Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IRB Player of the Year

• 19-10-2011 7:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭

Dusautoir
    Kaino
    Nonu
    Weepu
    Pocock
    Genia

That's the nominations. Have at it!

Your IRB Player of the Year 95 votes

Weepu
    0% 0 votes
    Kaino
    11% 11 votes
    Nonu
    22% 21 votes
    Genia
    18% 18 votes
    Pocock
    12% 12 votes
    Dusautoir
    21% 20 votes
    George Hook
    13% 13 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Looks like this was made for a poll!

Weepu for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

I'm a big fan of Kaino and Dusautoir but Pocock has been dominant for Australia like no other player. He has to be player of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Poll added. I wouldn't have Weepu or Dusautoir anywhere near being nominated based on the year they've had. Weepu had an indifferent S15 season and couldn't nail down the NZ jersey until they needed a kicker on the pitch due to Carter's injury. Even at that, he wasn't particularly good in the semi final. Dusautoir had an average season by his high standards. He spent a good chunk injured and hasn't had a great WC.

The fact that only players who are still in NZ and will be available for the ceremony in Auckland on Monday were nominated is not a coincidence.

Genia for me. He has been the heart and soul of the Reds and the Wallabies. Kaino a close second.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I didn't think club form came into this at all and that is was to be purely judged on internationals alone.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Kaino

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Kaino
    You went for one of the Kiwis in the end, huh? :eek:

Kaino
    Yes

Kaino
    Yes
    nonu either. I'd have no issue with that. Pocock was
    Man shamed last week. Can't have him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Very tough call between Kaino and Genia I feel, the latter was outstanding in the Reds super 15 winning campaign. However, Kaino has had a massive RWC (and year in general) so far, its a tough call!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Nominations from 3 countries :rolleyes:

No Ashton or O Brien who both had great 6 nations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Fairly scandalous

SOB deserves a nomination, Leinsters HK success seems to have gone unnoticed

Can't figure out why Weepu or Dusatair are nominated, as another poster said Weepu only secured his All Blacks jersey this year

Have to give it to Pockock I suppose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

almighty1 wrote: »
    Nominations from 3 countries :rolleyes:

No Ashton or O Brien who both had great 6 nations.

Finals of the world cup will outweigh all else no matter how dodgy. Dusautoir wouldnt be near that list if France hadnt bungled their way to the final.

If Ireland made the semi/final O'Brien would be on it for sure I'd say.

MungBean wrote: »
    Finals of the world cup will outweigh all else no matter how dodgy. Dusautoir wouldnt be near that list if France hadnt bungled their way to the final.

He's not even playing that well though, Harinorduqoy is much in much better form

People were even questioning his suitability as a captain a few weeks ago

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

From that lot, probably Pocock for me.

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    He's not even playing that well though, Harinorduqoy is much in much better form

People were even questioning his suitability as a captain a few weeks ago

Probably a close call between Dusautoir and Harinordoquy for the token French nomination and they went with the captain. Serious doubt any of them would be on the list based on performance.

Would have been Warburton if he wasnt red carded and Wales didnt lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

Who would have thought it ?
    The SH luuuuurve in continues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Where's Richie? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Very surprised Heineken Cup winning, European player of the year and New Zealand media hype-inducing Sean O'Brien didn't even get a nomination, I would have had him as one of the front runners imo.

Seems like Irish players don't do well in these award ceremonies, bar Keith Wood of course...

Not smaller countries in general though, Shane Williams has won this award.... :o

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Lads you should have a look at the below:

“The IRB Player of the Year Award is the ultimate accolade for a player to receive in his career. It takes on added significance in a Rugby World Cup year and takes into account player performances in all major internationals, including matches in the RBS 6 Nations and Tri Nations,” said IRB Chairman Bernard Lapasset.

http://www.rugbyworldcup.com/home/news/newsid=2059599.html#irb+player+year+nominees+announced

Heineken Cup, Magners League, Top 14, Aviva Premiership, Super 15, ITM Cup, and Currie Cup form do not count.

I think we all saw how corrupt the IRB player of the year system is when McCaw won it a few years back ahead of BOD

If I recall correctly the kiwis were well beaten by SA in the tri-nations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

It's a real shame as O'Driscoll was the stand out player in world rugby that year, even not counting his Heineken Cup winning season, he captained Ireland to the Grand Slam that season. It's terrible that a player of his magnitude was never recognised by this award, and he'll never get the chance again. Three times nominated. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

So you have to be in a team that gets to the world cup semi final to be nominated. :rolleyes: And where is Jamie Roberts if thats the case. SOB got player of pool C and European player of the year as well as a good 6 nations.

[Jackass] wrote: »
    It's a real shame as O'Driscoll was the stand out player in world rugby that year, even not counting his Heineken Cup winning season, he captained Ireland to the Grand Slam that season. It's terrible that a player of his magnitude was never recognised by this award, and he'll never get the chance again. Three times nominated. :/

Best 13 ever to play the game and he never got the award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

With no Richie I had to vote for Weepu - he's going down a storm in NZ. :D

all_black_piri_weepu_leads_the_haka_against_south__4cce240c2b.jpg

Piri Weepu can divide by zero.

Some people wear Superman pyjamas. Superman wears Piri Weepu pyjamas.

Piri Weepu CAN believe it's not butter.

Piri Weepu played Russian Roulette with a fully loaded gun and won.

Piri Weepu doesn’t wear a watch. HE decides what time it is.

Piri Weepu and Mr. T walked into a bar. The bar was instantly destroyed, as that level of awesome cannot be contained in one building.

Piri Weepu uses a night light. Not because Piri Weepu is afraid of the dark, but the dark is afraid of Piri Weepu.

The original title for Alien vs. Predator was Alien and Predator vs. Piri Weepu. The film was cancelled shortly after going into preproduction. No one would pay nine dollars to see a movie fourteen seconds long.

Piri Weepu counted to infinity - twice.

When Bruce Banner gets mad, he turns into the Hulk. When the Hulk gets mad, he turns into Piri Weepu.

There is no such thing as global warming. Piri Weepu was cold, so he turned the sun up.

AP/3 News

Read more: http://www.3news.co.nz/The-Piri-Weepu-Effect/tabid/1534/articleID/230063/Default.aspx#ixzz1bDdwWnqn

All a SH joke as far as I see. Where the this is bullshít option ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

All a SH joke as far as I see. Where is the atari jaguar option ?

poll edited

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Dont get the Weepu thing at all. Nonu has been far more impressive.

People need to remember that it's not necessarily about getting to the semi finals. it's clearly heavily influenced by who is going to around for the awards ceremony which is the semi finalists. The IRB aren't going to have an award where the potential winner isn't there to receive it at the ceremony. It's a PR exercise.

Even with that said, I cannot fathom how Weepu has been nominated. He's got a lot of focus due to the Carter injury and taken over kicking duties. Aside from that, his play has not been particularly great. His importance to NZ has increased significantly but his performances are in no way befitting of this. I would say the same for Dusautoir. I'm a massive fan of his but Bonnaire has been the top back row player for Les Bleus by some distance. He's finally delivering on his talent.

GerM wrote: »
    People need to remember that it's not necessarily about getting to the semi finals. it's clearly heavily influenced by who is going to around for the awards ceremony which is the semi finalists. The IRB aren't going to have an award where the potential winner isn't there to receive it at the ceremony. It's a PR exercise.

Even with that said, I cannot fathom how Weepu has been nominated. He's got a lot of focus due to the Carter injury and taken over kicking duties. Aside from that, his play has not been particularly great. His importance to NZ has increased significantly but his performances are in no way befitting of this. I would say the same for Dusautoir. I'm a massive fan of his but Bonnaire has been the top back row player for Les Bleus by some distance. He's finally delivering on his talent.

Bonnaire is playing well since the quarters but he missed two embarrassingly easy tackles that both lead to tries in the group stages, one against NZ and the other against Tonga

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Weepu for me, but closely followed by Pocock and Nonu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

... also a tad surprised Warburton didn't get a mention.

.ak wrote: »
    ... also a tad surprised Warburton didn't get a mention.

As I said, an exercise in PR. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭Lord Trollington

How can the European Player of the year not make the nominations list for World Player of the year??

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Probably a close call between Dusautoir and Harinordoquy for the token French nomination and they went with the captain. Serious doubt any of them would be on the list based on performance.

If it was based on performance, Bonnaire would be there instead.

If it was based on performance no French player would get the nomination.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Parra's had a good year, all things considered but in a 6-player shortlist I wouldn't have any Frenchmen either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭swordofislam

If they have to give it to a bloody Kiwi give it to McCaw again for dominating Pocock (who is superb) with a rusty pin in his ankle that causes constant severe pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,209 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

An absolute farce of nominations, pure joke, a player who got European player of the year add that to the fact the same player got player of his pool in this WC but is not in the final list of players LOL

Masi got player of the Six Nations where is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I don't think this awards takes club form into account, just test matches.

It's a shout between Pocock, Genia and Nonu. I'd go for Pocock, the guy is a freakish player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

I think we all saw how corrupt the IRB player of the year system is when McCaw won it a few years back ahead of BOD

[Jackass] wrote: »
    Best 13 ever to play the game and he never got the award

Agree. So as there's nothing relevant in this list I go for Hook (not the new USAP player :D).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I don't think this awards takes club form into account, just test matches.

They should rename it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Kaino for me. Has been magnificent.

profitius wrote: »
    They should rename it.

To the goon squad award. The panel that judges this is a group of TV pundits/ex players right ? Dawson, Wallace, Pienaar and others of the like ?

My own nominations:

Pocock

Nonu

Sean O' Brien

Jamie Roberts

Daag

Kaino

Harinorduqoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

Pretty sure each test is worth the same. So New Zealand's dominance in the 2008 AIs would have counterbalanced the 2009 Tri Nations series.

Ta'na Umaga was on the committee too !

Fairly sure it doesn't include the autumn series from the previous year. McCaw was awarded the honour on the day of the last autumn test in 2009 I believe. The award incorporates the calendar year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Why in the name of god would anyone even consider Weepu. What the **** has he done this year? FCUKIN' NOTHING! :confused::confused::confused: BIZZARE, BIZZARE, BIZZARE! He was poor in the Tri-Nations in my eyes, only good against Argentina to my recollection in the WC. . . Sure how games has he even played this year for the AB's? The man is also physically unfit. He is FUBAR'd after a half hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

weepu was probably nominated to inspire him even more to get his kicks on sunday, which if he does, will probably mean he will win it.

If Weepu were to win this award, it would be a crime against rugby and make a complete and utter mockery of the award. He's a slightly above average international player who has a good boot on him and plays with the best team in the world. I would honestly select any other NZ player ahead of him. What the hell did Israel Dagg do to not be selected? He has been electric. There's always a massive bias towards back row players and half backs in these awards due to their level of profile in a game. Of 59 nominations in the award's history, about 40 of them have been to half backs or back row players. Only 5 nominations have ever gone to tight five players and never a prop.