Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Get your car serviced!

• 12-10-2011 11:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭

Just in relation to this thread,

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056417883

And many, many other stories I'm hearing lately.

I've been talking to a few mechanics and people seem to be in the mindset that they won't do the general maintenance and only fix a problem when it goes wrong.

It's simple, for the cost of 100 euro to at least get your oil, air filter and oil replaced it will save you time, money and hassle in the long run. Plus a well serviced car will return better Mpg are will be a lot easier sell in the future.

(I'm not a mechanic so this is of absolutely no financial benefit to me)

The more often you service a car the better, but a general rule of thumb would be an oil and filter change at 6,000 miles or 10,000 kms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

In fairness, if its your average Irish driver you're preaching too, 6000 mile services ain't gonna happen. Not to mention they aren't necessary with most modern cars (despite me doing mine every 5-6k miles)

12-15k mile oil changes should be fine and you'd have more chance of people complying.

And thanks to VolvoBoy's "How to" if your in anyway handy you can do it yourself saving €€€.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055422868

Going to do my 1st self service next weekend. :)

cisk wrote: »
    And thanks to VolvoBoy's "How to" if your in anyway handy you can do it yourself saving €€€.............

If you were anyway handy you could do it without VB's how to :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

In fairness, if its your average Irish driver you're preaching too, 6000 mile services ain't gonna happen. Not to mention they aren't necessary with most modern cars (despite me doing mine every 5-6k miles)

12-15k mile oil changes should be fine and you'd have more chance of people complying.

I do it every 6,000 miles, I wouldn't leave oil in a car for 12k miles!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

My brothers first car which he's had for a year & 3 months is well overdue a service, but its like talking to the wall. More than than the usual oil & filters etc there's brake pads(which havent had a eye thrown on them since twas bought), brake fluid & the gear oil are due(3 years).

Car could've been NCT'd 6 months early in august but i can see him getting pulled by the guards well after its offically due before he'd bother his arse.

Just clueless like.

RoverJames wrote: »
    If you were anyway handy you could do it without VB's how to :P

Well everyone has to start somewhere, im pretty confident after doing it once i wont need a tut, but hey im 23 and this is my 1st car ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Car into main dealer because the rear suspension is out, either a bent strut or bushes gone. Got a phone call two hours later, "we took a look, your going to need new brakes and brake lines on the front, they are too old to let you drive away, you also need a service done, air filter is filthy". I picked my car up that evening after telling them to go **** themselves and shove it where the sun don't shine.

I had brand new disks, lines, pads and calipers on the front two weeks before, service was just done(in front of me) two weeks before as well. Shower of useless *****.

The car industry has created its own problems, rampant clocking, complete ignorance of basic customer service, abuse of customer rights(sold as seen) and a constant rip off of anybody they can. Is it really surprising that nobody want's to get work done on their car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I get mine done on-schedule (or thereabouts) but the problems is that "thereabouts" means every 3/4 months with the mileage I do (roughly 1000 km a week).

I've also yet to bring it into a dealer for a "scheduled/standard service" and have it cost me less than €450 - generally it's a lot more than that, and that's with bringing it up north (dread to think what I'd be getting charged down here)

Also, I've tried local independent fellas that came "recommended" for a few small things, but that wasn't exactly cheap either and one messed up a job that I was getting told (by others) would cost €200 to sort out.. only to then get it done perfectly for €60 (by a place recommended on here)

For example, the timing belt on my Passat is about due again (194000 km on the clock) and if I thought I could bring it somewhere that would do it for a fair price, using the proper parts and do the job right, I'd be set... but instead I'll have to take it to the dealer and prepare for the €1000-ish bill they'll hand me at the end :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭txpjl

Car into main dealer because the rear suspension is out, either a bent strut or bushes gone. Got a phone call two hours later, "we took a look, your going to need new brakes and brake lines on the front, they are too old to let you drive away, you also need a service done, air filter is filthy". I picked my car up that evening after telling them to go **** themselves and shove it where the sun don't shine.

I had brand new disks, lines, pads and calipers on the front two weeks before, service was just done(in front of me) two weeks before as well. Shower of useless *****.

The car industry has created its own problems, rampant clocking, complete ignorance of basic customer service, abuse of customer rights(sold as seen) and a constant rip off of anybody they can. Is it really surprising that nobody want's to get work done on their car?

Name and shame?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

txpjl wrote: »
    Name and shame?

No naming and shaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

I do it every 6,000 miles, I wouldn't leave oil in a car for 12k miles!

You and I wouldn't, but theres no harm in doing so. Sure look at modern service intervals and oil manufacturers specs, you won't find any less than 12k miles unless its something out of the ordinary.

My point is that 12k-15k miles is infinitely better than 25k+ miles.

A friend of mine let his car go 80k km without a service. The only reason it went in eventually was because the brakes were shot. How it's still going mystifies me. It's a diesel too.

I get mine done with long life oil every 15k km. That equates to every 3 months. The oil should in theory be good for 30k km but I wouldnt like it in there that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

I 'donated' my on-the-nose Starlet to my old man and he let it run almost completely dry.

I happened to dip it a few weeks ago and was furious to see smoke coming from the rocker cover (oil cap) and noting on the stick. Such a waste. Caught in the nick of time though.

I think some people just don't cop on to the fact that they are driving a machine that requires maintenance. They don't 'see' the engine, just a car.

When I tackled him over it he said he only puts oil in a motor when the light comes on :mad:

So, it's up to his house with a hand full of tools and a service kit twice a year ....

Of course, financials are a big factor for a lot of people these days.

E39MSport wrote: »
    Of course, financials are a big factor for a lot of people these days.

Yep.. especially when you're paying €500 a month in diesel and tolls just to GET to work! :(

The 2 front tyres I have on the car at the min are crap in the wet (I was stuck on the day so had to take em). I'd love to be able to fork out £750 - POUNDS - or more for winter tyres but I just can't afford that kinda cash at the moment!

So I'll have to try and get the best value/quality I can for about half that amount :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭sentient_6

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    I get mine done on-schedule (or thereabouts) but the problems is that "thereabouts" means every 3/4 months with the mileage I do (roughly 1000 km a week).

I've also yet to bring it into a dealer for a "scheduled/standard service" and have it cost me less than €450 - generally it's a lot more than that, and that's with bringing it up north (dread to think what I'd be getting charged down here)

Also, I've tried local independent fellas that came "recommended" for a few small things, but that wasn't exactly cheap either and one messed up a job that I was getting told (by others) would cost €200 to sort out.. only to then get it done perfectly for €60 (by a place recommended on here)

For example, the timing belt on my Passat is about due again (194000 km on the clock) and if I thought I could bring it somewhere that would do it for a fair price, using the proper parts and do the job right, I'd be set... but instead I'll have to take it to the dealer and prepare for the €1000-ish bill they'll hand me at the end frown.gif

Yep.. especially when you're paying €500 a month in diesel and tolls just to GET to work! :(

The 2 front tyres I have on the car at the min are crap in the wet (I was stuck on the day so had to take em). I'd love to be able to fork out £750 - POUNDS - or more for winter tyres but I just can't afford that kinda cash at the moment!

So I'll have to try and get the best value/quality I can for about half that amount :(

Are you me? Am i you?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Two of my recent services, both by different mechanics that were highly recommended to me.

First guy never put the oil cap back on the engine so smoky bonnet on the way home until I stopped to see oil all over the engine. Couldn't clean it all due so had to endure it burning off and stinking me out of it for next few days.

Second guy I told about a noise from the engine. Told him I suspected an exhaust issue. He had it two days, serviced it and told me the head gasket was gone. Told me it would cost the bones of a grand to sort out.

I drove away and whatever he was doing with it the steering wheel was around 10 degrees off centre. I had to bring it back to get him to fix it back to normal.

I brought car to place in Dublin on way to work. They replaced the exhaust and car is fine now almost 6 months later.

Both services above weren't main dealer prices but they were still pricey enough. I would now prefer to do as much as I can and steer away from garages as much as possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

@kaiser2000, your saying you need to get the best value for your can yet your happy to pay 1000+ for a timing belt change on a passat??:eek:

For example, the timing belt on my Passat is about due again (194000 km on the clock) and if I thought I could bring it somewhere that would do it for a fair price, using the proper parts and do the job right, I'd be set... but instead I'll have to take it to the dealer and prepare for the €1000-ish bill they'll hand me at the end :(

Blackwater motors in Cork City do 1.9 timing belts for €480.

Seems value considering they charge €160 odd for front pads and the guts of €200 more if discs are needed :eek:

They do a brake fluid and coolant change for €60, 'tis a strange price list to look at really, some of it seems great value, some seems looney.

In fairness if you're doing 4000kms/month you have to expect things to be due rather than just an oil and filter change :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

You and I wouldn't, but theres no harm in doing so. Sure look at modern service intervals and oil manufacturers specs, you won't find any less than 12k miles unless its something out of the ordinary.

My point is that 12k-15k miles is infinitely better than 25k+ miles.

That's ok if correct oil is used. After I bought my e46, I took it to very expensive but reputable BMW specialist(85Euro+VAT labour) for peace of mind.

I told him to check car for any issues and change all fluids and filters in there.

He decided to put 10/40 oil into car without telling me because rocker cover gasket is leaking a little bit. Then I asked him when is the next oil change interval with 10/40 oil he put. He said he reset service indicator to 15k miles and I should follow this interval.

I was planning to service it after 6k miles but I sold it to a friend. And I told him to service it around 6-8k mark after previous service. He is still waiting for 15k interval:D . So I wouldn't trust this 12-15k miles intervals unless I know there is a proper oil in my car.

sentient_6 wrote: »
    Are you me? Am i you?! :eek:
    I don't THINK so? I'm getting a bit scared tho :p
    @kaiser2000, your saying you need to get the best value for your can yet your happy to pay 1000+ for a timing belt change on a passat??:eek:
    Not particularly happy with it nope but to be fair that'll include the price of the service as well + whatever else they find. It's just a bit rough when I'm paying roughly €450 a quarter anyway as well.

Any of the independents I've tried haven't been very good (despite coming recommended) and as I have the (infamous) PD 2.0 TDI unit in the car I'm worried about an injector failure somewhere along the line and then VW trying to get out of it because it no longer has the full main dealer history.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Blackwater motors in Cork City do 1.9 timing belts for €480.

In fairness if you're doing 4000kms/month you have to expect things to be due rather than just an oil and filter change :)

Cork is a bit of a drive from Dublin/Cavan though unfortunately! :)

Ah I know that more miles = more costs and I could easily sidetrack into how I'm ruining the car for nothing really (the job I'm doing doesn't make it exactly worthwhile) but it just seems to always be a big bill every time - and I look after the car, it's 95% motorway mileage I'm doing, and it's in great nick generally (I think)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Here's an excellent way to detail your car too...* :pac:

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=5ce_1318057160

*(do not do this!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭WestWing

He's an idiot. He forgot to use soap. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Bluehair

A lot of people have a funny attitude to car servicing in Ireland.

Some time ago I went along with a mate and his daughter to check out a Fiesta she was hoping to get as a first car.

The woman selling it was enthusiastically telling us; "It's so reliable it hasn't needed a service in three years!"

(we didn't buy it :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,352 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

*(do not do this!)

by by merc ... id say it goin to be wrecked after that wash ... sad they didn't show when they try start it .

I used to do cars myself... all started from that day when i got skyline (5 years ago) .... dealers refuse service jap import car, regular garage said, (number of them) ... such exclusive car service cost up to 3 times more than regular car.... so i had to do it myself.
    was working in one lil garage for a wail... now i am doing own cars (my missus) and some friends cars. Wouldn go near any garage ... except tire fitting station. All the rest i am doing myself.... engine change, head gasket change... etc ... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Mack_1111

I used to go to the main dealers to get my car serviced, stopped after a while because every time I went to pick it up I was told that "it wasn't ready yet, but we'll give you a car for the rest of the evening till it's ready" they always gave me a fairly new car. When I'd go in to collect my car they'd ask me what did I think of the newer model etc etc. I was just thinking 'buddy I'm not buying a F'''ing car just give me my own one and I'll be off'

Bought the Haynes manual since and do most maintenance myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Heres an old top gear on old rollers where the owner had the vibrating sun visor looked at and Quentin reakoning that anyone who hadnt got a good service history or used their tool kit wasnt someone you wanted to be doing business with!
    Ive seen 160 grand Mercs here at 9 years old with little or no service history other than a few stamps that anyone could have done some main agent most not, no receipts no detailed logs nothing.
    Used cars here are only for the brave...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45AfHbv1hRA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

A certain Mazda dealer wanted to charge us €90 extra to change the pollen filter and wiper blades on a Mazda 6 a few weeks ago, the blades were fine (about a year old but as good as new) and I got a pollen filter for €5.30 on micksgarage (Bosch blades were €20 there too) and spent about 15 seconds changing it. I can understand why people are apprehensive about getting a car serviced if they have no idea what they might be paying for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The Irish generally are the neanderthals of motorists. Total knumbskulls who don't look after their cars, don't service them, put the cheapest of tyres on them and then scratch their heads when they don't start when they turn the key. The same people would rather pi$$ it against the wall down their local on a Saturday night.

Cannot see this attitude changing anytime soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

bazz26 wrote: »
    The Irish generally are the neanderthals of motorists. Total knumbskulls who don't look after their cars, don't service them, put the cheapest of tyres on them and then scratch their heads when they don't start when they turn the key. The same people would rather pi$$ it against the wall down their local on a Saturday night.

Couldn't agree more, and to be honest You can just gauge from the way some people drive they honestly don't give a f**k about their car.

I actually had one guy get quite irritated at the fact I slowed down to get over a speed ramp @ 10mph.

The amount of 11 reg cars that haven't seen a car wash since being built is pretty amazing too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

EPM wrote: »
    No naming and shaming.

If it's true and the OP can stand by it, then what's the problem in doing so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

VolvoMan wrote: »
    It's about boards getting sued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Anan1 wrote: »

...but if it's true, then what's the problem?

There can hardly be any case of libel if it is exactly what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

The forum Mods (and the owners of Boards.ie) have no way of knowing the rights and wrongs of any particular grievance, and don't want to have to go to court to find out.
    This is general policy across the whole site.

Anan1 wrote: »

Exactly.

Yes but unless the poster is able to prove beyond doubt to the mods that its true beforehand then nobody gets named. We'll leave it at that now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

True, my father was the very same years back. Throw in a drop of oil and getting it serviced every blue moon. He always bought Jap cars and older VW's, all considered reliable yet they broke down, timing belts went etc. His current car he bought in 03 and he said he would look after it well. Its a 01 1.4 golf, he has now covered nearly 280,000 miles, no real trouble only general ware and tear. The car owes him absolutely nothing, when it hits 300+ miles Ill upload a picture:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

They rang me. I don't have a record of the conversation, only my word against their's. And if I post who did it up on this site, then boards.ie is libel for what I say. The MCD case made that pretty obvious for any Irish site.

Do you know me or something

:pac: (I jest)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

I couldn't agree more. In fairness, I put enough money away to get a car rather than drink it at weekends. Best story was I was in a car with a mate and he complains of a tapping noise. I said "Have you ever checked the oil?" And he responded with "No?". Goes to check the oil level. None in it. He puts in a litre and the engine seizes a week later...

It was a Polo, he was under the misconception of "reliable means I don't need to service it." A sad phrase I've heard in Ireland only too much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭chinwag

Plug wrote: »
    True, my father was the very same years back. Throw in a drop of oil and getting it serviced every blue moon. He always bought Jap cars and older VW's, all considered reliable yet they broke down, timing belts went etc. His current car he bought in 03 and he said he would look after it well. Its a 01 1.4 golf, he has now covered nearly 280,000 miles, no real trouble only general ware and tear. The car owes him absolutely nothing, when it hits 300+ miles Ill upload a picture:p

My goodness, that's some going. Yet, the Golf rarely gets any praise on boards! :rolleyes:

Plug wrote: »
    Its a 01 1.4 golf, he has now covered nearly 280,000 miles, no real trouble only general ware and tear. The car owes him absolutely nothing, when it hits 300+ miles Ill upload a picture:p

That must be the world record for milage covered on mk4 1.4 golf engine. :eek:

I thought I was doing well having covered over 150,000 miles without the engine going pop:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

Just to add my own 2c...

Lot's of folks getting their cars "serviced" for €70/80 thinking that they've got a great deal. Generally,all they've had done is an oil change. There's a lot more to a proper service than oil and filters.

Nforce wrote: »
    Just to add my own 2c...

Lot's of folks getting their cars "serviced" for €70/80 thinking that they've got a great deal. Generally,all they've had done is an oil change. There's a lot more to a proper service than oil and filters.

But it's better than nothing!

I changed my oil, oil filter, air filter, fuel filter for under €50.

I'm thinking now I might get new glow plugs and a good (better) battery for the winter. Me leaving my lights on is starting to take it's toll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

VW in sandyford texted me saying 78 euro for a lube service - in fairness if that saves a few cars from seizing or being damaged beyond economical repair - all good.

of course it said T+C's apply so check first!

A friend of mine ended up putting a new engine in his '99 156 some years back, he loved the car, but ultimately wasn't to bothered about the engine oil light coming on when going around corners. He's still driving it today, and has learned his lesson at least.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

chinwag wrote: »
    My goodness, that's some going. Yet, the Golf rarely gets any praise on boards! :rolleyes:

I learned to drive in a 1990 passat with 260000 miles on the clock!

I'm blessed the past couple of years, I've a great indy mechanic, who listens to me when I go in, checks out what I'm saying when he looks at the car, then rings and has a chat about what needs to be done. I've absolutely no complaints about him, very good guy to deal with and I've recommended him to several friends who've also found him great to deal with.

His prices too are very reasonable, send the car in for a service, and you pick it up knowing any niggle in the car has been discovered and looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

C4Kid wrote: »
    Couldn't agree more, and to be honest You can just gauge from the way some people drive they honestly don't give a f**k about their car.

I actually had one guy get quite irritated at the fact I slowed down to get over a speed ramp @ 10mph.

The amount of 11 reg cars that haven't seen a car wash since being built is pretty amazing too.

I refuse to cut through Leopardstown racecourse due to the ramps. Wife does though, I went through in my car and she was mortified at the SLOW speed I went over the ramps.

I have to pay for the re-alignments and tyres, and shocks and sumps......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Nforce wrote: »
    Just to add my own 2c...

I postponed servicing mine for fear of getting ripped off; Got it serviced for 79 in the end, oil and filters. Mechanic said engine is like new, oil clear. 2 years and 12000 km since last service. I sure won't change the oil every year anyway if mileage stays low.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

cisk wrote: »
    Going to do my 1st self service next weekend. :)

Good luck with it :)

Serviced my own 2 cars for the first time this year (oil, filters) and I didn't save any money because I had to buy some tools. And it took me a long time. But it brought a nice sense of achievement anyway :)

Please make 100% sure that you're safe if you're going to be under your car though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

rocky wrote: »
    I postponed servicing mine for fear of getting ripped off; Got it serviced for 79 in the end, oil and filters. Mechanic said engine is like new, oil clear. 2 years and 12000 km since last service. I sure won't change the oil every year anyway if mileage stays low.

You didn't get your car serviced, you had an oil change done.

I think this is exactly what this thread is about, an oil change every 2 years in very far from properly servicing a car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

think you hit it in the head there in one fell swoop.

I refuse to cut through Leopardstown racecourse due to the ramps. Wife does though, I went through in my car and she was mortified at the SLOW speed I went over the ramps.

I have to pay for the re-alignments and tyres, and shocks and sumps......

If I'm being honest, I do something similar on the way to college. I used to drive through an estate but they installed ramps over the summer and now I go a slightly longer way around to avoid them. It's a no brainer for me as the extra distance is minimal.

I have too much mechanical sympathy though:pac: