Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's picking on Dana now?

• 12-10-2011 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,161 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Come on leave her alone. She does not deserve this. Discuss:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Just watching the presidential debate on rte there, what was she on about being out in the newspapers tomorrow?
    Was strange her reading out that statement and not saying anything about it..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Haven't seen the tv programme tonight so would what did anybody expect ...it's Dana be unfair to comment .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭Bloody Nipples

I'd have some sympathy if she wasn't as mad as a bag of spiders and this "picking on her" is just pointing out how batshít she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

shanered wrote: »
    Just watching the presidential debate on rte there, what was she on about being out in the newspapers tomorrow?
    Was strange her reading out that statement and not saying anything about it..

Something about a family member being accused of something and authorities in the US looking into it. Looked to me like a badly planned crass publicity stunt for the sympathy vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Corsendonk

She must really be a threat that people have to dig up all this scandal about her.....................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

I heard Daniel O'Donnell was smearing her good name with oul wans on US tours. Claimed she wasn't wearing any knickers during the '70 eurovision performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

We are the biggest begrudgers in the world us irish, but trying to run for the top job you would want to know this wouldn't you.

I have always had the impression from Dana that she somehow just expected to walk into Aras as president and 'how dare ' anybody question my whiter than white image . Now there's more to her I'm sure ( what that is , I don't exactly know ) but that's the way she's comes across in print and also when she talks in interviews on the radio .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Latchy wrote: »
    I have always had the impression from Dana that she somehow just expected to walk into Aras as president and 'how dare ' anybody question my whiter than white image . Now there's more to her I'm sure ( what that is , I don't exactly know ) but that's the way she's comes across in print and also when she talks in interviews on the radio .

There's definitely a certain amount of dellusion involved. She just can't seem to get her head around the fact that Ireland doesn't want her as president.

nummnutts wrote: »
    There's definitely a certain amount of dellusion involved. She just can't seem to get her head around the fact that Ireland doesn't want her as president.
    You can understand anybody who want's to be president fighting their own corner , giving it their best shot and and not going down without a fight , and that's what she and any candidate and their followers would expect ... but as you so rightly say she was not wanted first time around or now .She should bow out of the race with some self respect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

I think she's a liar.

Nothing on the front pages, one big stunt to be a victim of the mean Dublin Press?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭whubee

'All kinds of everything' are going to be revealed about her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Latchy wrote: »
    You can understand anybody who want's to be president fighting their own corner , giving it their best shot and and not going down without a fight , and that's what she and any candidate and their followers would expect ... but as you so rightly say she was not wanted first time around or now .She should bow out of the race with some self respect

Mitchell, regardless of what people may think of him, is a man fighting his corner, while secretly, i suspect, he knows that he won't win - even his own party didn't want him.

Whereas Dana can't understand why she is not higher in the poles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

bleg wrote: »
    I think she's a liar.

intellectually dishonest anyway. There may or may not be some big story coming out but the fact that she started the debate looking for peoples vote and then ended it saying she may consider pulling out is dishonest. I don't believe someone just passed her a note towards the end and said "your lawyer just called the rte switchboard and asked you to read this asap". She said she was just informed, when exactly was she just informed? I don't believe it was literally in that moment. Deliberate calculated ploy by her to handle it the way she did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jeckle

She said she was just informed, when exactly was she just informed? I don't believe it was literally in that moment. Deliberate calculated ploy by her to handle it the way she did.
    No, that is not what she said. Her exact words were ''It has come to my attention that further allegations.....''

http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2011/1012/media-3079444.html#

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

jeckle wrote: »
    No, that is not what she said. Her exact words were ''It has come to my attention that further allegations.....''

http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2011/1012/media-3079444.html#

Thanks for the link
    I hadn't watched Primetime

And she's a real politician, refusing multiple times to discuss what it is about.
    So what is it about?

Why not answer answer the question from Miriam?
    You can't put out a statement on live RTÉ and then refuse to discuss it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭jeckle

mikemac wrote: »
    Thanks for the link
    I hadn't watched Primetime

And she's a real politician, refusing multiple times to discuss what it is about.
    So what is it about?

I agree totally.

I get the impression that the story will appear in the US media first though, since she mentioned her US lawyers etc. , so I suppose it will just be a matter of time before the allegations filter through to here.

mikemac wrote: »
    Indeed ... maybe at the back of her mind she's worried about being sued ? Like any other agendas aside , even the most amateur of candidates do their homework before opening their gobs .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭chooochooo

nummnutts wrote: »
    Mitchell, regardless of what people may think of him, is a man fighting his corner, while secretly, i suspect, he knows that he won't win - even his own party didn't want him.

Whereas Dana can't understand why she is not higher in the poles.
    Be a relief to all if she was lifted higher in the poles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

jeckle wrote: »
    I get the impression that the story will appear in the US media first though

"Relative of washed-up Irish Eurovision winner in whatever-it-is shocker"" is not a story anywhere but here in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭pubview

Poor Dana. Her election slogan is now "Infamy ! Infamy ! They all have it infamy."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Maybe she married her cousin or something - legal in a lot of US States...
    ...or maybe her porn stash was found :pac:

....or maybe she's held a gimp prisoner in her basement for 20 years....

ah jaysus we could have a great time with this one :cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I just wish she would go away quietly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If this is a story it would be on twitter, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Biggins wrote: »
    I just wish she would go away quietly.

I hope she doesn't, I hope she goes out with a big bang. I'm kind of glad she is in the race as she adds a bit of nutjob colour to the whole thing. She reminds me a bit of the Monster Raving Looney Party candidates that used to run in the UK elections.

She looks and sounds a bit unhinged, every time she has been on the TV or Radio ahe has had some sort of car crash moment. I've no idea why she is running, she has no posters up that I've seen and doesn't seem to have put too much money into the campaign, I suppose she just wanted to get things off her frustrated mind.

Either way I don't see how she can continue with a career in RTE's showbiz department after this campaign, she has well and truly shot herself in the foot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

No sign of any story in the media yet. Delusional old c***.

Here is the audio track for those wondering (if you listen you will still be wondering)

clicky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

smokingman wrote: »
    ...or maybe her porn stash was found :pac:

At first I thought you were suggesting she could be in some!

Maybe she isnt really irish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,051 ✭✭✭keysersoze0330

Dana needs to bow out of the race right now. This should be the last time she puts herself forward for any of these state offices be it political or otherwise. She has a limited vocabulary ( answers people know me and people trust me to everything) and i could see her cowering behind a chair in the Aras if she heard a noise outside.

I feel sorry for the woman really, she's not wanted its been proven over the years. Her aides/ advisors should be stopping her from embarrassing herself any further in public. Go now for your own sanity woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭A.Partridge

Miriam should have uttered a Boards.ie style phrase to Dana after her statement....

Spill the story or GTFO.

According to Morning Ireland today (after the 8 o'clock bulletin), MMcG 'had a word' with Miriam about her alleged aggressive questioning of him during the debate.

McGuinness and/or his goons seem to be 'having words' with anyone whose style of questioning they take exception to.

Strange attitude to democracy and public accountability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

After watching last night, the people I really feel sorry for is the company handling Danas PR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Hobbes wrote: »
    After watching last night, the people I really feel sorry for is the company handling Danas PR.

I doubt she has a company doing her PR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

I don't get the downright nasty vitirol that gets directed at her. Comes accross as a very nice person to me tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭FetchTheGin

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    I don't get the downright nasty vitirol that gets directed at her. Comes accross as a very nice person to me tbh.

Everyone is getting that in fairness, she isn't a suitable representative in my opinion.

I have to say its a great publicity stunt, everyone is talking about what these vile allegations can be and nothing about the other candidates. Its even one of the top searches on google now.

As this is the dog that didn't bark, Scallon isn't going to get a moments rest for the rest of the campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I don't get the downright nasty vitirol that gets directed at her.

You don't have to dig too far into the anti-abortion, anti-gay Conservative Catholic agenda to get splashed with their own vitriol. Dana's association with the likes of Youth Defence and nonsense like this is probably the reason; that and wearing her "Irishness" on her sleeve all the time.

Strange that Dana was able to swear allegiance to a country that allows abortion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Just in from Breakingnews, she was spotted eating a bag of walkers crisp, disgusting carry on from a would be Irish president, she's now apparently barred from Tayto Park over the incident.

Hang your head in shame Dana. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,373 ✭✭✭Dr Galen

daveyeh wrote: »
    No sign of any story in the media yet. Delusional old c***.

There is a line on this forum when it comes to the use of language and what is nothing more than petty namecalling. This post crosses it.

Cheers

DrG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

This is getting huge coverage and lots of speculation
    Several websites discussing it and being updated during the day

Could be a genius campaign move

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

I doubt she has a company doing her PR.

Vatican if anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Does she plan to state what it is publicly?

I heard an interview with Sean Gallagher this morning on the radio and he mentioned that she had told the other candiates last night what it was. If shes feels comfortable enough to tell her election rivals then surely she'd reveal it publicly too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Pandora2

Missed Sean Gallagher's people today...bloody raging, I have some question's:rolleyes:

Apologies if "off topic":o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Does she plan to state what it is publicly?

I heard an interview with Sean Gallagher this morning on the radio and he mentioned that she had told the other candiates last night what it was. If shes feels comfortable enough to tell her election rivals then surely she'd reveal it publicly too.

Its probably that Dana is not her real name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

From what I gathered from her statement the accusation wasn't directly levelled against her, it was against a family member.

Maybe the outlet in question pulled it as soon as she made the statement? Thought it would make her look even more daft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Just found this link on Twitter