Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Prime Time Presidential Debate on now

• 12-10-2011 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭

All 7 are there. 70 minutes long.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

All 7 are there. 70 minutes long.
    Watching it now, got the popcorn and drinks in earlier:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,290 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Higgins is not standing on a box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭jonniebgood1

First surprise... Martins tie!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Why is Miriam O'Callaghan heading this debate? She's already used the word 'actual/ly' over 10 times in 5 minutes. One of her statements was "like it is an actual power of the president'. Hopeless presenter.

First surprise... Martins tie!!!
    Norris' looks like he tore a strip off some woman's frock:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

wow miriam, i hope you don't continue like this

presidential candidate 1: what do you think is the most important power

answer: article 26 blah blah blah

presidential candidate2: what do you think is the most important power

answer: article 26 blah blah blah

rinse and repeat for presidential candidates 3-7

yawn how boring and repetitive her delivery is, no spontaneity there at all....if she continues like this with all her questions this will be incredibly dull and stilted

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

This makes me wonder a lot.

1) No president has had to undergo these sorts of questions before, so what to ask them seems to be un-sure.
    2) Will people actually watch the presidency a lot more / raise questions about the office of presidency in future?

Hope they ask Dana for her passport and she storms off.

Mitchell hasn't mentioned anything about his father.

Mitchell wants to address the nation on suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Norris' looks like he tore a strip off some woman's frock:)

a 1970's woman's frock

She wants them to talk about each others opinion. Tough ask IMO. They just want to spout their practiced usual speels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭louloubella

Where did Norris get that accent. Where oh where?

Are you not used to it? He's been a public figure for about 30 years now.

McGuinness probably believes he's been absolved in the confession box. Nutter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

McGuinness looks like he wants to murder Miriam.

She'd want to be "very very careful."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭pjmn

bleg wrote: »
    McGuinness looks like he wants to murder Miriam.

She'd want to be "very very careful."

... well as least that's something in his favour....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

She jumped in on McGuinness a bit hamfisted there.

Time how long Norris stays quiet.Absolutely nothing to add.

McGuinness calls Miriam "stupid".

A stupid statement marion. I totally agree Martin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭leonidas83

woodoo wrote: »
    She jumped in on McGuinness a bit hamfisted there.

shes making a bit of a tit of herself

So much for it being timed anyway. Miriam's getting bogged down in the IRA issue again. Spent nearly 5 minutes on Martin there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Hope she gives everyone else a grilling like Martin McGuinness got there

No. Blowing up the trains was not a good thing to do Norris. Now shut up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Think norris is voting MMg

McGuinness and the North....boring.

Marion is attacking him. Unashamedly.

realies wrote: »
    Think norris is voting MMg

He's looking for the SF tranfers.

Did the IRA have something to do with Gay father's untimely death?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭kopijacked

Miriam loves Martin, she can't stop talking about him!

McGuinness and the North....boring.
    McGuinness is walking all over that women who is asking the questions, he looks a bit upset and very angry at some of the questions.

Marion is attacking him. Unashamedly.

Marion? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

She has the horn for Martin tonight.

He's looking for the SF tranfers.

Did the IRA have something to do with Gay father's untimely death?
    No that was guinness's not McGuinness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

gay mitchell is like a child

mrs. miriam,mrs. miriam martin has been bad

Is that a gun in martins pocket or is he just happy to see Miriam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭Dublinman12

DrumSteve wrote: »
    She has the horn for Martin tonight.

Jesus Miram O Callaghan is a disgrace tonight, its supposed to be a debate not an attack on MMCG

Mare of a night for Miriam. Can't believe she asked MDH if he would vote for Martin if he wasn't running himself. She's loving her hypothetical questions tonight. Hope she doesn't ask anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

poor debate.its not even a debate.martin is being targeted again tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Shameful stuff from RTE here I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

Miriam got "almost all" the answers from Sean :pac:

What had MMG done for David Kelly since monday was a good question in fairness

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

she interrogates martin mcg like he knocked down her dog this morning and then asks gallagher how much of the debt he paid off, he says "almost all", she says what does almost all mean, he answers "almost all" and she leaves it at that lol

Wolfe Tone wrote: »
    Shameful stuff from RTE here I have to say.
    Gallagher is getting it in the neck now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭caseyann

kopijacked wrote: »
    Miriam loves Martin, she can't stop talking about him!

She has the hots for him :eek:

Does Sean own the earn money from home **** that they charge you 300 euro for package and you are lucky to make a tenner?

I think Martin is again holding well and is great how he can answer the questions.I am sure he is sick and tired of them.If people where asking me the same question over and over again and i had told them i am not in and havent been in since 1974 i would be telling them to eff off lol.
    Fair play to you Martin.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Miriam: ''Why aren't you all being more mean to each other!?''

Jesus this is embarrassing.

They are a weak bunch- afraid to say boo to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭twincamman

lads this is a disgrace of a debate.i taught miriam would be alot better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Such stupid questions. This is embarassing.

Sean was very poor for that question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭DanielGibbons

Mitchell couldn't believe he's allowed speak :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

twincamman wrote: »
    lads this is a disgrace of a debate.i taught miriam would be alot better

Why? I don't get why ppl rate Miriam. She has always been a terrible interviewer/ presenter.

MMG must have slept with Gay's sister or something.