Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help

• 15-10-2011 11:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭

Just brought the dog for a walk a couple of mins ago and found something just inside the front garden wall. No name on it or anything. Don't know how it got there and i know it wasn't there earlier. It's a brown leather satchel like bag with a few bob in it. Wife wants me to bring it to the garda station. Maybe its for the best. Then again, i don't want a gang of heavies at my door tomorow looking for their bag. Think i'll sleep on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Think i'll sleep on it.
    Don't man, you don't know where's it's been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭herosa

Define a few bob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Dublindude69

I'd ring the guardi, sounds scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Why even post about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Sky King wrote: »
    Don't man, you don't know where's it's been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Leave it back where you found it, your fingerprints are all over it now, wash it first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭sellerbarry

herosa wrote: »
    Define a few bob.

Don't think i should say. Put it this way. It would keep me happy for a while.
    What's the law on this anyway.? Finders keepers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Define a few bob.

Fifteen old pennies.

Don't think i should say. Put it this way. It would keep me happy for a while.
    What's the law on this anyway.? Finders keepers?

Depends who lost it and if they retrace their steps. stay awake just in case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭ITS_A_BADGER

OP its one of two things. some chick had her purse robbed or a burglar running from the cops maybe dumped that id bring it to the cop shop if i were you

Finders keepers?
    I think you have to make reasonable effort to repatriate it.

Also, there's some bollocks about a year and a day or some sh!t... I dunno.

Why even post about it?

Well i don't want to ask family or friends at this time of night. They would just say spend it anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭maygitchell

Well i don't want to ask family or friends at this time of night. They would just say spend it anyway.

Cocaines a hell of a drug

OP its one of two things. some chick had her purse robbed or a burglar running from the cops maybe dumped that id bring it to the cop shop if i were you
    Believe me it's not some birds purse. It's like one of those man bag things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Pics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Legally it becomes yours after a year and a day. If you bring it to the gardai station make sure you get a receipt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

We all want to know HOW MUCH?

I think you have to make reasonable effort to repatriate it.

Also, there's some bollocks about a year and a day or some sh!t... I dunno.
    Wll i'm telling you lot. That's reasonable effort isn't it.?

sgb wrote: »
    We all want to know HOW MUCH?
    Word, are we talking phat stacks yo?

Believe me it's not some birds purse. It's like one of those man bag things.

well then some guy got robbed so, doesnt really matter which gender of sex got robbed does it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭alphabeat

id bring it to the cops , partic if its manbag
    or you may wake up in the middle of a daisy chain you dont want to be in

ok. Maybe its proceeds of a crime. They maybe threw it into your garden cos the guards were nearby and are planning to pick it up later.They wont be too happy if they come back and find it gone which may or not be a problem for you depending on how much of a psycho they are.

Maybe its an honest person eg teenager and they were just looking for a spot to park it for a while and and they looked at your house and thought..yeah the owner of that looks like he would be an honest bloke.

Maybe you live in Derry or somewhere in which case you should put the bag down very s-l-o-w-l-y and gtf out of your house pronto.

If it really is a man-bag, you run the risk of having a homosexual after you.

Believe me OP, it's not worth it.

I'll bring it to the gardai in the morning so. Was nice to dream for a while though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 866 ✭✭✭rusty_racer94

Saturday night, people being a bit tipsy and forgetting the satchel?

Replace it with IOU's first and have an hilarious slapstick adventure in Aspen.

Saturday night, people being a bit tipsy and forgetting the satchel?
    If i owned this bag, i wouldn't let it out of my sight.

Replace it with IOU's first .

That would be very funny!! could you imagine their faces when they opened it? I would nearly do that for the craic.

I think I speak for everyone here when I say:

HOW MUCH?????????

That would be very funny!! could you imagine their faces when they opened it? I would nearly do that for the craic.
    Put it this way. If i took enough for a car from this bag. I don't think anyone would notice.

Replace it with IOU's first and have an hilarious slapstick adventure in Aspen.

LOL you forgot bring your best friend and both fall in love with a beautiful woman and hillariously sabotage each others dates

Put it this way. If i took enough for a car from this bag. I don't think anyone would notice.

PIX / GTFO

Don't overplay it now. It will get boring very quick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Cill Dara Abu

How much monies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

Did anyone see you take it? keep it, are you mad posting about it on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

hondasam wrote: »
    Don't overplay it now. It will get boring very quick.

And for that reason
    'I'm out'

okaaay!! Your obviously dealing with some criminals here!

Option 1 keep it and when they bang on your door swear you know nothing about it.
    Option 2 let it sit there overnight and if its still there in the morning keep it and have a ball. Recession? What recession? Not in this house my friend!
    option 3 guards.

I would go for option 2. If you were really crapping it let it sit there for 2 nights .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Just brought the dog for a walk a couple of mins ago and found something just inside the front garden wall. No name on it or anything. Don't know how it got there and i know it wasn't there earlier. It's a brown leather satchel like bag with a few bob in it. Wife wants me to bring it to the garda station. Maybe its for the best. Then again, i don't want a gang of heavies at my door tomorow looking for their bag. Think i'll sleep on it.

NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN

do contuinue

'I'm out'
    Do your parents know?

Sorry all. Think i'm just a bit jumpy at the moment. I shall bring it to the gaurds in the morning. Nuff said on the subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

What!? That wasn't interesting at all!

Ban him!
    Baaan!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

hondasam wrote: »
    Leave it back where you found it, your fingerprints are all over it now, wash it first.

:confused: It's not a gun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

This has the makings of a good film so far :cool:. Interesting OP, main character in a dilemma, lots of money at stake. It needs something else though to kick it up a notch. I don't want the bad guy turning up at the door just yet, it's a bit too predictable. Sellerbarry you might want an amusing sidekick - have you thought about ringing Chris Tucker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭10green bottles

I found 10k once,turned out they were all duds:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Seriously don't touch it OP, you don't want to be seen with anything like that -satchels are soooo last season!!

Namlub wrote: »
    :confused: It's not a gun

why do you only get fingerprints on a gun? everything you touch leaves a print.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

OP, let me ask the you something; what's the most you've ever lost on a coin toss?

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Pics?
    ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

OP, let me ask the you something; what's the most you've ever lost on a coin toss?

This is the internet, not a spaghetti western

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

*cough*bullshit*cough*