭✭✭Pisco Sour

1) - You mention a lot that running a short race fast is a greater accomplishment than going longer. Why do you think there is such a fascination with running or tri-ing as long as possible?

2) - Are you a fan of Triathlon and athletics at an elite level? Do you watch events regularly? What athlete and triathlete do you take most inspiration from?

3) - Why are you so grumpy? :) (Don't get me wrong I think it's great haha)

christeb wrote: »
    Favourite Roses tune? Favourite Ian Brown solo track / album?
    Make a bold prediction, will you get tickets to the Manchester gigs next year?
    Has the crash affected your general bike behaviour, are you more relaxed on the road (when commuting for example)?
    Most controversial training theory?
    Will you be able to stay junk-free come Oct 25th or are you allowed junk outside the confines of your abode?

Stone roses tune? So many to choose from but "Love Spreads"
    Iano? Unfinished Monkey business. What Happen to Ya
    No I cannot see myself getting tickets to be honest. And if I just get one I would have to give it to my wife.

Yes the crash has affected my riding. I will ride defensively around buses. I tend to assume now that they will all overtake me and pull straight in so I tend to try and block any and all overtaking manoeuvres by buses.

Most controversial training theory? Run as much as you can. Running durability is vital. If you can't run 14 times a week then something is wrong with (a) your weight (b) your form (c) your concentration.

I think that if I go for Roth that I will be expected to eat clean and commit 100%.
    ecoli wrote: »
    Talk about a Tri over load with these (4/4) having said that I am actual learning a bit on Tri's.

I'll go for a pure runner next :)
    What drew you to Triathlons in the first place as opposed to just cycling?(which looks to be one of your initial interests in Endurance sports)
    I ran for a year first (think typical DCM poster) and got injured(think typical DCM poster). I needed a new bike for commuting to college (as a research postgrad so had money) and saw a bike with funky handlebars, found out what a triathlon was, bought the bike, and then joined a club and learnt to swim.
    Will you try to encourage the kids into Tri's or discourage?

Encourage running and swimming from an early age. Tri, if they want they can. As long as they swim competitively as a child then they can do tri if they want. Not sure tri is an ideal sport for kids to be honest. Certainly no clubs have a good juvenille set up. Plus standard of "coaching" seems to be pi$$ poor so would not entrust my kids to an accredited tri coach. Running yes. Seen some great and attentive coaches over the years in running clubs and Aoibhe will be over to Clonliffe when she is able to.
    You talk of target times in your logs yet with such a variation in courses (in terms of difficulty and also course/disclipline distance/composition) how do you manage to set time targets given there can be such a contrast between courses?
    I think the only real differences in courses are (1) are they short (2) road surface. everything else evens out.

I'd be happy +/- 10 minutes for my goals.

Do you feel its better to work specifically on a discipline and from there work to more general overall Tri Training or should you start broad and work down to spefic over the course of your life training span?[/QUOTE]

I think you need to be a childhood swimmer. Everything else will just come.
    kennyb3 wrote: »
    Hi Tunney,

1. People always ask about favourites but what is your best discipline?

2. Have you done many bike races and what did you think of them? Would you ever go back?why/why not?

3. What other sports do you follow on TV?

4. Do you enjoy your work and do you see yourself always being a programmer? ever thought of doing something else?

1. Running
    2. No I've not. I wanted to but they never fell right in terms of planning
    3. Hurling, rugby, cycling, running.
    4. Yes I enjoy it, no I don't see myself doing for life although I will remain in IT I think. Yes I have thought of doing other things unfortunately I am good at what I do and am paid accordingly. Getting the same money in another industry just wouldn't happen.

04072511 wrote: »
    1) - You mention a lot that running a short race fast is a greater accomplishment than going longer. Why do you think there is such a fascination with running or tri-ing as long as possible?

2) - Are you a fan of Triathlon and athletics at an elite level? Do you watch events regularly? What athlete and triathlete do you take most inspiration from?

3) - Why are you so grumpy? :) (Don't get me wrong I think it's great haha)

1) I was being somewhat deliberately argumentative there but I don't know why there is such a fascination with the believe that longer is harder. I think perhaps that its somewhat stems from people only running/tri'ing for bragging rights than enjoyment.

2) Yes I am a fan. I'm allowed watch triathlons and running events at home but never cycling. The classic and track okay, but grand tours are banned. I do watch a big. I think Crowie is top of my list of inspirational athletes at the moment, I love his attitude and his obvious love of his family and how much that that motivates him, (Macca and Lance being at the bottom).

3) I don't know but its something I'm working hard on as what kids see, kids do. I am intolerant of differing opinions and I think that results in my narkiness online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

tunney wrote: »
    Most controversial training theory? Run as much as you can. Running durability is vital. If you can't run 14 times a week then something is wrong with (a) your weight (b) your form (c) your concentration.

I'm surprised by this one, I thought you'd put more emphasis on getting harder run sessions in, and maybe cycling or swimming as run recovery (and vice versa).
    Or do you mean run 14 times a week, and 7 of those will be hard sessions?

RayCun wrote: »
    I'm surprised by this one, I thought you'd put more emphasis on getting harder run sessions in, and maybe cycling or swimming as run recovery (and vice versa).
    Or do you mean run 14 times a week, and 7 of those will be hard sessions?

What I meant was the best way to get good form is to run fatigued. If you run fatigued you get more feedback from your body about what you are doing wrong. Then you correct these and you can run efficiently.

Obviously a high risk strategy as if you don't interpret the feedback correctly and address it you will get injured.

I'm not advocating doing this all year, but once a year really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

The most angriest you’ve ever been in a race?

Biggest mistake in training?

Biggest mistake you see newbies do?

What was your eureka moment in tri when you thought ‘I’m not bad at this lark’?

When are you going to race MCOS? ;)

Is Kona an objective?

Biggest misconception about tri that you regularly hear repeated by experienced racers/posters on here?

Best/worst race in Ireland?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭Gringo78

1. When you've not been training for a long period, which discipline takes you the longest to get back to where you were?

2. 12 months run specific goal (i.e the 2:3x marathon). Ideally what would be your peak/average weekly mileage be and would you still swim and/or bike? Would you do gym work?

3. Would you use a run/walk strategy in your 2:3x marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭DaveR1

You won the 1st race I ever did in Nenagh. I looked up to you, and decided I wanted to win Nenagh! Got closer this year!

What I can't understand is how some1 who is right up there in Sprint distance triathlon in Ireland back in 2009, can never be seen again at these races and then goes onto long distance and not try and be the fastest triathlete in the country.
    I have seen something there about a bus crash on this thread (never knew before now). But the question is, why did you give up the speed you had and move to long distance?? Just makes no sense to me........

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Follwing a discussion with some other girls in our club, we have a theory that high levels of training seem to make you more aggressive and/or impatient. Would you agree with this theory, or is it just us women explaining away our moods. ;)

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    The most angriest you’ve ever been in a race?

A duathlon in punchestown, three lads rode as a 3-up, cut the course too. They should have been at the very least done for drafting. I finished fourth (winner was legit), should have been second. Was annoyed at the competitors - not just for the drafting but for thinking that what they did was okay and also at the organiser for trying to sweep it all under the carpet.
    Biggest mistake in training?
    Copying what other people did blindly because I thought they were the dogs.
    Biggest mistake you see newbies do?

Hard stuff too easy, easy stuff too hard.
    What was your eureka moment in tri when you thought ‘I’m not bad at this lark’?

Placing second in a triathlon with the fastest run split.
    When are you going to race MCOS? ;)

I already have. I crushed him. 5:30 faster in a sprint
    Is Kona an objective?
    Its something I would love to do but not an objective. The cost of going is too much. In terms of holidays, time away from family and expense. I'd love to do it but if its a choice between a new trike/clothes/whatever or a trip to kona. No brainer.
    Biggest misconception about tri that you regularly hear repeated by experienced racers/posters on here?

That joining a club is the best thing you can do.
    Best/worst race in Ireland?

Best - DCT or Kilkee, loved Garadice too. Races that look after the athletes AND the spectators.

Worst - lets not go there :) But there are some shocking ones :)
    1. When you've not been training for a long period, which discipline takes you the longest to get back to where you were?
    Bike - simply that it takes so much more time in the saddle. Really worried about this now as after 18 months off I'm concerned about getting back.
    2. 12 months run specific goal (i.e the 2:3x marathon). Ideally what would be your peak/average weekly mileage be and would you still swim and/or bike? Would you do gym work?
    Would still bike and seem but an unstructured approach and only for recovery.
    Gym work - body weight work at home, yes.
    Peak mileage - don't know, not done up a plan but probably closer to 200km
    Average up week - 160km
    Average rest week - 70km
    3. Would you use a run/walk strategy in your 2:3x marathon?

Very good question. I'd test to see what pace I'd need to run to offset the walking and hit my goal. There is a point where it just cannot work.

DaveR1 wrote: »
    You won the 1st race I ever did in Nenagh. I looked up to you, and decided I wanted to win Nenagh! Got closer this year!

What I can't understand is why would some1 who is right up there in Sprint distance triathlon in Ireland back in 2009, can never be seen again at these races and then goes onto long distance and not try and be the fastest.
    I have seen something there about a bus crash on this thread (never knew before now). But the question is, why did you give up the speed you had and move to long distance?? Just makes no sense to me........

A great race and a good question.

I've not turned my back on sprint distance racing completely. I did become somewhat disillusioned with racing in general in Ireland and I couldn't face the idea of racing in Ireland but thats not an excuse.

I entered Nenagh in 2010 but pulled out as a consequence of not being in good shape. I'd been made unemployed twice in 6 months, my wife had had a baby and I wasn't feeling the grá for the sport. I even considered pulling out of Austria in 2010. That year was all about vanquishing the demons of the bus crash and the sliced leg.

I entered Nenagh in 2011 too but also pulled out - I effectively took 2011 off training and now find myself fat and slow.

My coach wants me to ignore long distance racing in 2012 and concentrate on getting fast again. I may well do this. However ideally I would like to do what I did in 2009. Get fast and fit, race sprints and then do an IM in the summer. Combining long and fast. Very enjoyable. However that depends on the next few months. One thing is for sure however I will be racing sprints in 2012.

Follwing a discussion with some other girls in our club, we have a theory that high levels of training seem to make you more aggressive and/or impatient. Would you agree with this theory, or is it just us women explaining away our moods. ;)

For N=1 (me) I find that high levels of training make me more docile, happier, more patient, more relaxed and easier to live with. Hence Glenda wanting me to get my ass back in gear :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

1) What are your running PBs ?

2) Stupid question but do you think swimming and running complement pr take away from your running? I.e would you achieve more by running more or would you break down.

3) You've a fairly decent IM time ;) in all honestly within reason, if funds and time were no object could you go sub 9?

4) Irish triathlete you most look up to?

5) Favorite meal?

6) Excluding family does anything come close to being 100% fit and standing on a start line of a race?

7) Ideal job?

1) What are your running PBs ?

17:29 5km (ages ago)
    34:00 10km
    57:00 10 miler
    1:20 half marathon
    3:26 marathon (ages ago)

Not done that many pure running races. I'd like to change that this year
    2) Stupid question but do you think swimming and biking complement or take away from your running? I.e would you achieve more by running more or would you break down.
    The swimmer complements. The biking can detract from the running to be honest.
    3) You've a fairly decent IM time ;) in all honestly within reason, if funds and time were no object could you go sub 9?
    Yes
    4) Irish triathlete you most look up to?
    Liam Dolan
    5) Favorite meal?
    Fresh fois gras with toasted broiche and a glass of Sauterne
    Followed by Duck confit with duck fat fat roasted potato cubes with a nice red.
    Finished with a creme brulee
    6) Excluding family does anything come close to being 100% fit and standing on a start line of a race?

Nope.
    7) Ideal job?

Doctor (not a GP though)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 420 ✭✭dev123

Firstly, I think your computer may be broken..... It keeps putting :) after all your answers. Not sure if you are aware this is happening :) (It must be contagious)

With regards to running form you mentioned that you learn from running fatigued, that you intepret feedback from the body and make the required adjustments.

How exactly do you read the feedback? Have you gone as far as using gait / video analysis to train yourself to identify that when your body is sending back signals you can see what is actually happening? Or are you using spatial awareness and developing a mental picture of what your body is doing and where your limbs are during your stride?

Are the alterations subtle? Do you look at stride length, cadence, foot strike etc?

Finally, IIRC, you mentioned in another post that you are "an efficient, mid-foot striker" (or words to that effect). I think the post concerned racing flats or minimalist runners. How do you define running efficiency and how would the an average plodder look at improving efficiency ?

Thanks,
    Dev

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

dev123 wrote: »
    Firstly, I think your computer may be broken..... It keeps putting :) after all your answers. Not sure if you are aware this is happening :) (It must be contagious)

They do sat fat people are jolly! :pac:

Didn't think I was using that many!
    With regards to running form you mentioned that you learn from running fatigued, that you intepret feedback from the body and make the required adjustments.

How exactly do you read the feedback? Have you gone as far as using gait / video analysis to train yourself to identify that when your body is sending back signals you can see what is actually happening? Or are you using spatial awareness and developing a mental picture of what your body is doing and where your limbs are during your stride?

I have had gait analysis done. I don't rate it.
    I've had video analysis done years ago. I liked it but it was the coaches commentary that was more important. Running on a threadmill in front of a mirror works too.

How do I read the feedback? I suppose when fatigued bits complain. Complaining bits mean I'm doing something wrong :) Then its a case of thinking about what I am doing and whats wrong. Its why I don't run with music. If I'm distracted by music I'm not thinking of what I am doing.
    Are the alterations subtle? Do you look at stride length, cadence, foot strike etc?

I keep an eye on stride length, cadence and foot strike alright. Alterations are more to do with the muscles I engage to run though. When I'm not trained I run with a slight outwards flick of my right foot on the back section of my stride. This fires my TFL and that will ultimately result in my ITB going. When not trained I will drive off the ground with my quads rather than lifting with my hip flexors and pushing my leg forward with my glutes. If I drive off the ground I will get injured. If I don't concentrate my pelvis isn't stable too and I will ultimately get injured. I also over use my calves slightly and under use my hamstrings. So the alterations I use are to engage the right muscles at the right time. I find if I nail that then my cadence is a nice 94-95 spm, I land lightly on my feet with a reasonable stride length.
    Finally, IIRC, you mentioned in another post that you are "an efficient, mid-foot striker" (or words to that effect). I think the post concerned racing flats or minimalist runners. How do you define running efficiency and how would the an average plodder look at improving efficiency ?
    Thanks,
    Dev

I suppose I define efficiency as a measure of how much effort goes into non-forward propulsion. Bouncing, landing heavily, snaking hips, huge amounts of upper body movement would not be efficient.

Maybe I'm not efficient, maybe efficient is the wrong word. Perhaps I meant neat or tidy. I'm certainly not neat or tidy or efficient at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Tunney wrote: »
    I already have. I crushed him. 5:30 faster in a sprint
    You sure did. However, It was my first ever tri. You were in sub9 (pre bus crash) IM shape :rolleyes: You also beat DaveR1 and he would hand you your ass in a sprint today :P I was happy just to survive the 500m swim! Expectations eh.

A few questions to move on..

What is the ability you wish you had/had more of?
    Who cooks, you or Glenda and whats the norm for the Tunney family dinner?
    You are an advocate of Noakes, what is it about his theory that draws you?
    What inspires you about you?
    Were you always a promising runner? As in a 40 min 10k was never a challenge even as your fat self?
    How much does weight matter to go sub9?
    Money no object - what would Santa leave under the tree?
    What difference can you attribute to your coach making to your triathlon performances?
    Assemble your ideal training group for a week in the sun?
    Favourite Movie(s)?
    Are you a console gamer? What games have you been addicted to?
    What have you learned about yourself from coaching others and how can you apply it?
    Boards' Forum pet hate?
    How would your mother describe you?
    If you were God for a day, what would you do?

Cheers :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

1. What do you find the toughest/demanding and most enjoyable sessions in each of the disciplines.
    2. You mention swimming is your least favourite, do you have to push yourself out the door to the pool?
    3. Typically when do you do your sessions, silly o clock morning or night?
    4. Realistically with the current crop in the country how low can we get the fastest IM time down to?
    5. Most improtant piece of kit for you, Power Meter, Computrainer, Garmin 310, race wheels or other?
    6. Will you ever kick your haribo addiction.
    7. How fast can a fit Tunney expect to get around in a standalone marathon in, and likewise an IM marathon?
    8. Dream splits for your perfect IM race
    Enjoyable read so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭El Director

Ok, I got 5 mins so here goes...

1. The old dinner party question - dead or alive 5 guests?
    2. Outside of tri or indeed sport if you wish - your hero?
    3. Your fav quote?
    4. Best sports related book and non-sports book you have read?
    5. What do you consider the 5 most important things a successful triathlete must possess?
    6. Fav film?
    7. Fav box set?
    8. Money no object, what bike?
    9. What is, in your opinion, the key to running success?
    10. Do you visualise (some might call it day dream) future successes and if so what is the most common one?

El D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,983 ✭✭✭TheRoadRunner

In terms of IM how would you compare a sub 9hr time to a marathon. Is it worth a 2.30? maybe even a 2.20? Similarly what about 9.5 & 10hrs.

I'm sure some twat has a set of tables to compare events but I'm just wondering about your perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭EC1000

You say you started triathlon in 2004. How long did it take you to become competitive (i.e. top 10) or were you competitive straight away?

Typical breakfast before a tough silly o'clock session?

Do you still enjoy triathlon as much as when you got into the sport or have the tough targets that you set yourself taken away from the enjoyment of just swimming, cycling and running?

You sure did. However, It was my first ever tri. You were in sub9 (pre bus crash) IM shape :rolleyes: You also beat DaveR1 and he would hand you your ass in a sprint today :P I was happy just to survive the 500m swim! Expectations eh.

Doesn't sound half as good the way you say it though. sub9 shape would be a massive overstatement too :)
    A few questions to move on..

What is the ability you wish you had/had more of?
    Swim - I'd like to be able to do 40x100 off 1:25, coming in on 1:10. I think swimming is cool.
    Who cooks, you or Glenda and whats the norm for the Tunney family dinner?

These days it is Glenda she cooks Aoibhes dinner and we just have whatever that is. Usual low fat, low sugar, low salt, very healthy and tasty meals.
    You are an advocate of Noakes, what is it about his theory that draws you?

It makes sense, plus I like the idea that I can do something about my lack physical prowess through mental toughness.
    What inspires you about you?
    Were you always a promising runner? As in a 40 min 10k was never a challenge even as your fat self?
    HAHA - did the first Men's mini marathon in the park in 2003 or so. 49 minutes and I was chuffed.
    How much does weight matter to go sub9?

Not done it so no idea but based on the one sub9 guy I know (Peter Kerns) and his obsession with weight ("Today I call you Dave Tummy") I'd venture a guess it plays a huge role.
    Money no object - what would Santa leave under the tree?
    A big bag of money.
    Failing that a Di2 P4 with SRMs and a PC7. Lightweight(the brand) wheels and Light disc. Also HED wheels.
    What difference can you attribute to your coach making to your triathlon performances?
    Sessions and approaches that are now being talked about as "the next big thing" we were doing a few years ago. Consistent training with bang for time-buck. I think a huge amount of credit goes to the man. He has been great to work with and I think has made a huge difference to my swimming, biking and running and also shaped my outlook on life to be more balanced and more positive.
    Assemble your ideal training group for a week in the sun?

The people in my club. Only 10 of us but we work well together.
    Favourite Movie(s)?
    Lilo and Stitch
    Run Fat Boy Run
    Shawshank redemption
    2001: A Space Odyssey
    Are you a console gamer? What games have you been addicted to?
    Not any more - was mainly a PC gamer. Half-life, Quake, Doom and games from that era. GTA on the PS2
    What have you learned about yourself from coaching others and how can you apply it?
    That I should practice what I preach
    Boards' Forum pet hate?

DCM time
    How would your mother describe you?
    Mildly austistic. (not sure if she was joking at the time)
    If you were God for a day, what would you do?
    Cheers :)
    Peak into the future

EC1000 wrote: »
    You say you started triathlon in 2004. How long did it take you to become competitive (i.e. top 10) or were you competitive straight away?
    4 years to my first podium in a tri.

Typical breakfast before a tough silly o'clock session?
    Fasted, if its a session over an hour I'll take a gel during the session otherwise I've plenty of calories to get me through it and to breakfast
    Do you still enjoy triathlon as much as when you got into the sport or have the tough targets that you set yourself taken away from the enjoyment of just swimming, cycling and running?

Enjoy it more now.
    In terms of IM how would you compare a sub 9hr time to a marathon. Is it worth a 2.30? maybe even a 2.20? Similarly what about 9.5 & 10hrs.

I'm sure some twat has a set of tables to compare events but I'm just wondering about your perspective.

Sub 9 would be 2.30 I think
    9.5 would be 2.40
    10 would be 2.50 or there abouts
    Ok, I got 5 mins so here goes...

1. The old dinner party question - dead or alive 5 guests?
    Terry Prachet
    Einstein
    Richard Dawkins
    Martin Luther (the 1400s one)
    Jessica Alba

2. Outside of tri or indeed sport if you wish - your hero?
    I find heros rarely life up to expectations and I admire various people for various things but no one person I would call a hero.
    3. Your fav quote?
    "You're a b0ll0cks tune-e"
    4. Best sports related book and non-sports book you have read?

The Ender's Game series of books by Orson Scott Card (although weak after the first four) or Fallen Dragon by Peter Hamilton.

Training and Racing with a power meter
    5. What do you consider the 5 most important things a successful triathlete must possess?
    Discipline, hunger, motivation, health and a supportive family
    6. Fav film?
    Shawshank redemption
    7. Fav box set?
    Stargate Universe - final the whole premise fascinating
    The Wire
    8. Money no object, what bike?
    P4 with all the trimmings
    9. What is, in your opinion, the key to running success?
    Good form
    10. Do you visualise (some might call it day dream) future successes and if so what is the most common one?

El D.

An IM where everything goes to the plan in my head.

1. What do you find the toughest/demanding and most enjoyable sessions in each of the disciplines.
    FTP Intervals on the bike
    Hill reps on the run
    Anything sets in the pool where the main set is 2k of fast stuff
    2. You mention swimming is your least favourite, do you have to push yourself out the door to the pool?
    Yes, very difficult. Cycling and running I can be on my own. Swimming there are others around and I don't like dealing with strangers so early.
    3. Typically when do you do your sessions, silly o clock morning or night?
    Mornings
    4. Realistically with the current crop in the country how low can we get the fastest IM time down to?
    Has anyone in the country gone sub nine yet? :)
    5. Most improtant piece of kit for you, Power Meter, Computrainer, Garmin 310, race wheels or other?
    Power meter
    6. Will you ever kick your haribo addiction.
    I have to. Not for being lean, or going fast but for setting an example. Very quickly learning that kids do what they see.
    7. How fast can a fit Tunney expect to get around in a standalone marathon in, and likewise an IM marathon?
    No ideas. I know what I'd like to aim for but whether that will ever happen I do not know.
    8. Dream splits for your perfect IM race
    Swim 0:52
    Bike 4:40
    Run 2:50

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭El Director

...one more.

11. Do you belief in "god given talent" or the "10,000 hour rule" based on a study by Anders Ericsson and frequently referred to in Malcolm Gladwell's ‘Outliers’ and Matthew Syed "Bounce: How Champions Are Made"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Has anyone in the country gone sub nine yet? :)

I thought the 9 hours was broken in Roth or Austria this year:confused: or if not what does it currently stand at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭couerdelion

1. You don't seem to be a big fan of Triathlon clubs but are a member of one yourself. Can you explain?

2. I guess related to 1, Can one person truly coach all three sports or would it be better to have 3 coaches working together?

3. What's your programming language of choice?

4. Favourite Red wine (To go with the duck confit in your previous "favourite meal" answer)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Notwitch

Here's a few more. Thanks for this. SOme from me from an IM perspective.

1. Tumble turns - worth bothering with?
    2. Running big weeks - 160k - what does you bike/swim look like sessions/intensity?
    3. For sub 9 you must need to do some work on the diet/fat oxidation. Can you reocver to where you where in 09/10? If so, how paleo will it be?
    4. Any strength work planned this season
    5. You're in Roth and MCOS passes you on the bike. :) Do you blow your HR/power caps to chase or wait to see him later?
    6. New Kona lottery rules - surely a good thing?!
    7. I would struggle with the Roth/Barca thing. Are you saying you want to hit them both hard? Do you not find having the safety net of Barca will stop you going all in on the hard sessions or the actual race pre/in Roth?
    8. Some recent discussion on the fact that some recovery aids may actually be reducing the benefit from hard sessions. Any thoughts?
    9. Are us plodders wasting our time worrying about latex tubes, tyre pressue, tyre type etc. If not, what are the simple things we should be doing tyre, aero, etc wise?
    10. You get a golden ticket to pick 3 advisors (Dave Scott, Joe Friel, Gordo, Alan Couzens, Coogan types). over the next 9 months. Who do you pick and why?

Thanks again for taking the time.

I thought the 9 hours was broken in Roth or Austria this year:confused: or if not what does it currently stand at?

Irish but not based in Ireland.....

Very interesting reading. Thx Dave

1. Why do you only refer to Sprints and not Olympic as part of your race plans?
    2. Why do you rarely expand on answers and give so many one liners or make statements and leave people hanging for more info?
    3. You said it took 4 years for you to reach a podium under your coach. But how long did it take for you to start noticing the improvements and what were they?
    4. What splits do you think you were capable of before the bus accident?
    5. Is Barcelona a fun event or are you planning on peaking twice for both Roth and Barcelona?

Work calls......will post a few more later :D

...one more.

11. Do you belief in "god given talent" or the "10,000 hour rule" based on a study by Anders Ericsson and frequently referred to in Malcolm Gladwell's ‘Outliers’ and Matthew Syed "Bounce: How Champions Are Made"?

Little column A, little column B
    I think the very top end requires both columns :)

Was a joke about Peter Kerns still be able to say he has the Irish resident IM record.
    1. You don't seem to be a big fan of Triathlon clubs but are a member of one yourself. Can you explain?
    I don't see the typical Irish club model as being fantastic. Some clubs are probably great though.
    My club is a banner that a group of friends race under. We train together when our training plans intersect but don't force them to intersect so we can train together.
    2. I guess related to 1, Can one person truly coach all three sports or would it be better to have 3 coaches working together?
    Turning on its head - can 3 coaches really comprehend the impact that their training has on other disciplines and the impact the other disciplines have on theirs,
    3. What's your programming language of choice?

Java and variants of it are what I use in work. I'm happy in any language or paradigm though.
    4. Favourite Red wine (To go with the duck confit in your previous "favourite meal" answer)?

I've French family that live 2 hours south of Bordeaux so I've a penchant for wines from that region. Particularly a nice Pauillac.
    Notwitch wrote: »
    Here's a few more. Thanks for this. SOme from me from an IM perspective.

1. Tumble turns - worth bothering with?
    Still perfecting them but yes. Didn't do them in 2011 at all really so its pretty comical at the moment.
    2. Running big weeks - 160k - what does you bike/swim look like sessions/intensity?
    Swimming intensity was a mix as it normally is but was done more fatigued.
    Left the cycling as normal as well for that time of year. Mainly easy with steady and mod hard intervals. No FTP work or VO2max efforts though.
    3. For sub 9 you must need to do some work on the diet/fat oxidation. Can you reocver to where you where in 09/10? If so, how paleo will it be?

I find paleo cannot work in a family environment. I think that low GI will work in its place. I have some really fascinating books and papers to read over the next few weeks. The best I've ever been at 2.5g CHO per minute was 225watts, need to get that to 260 if I'm to have a hope in hell.
    4. Any strength work planned this season
    Always strength work - just sport specific :) Hills on the run, BG on the bike, paddles, band and parachute in the pool.
    5. You're in Roth and MCOS passes you on the bike. :) Do you blow your HR/power caps to chase or wait to see him later?
    Think: "catch him on the run"
    6. New Kona lottery rules - surely a good thing?!
    Emmm all lottery rules are bad. So are roll downs.
    7. I would struggle with the Roth/Barca thing. Are you saying you want to hit them both hard? Do you not find having the safety net of Barca will stop you going all in on the hard sessions or the actual race pre/in Roth?
    I've fully committed to neither. If I do Roth I'll want a time. I have a feeling that Barca will happen anyways due to peer pressure but I'm less sure of what will happen there to be honest.
    8. Some recent discussion on the fact that some recovery aids may actually be reducing the benefit from hard sessions. Any thoughts?
    Ohhhhh I missed that discussion - would love some links and I think I'd probably have an idea of the products in question.
    9. Are us plodders wasting our time worrying about latex tubes, tyre pressue, tyre type etc. If not, what are the simple things we should be doing tyre, aero, etc wise?
    Free time is free time.
    Tyres are typically over inflated.
    Positions are generally not fantastic for the individual.
    Alot of this stemming from bikes usually not fitting (a few shops to blame here)
    If you have access to a power meter you can approximate your Cda and work on position and equipment accordingly.
    10. You get a golden ticket to pick 3 advisors (Dave Scott, Joe Friel, Gordo, Alan Couzens, Coogan types). over the next 9 months. Who do you pick and why?

Thanks again for taking the time.

I'd stick with my coach. I'd let him bring in who he wants. I think he'd take some behind the scenes people in the British tri scene.

Very interesting reading. Thx Dave

1. Why do you only refer to Sprints and not Olympic as part of your race plans?

Just going on previous years calendars I can't see any olympics fitting. Plus I like sprints and there are some cracking sprint races on the calendar that are easy to get to
    2. Why do you rarely expand on answers and give so many one liners or make statements and leave people hanging for more info?

Cause.
    3. You said it took 4 years for you to reach a podium under your coach. But how long did it take for you to start noticing the improvements and what were they?

First year and everything.
    4. What splits do you think you were capable of before the bus accident?
    Close to an hour swim (did 1:06 with a fractured collar bone)
    4:50 bike
    Run would have been the unknown but 3:30 at worst.
    5. Is Barcelona a fun event or are you planning on peaking twice for both Roth and Barcelona?

Undecided

I used to spend ages going into detail and then I realised that most people don't want a proper discussion and certainly don't want someone saying "eh that not really true and its probably not going to help you". most seem to want to be patted on the back and left doing exactly what they are doing. One liners may being annoying but if someones really interested and wants to discuss usually they PM or email me and we chat there. Suppose something I could work on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

I have been amazed for the three years I have been watching ITU and the odd Ironman on TV that no big name seems to have ever been done for steroids. I would have to guess that it is rife in this sport such are the endurance and strength requirements. I am also skeptical with rugby also as no big name player has ever really been caught either.

Cycling, swimming and Athletics get huge amounts of bad press for steroid abuse and people often look questionably at any new world records. In my opinion they seem to be some of the only sports that seem to be paying more than lip service to steroids and are paying a heavy price for it.

I would guess that some of the top amateurs might be taking some as well

Whats your opinion on above

2. Why do you not like Macca :confused:

I have been amazed for the three years I have been watching ITU and the odd Ironman on TV that no big name seems to have ever been done for steroids. I would have to guess that it is rife in this sport such are the endurance and strength requirements. I am also skeptical with rugby also as no big name player has ever really been caught either.

Cycling, swimming and Athletics get huge amounts of bad press for steroid abuse and people often look questionably at any new world records. In my opinion they seem to be some of the only sports that seem to be paying more than lip service to steroids and are paying a heavy price for it.

I would guess that some of the top amateurs might be taking some as well

Whats your opinion on above

2. Why do you not like Macca :confused:

I would suspect that there is huge doping in all sports. I don't see why triathlon would be any different. I read recently about 43 failed tests in the Premiership last year. No sanctions though.

Most dope testing is centred around event day testing i think. Proper out of competition testing is expensive and is only really done and enforced when the sponsors demand it, which only happens when the fans demand it.

Macca? Just heard various stories that I don't like. At all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭Notwitch

Ohhhhh I missed that discussion - would love some links and I think I'd probably have an idea of the products in question.

Discussion may have been an exxxageration but from

http://www.slowtwitch.com/Training/General_Physiology/Less_is_Less_the_Myth_of_More_Recovery_2339.html

"The problem seems to be (according to research on the topic) that in reducing that inflammation, ice baths also reduce the degree to which your body overcompensates. The nerdy explanation is that ice attenuates the anabolic response. This same logic - and research - is being applied to all manner of recovery "aids," including things like anti-oxidants. The idea being that if you remove the stress, well then your body is simply going to compensate less." Jordan Rapp

also,

Do you ever need to go to your happy place when in the pool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

I have just one question (you have answered loads already), what training plan do you have the kids on?

Zuppy wrote: »
    I have just one question (you have answered loads already), what training plan do you have the kids on?

Trying to get Aoibhe to pedal her trike herself and to love swimming. No joy yet on the trike but she loves swimming pools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

love this thread!