Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Falling asleep in work

• 17-10-2011 12:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭

OK I just fell asleep at my desk and was woken by the phone ringing....

I am very tired today and basically don't feel like doing anything. I work alone and my boss pops into the office a few times a week but I never know if he will be in from one day to the next.

I have a master plan, I was going to lock the door from the inside and pop a note on the outside saying I have gone for lunch put my feet up and have a nice sleep. Good idea or bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Why didnt you call a sickie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

fantastic idea! if my boss would feck off I'd do the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭Colilfc

Go to the toilet and fall asleep in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Do a Mission Impossible job. Break a few lightbulbs and spread the glass at the door. Should hear anyone come in that way.

Or buy those glasses with the eyes on them. Y'know the ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

You're fired!

-Boss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Your monday afternoon work **** will have to go on the backburner now.

Also why aren't you on lunch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Fell asleep here when I was covering the phones during lunch last Thursday. Got one of those jumpy moments then realised I had drool on my arm and it was 10 minutes later. Felt better for it too. Sleep away OP, sleep away.

orourkeda wrote: »
    Why didnt you call a sickie?

Newb.

Sickies are more suss when taken on a Friday or Monday. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

There is your first mistake, should have taken it of the hook, you would still be asleep now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭Freddie59

I am very tired today and basically don't feel like doing anything. I work alone and my boss pops into the office a few times a week but I never know if he will be in from one day to the next.

I have a master plan, I was going to lock the door from the inside and pop a note on the outside saying I have gone for lunch put my feet up and have a nice sleep. Good idea or bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Dublin Chick

Colilfc wrote: »
    Go to the toilet and fall asleep in there.

Not as comfy in there!

hondasam wrote: »
    There is your first mistake, should have taken it of the hook, you would still be asleep now.

Hahahaha!!! How true :)

Ok ok one of our drivers just came in and said my bosses car in in the car park so he must be pn his way to me, great he only ever stays a few mins and fecks off so as soon as he goes I will be in snoozeville :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

We used to have these huge shelves with a front on them in my old job. Often times you'd climb up and find someone asleep in them.
    God,I miss that job :D

alwaysadub wrote: »
    We used to have these huge shelves with a front on them in my old job. Often times you'd climb up and find someone asleep in them.
    God,I miss that job :D

Homebase? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

Ok ok one of our drivers just came in and said my bosses car in in the car park so he must be pn his way to me, great he only ever stays a few mins and fecks off so as soon as he goes I will be in snoozeville :)
    Sweet Dreams so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭chinwag

No wonder the country is fcuked.

BTW, any vacancies there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

chinwag wrote: »
    No wonder the country is fcuked.

BTW, any vacancies there?

Ah here you can't blame the country being fcuked on my little snooze. Also I would like to say that this is only about the third time in 15 years I have fallen asleep on the job. Basically I don't think having a sleep every 5 years in work is all that bad.

I would have called in sick but due to my finances being fcuked I had to move home and to be honest a sick day is just not the same when you live with your mam and dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Give it ten mins before you fall asleep incase he forgot something and comes back. After that you are in the clear and enjoy your kip. Tomorrow bring your PJ's in with you to make it all the more comfortable :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Kill your boss and sleep in his innards, Star Wars shtyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Tonto86

I used to have a job years back where I could make myself a bed outa stock and bubble wrap... also used to make myself some bubble wrap pillows and a douvea....

OP all your missing is a nice cuppa tea and some online daytime TV... living the dream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

You're in the same job for 15 years! no wonder you fell asleep.

kfallon wrote: »
    Give it ten mins before you fall asleep incase he forgot something and comes back. After that you are in the clear and enjoy your kip. Tomorrow bring your PJ's in with you to make it all the more comfortable :D

LOL, can you imagine your boss walking into the office and not only are you asleep but you have like one of those onesies on!!

A0C57DEC.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

LOL, can you imagine your boss walking into the office and not only are you saleep but you have like one of those onesies on!!

A0C57DEC.jpg

Do you need someone to cuddle or push his manhood up against your bottom? :D

Tonto86 wrote: »
    I could make myself a bed outa stock and bubble wrap... also used to make myself some bubble wrap pillows and a douvea....

Tonto my friend it is you who has lived the dream:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

chin_grin wrote: »
    Homebase? :pac:

Used to do it in Woodies... We had couches in behind the racking.. :D
    Was a life saver when hanging on a Sunday morning!!

Do you need someone to cuddle or push his manhood up against your bottom? :D

Yeah cause all a woman wants when she is sleepy is someone sticking their feckin manhood against you......yeah we all LOVE that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭fungun

Newb.

According to a BBC news report I read before, 40% of sickies are taken on Monday or Friday....can you believe that!!!!! :eek: :rolleyes:

fungun wrote: »
    According to a BBC news report I read before, 40% of sickies are taken on Monday or Friday....can you believe that!!!!! :eek: :rolleyes:

Yes, considering the rest of the week is the other 60% (20% each for tue wed thur)

Yeah cause all a woman wants when she is sleepy is someone sticking their feckin manhood against you......yeah we all LOVE that :rolleyes:

Il be careful not to wake you :)

LOL, can you imagine your boss walking into the office and not only are you asleep but you have like one of those onesies on!!

A0C57DEC.jpg

Every day bring something extra in with you, tomorrow your toothbrush, next day your duvet, then your teddy bear etc, he won't know the subtle (:P) differences and before long you will have your bedroom and essentials in work and you won't have to worry about living with Mam & Dad.....and don't forget to have a 'house warming' some Friday night :pac:

Il be careful not to wake you :)

Is it that small???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Newb.

Eh, today is Monday!

Is it that small???

No, chloroform :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

I used to work in a hotel,we used to go into the empty conference rooms and climb under tables and have a nap when we were hanging on a sunday morning.

One girl though came in ****faced from the night before dropping plates and wobbling around, manager gave her a room key and told her to get some kip-lucky bitch!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Had a job years back where I did a bit of driving.
    I often pulled in and had a little snooze - If I was tired it was the safest thing to do I told myself :D

Every day bring something extra in with you, tomorrow your toothbrush, next day your duvet, then your teddy bear etc, he won't know the subtle (:P) differences and before long you will have your bedroom and essentials in work and you won't have to worry about living with Mam & Dad.....and don't forget to have a 'house warming' some Friday night :pac:

My goodness your a GENIUS! I love this idea! Basically you wake up in the am and ur already in work, regardless of what time you wake up at your on time......Well I was here at 9.00am boss, and ACTUALLY a few mornings this week I was here as early as six :eek:

There is nothing wrong with having ten minute nap on your break,if you are very tired you cannot concentrate anyway so it would be beneficial to your boss.
    Tell him this if he catches you asleep.you must be wide awake now.

That's the spirit, "Yes boss I was here at 6 this morn! You don't believe me? Well the evidence is over in that plant in the corner cos I rolled out of bed at 6 and had a piss in it so there! Now if you'll excuse me Jeremy Kyle is about to start so I'll bid you good day sir" :pac:

hondasam wrote: »
    There is nothing wrong with having ten minute nap on your break.

Can I please have my boss call you if he does catch me.......

Well the evidence is over in that plant in the corner cos I rolled out of bed at 6 and had a piss in it so there!

Eh we have a toilet in the office dude....:)

Too far and too dark to walk to at 6am!

I am guessing your sleepiness has now passed!

Too far and too dark to walk to at 6am!

I am guessing your sleepiness has now passed!

Nope I could go asleep right now but have decided to battle through and leave at 4, I do enjoy a train sleep so I look forward to that on the way home.

Can I please have my boss call you if he does catch me.......

what you do on your break is your time,he cannot say anything about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Don't be a pussy... put your feet up! :D

smash wrote: »
    Don't be a pussy... put your feet up! :D

Your right I am being a total pussy, and basically as hondasam said it's basically my RIGHT to have a sleep! I don't really take breaks at all so am going to take a few at once now :)

Nope I could go asleep right now but have decided to battle through and leave at 4, I do enjoy a train sleep so I look forward to that on the way home.

You're a trooper, fair play :P
    Just make sure you don't miss your stop on the train and don't get stuck next to somebody who has their iPod on full blast so everyone can hear what they are listening to :rolleyes:

Your right I am being a total pussy, and basically as hondasam said it's basically my RIGHT to have a sleep! I don't really take breaks at all so am going to take a few at once now :)

Rock-a-bye baby, on the tree top :pac:

Just make sure you don't miss your stop on the train

A few weeks ago I went into town shopping on a Saturday and had a few cheeky vinos after with a friend, I got the DART a bit tipsy and fell asleep, I woke up with a guy in an orange iarnrod eireann jacket standing over me trying to wake me (I have been told that when I am in a deep sleep this is near impossible!). I was basically in a parked train that had gone to Bray, gone out of service and was parked miles away from any platform, the guy had to drive the train right back up to let me out....cringe