Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clonliffe Harriers 5k Xmas cracker 18th December

• 18-10-2011 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13

Clonliffe Harriers are delighted to announce the launching of the Clonliffe Harriers 5K Christmas Cracker. The return after an absence of maybe 20 years of road racing to Santry will be a fitting end to Clonliffe’s 125 year anniversary celebrations.

The race will take place on Sunday the 18th of December at 10 a.m. Over an accurate and fast course the race will start on the track at the Morton Stadium and then through Northwood before returning down Santry Avenue to finish back on the track.

The race has an AAI permit and is geared towards all athletes, runners and joggers. Walkers are also welcome. This will provide a final blow-out before the Christmas festivities begin. It promises to be a day of festive fun and merriment with prizes galore, surprises and more.

Further details will be announced over the course of the coming weeks. Pre-race day entry is €15.00 with late entries on the day €20.00. Details of online entry on www.runireland.ie soon. Further announcements on prizes and more soon. Check out the Clonliffe Harriers 5K Christmas Cracker on our facebook page. It`s going to be a cracker!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I live in Northwood so will definitely be doing this!!
    I'm thinking the lap you're talking about will be about 3.5km or so though so what is the full official course?
    It's all pretty much flat around there anyways!

I'll try and rope a few others into it also...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 murrayeo

I will post full details of route,online entry etc once they are available, it will be 5k.

You can now enter online,its on www.runireland.ie under events. €15 online or €20 as a late entry.

A map of the route will be up soon, it is going to start on the track,a lap and a bit of the track,out the gate,take a left,left again up through Northwood, at the top take a left down the main road,left again on Santry Avenue,left again onto Swords road before coming back into the stadium and finish on the track.

The couple of laps of the track and going out onto the Ballymun Rd will take it up to the 5km easily enough.
    That's the best orientation also as the little downhill before you turn into Northwood will aid us but we won't really feel the drawn out uphill to bring us back to the track:)

Bring it on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 saoirseeire

Whats the prize money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Only info on prizes ive seen is:
    There are cash prizes for the first three men and women with prizes for places 4th to 6th. There will be also prizes for the first master man and woman O/40, 45, 50, 55, 60 and 65, prizes for 1st and 2nd junior man and woman and team prizes 4 to score.

Anyone know if this is chip timed and exactly 5km?

I will post answers to the above questions about prizes and chip timing when they are sorted, suffice to say that it will be an accurate 5k course.

Cash prizes for the first three are 1st €200, 2nd €125 and 3rd €75 for both men and women. ERP ( have also come on board), for more information on ERP see www.erp-recycling.ie).

ERP are offering participants in the race the chance to win a Samsung LCD TV, a Sony MP3 player or a portable DVD player. To be in with a chance of winning one of these exiting prizes participants must bring along a used battery operated/electrical toy or ten used batteries, participants will then be entered into a draw to win. Walk, jog or run this 5k and you have a great chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes.

I'll post more updates when they are available, information also on www.clonliffeharriers.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭figs

Ran the route of this tonight for anyone that's interested...

http://connect.garmin.com/player/131936750

The route leaves the stadium and heads downhill to turn into Northwood. There's a bit of a rise (about 50ft / 16m) up to the half way point at the Ballymun Road, and then a nice fast and straight downhill down Santry Avenue and back onto the track to finish.

Reckon the second half makes it a course for PB potential for me anyway.

(Note: I've approximated the route so route map may be a a bit short. Also, it starts and finishes on the track and uses a different stadium gate, but elevations and general route are same).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

I'm thinking of doing this. Does anyone know, will there really be 'fun runners' / slower runners, or will it all be fast club runners? (Don't want to be last & lost in Santry, but would love to start & finish a race on the Santry track!)

HelenAnne wrote: »
    I'm thinking of doing this. Does anyone know, will there really be 'fun runners' / slower runners, or will it all be fast club runners? (Don't want to be last & lost in Santry, but would love to start & finish a race on the Santry track!)

Worry not... I'm pretty sure that like most other open events there will be people of all abilities taking part!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Lads, is this chip timing? I've had a quick look this morning on the Website and the entry site and I can't see any reference to it.

It did not say it on the flyer but it should have, that there will be all levels taking part from walkers,joggers to club athletes, the club is working on a few elites to take part. There is some nice cash for the first three men and women over the line. Have a look at the jingle bells 5k results, one would expect a similiar profile. It is not a race for elites or club runners only.

The raffle prizes are an incentive for people to take part in the run and in some responsible recycling. Bring along the ten batteries or the toy to be entered in the draw.

The Lord mayor Andrew Montague is going to start the race.

There is no chip timing, timing will be the same as the clonliffe 2 mile,there will be two shutes at the finish to take all the participants.

Thanks figs for the route profile

Just giving this a bump...

If you fancy a nice fast 5k course this Sunday, the Clonliffe Harriers Christmas Cracker is for you...

The race starts at 10am on Sunday, 18th December in Morton Stadium, Santry. With over 200 already registered, it promises to be a cracker (sorry - couldn't resist!)

Entries can be registered online (€15) or on the day (€20) before the race.

There's a prize fund of €2000 available, and for those of us not going to be in the top places in each category, there's a chance to win a Samsung LCD TV, a Sony MP3 player or a portable DVD player in association with ERP... all you have to do is bring along your old batteries or electronic goods to enter. Couldn't get a better deal than that!

More information can be found on the Clonliffe website. Hope to see you there.

Thanks Figs for the bump, if your going to do the race, please register online to cut down on registering people on the day.Note that online registration closes on Saturday.

A correction on Figs point, they won't take electronic goods, just batteries or a used battery operated toy. Batteries preferable.

It is open to all, walkers,joggers,runners, there will be a goody bag after the race, start and finish on the track, all for €15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭greenb

Hi, I'm new to running and have just about got up to running 5k distance. Success for me would be completing 5k in under 30mins. I'm considering entering this event......would be my first one. Should I wait until I'm a bit (a lot!) faster? I know it's open to everyone, but will there be mostly club runners at an event like this. Don't want to embarrass myself and hold up the prize giving!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

greenb wrote: »
    Hi, I'm new to running and have just about got up to running 5k distance. Success for me would be completing 5k in under 30mins. I'm considering entering this event......would be my first one. Should I wait until I'm a bit (a lot!) faster? I know it's open to everyone, but will there be mostly club runners at an event like this. Don't want to embarrass myself and hold up the prize giving!!!

Go for it! You'll find it much easier running in a crowd and there'll be walkers taking part so you won't hold anything up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭pistol_75

Does anyone know if showers will be available after the race?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

I'll be there- looks like a fun one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

As a former Clonliffe runner I'd love to run this but I'm injured. I'll be along to support & take a few snaps for racepix. Best of luck to everyone running:D!

Fully agree with mccarte2 in response to greeenb,its not only for club athletes,funnily enough,exactly half of those registered are with a club.Do this 5k,get a PB,train some more and smash that PB in the new year.

To answer Pistol75

Does anyone know if showers will be available after the race? yes,there will be showers in the clubhouse.

If your doing it, please register online as it will cut out admin work and help get the results out quicker. Dont forget batteries to be entered in the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Can anyone confirm the details for number collection?
    - I assume it's from 8-8:30am on Sunday morning?

What are the parking arrangements?
    - Roads outside? I can't see the stadium taking all the cars?

Can anyone confirm the details for number collection?
    - I assume it's from 8-8:30am on Sunday morning?

What are the parking arrangements?
    - Roads outside? I can't see the stadium taking all the cars?

The race starts at 10am so I assume 9:30am will be the cut-off for collecting numbers, not 8:30am?

The main road will be very unsuitable for parking.
    Instead, there is a car park for Santry Demesne Park located just beside the stadium (Santry Village side) which should be able to take about 50 cars, and then there is also the Crowne Plaza multi-storey car park on the airport side (Approx 500m from the stadium) which allows free parking for 2 hrs. Given all this I imagine there should be sufficient parking available.

This is just feedback from a personal point of view as a local resident and is not Clonliffe's information, which I'm sure will probably follow.

Edit: The stadium car park should be able to hold all/most of the cars as they have obviously hosted big meetings before.

Thanks belcarra,some good suggestions.

Number collection from 8.30, car park in Santry stadium,enter gate 1, there is also parking across from Santry Demesne if the Demesne is not open. Please do not park on the road.

Don't forget batteries for the draw.

For some reason,online reg is now closed, apologies to those that have yet to register, it was supposed to be open till tomorrow midnight.You can register on the day.

List of details on www.clonliffeharriers.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ac20

well organised race this morning, I set a pb which I am delighted with and I have to say the goodie bag is one of the best Ive seen. Well done Clonliffe on organising a great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Nice race, great morning for it. Course was short by about 100-150m, I presume mainly as we ran the first lap of the track on the grass instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Great race & the huge effort to clear the track was appreciated. Thank you Clonliffe & all the stewards. Nice Goody bag too. Not slippy on route just the car park & delighted not to see any faller. A later time would probably have helped as the sun had the icy track almost clear when I left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭climbhigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭The Hammer

see this link on Clonliffe Harriers facebook - more pictures from the race
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/peterm7/6530747027/in/set-72157628466723323/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

who were the male/female winners ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jahaco

Joe warne won the men's race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Joe Warne,Emmett Dunlevy and Conore Healy.All broke 15mins.
    Womens winner was Sara Treacy from Deirdre Byrne I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭footing

Joe Warne,Emmett Dunlevy and Conore Healy.All broke 15mins.
    Women's winner was Sara Treacy from Deirdre Byrne I think.
    Here you go - results summary:
    Men: 1 Joe Warne (Doheny) 14.43; 2 Emett Dunleavy (Sligo) 14.44; 3 Conor Healy (Clonliffe) 14.55; 4 Alan McCormack (DSD) 15.02; 5 Ciaran Doherty (Letterkenny, M35) 15.07; 6 Pat Byrne (Tinryland, M35) 15.15.
    M40: 1 Declan Power (Clonliffe) 15.34; 2 Mick Boyle (Raheny Shamrock) 15.55; 3 Ian Egan (GCH) 16.19. M45: 1 Sean Dunne (Sli Cualann) 17.17; 2 Nigel Burke (Sportsworld) 18.05; 3 Kieran Murphy (Clonliffe) 18.41. M50: 1 Niall Coppinger (Tallaght) 16.53; 2 Philip O’Doherty (Clonliffe) 17.14; 3 Mick Fennell (Civil Service) 18.19. M55: Desie Shorten (Talaght) 17.22. M60: Jim Gaughan (Mayo) 18.17. M65: Liam Mulready (Raheny Shamrock) 22.23. Juniors: 1 Eoin Taggart (Greystones) 15.49; 2 Keith Fallon (GCH) 15.54. Team – Clonliffe Hrs.
    Women: 1 Sarah Treacy (Moynalvy)16.06; 2 Deirdre Byrne (Sli Cualann) 16.26; 3 Ciara Durkan (Skerries) 16.50; 4 Teresa McGloin (Finn Valley) 17.10; 5 Annette Kealy (Raheny Shamrock, W40) 17.21; 6 Ailish Malone (Clonliffe) 17.24.
    W35: Maura Mathews (Clonliffe) 19.41. W40: Maura Diggin (Celbridge) 21.38. W45: Mary Purdue Smith (Raheny Shamrock) 22.46. W50: Sheelagh Jones (DSD) 20.16. W55: Margaret McCreary (Civil Service Hrs) 21.56. Juniors: 1 Lorna Begley (Clonliffe) 18.58; 2 Roisin Leahy (Clonliffe)20.21. Team – Clonliffe Hrs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

mloc123 wrote: »
    Nice race, great morning for it. Course was short by about 100-150m, I presume mainly as we ran the first lap of the track on the grass instead.

Clonliffe hang your head in shame. Disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭seedorf117

no more than 100 short, 150 aint true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

seedorf117 wrote: »
    no more than 100 short, 150 aint true

They still made a balls of it. Clonliffe are supposed to be one of Ireland top clubs and they cant organise an accurate course. Defend them all you like but they blew it.

For safety reasons, the race was unable to start on the track as planned as the track was covered in heavy frost - which was obvious to everyone who was there this morning.

The contingency plan was put into play, and the route did a lap of the infield, and then out the gate and onto the planned route. The discrepancy in distance is accounted for running on the infield rather than around the track. The route started at the best alternative location in the interest of safety for all. The other alternative was no race at all.

The feedback so far has been that the race was well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. We would appreciate any constructive feedback (both positive & negative) from those that took part to ensure we do the very best next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

figs wrote: »
    For safety reasons, the race was unable to start on the track as planned as the track was covered in heavy frost - which was obvious to everyone who was there this morning.

The contingency plan was put into play, and the route did a lap of the infield, and then out the gate and onto the planned route. The discrepancy in distance is accounted for running on the infield rather than around the track. The route started at the best alternative location in the interest of safety for all. The other alternative was no race at all.

The feedback so far has been that the race was well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. We would appreciate any constructive feedback (both positive & negative) from those that took part to ensure we do the very best next year.

If this was part of a contingency plan then why not just move the finish line 100m (or whatever the discrepency was) further away to make it 5k?

To be fair to the organisers it was either this option or cancel and I'm glad it went ahead.
    Just a shame as it was such a fast circuit I was on for a handy PB.

Will the club look at using the same route again at another stage of the year ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

figs wrote: »

Why not measure out 400 meters on the grass before the race as part of the contingency plan?

Rather than run one lap of 300 metres, a lap and a half could have made up the distance. 5000 meters needed to be reached not 4900.

How about the people who thought they ran pbs?

menoscemo wrote: »
    If this was part of a contingency plan then why not just move the finish line 100m (or whatever the discrepency was) further away to make it 5k?

The finish line would have been on top of the gate entering for the lap to finish the race with that change.
    The only option was to add another two 90 degree turns on the pitch at the start I would imagine, i.e. chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 expato

Excellent on every count. Well done Clonliffe.

The finish line would have been on top of the gate entering for the lap to finish the race with that change.
    The only option was to add another two 90 degree turns on the pitch at the start I would imagine, i.e. chaos.

Exactly.

Other options of starting the race on the road were also considered. Unfortunately we had to satisfy the authorities and gardai also, and this could not be accommodated.

Original course was measured with a jones counter and would have been 5k, unfortunately we had no choice due to the heavy frost and ice to alter the course for safety reasons. Great finish to the race with Joe Warne and Emmet Dunleavy hard at it.

PM me if you want to any give any feedback (good or bad). Hopefully the majority of you enjoyed the race and will be back next year, feedback afterwards was positive.

Thanks to all those that took part,also to the sponsors,the Lord Mayor, the Gardai and the countless officials/stewards.

Results are on www.clonliffeharriers.com, updated report and some photo's tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

They still made a balls of it. Clonliffe are supposed to be one of Ireland top clubs and they cant organise an accurate course. Defend them all you like but they blew it.

Pathetic post. I don't suppose you were there.
    There were two options this morning. One was to cancel the race. The other was to do what was actually done. First and foremost was the safety of all the runners. That was achieved. No one fell.
    The race was the longest distance that was possible under the circumstances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Really enjoyed it. Great race, Clonliffe! Welcoming atmosphere, encouraging stewards & enjoyable raffle / prize giving afterwards. Couldn't be helped about the frost on the track. Looking forward to the 2012 race!

murrayeo wrote: »
    Original course was measured with a jones counter and would have been 5k, unfortunately we had no choice due to the heavy frost and ice to alter the course for safety reasons. Great finish to the race with Joe Warne and Emmet Dunleavy hard at it.

PM me if you want to any give any feedback (good or bad). Hopefully the majority of you enjoyed the race and will be back next year, feedback afterwards was positive.

Thanks to all those that took part,also to the sponsors,the Lord Mayor, the Gardai and the countless officials/stewards.

Results are on www.clonliffeharriers.com, updated report and some photo's tomorrow

PM sent regarding results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭wgtomblin

Great race. Very well organised. Hopefully will become an annual fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭groovyg

Well done to Clonliffe for organising a good race given the conditions. When I turned up and saw the state of the track I was expecting it to be cancelled Its a great course and has got definite potential for a pb.