Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dana says allegations are of a sexual nature and says she's not pulling out - TV3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

Winner of a title op ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

A defiant Dana says she will stay in the race in a clear attempt to gain a sympathy vote.

She's on TV3 right now.

That is what YOU are saying, not her. Now, grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,089 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Dana is an obsessive attention seeker. She has a track record for it.

She seems to want a clampdown on the freedom of speech and freedom of the press to investigate public figures.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

So lets see, she can say what she likes to the media but the media is not allowed in turn, say what said in an American court or what she might be associated with (because of legal threats by her!) ?

Have I got that right?

If so, it seems a bit one sided (possibly bullying) and an abuse of the media!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

At the moment the only one talking about allegations is Dana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Improbable

I doubt anybody really thought she said that bit.

Of course that's what I'm saying. That's what I said it.

Biggins wrote: »
    So lets see, she can say what she likes to the media but the media is not allowed in turn, say what said in an American court or what she might be associated with (because of legal threats by her!) ?

Have I got that right?

If so, it seems a bit one sided (possibly bullying) and an abuse of the media!

The media have been the biggest bullies during this campaign. I hope the leading commentators have red faces on the day of the election.

She says some people want her to pull out or withdraw (something that I thought she would be familiar with) but won't state who.

Why would anybody want her out of the race given that's she on 5% and hasn't a hope of winning?

She says some people want her to pull out or withdraw (something that I thought she would be familiar with) but won't state who.

Why would anybody want her out of the race given that's she on 5% and hasn't a hope of winning?

Her transfers will be mostly friendly to the d4 anti-christ McGuinness.

Transfers won't matter if she finishes in 7th place because she'll be eliminated first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

More attention seeking. This has nothing to do with the race.

**** off Dana.

Transfers won't matter if she finishes in 7th place because she'll be eliminated first.

With seven candidates this time around, it will very much matter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

The media have been the biggest bullies during this campaign. I hope the leading commentators have red faces on the day of the election.

Nah, they have no shame. Trust me, I used to work that gig :D

With seven candidates this time around, it will very much matter.

If Dana finishes 7th and last in the first preference vote, she will be eliminated. So any transfers she might get are irrelevant.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

I can't stand listening to her so why is she staying in ....anyone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Lets try narrow it down. Shes a paddy, involved with the church. Smart money is on pedo in the family.

If Dana finishes 7th and last in the first preferenc vote, she will be eliminated. So any transfers she might get are irrelevant.

'If', exactly.

Still a few weeks to go.

'If', exactly.

Still a few weeks to go.

12 days left. Let's try to get the facts right at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    Lets try narrow it down. Shes a paddy, involved with the church. Smart money is on pedo in the family.
    Dont lose the head now, steady on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

its not too hard....just google or search twitter for dana. you'll find it in 30 seconds.

its like the whole ryan g*ggs injunction...everyone knew it wa him, noone could type about it though

12 days left. Let's try to get the facts right at least.

Let's be less of a smartass too, and its win, win.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

So let me get this straight. She is upset because some drunk (note the spelling errors in the email) sent an email in the early hours of the morning!?:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

she confirmed this allegation came from her relations in court documents, the nasty email is a red herring

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    I can't stand listening to her so why is she staying in ....anyone??

Money - pure and simple, an official allowed percentage refund of money spent IF she gets over a certain figure in actual voters.

Biggins wrote: »
    Money - pure and simple, an official allowed percentage refund of money spent IF she gets over a certain figure in actual voters.

+ publicity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

It's a non-issue as far as I can see. Some vague allegation made against somebody during a court hearing about copyrights.. It's barely even worth consideration. Dana overreacted to it in a big way though, which does her more damage than the unsubstantiated claims alone would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

http://www.irishcentral.com/news/Danas-brother-accused-of-molesting-sisters-child-131838148.html

If the mods don't like that link just google "dana allegation brother" and it comes up first.

I doubt this story's going to help her slim chances. IMO the woman is an idiot and so not suitable for Presidency. I think it a shame on the media that they haven't been open enough in drawing attention to this aspect of her candidacy.

Even if you don't like Dana, what her brother supposedly got up to is hardly relevant towards the Presidency.

After the Kevin Reynolds judgement last week, we can see that certain people in the media want to sling mud straight away, without enough verification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Dotsie~tmp wins the thread!

Although, to be fair, this story broke much earlier in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

Even if you don't like Dana, what her brother supposedly got up to is hardly relevant towards the Presidency.

After the Kevin Reynolds judgement last week, we can see that certain people in the media want to sling mud straight away, without enough verification.

Even if he was involved in her campaign? Smells like 'god forgave me, everything's golden'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭todolist

Dana is an obsessive attention seeker. She has a track record for it.

She seems to want a clampdown on the freedom of speech and freedom of the press to investigate public figures.
    You liberal lefties are very hostile to anyone who's a Christian/conservative.I admirer her for standing up for what she believes.

Even if he was involved in her campaign? Smells like 'god forgave me, everything's golden'.

He wasn't convicted,though.

He wasn't even investigated, the alleged offense was never even reported to police.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,140 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

it is because she chose to have him as her campaign advisor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭pjmn

Watched that interview...

Not a fan of Dana (but also wish her no harm)...

Genuinely think the woman is unstable, whether it is the presidential campaign, media pressure or underlying family problems I'm not sure, but for her own sake I think she should withdraw from the campaign and get herself looked after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

He wasn't even investigated, the alleged offense was never even reported to police.

Which Dana says is proof it never happened, bad message to be sending out to abuse victims imo. Many reasons why people do not go to the police about abuse - doesnt mean it hasnt happened.

It shouldn't mean that people take it as a given; that it did happen, either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Ald

I sincerely hope the woman doesn't get to claim her expenses back! She's vitriolic at the best of times. She constantly attacks the secularists of this country. She uses the constitution against a minority of this country. By protecting the constitution what she is saying is that she is against an inclusive society and pro status quo of a powerful church. Her anti-EU stance is because the European constitution chose not to include the word God within it!

Dana, I hope you learn your lesson and never run for election again. Off you go now... Back to the States with ya!

The only state she would be loyal to is the Vatican State...

It shouldn't mean that people take it as a given; that it did happen, either.

Absolutely - it cannot be said either way - but she is saying it definitely did not and that the proof of that is the non reporting to the police.

Well that's her prerogative. I don't think that any of us have a right to form a conclusion on it either way. It was a passing comment made during an obscure court case, and has never been verified, substantiated or acted upon.

I don't think it's fair to ridicule Dana over this at all.

There's plenty she can be ridiculed over already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 Red Right Hand

Let me see....

David Norris and his convicted child rapist boyfriend
    Gay Mitchell and his gangster cousin
    Dana and her brother who had something said about him in court
    Martin McGuinness and well, himself

I'm waiting on the others... :rolleyes:

Well that's her prerogative. I don't think that any of us have a right to form a conclusion on it either way. It was a passing comment made during an obscure court case, and has never been verified, substantiated or acted upon.

I don't think it's fair to ridicule Dana over this at all.

There's plenty she can be ridiculed over already.

I think youre misunderstanding me.

Without forming any conclusion on whether or not the alleged happened in Danans family, I think that Dana suggesting that because an alleged sexual abuse was not reported to authorities, that thats proof that it never happened is a bad message to send to abuse survivors.

There are thousands of people out there who were abused who never reported it to authorities - it doesnt mean that it never happened. Not reporting abuse is not proof of no abuse, just as reporting abuse is not proof of abuse.

But agreed - there is plenty that Dana can be ridiculed for regardless of these allegations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 853 ✭✭✭toexpress

First off does anyone know what it is that she has gotten that she deserves?

Secondly, it has to be said that no matter what you think about Dana she has a right to freedom and harassment such as she is currently supposedly suffering infringes upon that freedom. I know some people will say that she put herself into this situation in running for the Presidency but no-one put's themselves in the situation of being harassed it's something that happens out of the blue and it's unwarranted.

I think the Garda should be doing something to find this person and bring charges we have laws in this country to protect against this very thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Ald wrote: »
    I sincerely hope the woman doesn't get to claim her expenses back! She's vitriolic at the best of times. She constantly attacks the secularists of this country. She uses the constitution against a minority of this country. By protecting the constitution what she is saying is that she is against an inclusive society and pro status quo of a powerful church. Her anti-EU stance is because the European constitution chose not to include the word God within it!

Dana, I hope you learn your lesson and never run for election again. Off you go now... Back to the States with ya!

The only state she would be loyal to is the Vatican State...

At this stage I am beginning to wonder if there is that much difference between her conservative religous views and those of the members of the Theology of Political Correctness - just opposite sides of the same coin really.

anymore wrote: »
    At this stage I am beginning to wonder if there is that much difference between her conservative religous views and those of the members of the Theology of Political Correctness - just opposite sides of the same coin really.

Just look at the 'anti-fascists' successfully blocking a guy from speaking in a college, today.

As time goes on, I have less time for Labourite lefties - apart from the decent old school minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Just look at the 'anti-fascists' successfully blocking a guy from speaking in a college, today.

As time goes on, I have less time for Labourite lefties - apart from the decent old school minority.

Wonder what the ACLU would make of that ?

anymore wrote: »
    Wonder what the ACLU would make of that ?

Hopefully, disagree with today's judgement.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

toexpress wrote: »
    Secondly, it has to be said that no matter what you think about Dana she has a right to freedom and harassment such as she is currently supposedly suffering infringes upon that freedom. I know some people will say that she put herself into this situation in running for the Presidency but no-one put's themselves in the situation of being harassed it's something that happens out of the blue and it's unwarranted.
    What harassment has she endured?
    She has chosen to become a public figure (she might even suggest that she was already a public figure). Is it unfair for the media to report on stories about her? She objected to her citizenship being questioned during a presidential election. FFS, why on earth would it not be? It is a public interest story.
    She has been in the media spotlight since her Eurovision win. In fairness, her career has been build on being a public figure. And she thinks she shouldn't be discussed in the media?

With regard to the "harassment" coming out of the blue, did it not occur to her that something like this would not surface during the campaign? As for it being unwarranted? How was it unwarranted? The media "harassment" only started when questions about her citizenship rose. The current issue was brought to the attention of the public by her alone during the speech where she told the public that it had just come to her attention (despite her along with her husband being the ones who tried to have the allegation removed from the court documents).
    toexpress wrote: »
    I think the Garda should be doing something to find this person and bring charges we have laws in this country to protect against this very thing
    What very thing? That someone was going to make a publicly available court document known to the wider public? What is the crime and what is the punishment?
    If she has a problem with the claim (and it is untrue) then she should complain about her sister's husband (who made the original allegation) and not whinge about the terrible media!
    Surely the Gardai have more important things to deal with than (IMO) a bible pushing, attention seeker like Dana?