Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

St Annes.

• 14-10-2011 10:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭

I want to join a club, within 10 minutes drive.

St Annes is perfect , but still 5000 euro.

Is this still crazy money - I think it is. I've been saving for 5 years and going to treat myself with joining a club for long term. Not into a twenty minute drive , won't use it for say nine holes in the evening etc. Practice. Few drinks after a game.

The other options are too expensive Royal Dublin, Clontarf (not a links), Portmarnock, unless I'm sucessfull in the presidential campaign, wonder will Portmarnock let Martin in ;).

It seems idealistic 10 minutes, but it has always been my idea / dream to live near to a course. I couldn't do it during the crazy years. But the time has come. Trying to get back to single figures - was there for 3 months about ten years ago.

I'm open ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

I think you've answered yer own question if yer not prepared for more than a 10 minute drive tbh. 5 g's in this day and age is steep, in sayin that one of our lads paid 5,000 hello money joining Newlands. The road network (M50/M1) has no place beyond a short commute these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

Played St Annes in Barton Shield a coupl eof years ago and it was in bits. The greens were the worst I have seen in a long time and it showed by everyone pullnig out of the scratch cup the following week.

Im sure they got over it but I wouldnt be rushing back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭harpsman

So you re lookin for a links course within ten minutes that has no joining fee?
    Good luck with that.
    Presume its full 7 day membership too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

harpsman wrote: »
    So you re lookin for a links course within ten minutes that has no joining fee?
    Good luck with that.
    Presume its full 7 day membership too?

Didn't say no joining fee. Just 5000 euro a bit steep. People are getting into golf courses for about 1500 - for 15 mths.

Portmarnock links 2500
    Howth 1500

St Annes 5000

I could join Howth and Portmarnock for that price. Just maths. St Annes seems at the wrong price.

But obviously St Annes not aiming at me , that's fine , I'm a bit common. But good at maths

Didn't say no joining fee. Just 5000 euro a bit steep. People are getting into golf courses for about 1500 - for 15 mths.

Portmarnock links 2500
    Howth 1500

St Annes 5000

I could join Howth and Portmarnock for that price. Just maths. St Annes seems at the wrong price.

But obviously St Annes not aiming at me , that's fine , I'm a bit common. But good at maths

Groucho Marx :
    “I wouldn’t want to belong to any club that would have me as a member”

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I think you've answered yer own question if yer not prepared for more than a 10 minute drive tbh. 5 g's in this day and age is steep, in sayin that one of our lads paid 5,000 hello money joining Newlands. The road network (M50/M1) has no place beyond a short commute these days.

When was that -- Just trying to see does that still happen ?

Will give up on the dream if over 3000 euro. Have the money just the principle. Will drive that extra ten minutes. But love the Irish coast. To see the green snot of the Irish sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Played a few times and to be honest the members are not friendly, nor is the staff. Not sure if it's to do with the fact it's next door to Royal Dublin but it is certainly not as good a course they would like you to believe.

What I will say is keep your 5 grand. From what I heard is they are not attracting new members to replace the older members. Eventually something will have to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Pormarnock Links not an option???

Really like the course and you could possibly haggle them down a bit I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Proximity was the main reason for me moving to Portmarnock Links, with two kids under 3 I did not want to be spending huge amounts of time away when I was playing. For me its less than 5 minutes away which means the most i am gone for is 4.5 hours.

I am on 7 day which as mentioned is €2500 but as i play every Wed and every other weekend it represents great value for me, i think there is a 4 day option for around €1700 but dont take that as gospel.

It has a very small but active membership, I found it hugely welcoming and the course is a ton of fun to play and is always in great shape. The only negative is the amount of tourist golfers in high season but if you know the right times to pick it is managable.

There is a members guest open every wed, if you wanna come out and try it let me know and you can join our group.

My best friend joined St Annes last year and he really enjoys it, i have played it about 10 times this year and its not my favourite course, a little bland for my tastes. The condition is certainly getting better, new tee boxes and a new green on 6 (i think, maybe 5) have helped but I have my doubts for €5k hello money and then fees on top.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

If I lived on right side of Dublin it would be Portmarnock links all the way.

When was that -- Just trying to see does that still happen ?

Will give up on the dream if over 3000 euro. Have the money just the principle. Will drive that extra ten minutes. But love the Irish coast. To see the green snot of the Irish sea.
    Ah yeah hello money is still alive and well here tends to occur in the more "established" courses think its their way of disuading the riff raff! . Was just saying that with the sacrifices you made to get 5G's together a further sacrifice of an additional 20 mins drive will open up a number of other courses to you. Was a thread earlier this week regarding Howth you might be interested in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

But love the Irish coast. To see the green snot of the Irish sea.

A lovely image. Do you write poetry by any chance? ;)

Portmarnock links 2500
    Howth 1500

St Annes 5000

Those sound like excellent value alright-I know Portmarnock used to be 4 day only for that fee-maybe its changed since nama took over. Fantastic course.Also i think its green fees only on Saturday. Likewise Howth at 1500 w no joining fee sounds good-id recommend you go for one of those then.

Adiaga 2 wrote: »
    A lovely image. Do you write poetry by any chance? ;)

Thanks, unless your being sarcastic.

I do write poetry.

But the green snot is stolen from Ulysses.

harpsman wrote: »
    Those sound like excellent value alright-I know Portmarnock used to be 4 day only for that fee-maybe its changed since nama took over. Fantastic course.Also i think its green fees only on Saturday. Likewise Howth at 1500 w no joining fee sounds good-id recommend you go for one of those then.

Thanks lads for the words of wisdom and guidance. This is my Dr. Phil :p

I think that Portmarnock is the one for me, but . I'm a bit uncertain how i feel about NAMA courses. I'm a mess. If I join I'm helping the state but screwing the real clubs. We have had that debate on here.

I think I'll go play Portmarnock and read about the socialisation of capitalisms failure.

Agree with a comment here about some not very welcoming in St. Annes. They were talking to me as if I was lucky to be able to give them 5 grand.

Comment from someone working in St Annes club. We don't look for members here, we are open to membership application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Anyone know how much Clontarf is these days and whether they are accepting new members? That would be my 5 minute option, however I have already paid 'hello' once so not keen to get stung for too much once again.

Kace wrote: »
    Anyone know how much Clontarf is these days and whether they are accepting new members? That would be my 5 minute option, however I have already paid 'hello' once so not keen to get stung for too much once again.

Me too, but the course a bit short and tight for me. I went in a few times over summer, it is a little oasis in the city. But it is well known as a dangerous course. I think it is a nice little course , but it is not liked by many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Prices for Clontarf are on the table on the Membership fees thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056124293&page=20
    Choosy, “well heeled” clubs like St. Annes and Newlands are bucking the market by continuing to charge €5,000 hello money – but for how long?
    Portmarnock Links is in Nama – so, unlike member clubs, they no longer have to worry about fully re-paying asset acquisition costs, bank loans, interest charges, etc.
    The “well heeled” clubs must have either very healthy balance sheets or huge overdraft facilities, compared to most clubs, whose finances are getting ever tighter. I believe a fierce battle between clubs for market share is inevitable – what’s happening now is only the beginning.
    Let’s face it, the market for golfers isn’t growing. Clubs are targeting members of existing clubs. Those clubs with the best competitive value membership propositions (price, course condition, location, financial stability, etc.) will survive. As for the rest .... only time will tell.
    A good time to shop around!

golfwallah wrote: »
    Prices for Clontarf are on the table on the Membership fees thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056124293&page=20
    Choosy, “well heeled” clubs like St. Annes and Newlands are bucking the market by continuing to charge €5,000 hello money – but for how long?
    Portmarnock Links is in Nama – so, unlike member clubs, they no longer have to worry about fully re-paying asset acquisition costs, bank loans, interest charges, etc.
    The “well heeled” clubs must have either very healthy balance sheets or huge overdraft facilities, compared to most clubs, whose finances are getting ever tighter. I believe a fierce battle between clubs for market share is inevitable – what’s happening now is only the beginning.
    Let’s face it, the market for golfers isn’t growing. Clubs are targeting members of existing clubs. Those clubs with the best competitive value membership propositions (price, course condition, location, financial stability, etc.) will survive. As for the rest .... only time will tell.
    A good time to shop around!

Good Post.

Clontarf not bad at that price. Again, not everyones cup of tea.

It seems a battle is ahead, but there is a chance that some clubs will try maintain as a core value, their exlusivity. It is their key selling point. Same with all markets. They are aiming at a particular clientele, they don't want the average joe in the place, they don't want the place hacked up, they want a social network (they can not use Facebook).

I'll be honest , I've seen clubs who have everyone in the place, members, tee times, new members, societies, greenfees. The place is a bit of a nightmare, very slow, very damaged, pitch marks, divots. This is the attempt of the club to pay for the five star clubhouse. I do feel sorry for the long term members , they did not buy into that. But, that is another days debate.

I hate snobbery, but let's face the reality of where we are now, social division will become an increasing aspect of society in Ireland and the world. Golf clubs have been and will be a manifestation of this.

I think there will always be a core group of people in Dublin who will pay that extra to keep away from the Tee Times .ie crowd.

In summary can't see a flyer (As I have for the first time in my life) coming through the letterbox for Royal or Portmarnock .

Unless Portmarnock have to let Martin and his gang in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

Me too, but the course a bit short and tight for me. I went in a few times over summer, it is a little oasis in the city. But it is well known as a dangerous course. I think it is a nice little course , but it is not liked by many.

Yeah, maybe I'll stay in my current course for a while where I get to hit the big stick on the majority of holes. While I love the idea of proximity, I also prefer a lengthy course that you don't have to wear a hardhat on.

Can't quibble about the rates in Clontarf though. If that was available in 2005 I would have bit their arm off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭thewobbler

It's hard to believe there's handshake money in Irish golf these days.

Even harder to believe that the figure could be as large as €5k.

But the icing on the cake is that the club asking for it has a course of dubious quality.

It'll be interesting to see how the current blazer brigade will be replaced at St Anne's. Surely there can't be another bunch of blazers coming up behind?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Heard on the grapevine that St. Anne's took in over 100 new members with their €5,000 deal. Great for the finances but it turned out to be a bit of a disaster for weekend golf during the Summer.

It seems there was so much pressure on the time-sheet that they had to open the course at 5.30am at weekends. So, on cloudy mornings the first fourball couldn't see where they were hitting and, when they waited for light, the 5.40am fourball were demanding the 5.30am crowd step down as the tee-box was "theirs" at 5.40.

The story goes that there are a lot of disgruntled new people who have paid the reduced joining fee but now don't want to leave for fear of losing their €5,000.

Funny old world, isn't it? Bargains how are ye!;)

Last 2 posts prove that ol adage about not pleasing all of people all of time.
    One is givin out about St Annes chargin 5k,the other givin out because the 5k offer was so successful.

golfwallah wrote: »
    Heard on the grapevine that St. Anne's took in over 100 new members with their €5,000 deal. Great for the finances but it turned out to be a bit of a disaster for weekend golf during the Summer.

It seems there was so much pressure on the time-sheet that they had to open the course at 5.30am at weekends. So, on cloudy mornings the first fourball couldn't see where they were hitting and, when they waited for light, the 5.40am fourball were demanding the 5.30am crowd step down as the tee-box was "theirs" at 5.40.

The story goes that there are a lot of disgruntled new people who have paid the reduced joining fee but now don't want to leave for fear of losing their €5,000.

Funny old world, isn't it? Bargains how are ye!;)

Thanks for that.

Was there today and I think it is a cracking little spot. Would have been close at times to going for it. 100 at 5000. Amazing 500,000 Euro. So no chance of that 5000 going down. It is a great location and in the sun is stunning.

The only thing (for me) is, it seems a little easy for a links ? I didn't burn it up as wind played a part , I supose that is the joy of links golf the course changes with the day. I'd say on a summer day it would be a very short course ?

I like it , will play it a bit more and see what I think. I think it suffers a bit from too many straight holes, the greens look like they are hard to keep , but worked at hard. Some parts of the course suffer from the wind and a bit lacking in grass, great bunkers. A couple more trees would be nice.

Anybody any views on Portmarnock Links V St Annes.

And seperatley , what is Royal Dublin like , is it worth paying in ? As you can see I'm easily pleased when it comes to links, puts a smile on my face to strike the ball off the stuff.

Below for my own records as played today.

St Annes
    Hole 1 Very Short Par 5, ok opening hole, reachable in two.
    Hole 2 Very Short Par 4, Iron off the tee.
    Hole 3 Good par 3, 6 Iron
    Hole 4 Good Par 4, Into a 5 - 6 Iron for 2nd.
    Hole 5 Short Par 4, wedge for 2nd
    Hole 6 Good par 3, 7 Iron today.
    Hole 7 Great Very Long Par 4, Drive and 5 Iron.
    Hole 8 Good Par 4, at last a tree in the way.
    Hole 9 Good but short Par 4, use the bank with a leak left.

Hole 10 Great Par 3 over water, wind a big factor. Could be 8 Iron or a 6.
    Hole 11 Great Par 5, local knowledge required for water. lay up.
    Hole 12 Very straight par 4, longer than others.
    Hole 13 Short par 5, would be on in two in summer.
    Hole 14 Short par 4.
    Hole 15 One of the few dog legs left, water needs to be near green to make it a good hole.
    Hole 16 Short Par 4 , well placed bunker on left. Could play an Iron. Played 3Wood Pw.
    Hole 17 Fantastic Par 3 , up with the best of them, short with a punched 4 Iron
    Hole 18 Unusual fairway, need to see what you should do here? Left or Right , Don't get it yet, wisdom takes time.

Its a grand course-bit up and down,but like you say hard to beat links golf on a sunny day;and its 12 month golf.obviously not as good as royaler and i think portmarnock links far better than royaler-problem w these hotel courses is lack of a club atmosphere.
    for a laugh you should phone royaler and tell them you want to join as full member with no hello money-but first call an ambulance for membership secretary whos choking on his cucumber sandwiches:)

How do you get into Royal or The Real Portmarnock. All joking aside.

As in, you are invited to join I guess.

I'm good at Golf and I'm great crack, a bit grumpy too, a Northside Dub. I mean come on, I have it all, a bit fat too ;).

Must go in some day , was in for an open but must go in and play. I'd say the greens are championship. Now that I've been around a few links. It must be a pure art to keep greens to a high level on a links. Green keepers are unrewarded Gods, in my opinion.

I guess you might have to be proposed and seconded by exising members.
    Ive a friend who did interview for portmarnock l/y but didnt get in-not sure if he was proposed.
    gettin 5 day membership in royaler is possible but i think gettin full 7 day is bit of a nightmare.
    tbh i wouldnt want to be member of either of them-up their own arses id say- mind you playin portmarnock soon for first time.cant wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭colmsix

played st annes on monday . while the planes were being diverted from the airport we were hitting driver 150 yards into the "wind" and 400 yards drive down wind . have to say i was impressed with the work they have completed over the past few years. new greens and tee's and the ditches are all cleaned up. greens in great shape and over all condition 9/10.

if i had a choice i would be joining portmarnock links .imo a much better course and even though it's a hotel there is still a good atmosphere there . i have played both agood few times now and the links would be getting my hard earned !!. i think they used to do a winter membership . might suit before you commit
    good luck

The standard practice of old to gain entry into these elite clubs used to be - get proposed and seconded by current full member - go for interview - get offered a pavillion membership - play the waiting game for a 5 day membership - further interview for full membership after god knows how many years .. you could spend upwards of 5 years waiting for yer full badge !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

The standard practice of old to gain entry into these elite clubs used to be - get proposed and seconded by current full member - go for interview - get offered a pavillion membership - play the waiting game for a 5 day membership - further interview for full membership after god knows how many years .. you could spend upwards of 5 years waiting for yer full badge !!

That's unless you play the game to a high standard and they want you for team golf.

f22 wrote: »
    That's unless you play the game to a high standard and they want you for team golf.

LOL.... I hear ya brother .. quite true .. we're talkin Barton & Senior Cup tho .. which effects eh .. very few of us !

My God and Dana.

I'm trying to imagine what it would be like to get an interview for a place like that and then get refused.

What a pack of (Can't Unethically Never Try)say.

I would not give them the pleasure. Anyway how can a bunch of lads like that own part of our coast.

At least that is based on some sort of skillocracy (new word).

Back to the earlier question on St. Annes & Portmarnock Links.

The Links is a far superior course in my view but 2.5k per year is a joke in my view. It pretty much balances the hello money of St. Annes out after a few years anyway.

I lived directly across the road from St Annes a few years ago when I was joining a club. I've never rated it as a course and it never even made my shortlist, despite its convenience.

I see they advertise the fact they were voted "7th best course in Dublin" on their website. Funny that, because it's only the 5th best links course on the northside, one ahead of corballis!

My God and Dana.

I'm trying to imagine what it would be like to get an interview for a place like that and then get refused.

What a pack of (Can't Unethically Never Try)say.

I would not give them the pleasure. Anyway how can a bunch of lads like that own part of our coast.

Yeah that's the way it operated - it was more what you could do for the golf club than what it could do for you. Strategic alliances were built there; like an extension of The Masons. They had a "black ball" system which was basically a secret ballot in which the executive members either dropped a white ball or black ball into a bag to indicate their approval or otherwise of your application. There was a time when 1 black ball from anybody was enough to have you declined. Golf was really a secondary reason to join these clubs.
    At least that is based on some sort of skillocracy (new word).

A skillocratic golfer ... Everyday's a skule day !

The Links is a far superior course in my view but 2.5k per year is a joke in my view. It pretty much balances the hello money of St. Annes out after a few years anyway...........

I've had a few dealings with Portmarnock Links Hotel with regard to group outings etc - they've tended to be fairly intransigent when it comes to pricing, which according to them is coz they're out the door busy. If you don't want it there's someone to take your place. I don't know whether this extends to memberships or not.

In saying that .. there's no comparison between it and St. Anne's in my view either .. a cosy start to Portmarnock is shortlived once you get in amongst the dunes .. great course, wouldn't pay 2,500 to join or 60 notes to play it tho.....

The Links was recently sold so you may see some major changes there soon enough. The business model was built on visitors with a nominal/transient membership. That balance may shift slightly.

In my opinion if they dropped the annual to e1500 they would have queues to join, including me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

The Links was recently sold so you may see some major changes there soon enough. The business model was built on visitors with a nominal/transient membership. That balance may shift slightly.

In my opinion if they dropped the annual to e1500 they would have queues to join, including me!

Agree - e1500 would be a much better price point. It would probably be a total steal to be honest. They seem to want to limit membership to 100 people and then take their chances with green fees. Maybe it is working for them? Even at e1750k they would probably be able to get 300-400 extra members in.

However, I'm just not sure about the whole ownership / finances situation. Seems to be a lot of uncertainty with the long term business model. Also, there are only 2 days of comps a week (Weds & Sat) which isn't great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Wouldn't pay €500 for St Anne's let alone €5k - not a great course unless you have a love of goose/duck sh1t and awful staff in the clubhouse. Not a massive fan of the links either, definitely still over priced at €2.5k and doubts about it's future hanging over it etc.

PRAF wrote: »
    Agree - e1500 would be a much better price point. It would probably be a total steal to be honest. They seem to want to limit membership to 100 people and then take their chances with green fees. Maybe it is working for them? Even at e1750k they would probably be able to get 300-400 extra members in.

However, I'm just not sure about the whole ownership / finances situation. Seems to be a lot of uncertainty with the long term business model. Also, there are only 2 days of comps a week (Weds & Sat) which isn't great.

There's also a Monday open stableford and Titleist series (strokes on a Tuesday in Winter), handicap 9 and less.

So out of NAMA ?

The Links is a far superior course in my view but 2.5k per year is a joke in my view. It pretty much balances the hello money of St. Annes out after a few years anyway.

I lived directly across the road from St Annes a few years ago when I was joining a club. I've never rated it as a course and it never even made my shortlist, despite its convenience.

I see they advertise the fact they were voted "7th best course in Dublin" on their website. Funny that, because it's only the 5th best links course on the northside, one ahead of corballis!

f22 and all thanks for your comments. I've played more links outside of Dublin than my own door step.

Lads what order would you rate below. I know this has gone off main topic but is an interesting thread for the boys from the Northside. It does go to show how lucky we are to have them all on our coast, yet they are somewhat expensive to play. I've only played 4 and will play all in next 2 or 3 years.

Portmarnock
    The Island
    Royal Dublin
    Portmarnock Links
    St Annes
    Corballis
    Rush
    Sutton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

There's also a Monday open stableford and Titleist series (strokes on a Tuesday in Winter), handicap 9 and less.

Well that doesn't sound too bad. Would prefer a Saturday and Sunday comp for members but that's down to the business model they are pursuing I suppose. That price point is still too high though. Bring it down under e1750 and get some more members in!

Here's my opinion on Dublins links courses. Tough second between the island and royaler, just the the island adds a little more drama.

In order of preference;

Portmarnock
    The Island
    Royal Dublin
    Portmarnock Links
    St. Annes
    Sutton
    Rush
    Corballis

So out of NAMA ?

Appears to be, purchased for a song from what I heard considering it changed hands for not far off 10 times more not that long ago.

Here's my opinion on Dublins links courses. Tough second between the island and royaler, just the the island adds a little more drama.

In order of preference;

Portmarnock
    The Island
    Royal Dublin
    Portmarnock Links
    St. Annes
    Sutton
    Rush
    Corballis

Having learned how to play golf in The Island - sentimentally I'd have it No.1. Only got to play Portmarnock last year which as it happened was the month after playing St. Andrews and Carnoustie, so the austerity of the place was somewhat lost ! No qualms with the rest but I must admit to enjoying Rush the one time I played it.

Thanks guys for all the ideas and making me feel more confident that 5000 euro is crazy , that was the original hypothesis. Where I'm from it is just called "common f**king sense ".

I've realised that I need to play all my Dublin links, I've played Enniscrone and Lahinch, Seapoint, Strandhill, and a few others outside the pale. I love the the links I've played. We have a very high standard of courses by some of our posters on boards, I'm still as happy on the 4th at corballis as the 6th fairway in Lahinch. The rough and the smooth , the Atlantic or Irish sea, still making that same constant sound of the passing of time.

I think the higher standard of links in Dublin are not really possible to get into and not my scene. The idea of somebody paying 20,000 euro these days is unspeakable. I'd do it, if I was sure of my life and future and the country , but I'd rather put 20,000 on New Zealand at the weekend then bet long term on this country. Sorry, love the place, but we are a damaged country with big problems ahead. Our soul is lost in that sea.

Such negativity has me struggling to get back to single figures and I see a black ball going into a bag in an oak panelled clubhouse room. "A secret handshake required my friend."

I'll sing off with a shank and follow a blind tee shot in my search for a golfing home. Time is precious in life, TeeTimes.ie it is. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

Portmarnock Links is the best option by far. At 2500 it is steep and as everyone has said if it went down to 1750 there would be a queue down the road. I play a lot of links on the Northside and the folks in Sutton and Corballis are keeping a close eye on what happens at the Links, cash in hand.

As for St. Annesits a good track, in good nick but a bit bland.

P.S. Corballis is a much better test of golf that Rush or Sutton. As for the latter technology has made it a pitch-and-putt 9 hole course, an exclusive one at that though ;)

WacoKid wrote: »
    ............P.S. Corballis is a much better test of golf that Rush or Sutton. As for the latter technology has made it a pitch-and-putt 9 hole course, an exclusive one at that though ;)

Yeah what's even more remarkable is the number of pennants they've won over the years in fairness to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

Yeah what's even more remarkable is the number of pennants they've won over the years in fairness to them

Agreed.