Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best dogs you've owned

• 12-10-2011 1:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭

1. german shephard

2. shih tzu

3. american eskimo

what yall think

bein nice here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

I have a German Shepherd now and she is gorgeous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭jimpump

hondasam wrote: »

kudos, they are the best dogs without a doubt. dont care what anyone says

jimpump wrote: »
    kudos, they are the best dogs without a doubt. dont care what anyone says

Depends how you train them, mine is not aggressive and she never will be.
    she is totally loveable and a baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Damn right - own 3 of them myself.

Kojak wrote: »
    Damn right - own 3 of them myself.

Do you breed them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

All the dogs I had were great :( but the springer my family have now is probably best of all :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Stacey.

Labrador and German Shepherds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭ballsacky

Irish Red Setter.A loyal and decent dag that wouldn't hurt a fly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Cairn terrier for me. I've had a westie since who was a beaut but I think Cairns have an intellegence and toughness about them that most small breeds don't. They have a great maturity about them and tend not to get into fracas with other dogs or any of that stuff too. I'd love to get another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Do you breed them?

Not at the moment anyways.

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Cairn terrier for me. I've had a westie since who was a beaut but I think Cairns have an intellegence and toughness about them that most small breeds don't. They have a great maturity about them and tend not to get into fracas with other dogs or any of that stuff too. I'd love to get another one.

i never heard of a cairn....think ill google them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Jack Russells.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Had a Golden Lab, then parents broke up a few years back and she went to live with my dad.

I got one of her pups there 2 weeks ago (first litter of pups at age 8 btw) and have her here with me now. She's a cross between a lab and a Cocker Spanial. Really nice mix.

amacachi wrote: »
    Jack Russells.

Beautiful dogs also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Rhodesian Ridgebacks! Mine is snoring right now :D

FunkZ wrote: »
    Rhodesian Ridgebacks! Mine is snoring right now :D

fcukin jealous....if i didnt live in an appartment the'd be the 1st dog id get next

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

My 11 year old King Charles spaniel who died a month ago from cancer. She was such a strange dog and she terrified people because of her human-esque eyes. They were unusually really big and the fact she had brown eyebrows to emphasise her expressions didn't help either :pac:

Even when the cancer had her dwindled down to the bone, disfigured her face immensely, and made her incredibly weak she would still wobble to the door and greet whoever came in.............even if it knackered her so much that she would just collpase at the door afterwards to have a breather.

Brother-in-law gave her a Jaffa cake once and she lost the plot by running circles around the house. Since then you couldn't eat them around her or she'd go mental. It was like crack to her :pac:

I should also add I stabbed myself in the leg with a pencil because of her and the piece broke off which required surgery to remove :P Good times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

jimpump wrote: »
    fcukin jealous....if i didnt live in an appartment the'd be the 1st dog id get next

Haha! They're absolutely amazing dogs. My GF has one too, 55KG and he's just a giant teddybear!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭Yeah Buddy

Best dog I've ever had personally was a Border Collie. Currently have a Red Setter and she's very excitable - lovely animal though :)

My favourite breeds are German Shepherds and Golden Retrievers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'd a jack russell before. An awful alcoholic and a hewer for the wimmins. Last I heard he ran off with a fordiner. I just wish he WOULD WRITE!!

*gathers self*

I just hope for some pittchers now.

/rocks on chair

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Abi wrote: »
    I'd a jack russell before. An awful alcoholic and a hewer for the wimmins. Last I heard he ran off with a fordiner. I just wish he WOULD WRITE!!

*gathers self*

I just hope for some pittchers now.

/rocks on chair

You think that's bad? A mate of mine had one but when he was 7 the dog ran away with the gypsies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Had a few Red Setters over the years. My Dad used to show them as well, beautiful dogs, lovely shiny coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Without a doubt the Rhodesian Ridgeback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭Sticky_Fingers

I'd love a German Shepherd but the whole hip dysplasia thing would be a big worry. We've got a little terrier, fecking great guard dog, no one can come near the the house without her having 40 fits.

FunkZ wrote: »
    Haha! They're absolutely amazing dogs. My GF has one too, 55KG and he's just a giant teddybear!

55kg? thats about 10 stone...id say he costs a fortune to feed

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,155 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

My Rottweiler for me. I love the breed, and she's a lovely and affectionate dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Duggy747 wrote: »
    My 11 year old King Charles spaniel who died a month ago from cancer. She was such a strange dog and she terrified people because of her human-esque eyes. They were unusually really big and the fact she had brown eyebrows to emphasise her expressions didn't help either :pac:

Even when the cancer had her dwindled down to the bone, disfigured her face immensely, and made her incredibly weak she would still wobble to the door and greet whoever came in.............even if it knackered her so much that she would just collpase at the door afterwards to have a breather.

Brother-in-law gave her a Jaffa cake once and she lost the plot by running circles around the house. Since then you couldn't eat them around her or she'd go mental. It was like crack to her :pac:

I should also add I stabbed myself in the leg with a pencil because of her and the piece broke off which required surgery to remove :P Good times!

My dog is the same now, he would do anything for a jaffa cake, i love giving him snowballs as he is licking his lips for around half an hour after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

671711871a4686119571l.jpg

What A legend of a dog!

Died St. Stephens Day 2006 - aged 21

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

Had a family terrier called Dfor, (D for Dog) use to sit up on the tank of my bike and travel anywhere including bike Rallies

It was so smart it could recognise the sound of the bike (A BSA 500) about a mile away and would run up the road to get a lift. He hopped off to chase a cat at about 30MPH in and survived and never did it again.

I moved to the States in the 90's and got a call from the old man saying he got run over,, it was like a death in the family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Hopefully rescuing a mini jack Russel this weekend.

Best dog I actually had was maxi the little fox terrier when I was a nipper. Still miss her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

Have two Labradors .One male 10 months old the other female 6 months old .Nice dogs when they are not tearing up my garden plants .
    In the past had a few Shetland sheep dogs .Also good temperament .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Springer spaniels are the best most loyal dogs ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

the staffy is great [a dog for everyone,] the english bully ,but dont they snore,sounds like a train going through the house,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭fran oconnor

Have a 10 month old Fox Terrier now, had a Westie up until a few months ago also but the poor fella passed away. The Fox Terrier is a lovely dog though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

English Bulldog.

How long before some asshole starts talking through their derriere about the evils of buying a pedigree dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 207 ✭✭stevekavo

Have a 5 year old Boxer.Great craic always up to something.Sonres like a train coming through the house and farts like he's been on the Guinness all night. :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Staffordshire Bull Terriers. Fantastic dogs with children especially. Always getting lumped in with American Pit Bulls, totally separate breed really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭tonsiltickler

German sheperds; so loyal, extremely clever and great companions. I have one and my dad has one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Ah! finally an AH thread that cant descend into racism.

I've only ever had one dog, my current dog.

A retired greyhound, can't recomend them enough. they have such a bad time and theyre the most placid, gentle dogs you can imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

Boxer or the welsh springer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

German sheperds; so loyal, extremely clever and great companions. I have one and my dad has one.
    Yea great dogs alright. Had one myself and another that was a cross. Very loyal, clever and useful members of the family. I miss them both.

Only issues can be the hip problems and the swivel eyed loony "dog lovers" that go for the extreme pedigree ones with the sloping backs. Walking cripples and fcuk all like the working dog they came from with the proper level back. There are sadly a lot of dog breeds in that category all bent outa shape by fashion and muppets. Crufts and similar are hideous parades of often crippled mutants IMHO.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Sam - he was a three legged fox terrier that would howl/sing along to music. Despite his size (he was quite small) and the fact he had only 1 back leg, he would attempt to hump whatever he could. There was one time he vanished for three days and came back limping worse than usual and we were petrified that he had damaged his only back leg, which would have potentially meant us putting him to sleep, so we brought him to the vet. Vet examines him and notices how tired Sam seems to be. Came to the conclusion that there was a bitch in heat somewhere and he was limping because he had exerted himself far too much.

What a dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Sam - he was a three legged fox terrier that would howl/sing along to music. Despite his size (he was quite small) and the fact he had only 1 back leg, he would attempt to hump whatever he could. There was one time he vanished for three days and came back limping worse than usual and we were petrified that he had damaged his only back leg, which would have potentially meant us putting him to sleep, so we brought him to the vet. Vet examines him and notices how tired Sam seems to be. Came to the conclusion that there was a bitch in heat somewhere and he was limping because he had exerted himself far too much.

What a dog.

Cant beat the Terriers,Ive a terrier as well,he fancies his chances with the bitches as well no matter what size they are :D

Cant beat the Terriers,Ive a terrier as well.he fancys his chances with the bitches as well no matter what size they are :D
    The fox terrier i have is trying to ride everything at the moment, i think its about time i got him the snip tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Staffordshire Bull Terrier
    211631_559883379_6386186_n.jpg

DSCF0548.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭jsd1004

Boxer..thread closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

I've never had a dog for keeps, the closest I've gotten was a JRT that I picked up in the park one day and brought home. he was wet, dirty, underfed and terrified of people. handed him over to animal welfare two days later.he was a great little companion, even if it was just for two days. the second morning (he slept in my room on a pillow) I woke up, and looked down at him, and he got excited and ran up onto the bed, and snuggled down beside me :):( miss him.

here's a pic

and two more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Beagle.
    End of discussion.

I've never had a dog for keeps, the closest I've gotten was a JRT that I picked up in the park one day and brought home. he was wet, dirty, underfed and terrified of people. handed him over to animal welfare two days later.he was a great little companion, even if it was just for two days. the second morning (he slept in my room on a pillow) I woke up, and looked down at him, and he got excited and ran up onto the bed, and snuggled down beside me :):( miss him.

here's a pic

and two more
    He's a lovely fella, its a shame that you couldn't keep him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

He's a lovely fella, its a shame that you couldn't keep him.

I know :( he got rehomed with a family so hopefully he's happy there