Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to prevent car being robbed

• 12-10-2011 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭

Arrived home today to be told from the estate's security guard and the next door neighbour that a few scumbags had been eyeing up my car (a few times during the day). It's a 2011 car and only used at weekends so sits outside my house all week (I cycle to work).

Anyway, not sure what they are after. I've locking wheel nuts on all the wheels and there is nothing inside the car to rob and I'm leaving the glovebox open so they can see that. In the estate across from me, a 2011 BMW was lifted during the night and never seen again so I've parked my car so that back of it is facing out and I've turned the front wheels so if they try roll it, it won't roll in a straight line. Would they try drag the car on to the back of a low loader or just crane it up?

Anything else I should do to put them off?

Edit - I really don't want to be posting another, help me find my car thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I don't mean to scare you or anything, but i'd imagine they'd come knocking for the keys tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,444 ✭✭✭fletch

I don't mean to scare you or anything, but i'd imagine they'd come knocking for the keys tbh.
    Thanks....will get a great sleep tonight....Already thought about that....keys are left downstairs and house alarm is set with motion sensors on all entry points

fletch wrote: »
    ......... Would they try drag the car on to the back of a low loader or just crane it up?

A rep told a lad at work his 3 week old CC Passat was placed on skates and pulled onto a flatbed, how he knew that I dunno but it was never found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

They may be considering to steal the car itself. If they exhaust all other avenues they'll try and break in to your house to steal your keys and get away with the car under its own power. Keep your keys out of sight of any windows, they may just be opportunists.

This may not be ideal but you could consider disabling the car in between the times you're not driving it by removing the fuse for the starter motor and fuel pump or removing the car's battery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Thanks....will get a great sleep tonight....Already thought about that....keys are left downstairs and house alarm is set with motion sensors on all entry points

And leave them there.

If the REALLY want the car they will have no issue in gently waking you up and asking for them.........and an alarm doesn't put the s hits up them no matter what Eircom phone watch will have you believe

........ removing the car's battery.

Not the best idea on a new BMW I would think :)

To be honest, I couldn't give a f#@k about the car, its insured...I just don't want anyone breaking into the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

Is it a high value vehicle? Perhaps fitting a tracker system that texts you when your motor is being nicked given you will be away from the car in work.
    Brin your keys to work with you and hide your spares in a memorable place!
    Other than that the hall table is where keys should be left not in fishing distance but generally noticeable enough so you dot have them coming into your room and assaulting you!

RoverJames wrote: »
    Not the best idea on a new BMW I would think :)
    Not that great of an idea on most new cars but he didn't actually say what car he's driving. He just said a neighbour's 2011 BMW was stolen a while ago.

Either way, removing the fuse for the starter motor and fuel pump during the week won't do any lasting damage to any car. At least I don't think it will anyway.

I just don't want anyone breaking into the house.
    There is little other option. Leave them so they are near the front door but not on display through the letter box or windows.

That way they will not know where they are until they come in. Then they can easily find them and leave.

I've been there with this, it's not very nice but then again keep it insured and accept that sh it happens to nice people

Not that great of an idea on most new cars but he didn't actually say what car he's driving

True, he did say 'twas a 2011 car though :)

heate wrote: »
    Is it a high value vehicle? Perhaps fitting a tracker system that texts you when your motor is being nicked given you will be away from the car in work.
    Brin your keys to work with you and hide your spares in a memorable place!
    Other than that the hall table is where keys should be left not in fishing distance but generally noticeable enough so you dot have them coming into your room and assaulting you!
    I wouldn't call it high value but it is (relatively) fast.

I did have my keys hidden in a place where they would never find them but I've read too many stories of people waking up with kettles of boiling water over them being forced to hand over the keys.

Anyway, I've left the spare set downstairs for now, with no other keys with it, so no having to change all the house locks if the keys are taken.

Actually OP you could fit a small video camera facing on to the car in the driveway if you are worried about it getting stolen.

Someone here did it with an MX-5 and the two scumbags were caught and charged with attempted robbery after trying to steal it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Dublinstiofán

I don't know about you but if i thought somebody was gonna be after my car i'd have been up to Halford's for the biggest chain imaginable for the steering wheel today as a temporary measure.

And if the car has no alarm i'd be booked in tomorrow to have a Clifford alarm installed to make sure if it moves an inch in the driveway i know about it. A clifford alarm is a good investment anyway provided your planning on keeping the car for a long time (which i'm assuming you are as its brand new)

Hope never to read a 'i cant find my car thread from you'!

Yeh johnos1984, thanks for that....might just set up my web cam for remote viewing so I can check up on it while I'm at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Dartz

If you're certain you don't want it robbed.... I suggest you get it resprayed an 'undesireable and distinctive colour'

Say, Barbie pink or some sort of bright neon green?

Yeh johnos1984, thanks for that....might just set up my web cam for remote viewing so I can check up on it while I'm at work.

I can't remember who put the video up but the two twats failed to rob it as it had no battery. They tried another one in the driveway but the alarm went off

Maybe someone else will know who posted it. It won't stop them taking it but at least it may help getting it back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

I know the car is new and you don't want to mark it, but a motorcycle chain (ABUS are around 150 Euro) around the steering wheel and one of the pedals is great and visible and looks like hard work - they are bulletproof and reliable.

If the car is sitting for 5 days then you can buy a wheel clamp (like the clampers use) and fit them until you need the car on the weekend.

Alarm/Immobiliser not just the one that came with the car, with lots of stickers for the windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭ActingDanClark

To be fair all the advice is valud, however they'll be in your car before they realise what you've done. Buy a clamp, fit a post in tour driveway, anything they'd perceive as likely to slow them down

On second thought, if you want to go ahead with that suggestion of disabling the car during the week i'd keep the starter motor functioning.

The reasoning behind that is that if someone turns the key in a relatively new car with otherwise apparently functioning electrics (E.g. The cabin lights go on e.t.c.) and the engine doesn't try to start they'll then suspect that the car has some form of a remote immobiliser or something and they may try to force you to get the car started.

However, if you leave the starter motor functioning but leave the fuel pump disabled the car will try to start (Or may even run momentarily) and then cut out. They'll then suspect that the car has problems and they'll more than likely run and leave the car rather than try and get it going.

johnos1984 wrote: »
    Actually OP you could fit a small video camera facing on to the car in the driveway if you are worried about it getting stolen.

Someone here did it with an MX-5 and the two scumbags were caught and charged with attempted robbery after trying to steal it

Cameras are fine but not much good if they manage to steal the car. And with him at work and the car in the driveway Monday to Friday its likely he wont be home if they tried to take it.

It might also be time to start driving to work for the next month as a preemptive strike if at all possiblt thus limiting the amount of time the car is at home. And have a word with the security to make sure it doesn't go anywhere during the day while your not there!

To be honest, the last thing I want to do is be the person providing CCTV evidence that convicts them....they know where i live and I'm sure would want revenge at some stage...so I think I'll scrap the web cam idea...

Have a big obvious motion activated outside light and a sticker on the porch saying you have recording shtuff :)

Any possibility of parking it at a relatives house for the next week or so?
    Thats if you have no parking at work.

Generally these scumbags are looking for a fast car to commit a crime in the next 24 to 48 hours. If your car is gone they cant take it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

kill switch with time delay ... is nice to have on car... which turn on separate alarm after 1 min ...(or whatever) if not deactivated .... imagine, if somebody rob keys, drive car, and on one of crossroads simply stop, start flash all lights and siren goes on .... feckers wont sit too long in that car... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭donal2000

Parking post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

This thread is painful to read - the OP has bought a brand new car but he can't enjoy it. He leaves it parked outside his own home, uses all reasonable precautions and some extreme in an effort to ensure that it's not stolen.

He's come here to see what else he can do but the sad fact is that if a criminal wants your car he will take it with ease - no clamp, bollard, alarm or hiding place for the keys will stop him coming into his house, waking him up and threatening the lives of himself and his family unless he gives him the car and let's him be about his business. No CCTV will help his situation - in the unlikely event that CCTV footage will lead to a conviction, the criminal(s) know where he and his family live.

He can't win, this is no country for nice cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

This may not be ideal but you could consider disabling the car in between the times you're not driving it by removing the fuse for the starter motor and fuel pump or removing the car's battery.

Either way, removing the fuse for the starter motor and fuel pump during the week won't do any lasting damage to any car. At least I don't think it will anyway.

What about a killswitch?No need to be removing fuses,what have you done to your own car?
    Have a big obvious motion activated outside light and a sticker on the porch saying you have recording shtuff :)

Or that you have a big dog :pac:

Mar4ix wrote: »
    kill switch with time delay ... is nice to have on car... which turn on separate alarm after 1 min ...(or whatever) if not deactivated .... imagine, if somebody rob keys, drive car, and on one of crossroads simply stop, start flash all lights and siren goes on .... feckers wont sit too long in that car... :D

It's called blackjaxx :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

Set the house alarm at night, if the house doesn't have window and door sensors maybe you should get them. This is not just because of the car, the fact is that most burglaries happen at night and when occupants are in the house.

The other thing is that if the car is just sitting there 24/7 I would stick a clamp on it and make it visible. Thieves won't be bothered with the hassle of getting the clamp off and will move on to another target.

Sad state of affairs when things are coming to this, but unless we can get the career car thieves to stop paying their tv licences we will never get them off the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Arrived home today to be told from the estate's security guard and the next door neighbour that a few scumbags had been eyeing up my car (a few times during the day). It's a 2011 car and only used at weekends so sits outside my house all week (I cycle to work).

Anyway, not sure what they are after. I've locking wheel nuts on all the wheels and there is nothing inside the car to rob and I'm leaving the glovebox open so they can see that. In the estate across from me, a 2011 BMW was lifted during the night and never seen again so I've parked my car so that back of it is facing out and I've turned the front wheels so if they try roll it, it won't roll in a straight line. Would they try drag the car on to the back of a low loader or just crane it up?

put an android phone into the boot somewhere concealed, slip in a sim card, AVG antivirus. syphon a power source to it and presto.

leave them rob it... you will find it. and have the cops at their door.

put an android phone into the boot somewhere concealed, slip in a sim card, AVG antivirus. syphon a power source to it and presto.

leave them rob it... you will find it. and have the cops at their door.

Why have AVG antivirus on it :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭heate

Set the house alarm at night, if the house doesn't have window and door sensors maybe you should get them. This is not just because of the car, the fact is that most burglaries happen at night and when occupants are in the house.

The other thing is that if the car is just sitting there 24/7 I would stick a clamp on it and make it visible. Thieves won't be bothered with the hassle of getting the clamp off and will move on to another target.

Sad state of affairs when things are coming to this, but unless we can get the career car thieves to stop paying their tv licences we will never get them off the streets.

Damn why didn't I think of a clamp! I forgot at home in the 90's we had a post which we put up every night and a dog that would scare away Fat Freddy.
    As for the house alarm it will scare most away or at least give you fair warning of an impending scalding!
    Very satisfied to live in a city where I know the only real risk to my car is someone banging it while manoeuvring - car theft an crime in general is not very Swiss!
    And I live 100m and 5 floors away from my car so getting my keys off me would mean spending a lot of time and expending a lot of mental energy that your average car thief doesn't posses!

What about a killswitch?No need to be removing fuses,what have you done to your own car?
    Well a killswitch would be more conventional. If they suspected a kill switch was installed they could possibly try and force you to disable the system. No one would suspect a disabled fuel pump.

It depends on the car though. An Audi A4 (Which I drive) has the fuses located just to the right of the dashboard between the door and the cabin body so it's easy enough to get access to.

Well a killswitch would be more conventional. If they suspected a kill switch was installed they could possibly try and force you to disable the system. No one would suspect a disabled fuel pump.

eh,you do know you can have a killswitch which disables the fuel pump, don't you?

Don't they usually disable the starter motor and ignition as well? I can't say i'm too familiar with them tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

On second thought, if you want to go ahead with that suggestion of disabling the car during the week i'd keep the starter motor functioning.

The reasoning behind that is that if someone turns the key in a relatively new car with otherwise apparently functioning electrics (E.g. The cabin lights go on e.t.c.) and the engine doesn't try to start they'll then suspect that the car has some form of a remote immobiliser or something and they may try to force you to get the car started.

However, if you leave the starter motor functioning but leave the fuel pump disabled the car will try to start (Or may even run momentarily) and then cut out. They'll then suspect that the car has problems and they'll more than likely run and leave the car rather than try and get it going.

Sorry fella but you're not really talking any sense. There are a lot of 'what if's' in the above. Some immpbilisers cut the fuel, some cut spark, others cut starter signal, it really depends on the make and/or who installed it. Most car thieves would be well aware of this. You're over complicating things for the op.

OP you should get a tracker installed and well hidden. You can then track the car if it's lifted or if it's driven away you can text it and get it to stop :)

Don't they usually disable the starter motor and ignition as well?

Nope

will let you track it down of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

As stated, if they want the car they will have it.

The trick is too make it look like alot of work for them.

IE, the time from the start of the robbery of the car to them leaving vs the time the Garda take to arrive.

So make it look like work.

Steering lock, chain, wheel lock, remove a wheel from the car, take the battery out and leave an a4 piece of paper in the window no battery in car.

This will up the amount of time it will take them to get the car out of your garden.

Add more time by boxing the car in with another car and putting a chain on that. So they have to move two cars.

Just make it extremely hard for them to get the car physically moving away from your house.

Think of it like this, imagine you know they have the keys, what would you do to prevent them moving the car in the first place.

And try add extra time too there robbery so if you called the Garda they would be there before the car left the house, if the scum know that the Garda would be on scene before they get it out on the road they won't bother.

Also, don't think ah sure the insurance company will pay for it. It's these scumbags running amuck that have our premiums going threw the roof and don't be afraid to go to court, they need to be put down never mind going to prison.

The effort I have to go to every night so I can wake up too my car tomorrow.

Anti-Virus Free is a security suite which protects your phone from viruses, malware & exploits in real-time.
    Free Antivirus from AVG Mobilation – security software for Android™.
    Keep your device safe with just one click.

Download Anti-Virus free today for better security and:
    √ Scan apps, settings, files, and media in real time
    √ Find/locate your lost or stolen phone via Google maps
    √ Lock and wipe your device to protect your privacy
    √ Kill tasks that slow your phone down
    √ Browse the web securely

Well the car survived last night! :) Thanks for all the suggestions. Just bought a GPS Car Tracker. I have fitted a good few radios/subwoofers/bluetooth kits in my time so will have a go at installing it when it arrives. The unit allows me to set up a geo-fence so if the car is moved outside a pre-defined distance during the day, it will send me a text and I can track it on my phone.

msg11 wrote: »
    Steering lock, chain, wheel lock, remove a wheel from the car, take the battery out and leave an a4 piece of paper in the window no battery in car.

.................The effort I have to go to every night so I can wake up too my car tomorrow.

You take a wheel off your car every night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,184 ✭✭✭✭listermint

As Stated be many other posters, Fit a 'Proper' Parking post in the Garden, With a proper lock on it. (the type you see on stop shutters).

We have had one for years and never once had a problem with any cars. Previous to that we did have 2 cars stolen.

1 night we forgot to put the post up, and guess what. Car was stolen. Found it the day after though no damage bar the ignition.

I cant recommend posts enough. They really arent that bothered going to the hastle of going through that just to get to the car. They'll move on to your next unsuspecting neighbour.

what i will advise though if your getting one dont get the crappy stick like ones or put a crap aldi lock on it. they take pleasure in breaking that off for the crack.

will let you track it down of course
    Anti-Virus Free is a security suite which protects your phone from viruses, malware & exploits in real-time.
    Free Antivirus from AVG Mobilation – security software for Android™.
    Keep your device safe with just one click.

Download Anti-Virus free today for better security and:
    √ Scan apps, settings, files, and media in real time
    √ Find/locate your lost or stolen phone via Google maps
    √ Lock and wipe your device to protect your privacy
    √ Kill tasks that slow your phone down
    √ Browse the web securely

Surely there are other already installed features that do just that on an android anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

You take a wheel off your car every night?

What do you think? He said it's left lying up, Monday to Friday. No harm in taking a wheel of it takes two mins to take off and put back on, again if you make it look like alot of work to get the car they won't bother with it.

msg11 wrote: »
    What do you think? ......

I would have thought not but you did throw in a comment saying it's the effort you go to every night so I was wondering.

I'm still none the wise to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Testament1

Just a bit of advice for the OP. Dont post up any specific security modifications you make to your car on a public forum like this. You never know who might be reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,944 ✭✭✭pete4130

TheUsual wrote: »
    I know the car is new and you don't want to mark it, but a motorcycle chain (ABUS are around 150 Euro) around the steering wheel and one of the pedals is great and visible and looks like hard work - they are bulletproof and reliable.

If the car is sitting for 5 days then you can buy a wheel clamp (like the clampers use) and fit them until you need the car on the weekend.

Alarm/Immobiliser not just the one that came with the car, with lots of stickers for the windows.

The steering wheel is easier to cut through than the chain.

Testament1 wrote: »
    Just a bit of advice for the OP. Dont post up any specific security modifications you make to your car on a public forum like this. You never know who might be reading.
    Thanks but yeh I had thought of that...hence why I haven't revealed the make/model either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭Bartyman

Haven't seen this being asked, but do you have access to secure parking in work ?

You could park it there during the week and drive it on weekends like you said