Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Collected my long tailed Springer

• 10-10-2011 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭

Hi all I collected Ruby my new Springer Spaniel Bitch yesterday and now it starts the training I hope this works out ok and that I don't make any mistakes training her she has just got her booster injections and wormed again when do I start training her is it from day one we had a great day yesterday bonding the noise from her last night my God they can howl anyway any tips will be greatly accepted here we go Long Tail Ruby.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭homerhop

Best of luck with her and hope you have years of good times with her. Patience is essential and dont expect het to get everything right straight away. They will test you at times and you will have to go back to basics at stages. Start with one command at a time and as much as you would like to do a few, keep to the one till she has it mastered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

:Dany pic of her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 506 ✭✭✭moby30

best of luck with the new dog.
    happy hunting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 Bamanlou

best of luck with long tail ruby :D hope its a cracker. a good book to look up woud be , training the roughshooters dog by p.r. moxon. great book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭LB6

Hi Tawny - have a ball with Ruby - there's no absolute rush to get into the training. That's an old wives "tail" about not being able to teach old dogs new tricks - sure look at homerhop lmao (kiddin hon), but anyway - just take the initial time to bond with your dog, let her get to know you and your ways, play with her and increase her confidence in you as the alpha between you. Some people will tell you that 6months is plenty of time, others will tell you wait till their a yr and a half. Only you will know depending on the temperment of the dog how soon you need to start laying down the law!

Can't help you with the howling problem, but can I suggest that anything that's chewable - ok trust me here - everything is chewable to a pup - get it up and out of her way. :D

Best of luck with Ruby and looking forward to seeing the pics

LB6

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Hi all I collected Ruby my new Springer Spaniel Bitch yesterday and now it starts the training I hope this works out ok and that I don't make any mistakes training her she has just got her booster injections and wormed again when do I start training her is it from day one we had a great day yesterday bonding the noise from her last night my God they can howl anyway any tips will be greatly accepted here we go Long Tail Ruby.:D:D

nice one TawnyOwl, i just sold my long tail springer today:mad: I had a thread running since he was a few months and thought you may get some info off it. Any pics?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69697612

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,542 ✭✭✭Vizzy

Spunk84 wrote: »
    nice one TawnyOwl, i just sold my long tail springer today:mad: I had a thread running since he was a few months and thought you may get some info off it. Any pics?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69697612

Was the operation to remove the nuts painful?:):)

Vizzy wrote: »
    Was the operation to remove the nuts painful?:):)

:D LOL id say not as painful as letting him go today:( good one thou ya a"s:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

charlie10 wrote: »
    :Dany pic of her

Will take some tonight and upload the wife just phoned me and told me the Dog was out the front of the House just dug her way out under a Gate Ball and chain for her the Dog not the Wife

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭terminator2

best of luck with her tawny and i hope she gives you many years of pleasure ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

best of luck to you tawny;) and happy hunting:):)

I have some photos taken today of Ruby but cant put them up on here what am I doing wrong
    :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭223Shooter

That's a fine looking pup you have there. I'm in the process of training my two pups atm. I'd recommend getting a copy of Training Spaniels by Joe Irving, around €15 on amazon. Brilliant guide as far as I can see, and takes you from pre-training a pup to their first season. One of the best things I've learned is to have patience. Its hard not to lose your temper at times but you'll page for it in the long run if you do.. All the best!

Ruby is coming on great I have her three weeks now and she is responding great to the whestle fetching dummie and retreaving it to me she is also sitting and when I say stay I can walk away and she will stay till I call her on the Wistle next is getting her to Quarter left and right on the lead I have a couple of videos on my iPhone can they be loaded up streight from the phone,:D:D O and thanks everyone that put up a comment last time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

Ruby is coming on great I have her three weeks now and she is responding great to the whestle fetching dummie and retreaving it to me she is also sitting and when I say stay I can walk away and she will stay till I call her on the Wistle next is getting her to Quarter left and right on the lead I have a couple of videos on my iPhone can they be loaded up streight from the phone,:D:D O and thanks everyone that put up a comment last time.

What age is this dog now? It appears to me that you are doing too much training with her if she is a young bitch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I have to agree I think you are doing way to much for such a young dog.

kermitpwee wrote: »
    What age is this dog now? It appears to me that you are doing too much training with her if she is a young bitch.

Thanks for that the Dog is 16 weeks old do I need to slow down on the training and just let her be a pup.

You can have her doing the training you said early but in short bursts, remember she's only a pup but say 5-10mins of a little dummy work or recall isn't going to hurt her, just watch her and when she becomes restless just play with he and make it fun. My advice take her into 1 or 2 fields and let her explore

I only do 10 mins each time I stop before she loses interest also we are always walking in the Feilds beside me I let her just ramble alone and enjoy the bushes I think she will turn out ok dont froget I did say in the first Post I trained Rottweillers 25 years ago it was just advice on this type of dog though there mostly the same I always want the dog do it with out pressure and enjoy it's self.Thanks;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

I only do 10 mins each time I stop before she loses interest also we are always walking in the Feilds beside me I let her just ramble alone and enjoy the bushes I think she will turn out ok dont froget I did say in the first Post I trained Rottweillers 25 years ago it was just advice on this type of dog though there mostly the same I always want the dog do it with out pressure and enjoy it's self.Thanks;)
    If you know what you are doing then thats grand, the only thing I would say is that Rottwellers must be trained pre the 6months age if they are to be kept in line. A hunting dog such as a springer spaniel imo is totally different as you want the dog to use his natural ability/instincts while under your control/supervision, a dog that knows all the commands but has not the confidence to use his/her own mind is of no use. This is where the dog needs to be given time to mature.

Most training should be done after 6months even I would say 8 months. Of course there are exceptions to every rule, my uncle and I shot woodcock over a 6 month old sprocker last year and the dog was able for it.
    I have a 11 month old springer that I have been training for the last 3 months. The dog is doing well, it will sit, recall 100% of the time and retrieve off land and water 100%, more importantly the dog will hunt. This dog is very bright and I didn't think I would be this far down the line with this dog but I have due to his natural ability. In the last week I have shot over the dog and started to quarter the dog and shot 2 snipe over him which he retrieved.
    I wish you well with the training but be carefull, you have a bitch which are generally not as independent as the dogs and the last thing you want is in 7 months time is an obedient lap dog that won't hunt.
    Imo there is a quicker way to train a dog and get it early into the field early. That is the use of an e-collar, there is a poster on here who uses them and his dogs are class but the springer he trained was a hard going dog with plenty of drive and bold.

kermitpwee wrote: »
    Imo there is a quicker way to train a dog and get it early into the field early. That is the use of an e-collar, there is a poster on here who uses them and his dogs are class but the springer he trained was a hard going dog with plenty of drive and bold.

LOL slowly but surely the e-collar is becoming a hunters best friend :D

Thanks Kermitpwee I am not trying to rush the Dog I would be quit happy this time next year to be just getting going with her we went for a ramble tonight in the Fields at the back of me with no dummie just walking she was quit content to run back and forth so she's enjoying herself.so thanks again.

ah she,s a beut tawny:D:D,hope you have many a good day out with her,my father in law just got a 20wk old springer, sam who also has a long tail:eek::eek:,a1st for him it does take some getting used the tail, i personally like the tail docked as does he,but this lads a beut,and we,re happy with him so far:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

ha ha reminds me of my nephew like something he will do in the future

haha, yeah the missus came across it, on one of her girlie sites:D:D,she forgot to put caption in ,it read ya,ll walk the next time ya b$stard!:D:D:D ,she said it belonged here,and quite rite she is,its a priceless pic,;)